Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on August 8, 2026 amends claim 1 and adds new claim 16. Claims 1-7 and 9-16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on August 8, 2026, regarding the newly presented claim limitations have been fully considered and are moot as shown in the rejections that follow. The newly presented claim limitations in the amendment and new claim are taught by newly presented reference, Yurdana et al. (US 2020/0339157), in combination with previously cited reference, Simoudis.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “scenario extraction module” as recited in claim 1, “audit module” as recited in claim 1, “data acquisition module” as recited in claim 2, “data pre-processing module” as recited in claim 3, “data storage module” as recited in claim 5, “scenario visualization module” as recited in claim 6, and “operational design domain module” as recited in claim 7, for example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simoudis (WO 2020/097221) in view of Yurdana et al. (US 2020/0339157).
Regarding claim 1, Simoudis teaches an autonomous vehicle data searching and auditing system comprising: a graphical user interface; (see Simoudis at [00131] which discloses that in some cases, the graphical user interface (GUI) or user interface may be provided on a display, that the display may or may not be a touchscreen, that the display may be configured to show a user interface (UI) or a graphical user interface (GUI) rendered through an application (e.g., via an application programming interface (API) executed on the user device, on the cloud or on the data orchestrator).
a scenario database configured to store therein autonomous vehicle data associated with one or more autonomous vehicles, wherein the autonomous vehicle data stored in the scenario database is searchable based on a query enterable via the graphical user interface; (see Simoudis at [0005-0007] which discloses a data management system for managing autonomous or automated vehicle data; Examiner maps data management system to autonomous vehicle data searching and auditing system; see Simoudis at [0008] which discloses that vehicle data is stored in a database; see Simoudis at [0011] which discloses that metadata is used to retrieve a subset of the vehicle data from the database; see Simoudis at [0020] which discloses that at least one of the one or more functional components is selected from a set of functions via a user interface, that in some cases, at least one of the one or more functional components is configured to create a scenario data object, wherein the scenario data object is for specifying a scenario; see Simoudis at [0079] which discloses that the data orchestrator may be implemented using in part an edge computing platform or edge infrastructure/system and that the systems, devices, and techniques may include implementation in one or more computer programs that are executable and/or interpretable on a programmable system including at least one programmable processor, which may be special or general purpose, coupled to receive data and instructions from, and to transmit data and instructions to, a storage system, at least one input device, and at least one output device; see Simoudis at [0087] which discloses that in some embodiments, the data management system may construct the database for fast and efficient data retrieval, query and delivery and that the data management system may construct the databases using proprietary database architecture or data structures to provide an efficient database model that is adapted to large scale databases, is easily scalable, is efficient in query and data retrieval, or has reduced memory requirements in comparison to using other data structures; see Simoudis at [00130] which discloses that a user may select, within the GUI, a graphical element representing the CREATE SCENARIOS function by clicking the function or add the function to the current pipeline by drag-and-drop; see Simoudis at [00131] which discloses that the graphical user interface (GUI) or user interface may be provided on a display and that the display may be configured to show a user interface (UI) or a graphical user interface (GUI) rendered through an application (e.g., via an application programming interface (API) executed on the user device. Examiner maps database to the recited scenario database.)
