DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for App. 18/571,749 on March 1, 2026. Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 15-19, 21-25 and 27 are pending.
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3, 15-18, 20, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. ( US 2022/0293053 A1 ).
Hu teaches in Claim 1:
A voltage compensation method, comprising:
obtaining pixel information and position information of a target pixel to be compensated ( Figure 1, [0057] discloses step S01 for receiving initial data signal used for driving a target sub-pixel to display. The following steps show the parameters for such driving, i.e. compensation and [0068] discloses a location of the target sub-pixel );
determining an area compensation parameter corresponding to the target pixel according to the pixel information ( Figure 1, [0058] discloses step S02 for determining a data range, where different data ranges correspond to different display modes. These data ranges are shown in Figure 5 in terms of brightness and [0068]+ disclose the number of pixels surrounding the target sub-pixel can vary based on location (part of the interpreted pixel information). Figure 1, [0061]+ and steps S03 and S04 disclose calculating further aspects of the target data signal based on these factors ); and
performing a brightness compensation on the target pixel according to the position information of the target pixel in a display panel and the area compensation parameter ( Figure 1, [0063] disclose step S05 which outputs the target data signal to the target sub-pixel and displays based on this target data signal );
wherein performing the brightness compensation on the target pixel according to the position information of the target pixel in the display panel and the area compensation parameter comprises:
determining a regional center point according to the position information of the target pixel in the display panel; determining a target display area according to the regional center point and the area compensation parameter; and performing the brightness compensation on the target pixel in the target display area, wherein the area compensation parameter is configured to indicate an area size of the target display area in the display panel with respect to the target pixel. ( Figure 4, [0068] discloses the target sub-pixels, for example, are RN, GN and BN are centered (read as a regional center point) and the surrounding sub-pixels (read as a target display area) are around this centered target sub-pixel. [0068] also discloses determining the number of sub-pixels around the target sub-pixel can be adjusted (range from 4 to 12) based on where the target sub-pixel is located and this is a reasonable interpretation of the limitation “to indicate an area size of the target display area”. The rest of the limitations are addressed in the reasoning above )
Hu teaches in Claim 2:
The voltage compensation method of claim 1, wherein the pixel information comprises a first binding gray value of the target pixel, and the step of determining the area compensation parameter corresponding to the target pixel according to the pixel information comprises
determining whether the target pixel has a matched target adjacent pixel ( Figure 1, [0059] discloses details on step S02 which notes the initial data signal refers to a brightness data range where the initial data signal is located and different brightness data ranges correspond to different display modes );
when the target pixel has a matched target adjacent pixel, obtaining an adjacent binding gray value of the target adjacent pixel and the first binding gray value of the target pixel, wherein a pixel corresponding to the target pixel in a preceding pixel row adjacent to a target pixel row where the target pixel is located is the matched target adjacent pixel ( Figure 1, [0060] discloses analyzing a sub-pixel around the target sub-pixel and having the same color as the target sub-pixel (read as a matched target adjacent pixel). As for the preceding row, Figure 4, [0068] discloses each target sub-pixel RN, GN, etc, is surrounded by the same color, including on the preceding pixel row ); and
determining the area compensation parameter corresponding to the target pixel according to a gray difference between the first binding gray value and the adjacent binding gray value. ( Figures 2 and 6, [0084] disclose details on step S03 and for the same color, a weight of the color is analyzed to realize color sharing in the display modes. As for the difference, please note Figure 5, [0073] which discloses the ranges of each display mode and associated brightness data range. If the signal is greater than or equal to, (or less than or equal to, as well), with regards to particular data ranges, that display mode is determined. To clarify, for the same color, the weight of color for both is analyzed and classified into a particular data range )
Hu teaches in Claim 3:
The voltage compensation method of claim 2, wherein the gray difference is negatively correlated with a number of pixels in the display area corresponding to the area compensation parameter; or, the gray scale difference is positively correlated with a number of areas in the display area corresponding to the area compensation parameter. ( Please note the alternative claim language here, i.e. ‘or’. Examiner interprets this as a conjunctive limitation for purposes of examination. [0068] discloses the number of sub-pixels around the target sub-pixel may vary and this impacts (read as correlated) the brightness data range and associated display mode )
Hu teaches in Claim 15:
A terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory storing computer program instructions executable by the processor ( Figure 8, [0084] discloses a pixel rendering device and [0087]-[0088] disclose a computer readable storage medium with instructions to be executed ) to perform operations[AltContent: rect]comprising:
