DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s cancellation of claims 14 and 15, amendment of claims 1, 2, 8, 10-13 and the addition of new claim 16, in the paper of 7/6/2026, is acknowledged. Claims 1-13 and 16 are still at issue and are present for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of the following species:
Species Group 1: F207T.
Species Group 2: R40T-T64V-S70E-T117L-T177N-I178L-F180P-Y182A- R 190L-S205G-F207T-S212D-F226L-A236P-Y239I-L249P-S252I-E254Q-R256K-L258F.
Species Group 3: improved hydrolytic activity on a polyester.
Species Group 4: polyethylene terephthalate (PET).
Species Group 5: builders.
Species Group 6: water soluble organic builder.
Species Group 7: water soluble inorganic builder.
in the paper of 3/24/2026, is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election of the above species in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609 A(1) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper."
The information disclosure statement filed on 12/19/2023 has been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 4 and 12 recites “T064V”, “T64V” and “T064V”, respectively. It is suggested that applicants maintain consistency throughout the claims.
Claims 1, 4 and 12 are similarly rejected as above in the references to positions V14, R40, G59, G61, A66 and S7E for a lack of consistency.
Claim 1 part (d) recites “0.05 to 5 wt.%; and, “ which comprises a “,” after “and” which is unnecessary.
Appropriate correction and/or comment is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the terms: Triton (2X on page 50, bottom paragraph), TWEEN (page 25, 5th paragraph) which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Applicants specification recites “T064V” and “T64V” throughout. It is suggested that applicants maintain consistency throughout the specification.
The specification is similarly rejected as above in the references to positions V14, R40, G59, G61, A66 and S7E for a lack of consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-13, and 16 are directed to all possible cleaning compositions comprising: (a) any variant lipolytic enzyme, wherein said variant lipolytic enzyme comprises an amino acid sequence having a mere 70% identity to the full length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-I178L-F180P-Y182A- R190L-S205G- S212D-F226L-Y239I-L249P-S252I-L258F, and further comprising at least one additional substitution selected from the group consisting of V014S, R040A/T, G059Y, G061 D, A066D, S070E, Q161 H, G175A/E, F207L/T, V210I, Q227H, A236P, S244E, E254Q, and R256K, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, and wherein the variant has polyesterase activity; (b) at least one surfactant in an amount of 2 to 30 wt.%; (c) optionally at least one further enzyme, in an amount of 0.001 to 1 wt.%; (d) optionally at least one performance polymer, in an amount of 0.05 to 5 wt.%; and, (e) optionally at least one organic solvent in an amount of 0.1 to 10 wt.% and methods of use, encompassed by these claims. There is no disclosure of any particular structure to function/activity relationship in the disclosed species. The specification also fails to describe additional representative species of these compositions and variant lipolytic enzymes by any identifying structural characteristics or properties, for which no predictability of structure is apparent.
Regarding the level of skill and knowledge in the art of amino acid mutation, the reference of Singh et al. (Curr. Protein Pept. Sci. 18:1-11, 2017; cited on the attached Form PTO-892) reviews various protein engineering methods and discloses that despite the availability of an ever-growing database of protein structures and highly sophisticated computational algorithms, protein engineering is still limited by the incomplete understanding of protein functions, folding, flexibility, and conformational changes (see p. 7, column 1, top). Also, the unpredictability associated with amino acid mutations is exemplified by the reference of Zhang et al. (Structure 26:1474-1485, 2018; cited on the attached Form PTO-892), which discloses that even a mutation of a surface residue that was predicted to be benign caused significant structural changes and unexpected effects on the function of a polypeptide (p. 1475, column 1).
Given this lack of additional representative species as encompassed by the claims, Applicants have failed to sufficiently describe the claimed invention, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms that a skilled artisan would recognize Applicants were in possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant is referred to the revised guidelines concerning compliance with the written description requirement of U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, published in the Official Gazette and also available at www.uspto.gov.
