Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the narrow portion in the perpendicular plane must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. It is noted that narrow portion 34 is not located in the perpendicular plane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 7,540,774 (“Hung”).
Regarding claim 1, Hung discloses a contact (3) configured to be connected to a front end portion of a cable (4) in a front-rear direction, the cable having an outer conductor (42) provided on an outer circumference thereof, wherein:
the contact has a crimp portion (314) and a receiving portion (32);
the crimp portion is crimped on the outer conductor so that it surrounds the outer conductor under a connected state where the contact is connected to the cable (see Fig. 6);
the receiving portion is located forward of the crimp portion and partially receives the outer conductor under the connected state (see Fig. 6);
the receiving portion has two or more pressed portions (323/324, see Fig. 4); and
each of the pressed portions is located outward of the outer conductor in a perpendicular plane perpendicular to the front-rear direction and is pressed against the outer conductor under the connected state (see Fig. 4 and col. 2, ln. 62 – col. 3, ln. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Hung discloses at least one of the pressed portions is a spring piece (32 is a slender metallic piece and, as in the present application, is a resilient spring piece); and
the spring piece extends along the front-rear direction (see Fig. 2) and is resiliently deformable with a rear end which is a free end (32, being a slender metallic piece, is resiliently deformable, with the end near 324 being a rear end).
Regarding claim 3, Hung discloses wherein the spring piece extends along the front-rear direction while being inclined inward in the perpendicular plane (at least portion 324 is within the perpendicular plane and is inclined in that plane, inward toward empty space 3121 see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Hung discloses at least one of the pressed portions is a projecting portion (see portion 324); and
the projecting portion projects inward from an inner surface of the receiving portion in the perpendicular plane (at least portion 324 is within the perpendicular plane and is inclined in that plane, inward from an inner surface of receiving portion 323 and toward empty space 3121 see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Hung discloses wherein:
the contact has a narrow portion (323);
the narrow portion is located forward of the receiving portion (323 is forward of portion 324); and
the narrow portion has a size in the perpendicular plane which is smaller than another size of the receiving portion in the perpendicular plane (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Hung discloses a cable assembly comprising the contact as recited in claim 1 (see above) and a cable (4), wherein:
the cable has an outer conductor (42) provided on an outer circumference thereof (see Fig. 4); and
the contact is connected to a front end portion of the cable (see Figs. 4 – 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of U.S. Pat. No. 11,316,289 (“Schrettlinger”).
Regarding claim 6, Hung discloses a connector comprising the contact as recited in claim 1 (see above) but does not disclose a conductive member, wherein:
the conductive member has a received portion;
the received portion is located at a front end of the conductive member;
the received portion is narrowed forward; and
under the connected state, the outer conductor is formed with a folded portion which is folded rearward, the conductive member is located inward of the folded portion in the perpendicular plane, the folded portion is sandwiched between the crimp portion and the conductive member, and the received portion of the conductive member is received in the receiving portion of the contact together with the folded portion.
However, Schrettlinger teaches a connector for a cable with an outer conductor (see Fig. 8), where the connector has a conductive member (1), wherein:
the conductive member has a received portion (the left side of 1);
the received portion is located at a front end of the conductive member (the left end is a front end);
the received portion is narrowed forward (see portion 11, which presents a narrow portion at the forward end, see Figs. 3 and 5); and
under the connected state, the outer conductor (57) is formed with a folded portion which is folded rearward, the conductive member is located inward of the folded portion in the perpendicular plane, the folded portion is sandwiched between the crimp portion and the conductive member, and the received portion of the conductive member is received in a receiving portion of a contact together with the folded portion (see Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to provide the connector of Hung with a conductive member as taught by Schrettlinger, because the conductive member serves to support the end of the cable and the shield member folded around it, helping ensure that the cable and shield are mechanically stable once crimped by the outer conductor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2021065743 discloses a contact with a receiving portion forward of a crimp portion.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/ Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831