and a scenario extraction module in operable communication with the scenario database and the graphical user interface, configured to extract scenario data from the autonomous vehicle data and store the scenario data into the scenario database, wherein the scenario data comprises one or more autonomous vehicle parameters and one or more objects associated with the one or more autonomous vehicles; (see Simoudis at [0009] which discloses that the method further comprises using the predictive model to transmit the vehicle data from the vehicle to a database managed by the data orchestrator; see Simoudis at [0011] which discloses that the system comprises: a database; and one or more computer processors operatively coupled to the database, wherein the one or more computer processors are individually or collectively programmed to (i) collect the vehicle data from the vehicle, wherein the vehicle data has a size of at least 1 terabyte; (ii) process the vehicle data to generate metadata corresponding to the vehicle data, wherein the vehicle data is stored in the database; (iii) use at least a portion of the metadata to retrieve a subset of the vehicle data from the database, which subset of the vehicle data has a size less than the vehicle data; and (iv) store or transmit the subset of the vehicle data. Also, see Simoudis at [0086] which discloses that the applications repository 405, predictive models knowledge base 407, one or more local databases, metadata database 427, and cloud databases 429 of the system may utilize any suitable database techniques and If the database of the present invention is implemented as a data-structure, the use of the database of the present invention may be integrated into another component such as the component of the present invention, that also, the database may be implemented as a mix of data structures, objects, and relational structures, that databases may be consolidated and/or distributed in variations through standard data processing techniques, and that portions of databases, e.g., tables, may be exported and/or imported and thus decentralized and/or integrated; see Simoudis at [0087] which discloses that in some embodiments, the data management system may construct the database for fast and efficient data retrieval; see Simoudis at [00130] which discloses that a user may select, within the GUI, a graphical element representing the CREATE SCENARIOS function by clicking the function or add the function to the current pipeline by drag-and-drop; see Simoudis at [00131] which discloses that the graphical user interface (GUI) or user interface may be provided on a display; see Simoudis at [00134] which discloses that stream processing system and ETL system are intended to be merely exemplary of the many executable modules which may be implemented; see Simoudis at [0027-0028] which discloses that another aspect of the present disclosure provides a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising machine executable code that, upon execution by one or more computer processors, implements any of the methods above or elsewhere herein and that another aspect of the present disclosure provides a system comprising one or more computer processors and computer memory coupled thereto, that the computer memory comprises machine executable code that, upon execution by the one or more computer processors, implements any of the methods above or elsewhere herein; also, see Simoudis at [00148] which discloses that aspects of the systems and methods provided herein, such as the computer system 1301, can be embodied in programming, that various aspects of the technology may be thought of as "products" or "articles of manufacture" typically in the form of machine (or processor) executable code and/or associated data that is carried on or embodied in a type of machine readable medium, that machine-executable code can be stored on an electronic storage unit, such as memory (e.g., read-only memory, random-access memory, flash memory) or a hard disk, and that "storage" type media can include any or all of the tangible memory of the computers, processors or the like, or associated modules thereof, such as various semiconductor memories, tape drives, disk drives and the like, which may provide non-transitory storage at any time for the software programming. Examiner maps vehicle data to the autonomous vehicle data. Examiner maps metadata and/or subset of the vehicle data to the scenario data.
Also, see Simoudis at [00138] which discloses that scenario metadata may be created to specify the characteristics of the scenario using a specific metadata which is then used to retrieve the appropriate vehicle data from the database; see Simoudis at [00138] which discloses a scenario name and type: e.g, right-hand merge and right-hand merging into freeway of the vehicle, for example. Examiner maps the scenario type, such as right hand merging into freeway to the recited one or more autonomous vehicle parameters. Further, see Simoudis at [00138] which discloses objects, such as static objects: e.g., tree as well as dynamic objects: e.g., moving vehicle. Examiner maps the foregoing objects to the recited one or more objects associated with the one or more autonomous vehicles.)
The scenario extraction module is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) from what is disclosed in the specification at [0052-0053] which states that the processor 201 executes the modules, for example, 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc. of the AVDSAS 100 and that for example, the modules 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc., of the AVDSAS 100 are stored in the memory unit 202 of the computer system 200. Based on the foregoing information obtained from the specification, the modules comprise data which can be stored and which the processor executes, such as executable code. Simoudis at [00148] teaches executable code and/or associated data for retrieving a subset of the vehicle data from the database, which subset of the vehicle data has a size less than the vehicle data; and store or transmit the subset of the vehicle data, which may be stored in an electronic storage unit. Therefore, Simoudis teaches the scenario extraction module.)
and generate one or more scenarios using the scenario data from the scenario database based on the query; (see Simoudis at [0008] which discloses that vehicle data is stored in a database; see Simoudis at [0011] which discloses that metadata is used to retrieve a subset of the vehicle data from the database; see Simoudis at [0099] which discloses that in some cases, scenario metadata may be created to specify the characteristics of the scenario using a specific metadata which is then used to retrieve the appropriate vehicle data from the database; see Simoudis at [00130] which discloses that a user may select, within the GUI, a graphical element representing the CREATE SCENARIOS function by clicking the function or add the function to the current pipeline by drag-and-drop. Examiner notes that retrieving a scenario using scenario metadata corresponds to generating one or more scenarios using the scenario data from the scenario data.)