Claim(s) 1-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for that cleaning composition comprising a variant lipolytic enzyme comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-1178L-F180P-Y182A-R190L- S205G-S212D-F226L-Y239I-L249P-S252I-L258F, and further comprising the substitution F207L/T, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, and wherein the variant has polyesterase activity and methods of use of said cleaning composiition, does not reasonably provide enablement for all possible cleaning compositions comprising: (a) any variant lipolytic enzyme, wherein said variant lipolytic enzyme comprises an amino acid sequence having a mere 70% identity to the full length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-I178L-F180P-Y182A- R190L-S205G- S212D-F226L-Y239I-L249P-S252I-L258F, and further comprising at least one additional substitution selected from the group consisting of V014S, R040A/T, G059Y, G061 D, A066D, S070E, Q161 H, G175A/E, F207L/T, V210I, Q227H, A236P, S244E, E254Q, and R256K, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, and wherein the variant has polyesterase activity; (b) at least one surfactant in an amount of 2 to 30 wt.%; (c) optionally at least one further enzyme, in an amount of 0.001 to 1 wt.%; (d) optionally at least one performance polymer, in an amount of 0.05 to 5 wt.%; and, (e) optionally at least one organic solvent in an amount of 0.1 to 10 wt.% and methods of its use. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required, are summarized in In re Wands (858 F.2d 731, 8 USPQ 2nd 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988)) as follows: (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claim(s).
Claim(s) 1-13, and 16 are so broad as to encompass all possible cleaning compositions comprising: (a) any variant lipolytic enzyme, wherein said variant lipolytic enzyme comprises an amino acid sequence having a mere 70% identity to the full length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-I178L-F180P-Y182A- R190L-S205G- S212D-F226L-Y239I-L249P-S252I-L258F, and further comprising at least one additional substitution selected from the group consisting of V014S, R040A/T, G059Y, G061 D, A066D, S070E, Q161 H, G175A/E, F207L/T, V210I, Q227H, A236P, S244E, E254Q, and R256K, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, and wherein the variant has polyesterase activity; (b) at least one surfactant in an amount of 2 to 30 wt.%; (c) optionally at least one further enzyme, in an amount of 0.001 to 1 wt.%; (d) optionally at least one performance polymer, in an amount of 0.05 to 5 wt.%; and, (e) optionally at least one organic solvent in an amount of 0.1 to 10 wt.% and methods of its use. The scope of the claims is not commensurate with the enablement provided by the disclosure with regard to the extremely large number of cleaning compositions and variant lipolytic enzymes broadly encompassed by the claims. The claims rejected under this section of U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, place minimal structural limits on the variant lipolytic enzymes encompassed by the claims. Since the amino acid sequence of a protein determines its structural and functional properties, predictability of which changes can be tolerated in a protein's amino acid sequence and obtain the desired activity requires a knowledge of and guidance with regard to which amino acids in the protein's sequence, if any, are tolerant of modification and which are conserved (i.e. expectedly intolerant to modification), and detailed knowledge of the ways in which the proteins' structure relates to its function. However, in this case the disclosure is limited to that variant lipolytic enzyme comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-1178L-F180P-Y182A-R190L- S205G-S212D-F226L-Y239I-L249P-S252I-L258F, and further comprising the substitution F207L/T, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, and wherein the variant has polyesterase activity and methods of use of said cleaning composiition and methods of its use.
While recombinant and mutagenesis techniques are known, it is not routine in the art to screen for multiple substitutions or multiple modifications, as encompassed by the instant claims, and the positions within a protein's sequence where amino acid modifications can be made with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining the desired activity/utility are limited in any protein and the result of such modifications is unpredictable. In addition, one skilled in the art would expect any tolerance to modification for a given protein to diminish with each further and additional modification, e.g. multiple substitutions.
