Detailed Office Action
Notice of Pre-AIA Status
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Restriction/Election
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1, 5 and 7 in the reply filed on 05/13/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the cited reference of Kono (JP2007/254801) requires a higher content of vanadium than the claimed range. This is found persuasive in view of the amendments. However, upon further consideration Groups I and II lack a shared special technical feature in view of Kono (JP2007/186790, using espacenet translation).
Kono teaches a composition that meets claim 1 [Table 1, Example D] with the exception of a higher content of Ti, wherein a prima facie case of obviousness exists where claimed ranges do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I). Kono teaches hot-rolling, hot-roll annealing, cold-rolling, and continuous finish annealing [0040]. Kono teaches an example in which the finish annealing is 800°C, the line tension is 20 MPa [Table 3, Example 30], and soaking is 20 seconds [0040, 0047]. The non-recrystallization ratio is 78% and tensile strength is above 500 MPa [Table 3, Ex 30]. As such, given that Kono teaches substantially identical annealing parameters to those described in Table 1 of the specification, as well as a recrystallization/non-recrystallization ratio that meets claims 5 and 7. There is a reasonable expectation that the example Kono would possess the claimed features (grain size of 50 µm or less, yield strength of 500 MPa or more, and compressive residual stresses) of claim 1 as a result of the processing steps/parameters disclosed.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, Claims 6 and 10, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 05/13/26.
Claim Warning
Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 7 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §103
Claims 1, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kono (JP2007/186790, using espacenet translation)
Regarding claim 1, Kono teaches a non-oriented steel sheet [Title]. Kono teaches a composition of: [Example D, Table 1]
Element
Claimed Invention (mass%)
Kono mass%
Relation
Carbon (C)
0 – 0.005%
0.0045%
Falls within
Silicon (Si)
2.0 – 5.0%
2.9%
Falls within
Manganese (Mn)
0 – 3.0%
0.44%
Falls within
Phosphorous (P)
0 – 0.2%
0.01%
Falls within
Sulfur (S)
0 – 0.005%
0.001%
Falls within
Aluminum (Al)
0 – 3.0%
0.36%
Falls within
Nitrogen (N)
0 – 0.005%
0.0033%
Falls within
Chromium (Cr)
0 – 3.0%
Does not teach
Meets
Oxygen (O)
0 – 0.005%
Does not teach
Meets
Tin (Sn)
0 – 0.2%
Does not teach
Meets
Antimony (Sb)
0 – 0.2%
Does not teach
Meets
Calcium (Ca)
0 – 0.01%
Does not teach
Meets
Magnesium (Mg)
0 – 0.01%
Does not teach
Meets
Rare Earth Metals (REM)
0 – 0.05%
Does not teach
Meets
Copper (Cu)
0 – 0.5%
Does not teach
Meets
Nickel (Ni)
0 – 0.5%
Does not teach
Meets
Germanium (Ge)
0 – 0.05%
Does not teach
Meets
Arsenic (As)
0 – 0.05%
Does not teach
Meets
Cobalt (Co)
0 – 0.05%
Does not teach
Meets
Titanium (Ti)
0 – 0.005%
0.35%
Outside of
Niobium (Nb)
0 – 0.005%
Does not teach
Meets
Vanadium (V)
0 – 0.01%
Does not teach
Meets
Tantalum (Ta)
0 – 0.002%
Does not teach
Meets
Boron (B)
0 – 0.002%
Does not teach
Meets
Gallium (Ga)
0 – 0.005%
Does not teach
Meets
Lead (Pb)
0 – 0.002%
Does not teach
Meets
Zinc (Zn)
0 – 0.005%
Does not teach
Meets
Molybdenum (Mo)
0 – 0.05%
Does not teach
Meets
Tungsten (W)
0 – 0.05%
Does not teach
Meets
Iron (Fe)
Balance
Balance
Meets
*Shaded indicates optional
Kono does not expressly teach the average ferrite grain size, yield strength, or compressive residual stress at the surface and center, as claimed.