obtaining pixel information and position information of a target pixel to be compensated ( Figure 1, [0057] discloses step S01 for receiving initial data signal used for driving a target sub-pixel to display. The following steps show the parameters for such driving, i.e. compensation and [0068] discloses a location of the target sub-pixel );
determining an area compensation parameter corresponding to the target pixel according to the pixel information ( Figure 1, [0058] discloses step S02 for determining a data range, where different data ranges correspond to different display modes. These data ranges are shown in Figure 5 in terms of brightness and [0068]+ disclose the number of pixels surrounding the target sub-pixel can vary based on location (part of the interpreted pixel information). Figure 1, [0061]+ and steps S03 and S04 disclose calculating further aspects of the target data signal based on these factors ); and
performing a brightness compensation on the target pixel according to the position information of the target pixel in a display panel and the area compensation parameter ( Figure 1, [0063] disclose step S05 which outputs the target data signal to the target sub-pixel and displays based on this target data signal );
wherein performing the brightness compensation on the target pixel according to the position information of the target pixel in the display panel and the area compensation parameter comprises:
determining a regional center point according to the position information of the target pixel in the display panel; determining a target display area according to the regional center point and the area compensation parameter; and performing the brightness compensation on the target pixel in the target display area, wherein the area compensation parameter is configured to indicate an area size of the target display area in the display panel with respect to the target pixel. ( Figure 4, [0068] discloses the target sub-pixels, for example, are RN, GN and BN are centered (read as a regional center point) and the surrounding sub-pixels (read as a target display area) are around this centered target sub-pixel. [0068] also discloses determining the number of sub-pixels around the target sub-pixel can be adjusted (range from 4 to 12) based on where the target sub-pixel is located and this is a reasonable interpretation of the limitation “to indicate an area size of the target display area”. The rest of the limitations are addressed in the reasoning above )
Hu teaches in Claim 16:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing computer program instructions executable by a processor ( Figure 8, [0084] discloses a pixel rendering device and [0087]-[0088] disclose a computer readable storage medium with instructions to be executed. [0090] discloses the non-transitory aspects ) to perform operations comprising:
obtaining pixel information and position information of a target pixel to be compensated ( Figure 1, [0057] discloses step S01 for receiving initial data signal used for driving a target sub-pixel to display. The following steps show the parameters for such driving, i.e. compensation and [0068] discloses a location of the target sub-pixel );
determining an area compensation parameter corresponding to the target pixel according to the pixel information ( Figure 1, [0058] discloses step S02 for determining a data range, where different data ranges correspond to different display modes. These data ranges are shown in Figure 5 in terms of brightness and [0068]+ disclose the number of pixels surrounding the target sub-pixel can vary based on location (part of the interpreted pixel information). Figure 1, [0061]+ and steps S03 and S04 disclose calculating further aspects of the target data signal based on these factors ); and
performing a brightness compensation on the target pixel according to the position information of the target pixel in a display panel and the area compensation parameter ( Figure 1, [0063] disclose step S05 which outputs the target data signal to the target sub-pixel and displays based on this target data signal );
wherein performing the brightness compensation on the target pixel according to the position information of the target pixel in the display panel and the area compensation parameter comprises:
determining a regional center point according to the position information of the target pixel in the display panel; determining a target display area according to the regional center point and the area compensation parameter; and performing the brightness compensation on the target pixel in the target display area, wherein the area compensation parameter is configured to indicate an area size of the target display area in the display panel with respect to the target pixel. ( Figure 4, [0068] discloses the target sub-pixels, for example, are RN, GN and BN are centered (read as a regional center point) and the surrounding sub-pixels (read as a target display area) are around this centered target sub-pixel. [0068] also discloses determining the number of sub-pixels around the target sub-pixel can be adjusted (range from 4 to 12) based on where the target sub-pixel is located and this is a reasonable interpretation of the limitation “to indicate an area size of the target display area”. The rest of the limitations are addressed in the reasoning above )
Hu teaches in Claim 17:
The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the pixel information comprises a first binding gray value of the target pixel, and an operation of determining the area compensation parameter corresponding to the target pixel according to the pixel information comprises:
determining whether the target pixel has a matched target adjacent pixel ( Figure 1, [0059] discloses details on step S02 which notes the initial data signal refers to a brightness data range where the initial data signal is located and different brightness data ranges correspond to different display modes );