The specification does not support the broad scope of the claims which encompass any possible cleaning compositions comprising: (a) any variant lipolytic enzyme, wherein said variant lipolytic enzyme comprises an amino acid sequence having a mere 70% identity to the full length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-I178L-F180P-Y182A- R190L-S205G- S212D-F226L-Y239I-L249P-S252I-L258F, and further comprising at least one additional substitution selected from the group consisting of V014S, R040A/T, G059Y, G061 D, A066D, S070E, Q161 H, G175A/E, F207L/T, V210I, Q227H, A236P, S244E, E254Q, and R256K, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, and wherein the variant has polyesterase activity; (b) at least one surfactant in an amount of 2 to 30 wt.%; (c) optionally at least one further enzyme, in an amount of 0.001 to 1 wt.%; (d) optionally at least one performance polymer, in an amount of 0.05 to 5 wt.%; and, (e) optionally at least one organic solvent in an amount of 0.1 to 10 wt.% and methods of its use, because the specification does not establish: (A) regions of the variant lipolytic enzymes which may be modified effecting the polyesterase activity; (B) the general tolerance of enzymes of the polyesterase group to modification and extent of such tolerance; (C) a rational and predictable scheme for modifying any amino acid residue of an enzyme of the polyesterase group with an expectation of obtaining the desired biological function; and (D) the specification provides insufficient guidance as to which of the essentially infinite possible choices is likely to be successful. Because of this lack of guidance, the extended experimentation that would be required to determine which substitutions would be acceptable to retain the required polyesterase activities and the fact that the relationship between the sequence of a peptide and its tertiary structure (i.e. its activity) are not well understood and are not predictable (e.g., see Ngo et al. in The Protein Folding Problem and Tertiary Structure Prediction, 1994, Merz et al. (ed.), Birkhauser, Boston, MA, pp. 433 and 492-495; Franceus et al., J. Ind. Microbiol. Biotechnol. Vol 44, pp 687-695, 2017), it would require undue experimentation for one skilled in the art to arrive at the majority of those cleaning compositions and variant lipolytic enzymes of the claimed genus.
Thus, applicants have not provided sufficient guidance to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the claimed invention in a manner reasonably correlated with the scope of the claims broadly including any cleaning compositions comprising: (a) any variant lipolytic enzyme, wherein said variant lipolytic enzyme comprises an amino acid sequence having a mere 70% identity to the full length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-I178L-F180P-Y182A- R190L-S205G- S212D-F226L-Y239I-L249P-S252I-L258F, and further comprising at least one additional substitution selected from the group consisting of V014S, R040A/T, G059Y, G061 D, A066D, S070E, Q161 H, G175A/E, F207L/T, V210I, Q227H, A236P, S244E, E254Q, and R256K, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, and wherein the variant has polyesterase activity; (b) at least one surfactant in an amount of 2 to 30 wt.%; (c) optionally at least one further enzyme, in an amount of 0.001 to 1 wt.%; (d) optionally at least one performance polymer, in an amount of 0.05 to 5 wt.%; and, (e) optionally at least one organic solvent in an amount of 0.1 to 10 wt.% and methods of its use. The scope of the claims must bear a reasonable correlation with the scope of enablement (In re Fisher, 166 USPQ 19 24 (CCPA 1970)). Without sufficient guidance, determination of those variant lipolytic enzymes having the desired biological characteristics is unpredictable and the experimentation left to those skilled in the art is unnecessarily, and improperly, extensive and undue. See In re Wands 858 F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2nd 1400 (Fed. Cir, 1988).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adams et al. (WO 2022197810).
Adams et al. (WO 2022197810) disclose cleaning compositions comprising a variant lipolytic enzyme, wherein said variant lipolytic enzyme comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 80% identity to the full length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-I178L-F180P-Y182A- R190L-S205G- S212D-F226L-Y239I-L249P-S252I-L258F, and further comprising at least one additional substitution F207T, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, and wherein the variant has polyesterase activity and a surfactant in 1 to 5 wt % (see paragraphs [008], [0092], claims and supporting text). Adams et al. (WO 2022197810) further disclose methods of use of the above cleaning compositions and variant lipolytic enzymein cleaning an item.
