Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed April 10, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8, 10-15 and 17-18 remain pending in the application. Claims 8, 10-15 are examined. Claims 1-7, 17-18 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Windbichler et al. (WO 2015/014724, English translation provided), further in view of Jespersen et al. (WO 2019/115457).
Regarding claim 8, Windbichler discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1-4, a mould (item 1, Fig. 1 (page 6, line 17 from bottom)) for forming a leading-edge protection shield (item 11, Fig. 1 (page 5, lines 21-25)) on a wind turbine blade shell, the mould comprising:
a mould body (item 1, Fig. 1) defining a concave curved mould surface (item 9, Fig. 1 (page 5, line 21)) for arranging over a leading edge (page 6, line 16 from bottom) of a blade shell to define a substantially C-shaped cavity (for example, as shown in Fig. 1, represented by item 11 (page 1, in ABSTRACT, lines 3-5) (i.e., a gap filled with medium then cured to form the leading-edge protection shield));
a clamping arrangement (e.g., as illustrated in Fig. 4, the tension strap 40 (page 6, line 1)) for clamping the mould to a windward surface and/or a leeward surface of the blade shell;
the clamping arrangement formed through the mould body near an end of the mould body spaced apart from the leading edge in a chordwise direction (see labels of clamping near the end of the mould body in attached annotated Figures I and II), the clamping arrangement configured to clamp the mould body to one or both the windward surface and the leeward surface (as shown in Figs. 2 and 4 (also see attached annotated Figures I and II));
At least, when the blade leading edge 2 is pulled against the blade leading edge 2 by means of the tension straps 40 which are hooked with devices on the blade trailing edge 41 (page 6, lines 21-23 from bottom) (as shown in Fig. 4), it would have been obvious to have the similar device such as a hook to clamp through the mold body in the blade leading edge for securing the mounting of the tension straps 40;
and
an edge sealing arrangement (items 12, 13, 14 Fig. 2 (page 5, lines 32-35 and page 6, lines 1-4); here, the cheeks 12, 13 having vacuum intake channels 14 can be considered to provide a pair of mutually spaced first (airtight) seals) located between the mould surface and the clamping arrangement, the edge sealing arrangement being configured for sealing the mould surface to the blade shell at windward and leeward edges of the C-shaped cavity such that the C-shaped cavity tapers in thickness towards said windward and leeward edges (e.g., as shown in Fig. 2).
As illustrated in Fig. 2 (also see attached annotated Figure II) in the teachings of Windbichler, there are four vacuum outlets (14) (i.e., two on the upper side of the blade and two on the lower side of the blade) disposed through the mould body (1). The first vacuum outlet(s) are disposed near the end of the mould body (1).
It is noticed that, at least through the first vacuum outlet(s), air in the cavity or gap 11 was sucked up and exhausted to outside. Thus, the first vacuum outlet(s) fluidly is connected to the first sealed volume and has to be through the mould body.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, a reinforced wind turbine blade, Jespersen discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 6, 8, the mould body 96 is supported by a support frame 99. The mould body 96 comprises a plurality of movable suction cups 100 embedded in the moulding surface for engaging a surface of the cured blade element (page 21, lines 22-25). It is also noticed that, these suction cups are disposed on both the leading edge and trailing edge of the blade and extending through the mould body (as shown in Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to use the apparatus of Windbichler to have for the mould forming a leading-edge protection shield as Jespersen teaches that it is known to have these suction cups are disposed on both the leading edge and trailing edge of the blade and extending through the mould body. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar device is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Annotated Figure I (based on Fig. 4 in the teachings of Windbichler)
Annotated Figure II (based on Fig. 2 in the teachings of Windbichler)
Regarding claims 10-12, Windbichler discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2, the multiple suction channels 14 are extending along the longitudinal direction L (page 6, lines 1-2). Thus, the related areas occupied by the suction channels 14 can be considered to provide extra sealing to the gap space 11. At least, there are two second vacuum outlets 14 disposed near the leading edge of the blade (as shown in attached annotated Figure II). However, Windbichler does not disclose detailed sealing elements in these areas.
Jespersen discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 9, 10, 11, 12, the moulding surface 97 of the mould body 96 comprises a sealing element 110 in the form of a sealing strip enclosing a section 112 of the mounting surface (page 22, lines 15-19). Jespersen discloses that, the sealing strip 110 is arranged in the groove 116 (page 22, lines 30-31). Here, the recess 116 can be considered as providing one portion of the seal carrier (related to claim 12). Jespersen discloses that, these sealing element(s) may protrude beyond the surrounding moulding surface. In one embodiment, the sealing elements are elastically deformable (page 7, lines 2-4) (related to claim 11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Windbichler to incorporate the teachings of Jespersen to provide extra sealing elements. Doing so would be possible to assist in forming a seal between the mounding surface and a surface of the cured blade element, as recognized by Jespersen (page 7, lines 1-10).
Regarding claims 13, 14, 15, Windbichler discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2, the cheeks 12, 13 are at least portions of the mold 1. Windbichler discloses that, the flexible design of the cheeks 12, 13 makes it possible to form an airtight seal of the leading-edge form/mold 1 (page 6, lines 18-21 from bottom). Windbichler discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2, the stiffening element 20 is embedded in the mold 1 for ensuring the aerodynamic shape of the inner profile of the mold (page 4, lines 15-16 from bottom) (related to claim 14). As illustrated in Fig. 3, Windbichler discloses that, through the outlets 31, it is cucked so much and so long the filling medium in the gap is completely filled with filling medium (page 6, lines 25-31 from bottom) (related to claim 15).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/10/2026 have been fully considered. They are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments (as amended) in claim 8 that the base reference Windbichler does not provide a clamping arrangement that is formed through the mould body near an end of the mould body spaced apart from the leading edge of the blade in a chordwise direction and an edge sealing arrangement that is located along the mould body between the mould surface and the clamping arrangement, it is not persuasive.
In attached annotated Figures I and II (see above), labels of ‘device (such as hook) clamping tension strap through mold body near end of the mold body’ plus ’vacuum clamping (channels)’ are demonstrating the claimed features of “a clamping arrangement that is formed through the mould body near an end of the mould body spaced apart from the leading edge of the balde in a chordwise direction and an edge sealing arrangement that is located along the mould body between the mould surface and the clamping arrangement”.
It is noticed that, at least through the first vacuum outlet(s), air in the cavity or gap 11 was sucked up and exhausted to outside. Thus, the first vacuum outlet(s) fluidly is connected to the first sealed volume and has to be through the mould body.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, a reinforced wind turbine blade, Jespersen discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 6, 8, the mould body 96 is supported by a support frame 99. The mould body 96 comprises a plurality of movable suction cups 100 embedded in the moulding surface for engaging a surface of the cured blade element (page 21, lines 22-25). It is also noticed that, these suction cups are disposed on both the leading edge and trailing edge of the blade and extending through the mould body (as shown in Fig. 8).
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741