when the target pixel has a matched target adjacent pixel, obtaining an adjacent binding gray value of the target adjacent pixel and the first binding gray value of the target pixel, wherein a pixel corresponding to the target pixel in a preceding pixel row adjacent to a target pixel row where the target pixel is located is the matched target adjacent pixel ( Figure 1, [0060] discloses analyzing a sub-pixel around the target sub-pixel and having the same color as the target sub-pixel (read as a matched target adjacent pixel). As for the preceding row, Figure 4, [0068] discloses each target sub-pixel RN, GN, etc, is surrounded by the same color, including on the preceding pixel row ); and
determining the area compensation parameter corresponding to the target pixel according to a gray difference between the first binding gray value and the adjacent binding gray value. ( Figures 2 and 6, [0084] disclose details on step S03 and for the same color, a weight of the color is analyzed to realize color sharing in the display modes. As for the difference, please note Figure 5, [0073] which discloses the ranges of each display mode and associated brightness data range. If the signal is greater than or equal to, (or less than or equal to, as well), with regards to particular data ranges, that display mode is determined. To clarify, for the same color, the weight of color for both is analyzed and classified into a particular data range )
Hu teaches in Claim 18:
The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the gray difference is negatively correlated with a number of pixels in the display area corresponding to the area compensation parameter; or, the gray scale difference is positively correlated with a number of areas in the display area corresponding to the area compensation parameter. ( Please note the alternative claim language here, i.e. ‘or’. Examiner interprets this as a conjunctive limitation for purposes of examination. [0068] discloses the number of sub-pixels around the target sub-pixel may vary and this impacts (read as correlated) the brightness data range and associated display mode )
Hu teaches in Claim 23:
The terminal device of claim 15, wherein the pixel information comprises a first binding gray value of the target pixel, and an operation of determining the area compensation parameter corresponding to the target pixel according to the pixel information comprises:
determining whether the target pixel has a matched target adjacent pixel ( Figure 1, [0059] discloses details on step S02 which notes the initial data signal refers to a brightness data range where the initial data signal is located and different brightness data ranges correspond to different display modes );
when the target pixel has a matched target adjacent pixel, obtaining an adjacent binding gray value of the target adjacent pixel and the first binding gray value of the target pixel, wherein a pixel corresponding to the target pixel in a preceding pixel row adjacent to a target pixel row where the target pixel is located is the matched target adjacent pixel ( Figure 1, [0060] discloses analyzing a sub-pixel around the target sub-pixel and having the same color as the target sub-pixel (read as a matched target adjacent pixel). As for the preceding row, Figure 4, [0068] discloses each target sub-pixel RN, GN, etc, is surrounded by the same color, including on the preceding pixel row ); and
determining the area compensation parameter corresponding to the target pixel according to a gray difference between the first binding gray value and the adjacent binding gray value. ( Figures 2 and 6, [0084] disclose details on step S03 and for the same color, a weight of the color is analyzed to realize color sharing in the display modes. As for the difference, please note Figure 5, [0073] which discloses the ranges of each display mode and associated brightness data range. If the signal is greater than or equal to, (or less than or equal to, as well), with regards to particular data ranges, that display mode is determined. To clarify, for the same color, the weight of color for both is analyzed and classified into a particular data range )
Hu teaches in Claim 24:
The terminal device of claim 23, wherein the gray difference is negatively correlated with a number of pixels in the display area corresponding to the area compensation parameter; or, the gray difference is positively correlated with a number of areas in the display area corresponding to the area compensation parameter. ( Please note the alternative claim language here, i.e. ‘or’. Examiner interprets this as a conjunctive limitation for purposes of examination. [0068] discloses the number of sub-pixels around the target sub-pixel may vary and this impacts (read as correlated) the brightness data range and associated display mode )
Hu teaches in Claim 26:
The terminal device of claim 15, wherein an operation of performing the brightness compensation on the target pixel according to the position information of the target pixel in the display panel and the area compensation parameter comprises:
according to the position information of the target pixel in the display panel, determining a regional center point; determining a target display area according to the regional center point and the area compensation parameter; and performing the brightness compensation on the target pixel in the target display area. ( Figure 4, [0068] discloses the target sub-pixels, for example, are RN, GN and BN are centered and the surrounding sub-pixels (read as a target display area) are around this centered target sub-pixel. [0068] also discloses determining the number of sub-pixels around the target sub-pixel can be adjusted based on where the target sub-pixel is located. The rest of the limitations are addressed in the reasoning above )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 4, 19 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al.