wherein the scenario extraction module comprises an audit module configured to determine from the scenario database, one or more of a safe scenario, an unsafe scenario, and a critical scenario, based on predefined audit parameters and the query; (see Simoudis at [00154] which discloses that an insurance application may request certain type of data from an OEM system associated with a target vehicle (e.g., data collected by OEM-embedded devices) at a predetermined frequency (e.g., a week, two weeks, a month, two months, etc.) for purpose of detecting fraud, creating new insurance products, providing discounts to drivers for safety features, assessing risk, accident scene management, first notice of loss, enhancing claims process and the like. Examiner notes that assessing risk, for example, corresponds to determining a safe, unsafe, and critical scenario. Furthermore, the audit module is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) from what is disclosed in the specification at [0052-0053] which states that the processor 201 executes the modules, for example, 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc. of the AVDSAS 100 and that for example, the modules 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc., of the AVDSAS 100 are stored in the memory unit 202 of the computer system 200. Based on the foregoing information obtained from the specification, the modules comprise data which can be stored and executed by a processor, such as executable code. For example, as was indicated in the rejection of claim 1, see Simoudis, at [0027-0028] and at [00148], which teaches executable code and/or associated data which may be executed by a processor to implement any of the methods above or elsewhere herein, such as assessing risk of an insured vehicle. Therefore, Simoudis teaches the audit module. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claimed language.)
and wherein the scenario extraction module is configured to construct, based on the query and using the one or more autonomous vehicle parameters, the one or more objects, and the autonomous vehicle data stored in the scenario database, the one or more of the safe scenario, the unsafe scenario, and the critical scenario determined by the audit module, (see Simoudis at [00138-00139] which discloses that the data management system may generate metadata for fast retrieving or querying data from the database and further discloses scenario metadata identifying a scenario type, including static and dynamic objects, scene description, triggers rules, and associated time-series data and that a metadata query selects matching data and creates a scenario object. As was previously stated by the Examiner, Simoudis at [00154] discloses assessing risk which corresponds to determining the one or more of the safe scenario, the unsafe scenario, and the critical scenario.)
Simoudis does not expressly disclose and to render the constructed one or more of the safe scenario, the unsafe scenario, and the critical scenario on the graphical user interface from a time at which an event specified by the query occurred, and modified to show one or more attributes of the one or more objects identified in the constructed scenario, which in a related art, Yurdana teaches (see at least Yurdana at the Abstract which discloses that the example apparatus also includes a user interface generator to: generate user interface data to define content for a user interface to be displayed via a screen, the user interface to include a graphical representation of the vehicle, the user interface to graphically indicate the vehicle is in the safe situation at the first point in time; and modify the user interface data so that the user interface graphically indicates the vehicle is in the dangerous situation at the second point in time. Furthermore, see Yurdana at claims 1 and 8, for example, which further discloses a user interface generator to: generate user interface data to define content for a user interface to be displayed via a screen, the user interface to include a graphical representation of the vehicle, the user interface to graphically indicate the vehicle is in the safe situation at the first point in time; and modify the user interface data so that the user interface graphically indicates the vehicle is in the dangerous situation at the second point in time and that he user interface generator generates the user interface data so that the user interface includes a replay of a graphical representation of the dangerous situation and the response at a third point in time after the second point in time, the replay based on the stored data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Simoudis to render the constructed one or more of the safe scenario, the unsafe scenario, and the critical scenario on the graphical user interface from a time at which an event specified by the query occurred, and modified to show one or more attributes of the one or more objects identified in the constructed scenario, as taught by Yurdana.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide a representation of whether the surrounding circumstances are safe and/or present dangerous driving situations, as suggested by Yurdana at [0047].
Regarding claim 2, the modified Simoudis teaches the autonomous vehicle data searching and auditing system according to claim 1, comprising a data acquisition module configured to obtain the autonomous vehicle data from one or more sensors mountable on the one or more autonomous vehicles (see Simoudis at [0012] which discloses that in some embodiments, the vehicle data comprises at least sensor data captured by one or more sensors and application data produced by one or more applications onboard the vehicle; see Simoudis at [0018] which discloses that another aspect of the present disclosure provides a method for managing vehicle data and that the method comprises: (a) at a cloud, receiving vehicle data transmitted from a vehicle, wherein the vehicle data comprises at least sensor data; (b) processing the vehicle data to generate metadata corresponding to the vehicle data, wherein the metadata includes data generated by a sensor capturing the sensor data.
