Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6,8-11,13-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,6,8-11,13,15,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Hong (US 20050078256)
Regarding Claim 1,
Hong discloses (Fig. 2 to Fig. 3) a transparent substrate (218); a first electrode (213) on the transparent substrate; a second electrode (214) on the transparent substrate; and a liquid crystal (LC) layer (230) on the first and second electrodes; wherein the first electrode (213) includes a first bus line (213a) extending in a first direction parallel to an upper surface of the transparent substrate, and a plurality of first branch electrodes (213b) connected to the first bus line (213a) and extending thereform in a triangular wave structure (as shown zigzagging), wherein the second electrode (214) includes a second bus line (214a) extending in the first direction, and a plurality of second branch electrodes (214b) connected to the second bus line (214a) and extending therefrom in a triangular wave structure (as shown zigzagged), and wherein the first and second electrodes (213,214) are at the same level with respect to the transparent substrate (218); wherein the first and second bus lines (213a,214a) are spaced apart from each other with the plurality of first branch electrodes (213b) and the plurality of second branch electrodes (214b) interposed therebetween, and wherein the plurality of first branch electrodes (213b) and the plurality of second branch electrodes (214b) are alternately arranged with each other such that at least one of the plurality of second branch electrodes (214b) is disposed between two neighboring ones of the plurality of first branch electrodes (213b).
Regarding Claim 2,
Hong discloses (Fig. 2 to Fig. 3) wherein the first (213) and second electrodes (214) are configured to form a periodic electric field over the entire transparent substrate (218).
Regarding Claim 3,
Hong discloses (Fig. 2 to Fig. 3) wherein the first (213) and second electrodes (214) are configured to form a periodic liquid crystal alignment distribution over the liquid crystal layer (230).
Regarding Claim 6,
Hong discloses (Fig. 2 to Fig. 3) wherein each of the first (213) and second electrodes (214) contacts the transparent substrate (218) (contacts through the drain electrode and gate insulater 220).
Regarding Claim 8,
Hong discloses (Fig. 2 to Fig. 3) device include only a single cell composed of the first (213) and second electrodes (214).
Regarding Claim 9,
Hong discloses (Fig. 2 to Fig. 3) wherein each of the plurality of first branch electrodes (213) and the plurality of second branch electrodes (214) extends along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and parallel to an upper surface of the transparent substrate (218), and wherein the plurality of first branch electrodes (213b) and the plurality of second branch electrodes (214b) are alternately arranged along the first direction.
Regarding Claim 10,
Hong discloses (Fig. 2 to Fig. 3) the transparent substrate (218) includes a straight edge oblique with respect to the second direction.
Regarding Claim 11,
Hong discloses (Fig. 2 to Fig. 3) the transparent substrate (218) includes a straight edge perpendicular to the second direction.
Regarding Claim 13,
Hong discloses (Fig. 2 to Fig. 3) wherein each of the plurality of first branch electrodes (213b) and each of the plurality of second branch electrodes (214b) has a comb structure.
Regarding Claim 15,
Hong discloses (Fig. 2 to Fig. 3) wherein each of the plurality of first branch electrodes (213b) includes first portions and second portions alternately connected to each other, and wherein the first portions and the second portions are oblique with respect to each other.
Regarding Claim 16,
Hong discloses (Fig. 2 to Fig. 3) wherein each of the plurality of first branch electrodes (213b) includes first portions and second portions alternately connected to each other, and wherein the first portions and second portions are perpendicular to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 20050078256) in view of Miyake (US 20180324375)
Regarding Claim 4,
Hong discloses everything as disclosed above.
Hong does not disclose wherein a first supply voltage is applied to the first electrode and a second supply voltage less than the first voltage is applied to the second electrode.
Miyake discloses wherein a first supply voltage is applied to the first electrode and a second supply voltage less than the first voltage is applied to the second electrode (ABSTRACT).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hong to include Miyake’s first supply voltage is applied to the first electrode and a second supply voltage less than the first voltage is applied to the second electrode (ABSTRACT) motivated by the desire to reduce the occurrence of high-luminance after-image in imaging elements has been anticipated [0004].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 20050078256) in view of Letocart (US 20110167617)
Regarding Claim 5,
Hong discloses everything as disclosed above.
Hong does not disclose wherein the PGLC device is in a hazy state by applying the first and second power voltages.
Letocart discloses wherein the PGLC device is in a hazy state by applying the first and second power voltages.[0065]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hong to include Letocart’s hazy state motivated by the desire to use the dimmer function for a display.[0065]
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 20050078256) in view of Hyodo (US 20160161754)
Regarding Claim 14,
Hong discloses everything as disclosed above.
Hong does not disclose each of the plurality of first branch electrodes and each of the plurality of second branch electrodes has a wavy structure.
Hyodo discloses (Fig. 22)[0089] each of the plurality of first branch electrodes and each of the plurality of second branch electrodes has a wavy structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hong to include Hyodo’s wavy electrodes motivated by the desire to prevent moire appearing on the 3d image.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 20050078256) in view of Lee (US 20070139572)
Regarding Claim 17,
Hong discloses (Fig. 2 to Fig. 3) a transparent substrate (218); a first electrode (213) on the transparent substrate; a second electrode (214) on the transparent substrate; and a liquid crystal (LC) layer (230) on the first and second electrodes; wherein the first electrode (213) includes a first bus line (213a) extending in a first direction parallel to an upper surface of the transparent substrate, and a plurality of first branch electrodes (213b) connected to the first bus line (213a) and extending thereform in a triangular wave structure (as shown zigzagging), wherein the second electrode (214) includes a second bus line (214a) extending in the first direction, and a plurality of second branch electrodes (214b) connected to the second bus line (214a) and extending therefrom in a triangular wave structure (as shown zigzagged), and wherein the first and second electrodes (213,214) are at the same level with respect to the transparent substrate (218); wherein the first and second bus lines (213a,214a) are spaced apart from each other with the plurality of first branch electrodes (213b) and the plurality of second branch electrodes (214b) interposed therebetween, and wherein the plurality of first branch electrodes (213b) and the plurality of second branch electrodes (214b) are alternately arranged with each other such that at least one of the plurality of second branch electrodes (214b) is disposed between two neighboring ones of the plurality of first branch electrodes (213b).
Lin does not disclose depositing and patterning, through a metal lithography process
Lee discloses depositing and patterning, through a metal lithography process [0091]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lin to include Lee’s depositing and patterning, through a metal lithography process motivated by the desire to create the patterns required.
Claim(s) 18,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 20050078256) and of Lee (US 20070139572) in view of Gan (US 20170153504)
Regarding Claim 18,
Hong and Lee discloses everything as disclosed above.
Hong and Lee does not disclose wherein the first and second electrodes are formed simultaneously.
Gan discloses the first and second electrodes are formed simultaneously [0040].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hong and Lee to include Gan’s second electrodes are formed simultaneously [0040] motivated by the desire to prevent increasing the cost of manufacturing the display.[0040]
Regarding Claim 19,
In addition to Hong, Lee and Gan, Hong (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) discloses wherein each of the plurality of first branch electrodes (213b) and each of the plurality of second branch electrodes (214b) extends along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and parallel to an upper surface of the transparent substrate (218), and wherein the plurality of first branch electrodes (213b) and the plurality of second branch electrodes (214b) are alternately arranged along the first direction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871