( US 2022/0293053 A1 ), as applied to Claims 1, 15 and 16, further in view of Wu et al. ( US 2024/0185479 A1 ).
As per Claim 4:
Hu does not explicitly teach “when the target pixel does not have a matched target adjacent pixel, obtaining a preset reference binding gray value; and determining the area compensation parameter corresponding to the target pixel according to a gray difference between the first binding gray value and the reference binding gray value.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, target pixel compensation, Wu teaches of receiving and analyzing pixel information of a target pixel, ( Wu, [0014] ), similar to Hu. Specifically, Hu teaches of determining if there is a color match and in general (or if not matching), Wu teaches of a reference value on the first characteristic parameter of the target pixel and a difference between a current value and the reference value is determined, as detailed in [0014]. In general, as combined with Hu, a reference value is incorporated and this can serve as the baseline for the differences/thresholds to be applied to, with regards to determining the data range and the display mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the reference value, as taught by Wu, with the motivation that by using the reference, notably accurate reference data, effective correction of colors can be achieved, ( Wu, [0069] ).
As per Claim 19:
Hu does not explicitly teach “when the target pixel does not have a matched target adjacent pixel, obtaining a preset reference binding gray value; and determining the area compensation parameter corresponding to the target pixel according to a gray difference between the first binding gray value and the reference binding gray value.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, target pixel compensation, Wu teaches of receiving and analyzing pixel information of a target pixel, ( Wu, [0014] ), similar to Hu. Specifically, Hu teaches of determining if there is a color match and in general (or if not matching), Wu teaches of a reference value on the first characteristic parameter of the target pixel and a difference between a current value and the reference value is determined, as detailed in [0014]. In general, as combined with Hu, a reference value is incorporated and this can serve as the baseline for the differences/thresholds to be applied to, with regards to determining the data range and the display mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the reference value, as taught by Wu, with the motivation that by using the reference, notably accurate reference data, effective correction of colors can be achieved, ( Wu, [0069] ).
As per Claim 25:
Hu does not explicitly teach “when the target pixel does not have a matched target adjacent pixel, obtaining a preset reference binding gray value; and determining the area compensation parameter corresponding to the target pixel according to a gray difference between the first binding gray value and the reference binding gray value.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, target pixel compensation, Wu teaches of receiving and analyzing pixel information of a target pixel, ( Wu, [0014] ), similar to Hu. Specifically, Hu teaches of determining if there is a color match and in general (or if not matching), Wu teaches of a reference value on the first characteristic parameter of the target pixel and a difference between a current value and the reference value is determined, as detailed in [0014]. In general, as combined with Hu, a reference value is incorporated and this can serve as the baseline for the differences/thresholds to be applied to, with regards to determining the data range and the display mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the reference value, as taught by Wu, with the motivation that by using the reference, notably accurate reference data, effective correction of colors can be achieved, ( Wu, [0069] ).
8. Claims 6, 7, 21, 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. ( US 2022/0293053 A1 ), as applied to Claims 1, 15 and 16, further in view of Shan ( US 2021/0201841 A1 ).
As per Claim 6:
Hu does not explicitly teach of “obtaining a preset weight corresponding to the target pixel; and compensating a gray value of the target pixel according to the preset weight.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, compensating target pixels, Shan teaches of displays with different resolutions, ( Shan, [0050] ). Notably, Shan teaches of compensation pixels are correspondingly set with same or different preset weights. Applicant’s own specification at [0079] discloses a similar concept of setting the weights based on the resolution. Again, Hu teaches of determining/analyzing color weights and preset weights based on resolution can be implemented.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the preset weights, as taught by Shan, with the motivation that compensation factors can be set, or enhanced by the consideration of resolution, ( Shan, [0066] ).
