Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: "the driver's seat is arranged to the right or left of the connecting element, so that the driver has a clear view" recited in claim 1 should be changed to "the driver's seat is arranged to the right or left of the connecting element,. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the connecting element of the chassis, which connects the rear tractor part and the front tractor part to one another” in claim 1.
"the front tractor part and the rear tractor part are connected with a single connecting element, preferably consisting of a profile or tube or several profiles or tubes lying close together. " - para. 14, lines 1-5 of PG publication of the subject specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation ", and the claim also recites "preferably at least 80 cm, above the driver's seat" which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as the connecting element of the chassis, which connects the rear tractor part and the front tractor part to one another, is arranged at least 70 cm above the driver's seat.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3874469 A ("Sjovall").
Claim 1: Sjovall teaches a tractor for agricultural use having a chassis (3), which connects a front tractor part (18) and a rear tractor part (17) to one another via a connecting element (11) (Fig. 1), a driver's seat (6, 7) in the region of the rear tractor part (Fig. 1), a drive (4; col. 1, lines 63-68 and col. 2, lines 1-6) and at least four wheels (1, 2) (Fig. 1), wherein the connecting element (11; col. 2, lines 19-23) of the chassis, which connects the rear tractor part and the front tractor part to one another, and extends essentially horizontally to the front tractor part (Fig. 1). wherein the front tractor part and the rear tractor part are connected with a single connecting element, which is arranged in the center between the rear wheels and in the center between the front wheels (Fig. 2) and the driver's seat (6, 7) is arranged to the right or left of the connecting element (col. 2, lines 15-16), to provide a clear view to a driver to the front and also to the side of an implement mounted in the center of the tractor and has an unobstructed view when driving straight ahead and to the side of the road (Fig. 2, show the location of the driver’s seat being to the side and Fig. 3 shows the front of the tractor assembly having an opening to obstruct the front view). But does not teach the connecting element of the chassis is arranged at least 60 cm above the driver's seat.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the connecting element of the chassis arranged at least 60 cm above the driver's seat, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The device of Sjovall would work for its intended purpose with the connecting element at least 60 cm above the driver's seat.
Claim 2: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Sjovall further teaches the tractor wherein the connecting element (11) of the chassis (3), which connects the rear tractor part (17) and the front tractor part (18) to one another, is arranged at least 70 cm, above the driver's seat. But does not teach the connecting element of the chassis is arranged at least 70 cm above the driver's seat.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the connecting element of the chassis arranged at least 70 cm above the driver's seat, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The device of Sjovall would work for its intended purpose with the connecting element at least 70 cm above the driver's seat.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3874469 A ("Sjovall") in view of US 20190178350 A1 ("Steinberger").
Claim 6: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. The cited prior art does not teach the tractor wherein the wheels are individually suspended and individually driven.
However, Steinberger teaches the tractor wherein the wheels (62, 72) are individually suspended and individually driven (Fig. 1; para. 40, lines 16-21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the cited prior art with the features of Steinberger. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Steinberger teaches that the “Vehicle 10 may be configured for a broad variety of applications, including but not limited to transportation (e.g., consumer, commercial, etc.), military (e.g., troop transports, supply transports, tanks, etc.), emergency response (e.g., fire apparatuses, ambulances, police vehicles, etc.), agriculture (e.g., tractors, round bailers, harvesters, etc.)” (para. 31, lines 1-7) and “front axle driveshaft 66 and rear axle driveshaft 76 are configured to transport power from first electromagnetic device 40 and second electromagnetic device 50 to tires 62 and tires 72, respectively.” (para. 27, lines 17-20)
Claim 7: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Steinberger further teaches the tractor wherein pairs of rear wheels (72) or pairs of front wheels (62) are each connected via an axle (60, 70) and are jointly driven via the connecting axle (66, 76) (Fig. 1; para. 40, lines 16-21).
Claim 8: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Steinberger further teaches the tractor wherein at least one electric motor (40, 50) is provided as the drive (Fig. 1).
Claim 9: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 8 as noted above. Steinberger further teaches the tractor wherein the electric motor (40, 50) acts on the rear wheels (72) (Fig. 1; via 76; para. 36, lines 6-10).
Claim 10: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Steinberger further teaches the tractor wherein an all-wheel drive is provided (para. 40, lines 16-21).
Conclusion
/A.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614