DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, and 10 have been amended. Claim 4 has been canceled. Claims 1-3 and 5-10 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 6, filed 07/08/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections are persuasive. The previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-8, filed 07/08/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been considered, but are not persuasive. The claimed amendments do not overcome the art of rejection. See below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vektek 2020 YT.
Referring to claim 1: Vektek 2020 YT discloses an apparatus (shown in Fig. 1-A inserted below) for clamping workpieces on machine
tools, comprising:
at least one basic frame (BF Fig. 1-A inserted below) attachable to a machine tool for the machining of at least one workpiece
at least a first clamping assembly (1C Fig. 1-A inserted below) and at least a second clamping
assembly (2C Fig. 1-A inserted below) associated with said basic frame (BF Fig. 1-A inserted below) in a movable manner from
a release position (shown at 0:28) to a clamping position (shown at 0:30 and 0:57) of said workpiece along a clamping stroke (clamping stroke shown at 0:30 and 0:57 to secure against workpiece), and from said clamping position to said release position, along a release stroke (when 1C and 2C are not engaged);
at least one fluid actuator (FA Fig. 1-A inserted below) provided with a fixed portion (bottom portion of FA which houses cylinder MP) associated
-with said basic frame (BF Fig. 1-A inserted below) and with a movable portion (MP Fig. 1-A inserted below) associated with said fixed portion (bottom portion of FA which houses cylinder MP) in a sliding manner along a direction of sliding (direction of sliding towards 1C and 2C shown at 0:28 and 0:30) and connected to a drive assembly (DA Fig. 1-A inserted below) associated with said clamping assemblies
(1C and 2C Fig. 1-A), said fluid actuator (FA Fig. 1-A inserted below) comprising at least one chamber (chamber which houses MP) which
can be fed with at least one pressurized fluid (“Flow Control Valves” [002]; “psi” [003]) to simultaneously displace said clamping assemblies (1C and 2C Fig. 1-A) between said release position and said clamping position;
wherein said drive assembly (DA Fig. 1-A inserted below) comprises at least
one rocker element (RE-1 and RE-2 Fig. 1-A/ Fig. 4-A inserted below) hinged to said first clamping assembly and to said second clamping assembly (1C and 2C Fig. 1-A) and associated in a rotatable manner (1C and 2C are rotatable in the clamped and unclamped positions) with said movable portion (MP Fig. 1-A inserted below), which comprises at least one convex thrust surface (CTS Fig. 4-A inserted below; see convex shape marked as CR in Fig. 4-A) having a substantially cylindrical conformation (shown in Fig. 4-A)
arranged in thrust contact against a flat contact surface (flat contact surface of RE-2) of said rocker element (RE-2 Fig. 1-A/ Fig. 4-A inserted below) during said clamping stroke, wherein said rocker element (RE-1 and RE-2 Fig. 1-A / Fig. 4-A inserted below) is rotatable (shown canted at 0:57) on said convex thrust surface (CTS Fig. 4-A inserted below);
and
wherein said rocker element (RE-1 and RE-2/ Fig. 4-A Fig. 1-A inserted below) is associated with clearance with said movable portion (MP Fig. 1-A inserted below), which comprises at least one recovery surface (RS Fig. 4-A inserted below; slot which engages with RE-2 shown 1:20-1:30) arranged in thrust contact against said rocker element (RE-1 and RE-2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) during said release stroke (when 1C and 2C are not engaged).
Referring to claim 2: Vektek 2020 YT discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein said rocker element (RE-1 and RE-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) is hinged to said first clamping assembly and to said second clamping assembly (1C and 2C Fig. 1-A) around axes of hinging (AH Fig. 1-A inserted above) substantially parallel to each other (via horizontal pins shown in Fig. 1-A) and orthogonal to said direction of sliding (direction of sliding towards 1C and 2C shown at 0:28 and 0:30).
Referring to claim 3: Vektek 2020 YT discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said convex thrust surface (CTS Fig. 1-A inserted above) has an axis of curvature (AC Fig. 4-A inserted above) substantially parallel to said axes of hinging (AH Fig. 1-A inserted above).