Thus claim(s) 1-3, 5-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adams et al. (WO 2022197810).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-13, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/571,886 (reference application).. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/571,886 (reference application) drawn to a cleaning composition, comprising at least one variant lipolytic enzyme, wherein said variant lipolytic enzyme comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 70% identity to the full length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-I178L-F180P-Y182A-R190L-S205G-S212D-F226L-Y239I-L249P-S252I-L258F, and further comprising at least one additional substitution selected from the group consisting of V014S, R040A/T, G059Y, G061D, A066D, S070E, Q161H, G175A/E, F207L/T, V210I, Q227H, A236P, S244E, E254Q, and R256K, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, and wherein the variant has polyesterase activity anticipate/make obvious instant claims 1-13, and 16 drawn to any possible cleaning compositions comprising: (a) any variant lipolytic enzyme, wherein said variant lipolytic enzyme comprises an amino acid sequence having a mere 70% identity to the full length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-I178L-F180P-Y182A- R190L-S205G- S212D-F226L-Y239I-L249P-S252I-L258F, and further comprising at least one additional substitution selected from the group consisting of V014S, R040A/T, G059Y, G061 D, A066D, S070E, Q161 H, G175A/E, F207L/T, V210I, Q227H, A236P, S244E, E254Q, and R256K, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, and wherein the variant has polyesterase activity; (b) at least one surfactant in an amount of 2 to 30 wt.%; (c) optionally at least one further enzyme, in an amount of 0.001 to 1 wt.%; (d) optionally at least one performance polymer, in an amount of 0.05 to 5 wt.%; and, (e) optionally at least one organic solvent in an amount of 0.1 to 10 wt.% and methods of its use.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/571,882 (reference application).. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/571,882 (reference application) drawn to a cleaning or fabric conditioning composition, comprising (a) at least one variant lipolytic enzyme, wherein said variant lipolytic enzyme comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 70% identity to the full length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-I178L-F180P-Y182A-R190L- S205G-S212D-F226L-Y239I-L249P-S252I-L258F, and further comprising at least one additional substitution selected from the group consisting of V014S, R040A/T, G059Y, G061 D, A066D, S070E, Q161 H, G175A/E, F207L/T, V210I, Q227H, A236P, S244E, E254Q, and R256K, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, and wherein the variant has esterase activity; and (b) at least one additional ingredient selected from the group consisting of performance polymers, complexing agents, surfactants, and combinations thereof. anticipate/make obvious instant claims 1-13, and 16 drawn to any possible cleaning compositions comprising: (a) any variant lipolytic enzyme, wherein said variant lipolytic enzyme comprises an amino acid sequence having a mere 70% identity to the full length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-I178L-F180P-Y182A- R190L-S205G- S212D-F226L-Y239I-L249P-S252I-L258F, and further comprising at least one additional substitution selected from the group consisting of V014S, R040A/T, G059Y, G061 D, A066D, S070E, Q161 H, G175A/E, F207L/T, V210I, Q227H, A236P, S244E, E254Q, and R256K, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, and wherein the variant has polyesterase activity; (b) at least one surfactant in an amount of 2 to 30 wt.%; (c) optionally at least one further enzyme, in an amount of 0.001 to 1 wt.%; (d) optionally at least one performance polymer, in an amount of 0.05 to 5 wt.%; and, (e) optionally at least one organic solvent in an amount of 0.1 to 10 wt.% and methods of its use.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13, 15-17 of copending Application No. 18/569,808 (reference application).. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-13, 15-17 of copending Application No. 18/569,808 (reference application) drawn to a variant lipolytic enzyme comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 70% identity to the full length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-1178L-F180P-Y182A-R190L- S205G-S212D-F226L-Y2391-L249P-S2521-L258F, and further comprising at least one additional substitution of R040A/T, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, and wherein the variant has esterase activity. anticipate/make obvious instant claims 1-13, and 16 drawn to any possible cleaning compositions comprising: (a) any variant lipolytic enzyme, wherein said variant lipolytic enzyme comprises an amino acid sequence having a mere 70% identity to the full length amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, comprising the substitutions T064V-T117L-T177N/R-I178L-F180P-Y182A- R190L-S205G- S212D-F226L-Y239I-L249P-S252I-L258F, and further comprising at least one additional substitution selected from the group consisting of V014S, R040A/T, G059Y, G061 D, A066D, S070E, Q161 H, G175A/E, F207L/T, V210I, Q227H, A236P, S244E, E254Q, and R256K, wherein the positions are numbered by reference to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, and wherein the variant has polyesterase activity; (b) at least one surfactant in an amount of 2 to 30 wt.%; (c) optionally at least one further enzyme, in an amount of 0.001 to 1 wt.%; (d) optionally at least one performance polymer, in an amount of 0.05 to 5 wt.%; and, (e) optionally at least one organic solvent in an amount of 0.1 to 10 wt.% and methods of its use.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Additional Prior Art.
WO 03/076580 teaches site saturation mutagenesis of Pseudomonas mendocina lipase (Example 1) leading to variants with improved hydrolytic activity on polyester in poly(ethyleneterephthalate) fibers as compared to the wild type enzyme of SEQ ID NO:2.
WO 01/34899 teach assays of hydrolytic activity of P. mendocina lipase variants on long chain polyester polymer fibers or diethyl terephthalate; Examples 1A-C).
Remarks
No claim is allowed.
rgh
7/24/2026
/RICHARD G HUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652