The data acquisition module is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) from what is disclosed in the specification at [0052-0053] which states that the processor 201 executes the modules, for example, 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc. of the AVDSAS 100 and that for example, the modules 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc., of the AVDSAS 100 are stored in the memory unit 202 of the computer system 200. Based on the foregoing information obtained from the specification, the modules comprise data which can be stored and which the processor executes, such as executable code. As was indicated in the rejection of claim 1, Simoudis, at [0027-0028] and at [00148], teaches executable code and/or associated data which may be executed by a processor to implement any of the methods above or elsewhere herein. Therefore, Simoudis teaches the recited data acquisition module.)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Simoudis teaches the autonomous vehicle data searching and auditing system according to claim 1, wherein the scenario extraction module comprises a data extraction module configured to perform one or more of: (The data extraction module is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) from what is disclosed in the specification at [0052-0053] which states that the processor 201 executes the modules, for example, 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc. of the AVDSAS 100 and that for example, the modules 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc., of the AVDSAS 100 are stored in the memory unit 202 of the computer system 200. Based on the foregoing information obtained from the specification, the modules comprise data which can be stored and executed by a processor, such as executable code. As was indicated in the rejection of claim 1, see Simoudis at [0027-0028] and at [00148] which teaches executable code and/or associated data which may be executed by a processor to implement any of the methods above or elsewhere herein. Therefore, Simoudis teaches the recited data extraction module.)
obtain, from the autonomous vehicle data, one or more autonomous vehicle parameters associated with an autonomous vehicle, wherein the autonomous vehicle parameters comprise one or more of an acceleration, a yaw, a velocity, and global positioning system coordinates of the autonomous vehicle; (see Simoudis at [00153] which disclose that the telematics data may include, for example, speed related data (e.g., harsh acceleration, speeding, frequent acceleration), stop related data (e.g., harsh braking, frequent stopping, frequent braking), turn related data (e.g. harsh turning, acceleration before turn, overbraking before exit, swerving), data related to routes normally driven (e.g., highways versus local roads, areas with known traffic congestion, areas with high/low accident rates) or others (e.g., fatigued turning, usually driving on the fast lane, usage of turn indicators).)
and obtain, from the autonomous vehicle data, one or more objects associated with an autonomous vehicle, wherein the one or more objects comprise stationary and moving objects in proximity of the autonomous vehicle (see Simoudis at [00106] which discloses that in some embodiments, metadata may relate to sensors that capture sensory data (e.g., GPS, Lidar, camera, etc.), pre-processing on data (e.g., aligning and creating time series), and various applications and/or predictive models that operate on the data for a specific use case or application (e.g., avoiding pedestrians, pattern recognition, obstacle avoidance, etc.). Also, see Simoudis at [00136] which discloses that metadata may provide information about sensors that capture sensory data (e.g., GPS, Lidar, camera, etc.), pre-processing on data (e.g., aligning and creating time series), and various applications and/or predictive models that operate on the data for a specific use case or application (e.g., avoiding pedestrians, pattern recognition, obstacle avoidance, etc.) and that metadata may be created onboard the vehicle and that, for example, metadata may be generated by the sensors or applications running on the vehicle. Examiner maps pedestrians to moving objects and obstacle to stationary object.)
Regarding claim 5, the modified Simoudis teaches the autonomous vehicle data searching and auditing system according to claim 4, comprising a data storage module configured to store the autonomous vehicle data, the autonomous vehicle parameters, and the objects (see Simoudis at [00141] which discloses that computer system 1301 also includes memory or memory location 1310 (e.g., random-access memory, read-only memory, flash memory), electronic storage unit 1315 (e.g., hard disk), communication interface 1320 (e.g., network adapter) for communicating with one or more other systems, and peripheral devices 1325, such as cache, other memory, data storage and/or electronic display adapters.)
Regarding claim 6, the modified Simoudis teaches the autonomous vehicle data searching and auditing system according to claim 4, wherein the scenario extraction module comprises a scenario visualization module configured to generate, based on the query, a scenario using the autonomous vehicle parameters, the objects, and the autonomous vehicle data stored in the scenario database (see Simoudis at [0099] which discloses that the predictive models knowledge base may include hierarchical scenarios ontology that can be used to create new scenarios as well as to create a scenario in various levels of details and that for instance, a scenario described at a higher level of detail (i.e., higher level information about the scenario), may be used to create a low-fidelity simulation or predictive model, whereas the same scenario described at a lower level of detail (i.e., more detailed lower level information about the scenario) may be used to produce a high-fidelity simulation or predictive model. Examiner maps low or high-fidelity simulations to scenario.