Referring to claim 5: Vektek 2020 YT discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said recovery surface (RS Fig. 4-A inserted above; slot which engages with RE-2 shown 1:20-1:30) is defined by at least one connecting seat (seat CS where rocking occurs shown in Fig. 5-A inserted below) formed in said movable portion (MP Fig. 1-A inserted above), said rocker element (RE-1 and RE-2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) comprising at least one connecting pin (pin of AC) fitted with clearance (clearance with CS shown in Fig. 5-A inserted below) in said connecting seat (CS Fig. 5-A inserted below).
Referring to claim 6: Vektek 2020 YT discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said clamping assemblies (1C and 2C Fig. 1-A) are arranged on said basic frame (BF Fig. 1-A inserted above) on opposite sides (shown in Fig. 1-A) with respect to said fluid actuator (FA Fig. 1-A inserted above).
Referring to claim 7: Vektek 2020 YT discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 wherein said first clamping assembly (1C Fig. 1-A inserted above) comprises:
at least a first connecting rod (pin of 1AT Fig. 2-A inserted below) hinged to said basic frame (BF Fig. 1-A inserted above) around a first axis of tilting (tilting axis of 1C via 1AT Fig. 2-A inserted below); and
at least a first bracket (1B Fig. 2-A inserted below) hinged to said first connecting rod (pin of 1AR Fig. 2-A inserted below) around a first axis of rotation (rotational axis of pin of 1AR) substantially parallel to said first axis of tilting (tilting axis of 1C via 1AT Fig. 2-A inserted below).
Referring to claim 8: Vektek 2020 YT discloses the apparatus according to claim 7 wherein said second clamping (2C Fig. 1-A inserted above) assembly comprises:
at least a second connecting rod (pin of 2AT Fig. 2-A inserted above) hinged to said basic frame (BF Fig. 1-A inserted above) around
a second axis of tilting (tilting axis of 2C via 2AT Fig. 2-A inserted above); and
at least a second bracket (2B Fig. 2-A inserted above) hinged to said second connecting rod (pin of 2AR Fig. 2-A inserted above) around a second axis of rotation (rotational axis of pin of 2AR) substantially parallel to said second axis of tilting (tilting axis of 2C via 2AT Fig. 2-A inserted above).
Referring to claim 9: Vektek 2020 YT discloses the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein said axes of tilting (tilting axes of 1C and 2C via 1AT and 2AT Fig. 2-A inserted above), said axes of rotation (rotational axis of pins of 1AT and 2AT), said axes of hinging (AH Fig. 1-A inserted above) and said axis of curvature (AC Fig. 1-A inserted above) are all substantially parallel (shown in Figs. 1-A and 2-A) to each other and orthogonal to said direction of
Sliding (direction of sliding towards 1C and 2C shown at 0:28 and 0:30).
Referring to claim 10: Vektek 2020 YT discloses the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein said first clamping assembly said second clamping assembly (1C and 2C Fig. 1-A inserted above) and said rocker element (RE Fig. 1-A inserted above) are configured to be arranged in an ideal clamping position wherein:
said axes of hinging (AH Fig. 1-A inserted above) and said axes of rotation (rotational axis of pins of 1AT and 2AT) are all arranged substantially coplanar and lying on an ideal reference plane (IRP Fig. 3-A inserted below)
said first axis of tilting (tilting axis of 1C via 1AT Fig. 2-A inserted above) and said first axis of rotation (rotational axis of pin of 1AT Fig. 2-A inserted above) are arranged
substantially coplanar and lying on a first ideal lying plane (1LP Fig. 3-A inserted below) substantially orthogonal to said ideal reference plane (IRP Fig. 3-A inserted below);
said second axis of tilting (tilting axis of 2C via 2AT Fig. 2-A inserted above) and said second axis of rotation (rotational axis of pin of 2AR) are arranged substantially coplanar and lying on a second ideal lying plane (2LP Fig. 3-A inserted below) substantially parallel to said first ideal lying plane (1LP Fig. 3-A inserted below) and substantially orthogonal to said ideal reference plane (IRP Fig. 3-A inserted below).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723