Kono teaches hot-rolling, hot-roll annealing, cold-rolling, and continuous finish annealing [0040]. Kono teaches an example in which the finish annealing is 800°C, the line tension is 20 MPa [Table 3, Example 30], and soaking is 20 seconds [0040, 0047]. The non-recrystallization ratio is 78% and tensile strength is above 500 MPa [Table 3, Ex 30]. As such, given that Kono teaches substantially identical annealing parameters to those described in Table 1 of the specification, as well as a recrystallization/non-recrystallization ratio that meets claims 5 and 7. There is a reasonable expectation that the example Kono would possess the claimed features (grain size of 50 µm or less, yield strength of 500 MPa or more, and compressive residual stresses) of claim 1 as a result of the processing steps/parameters disclosed.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, in this case the annealing conditions, a prima facie case of obviousness is established (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP 2112.01 I)
While the content of titanium is outside the claimed range, “[A] prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.").” (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Kono teaches the invention as applied in claim 1. Kono teaches that the non-recrystallized structure is 78% [Example 30, Table 3], which meets the claimed range of claims 5 and 7.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (EP3872195, cited in the IDS of 12/24/24)
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a non-oriented steel sheet [Title]. Liu teaches an example with a composition of [Table 1, No. 4].
Element
Claimed Invention (mass%)
Liu mass%
Relation
Carbon (C)
0 – 0.005%
0.0006%
Falls within
Silicon (Si)
2.0 – 5.0%
2.4%
Falls within
Manganese (Mn)
0 – 3.0%
0.69%
Falls within
Phosphorous (P)
0 – 0.2%
0.0012%
Falls within
Sulfur (S)
0 – 0.005%
0.0012%
Falls within
Aluminum (Al)
0 – 3.0%
0.7%
Falls within
Nitrogen (N)
0 – 0.005%
0.0009%
Falls within
Chromium (Cr)
0 – 3.0%
0.92%
Falls within
Oxygen (O)
0 – 0.005%
Does not teach
Meets
Tin (Sn)
0 – 0.2%
0.07%
Falls within
Antimony (Sb)
0 – 0.2%
Does not teach
Meets
Calcium (Ca)
0 – 0.01%
Does not teach
Meets
Magnesium (Mg)
0 – 0.01%
Does not teach
Meets
Rare Earth Metals (REM)
0 – 0.05%
Does not teach
Meets
Copper (Cu)
0 – 0.5%
Does not teach
Meets
Nickel (Ni)
0 – 0.5%
0.6%
Outside of
Germanium (Ge)
0 – 0.05%
Does not teach
Meets
Arsenic (As)
0 – 0.05%
Does not teach
Meets
Cobalt (Co)
0 – 0.05%
Does not teach
Meets
Titanium (Ti)
0 – 0.005%
0.0042%
Falls within
Niobium (Nb)
0 – 0.005%
Does not teach
Meets
Vanadium (V)
0 – 0.01%
0.0045%
Falls within
Tantalum (Ta)
0 – 0.002%
Does not teach
Meets
Boron (B)
0 – 0.002%
Does not teach
Meets
Gallium (Ga)
0 – 0.005%
0.2%
Outside of
Lead (Pb)
0 – 0.002%
Does not teach
Meets
Zinc (Zn)
0 – 0.005%
Does not teach
Meets
Molybdenum (Mo)
0 – 0.05%
Does not teach
Meets
Tungsten (W)
0 – 0.05%
Does not teach
Meets
Iron (Fe)
Balance
Balance
Meets
*Shaded indicates optional
The yield strength is 501 MPa, which meet the claimed range [Table 6].
Liu does not expressly teach the average ferrite grain size or compressive residual stress at the surface and center, as claimed.
Liu teaches hot-rolling, hot-roll annealing (referred to as normalizing), cold-rolling, and continuous finish annealing [0057]. Liu teaches an example [0059 notes that No 4 composition is used] in which the finish annealing is 960°C, the line tension is 15 MPa, and soaking is 1.8 seconds [Table 5, Example 12]. The yield strength is 501 MPa, which meet the claimed range [Table 6].
As such, given that Liu teaches substantially annealing parameters to those described in Table 1 of the specification, as well as the yield strength. There is a reasonable expectation that the example of Liu would possess the claimed features (grain size of 50 µm or less and compressive residual stresses) of claim 1 as a result of the processing steps/parameters disclosed.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, in this case the annealing conditions, a prima facie case of obviousness is established (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP 2112.01 I)
While the contents of nickel and gallium are outside the claimed range, “[A] prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.").” (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 4 of copending Application No. 18/570,350 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because non-oriented electrical steel with the same composition and properties as the claimed sheet.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US2021/0395866 – Electrical steel strip with annealing performed at amounts of less than 10 N/mm2 (10 MPa)
JPH01234524 – Continuous annealing of electrical steel at 10 MPa or less.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN POLLOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738