The scenario visualization module is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) from what is disclosed in the specification at [0052-0053] which states that the processor 201 executes the modules, for example, 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc. of the AVDSAS 100 and that for example, the modules 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc., of the AVDSAS 100 are stored in the memory unit 202 of the computer system 200. Based on the foregoing information obtained from the specification, the modules comprise data which can be stored and executed by a processor, such as executable code. For example, as was indicated in the rejection of claim 1, see Simoudis at [0027-0028] and at [00148] which teaches executable code and/or associated data which may be executed by a processor to implement any of the methods above or elsewhere herein, such as the creation of scenarios in various levels of details. Therefore, Simoudis teaches the scenario visualization module.)
Regarding claim 7, the modified Simoudis teaches the autonomous vehicle data searching and auditing system according to claim 1, further comprising an operational design domain module configured to perform one or more of: obtain one or more operation design domain elements from the autonomous vehicle data and store the operation design domain elements into the scenario database, wherein the operational design domain elements comprise constraints associated with a domain in which the autonomous vehicle is configured to operate; and obtain one or more operational design domain elements from the scenario database based on the query (see Simoudis at [00129] which discloses that the pipeline 900 may include a plurality of functions for processing data that is being ingested in streams or in batch and that the data may include, for example, simulation data, data from the vehicle such as fleet data, operating environment data, transportation data, vehicle telemetry, data generated by AV stack and user experience platform, third-party partner data (e.g., data from user mobile application), sensor data (e.g., GPS, IMU, camera, Lidar, infrared sensor, thermal sensor, ultrasonic sensor, etc.), geolocation data, and various others as described elsewhere herein. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language in light of what is written in the specification. For example, the specification at [0014] discloses that the ODD elements comprise, for example, environmental constraints such as clear weather, geographical constraints such as speed limit zone, and time-of-day constraints such as night driving, and/or presence or absence of certain traffic or roadway characteristics such as congestion or sharp curve. Examiner notes that environment data corresponds to environmental constraints.
Furthermore, the operational design domain module is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) from what is disclosed in the specification at [0052-0053] which states that the processor 201 executes the modules, for example, 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc. of the AVDSAS 100 and that for example, the modules 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc., of the AVDSAS 100 are stored in the memory unit 202 of the computer system 200. Based on the foregoing information obtained from the specification, the modules comprise data which can be stored and executed by a processor, such as executable code. For example, as was indicated in the rejection of claim 1, Simoudis, at [0027-0028] and at [00148], teaches executable code and/or associated data which may be executed by a processor to implement any of the methods above or elsewhere herein, such as the processing of environment data. Therefore, Simoudis teaches the operational design domain module.)
Independent claim 9 recites a method that performs the steps recited in the systems of claims 1 and 2. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejections of claims 1 and 2 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the method of claim 9. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claims 1 and 2 above.
Claim 11 recites a method that performs the steps recited in the system of claim 4. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 4 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the method of claim 11. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claim 4 above.
Claim 12 recites a method that performs the steps recited in the system of claim 7. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 7 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the method of claim 12. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claim 7 above.
Independent claim 13 recites a method that performs the steps recited in the system of claims 1 and 6. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejections of claims 1 and 6 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the method of claim 13. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claims 1 and 6 above. Furthermore, Examiner notes that Simoudis at [0008] teaches generating metadata corresponding to the vehicle data and that at least a portion of the metadata is used to retrieve a subset of the vehicle data from the database. Examiner maps the portion of the metadata to the term, query parameters, as recited in claim 13. Examiner notes that Simoudis at [00130] teaches using a graphical user interface (GUI) provided by a user interface module (e.g., user interface module 425 in Fig. 4) and that for example, a set of available functions may be displayed within a GUI and that a user may select, within the GUI, a graphical element representing the CREATE SCENARIOS function by clicking the function or add the function to the current pipeline by drag-and-drop. Further, see Simoudis at [00131] which discloses that the graphical user interface (GUI) or user interface may be provided on a display and that the display may be configured to show a user interface (UI) or a graphical user interface (GUI) rendered through an application (e.g., via an application programming interface (API) executed on the user device, on the cloud or on the data orchestrator).