Hu and Shan teach in Claim 7:
The voltage compensation method of claim 6, wherein the step of compensating the gray value of the target pixel according to the preset weight comprises:
determining a second binding gray value of the target pixel, wherein the second binding gray value represents the preset reference binding gray value or an adjacent binding gray value of a matched target adjacent pixel; comparing the first binding gray value with the second binding gray value ( Hu teaches in Figure 1, [0060] of analyzing a sub-pixel around the target sub-pixel and comparing brightness levels, i.e. gray values between the target and adjacent sub-pixels. Please note the combination with Shan with regards to the reference binding gray value based on the preset weight );
when the first binding gray value is greater than the second binding gray value, obtaining a corresponding first preset weight and compensating the gray value of the target pixel accordingly; wherein the first preset weight is a positive number; and when the first binding gray value is less than the second binding gray value, obtaining a corresponding second preset weight and compensating the gray value of the target pixel accordingly, where the second preset weight is a negative number. ( Shan, [0044] discloses comparing the voltage data of each compensation pixel to the initial driving data. Hu, [0073], and as detailed above, teaches of data ranges with greater than, less than, etc, determinations. Essentially, the concept of the preset weights is incorporated. As for it being a negative number, one of ordinary skill realizes a wide range of values can be applied to accurately classify the sub-pixel )
As per Claim 21:
Hu does not explicitly teach of “obtaining a preset weight corresponding to the target pixel; and compensating a gray value of the target pixel according to the preset weight.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, compensating target pixels, Shan teaches of displays with different resolutions, ( Shan, [0050] ). Notably, Shan teaches of compensation pixels are correspondingly set with same or different preset weights. Applicant’s own specification at [0079] discloses a similar concept of setting the weights based on the resolution. Again, Hu teaches of determining/analyzing color weights and preset weights based on resolution can be implemented.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the preset weights, as taught by Shan, with the motivation that compensation factors can be set, or enhanced by the consideration of resolution, ( Shan, [0066] ).
Hu and Shan teach in Claim 22:
The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 21, wherein an operation of compensating the gray value of the target pixel according to the preset weight comprises:
determining a second binding gray value of the target pixel, wherein the second binding gray value represents the preset reference binding gray value or an adjacent binding gray value of a matched target adjacent pixel; comparing the first binding gray value with the second binding gray value ( Hu teaches in Figure 1, [0060] of analyzing a sub-pixel around the target sub-pixel and comparing brightness levels, i.e. gray values between the target and adjacent sub-pixels. Please note the combination with Shan with regards to the reference binding gray value based on the preset weight );
when the first binding gray value is greater than the second binding gray value, obtaining a corresponding first preset weight and compensating the gray value of the target pixel accordingly; wherein the first preset weight is a positive number; and when the first binding gray value is less than the second binding gray value, obtaining a corresponding second preset weight and compensating the gray value of the target pixel accordingly, where the second preset weight is a negative number. ( Shan, [0044] discloses comparing the voltage data of each compensation pixel to the initial driving data. Hu, [0073], and as detailed above, teaches of data ranges with greater than, less than, etc, determinations. Essentially, the concept of the preset weights is incorporated. As for it being a negative number, one of ordinary skill realizes a wide range of values can be applied to accurately classify the sub-pixel )
As per Claim 27:
Hu does not explicitly teach of “obtaining a preset weight corresponding to the target pixel; and compensating a gray value of the target pixel according to the preset weight.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, compensating target pixels, Shan teaches of displays with different resolutions, ( Shan, [0050] ). Notably, Shan teaches of compensation pixels are correspondingly set with same or different preset weights. Applicant’s own specification at [0079] discloses a similar concept of setting the weights based on the resolution. Again, Hu teaches of determining/analyzing color weights and preset weights based on resolution can be implemented.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the preset weights, as taught by Shan, with the motivation that compensation factors can be set, or enhanced by the consideration of resolution, ( Shan, [0066] ).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments. Hu teaches of various display modes which result in different brightness modes. Depending, or based on these modes, the target sub-pixel and the surrounding pixels are adjusted. Figure 4, [0068] discloses the target sub-pixel is centered and the number of sub-pixels which surround it can range from 4 to 12 (read as an indication of an area size). Respectfully, Applicant’s last amended claim limitation is broad and the term “indicate” needs to be better defined. It is clear Hu teaches of centering the target sub-pixel and the number (size) of surrounding sub-pixels can be varied. It is based on this number to determine the display mode.
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621