DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 11, 12, 19 and 20 in the reply filed on 5/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-18 and 21-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 12, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0189318 A1 to Uesaka et al.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Uesaka discloses a non-oriented electrical sheet comprising the following composition (Uesaka, abstract, para [0090-0117]) which overlaps the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed wt%
Uesaka wt%
Overlaps?
C
0-0.01
0-0.005
Yes
Si
2.0-5.0
0-4.5
Yes
Mn
0.05-5.00
0.02-2.0
Yes
P
0-0.1
0-0.2
Yes
S
0-0.01
0-0.005
Yes
Al
0-3.0
0-2.0
Yes
N
0-0.0050
≤impurity
Yes
Si+Al
≥4.5
0-6.5
Yes
Ti
0-0.005
0-0.007
Yes
As
0-0.05
As+Pb: 0.005-0.005
Yes
Pb
0-0.002
Yes
Fe
Balance
Balance
Yes
Wherein the average grain size is 40 µm to 120 µm (Uesaka, para [0118-0121]), overlapping the instantly claimed range of 50 µm or less.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Uesaka including the instantly claimed because Uesaka discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Regarding the instantly claimed limitation of “a standard deviation St of a crystal grain size distribution satisfies the following formula (1): S1/X1< 0. 75 (1) and a skewness γ1 of the crystal grain size distribution is 2.00 or less,” Uesaka takes several steps to ensure appropriate control of the grain size distribution. Uesaka teaches that “by including at least one of As and Pb with a total content of 0.0005% or more, precipitates such as MN can be caused to grow with precipitated As and/or Pb, or a compound thereof, as the nucleus, allowing the grain size distribution to be controlled appropriately” (Uesaka, paragraph [0107]). Uesaka further teaches that “during the final annealing, the heating rate from 400° C to 740° C is set to 30° C/s to 300° C/s, and that setting the heating rate to 30° C/s to 300° C/s allows the grain size to be set to an appropriate distribution” (Uesaka, paragraph [0156]). Uesaka teaches that “if the heating rate is less than 30° C./s, the grain size distribution becomes sharp, and the number of grains that have an advantageous size with respect to iron loss under inverter excitation suddenly decreases” (Uesaka, paragraph [0156]). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. In the instant case, Uesaka recognizes As and Pb content as well as annealing heating rate as result effective variables for controlling the grain size distribution. It would require little more than routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal or workable ranges of As and Pb content and final annealing heating rate that result in an appropriately small standard deviation and skewness of grain size distribution.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Uesaka discloses the steel is for a motor core (Uesaka, para [0002-0003]).
Conclusion
/BRIAN D WALCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738