Claim 14 recites a method that performs the steps recited in the system of claim 6. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 6 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the method of claim 14. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claim 6 above.
Claim 15 recites a method that performs the steps recited in the systems of claims 7 and 8. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejections of claims 7 and 8 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the method of claim 15. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claims 7 and 8 above. Further, see Simoudis at [00130] which discloses that a user may select, within the GUI, a graphical element representing the CREATE SCENARIOS function by clicking the function or add the function to the current pipeline by drag-and-drop; see Simoudis at [00131] which discloses that the graphical user interface (GUI) or user interface may be provided on a display and that the display may be configured to show a user interface (UI) or a graphical user interface (GUI) rendered through an application (e.g., via an application programming interface (API) executed on the user device, on the cloud or on the data orchestrator.
Regarding claim 16, the modified Simoudis teaches the autonomous vehicle data searching and auditing system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes are shown by way of a bounding box on each of the one or more objects identified in the constructed scenario (see at least Yurdana at [0048] which discloses that upon detecting the dangerous situation (e.g., when the safe lateral distance rule has been violated), the user interface generator 220 updates the safety boundary graphic 328 to change the appearance (e.g., color) of the graphic in the area associated with the position of the encroaching vehicle 326. Examiner maps the encroaching vehicle to one of the one or more objects. Examiner maps color to the one or more attributes. Also, see Yurdana at [0055] which discloses that in some examples, to properly render the location of a dangerous situation on the ring by modifying a relevant portion of the safety boundary graphic, the user interface generator 220 identifies the objects detected in the surrounding environment giving rise to the dangerous situation (e.g., other vehicles less than the safe distances defined by the RSS model rules) and performs a second order projection of the locations of the objects onto the safety boundary graphic 328. Examiner maps safety boundary graphic to the recited bounding box.)
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simoudis (WO 2020/097221) Yurdana et al. (US 2020/0339157) and further in view of Ju et al. (US 2015/0234382).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Simoudis teaches the autonomous vehicle data searching and auditing system according to claim 1, in which the scenario extraction module comprises a data pre-processing module (The pre-processing module is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) from what is disclosed in the specification at [0052-0053] which states that the processor 201 executes the modules, for example, 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc. of the AVDSAS 100 and that for example, the modules 101, 102, 103, 104, 107, etc., of the AVDSAS 100 are stored in the memory unit 202 of the computer system 200. Based on the foregoing information obtained from the specification, the modules comprise data which can be stored and executed by a processor, such as executable code. For example, as was indicated in the rejection of claim 1, see Simoudis at [0027-0028] and at [00148] which teaches executable code and/or associated data which may be executed by a processor to implement any of the methods above or elsewhere herein. Therefore, Simoudis teaches the recited pre-processing module.)
The modified Simoudis does not expressly disclose configured to perform one or more of: verify whether the autonomous vehicle data is in an automotive industry standard format; and convert the autonomous vehicle data into an automotive industry standard format when the autonomous vehicle data is not in the automotive industry standard format (see Ju at [0044] which discloses that referring to Fig. 3, the data converting unit 110 includes a format converting unit 111, a sensor database 112, an information reducer 113, and a message wrapper 114. The sensor database 112 may be constructed with format information of each of different sensors of the same type, which perform the same function, and with format conversion table which is set in correspondence with the format information of each of the sensors and that the format conversion unit 111 extracts identification information of the sensor 11 from the sensor data, and converts the format of the sensor data into the standard format using the format information and the format conversion table regarding the sensor 11, which corresponds to the extracted identification information; see Ju at [0045] which discloses that the format converting unit 111 may recognize sensor 11 by searching for identification information which is included in a bit stream of the sensor data among preset identification information of a plurality of sensors, and recognizes the sensor 11, and that the format converting unit 111 may extract the format information and format conversion table corresponding to the recognized sensor 11 from the sensor database 112, and convert the sensor information of the sensor data into the standard format using the format conversion table.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Simoudis to verify whether the autonomous vehicle data is in an automotive industry standard format; and convert the autonomous vehicle data into an automotive industry standard format when the autonomous vehicle data is not in the automotive industry standard format, as taught by Ju.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to convert the format of the sensor data into a standard format, as suggested by Ju at [0044-0045].
Claim 10 recites a method that performs the steps recited in the system of claim 3. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 3 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the method of claim 10. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claim 3 above.
Conclusion
/ROY RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664