DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 06/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/16/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because
Figure 6 includes four views in one figure. Each graph should be labeled 6a, 6b, 6c, and 6d.
Figure 15c’s wording is not clear, blurry in some areas and too light.
Figures 25-29, content is missing from top right of table.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 214 in figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demaria et al (US 20190054233 A1) in view of Wang (US 20150209489 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Demaria discloses an infusion device 200 (fig 14) comprising:
a base 224/230;
an adhesive 232 configured to couple the base to a skin of a patient; and
a catheter 234 having a therapeutic coating 290 [0058-0060], the coating comprising a polymer matrix and a therapeutic agent [0058-0060]. However, Demaria does not disclose specifically the coating defining a thickness of at least 40 micrometers and a therapeutic agent loading of at least 30 wt.%.
Wang teaches a catheter including a coating (that can be used on other medical devices such as infusion catheters [0021,0086]) comprising a polymer matrix and a therapeutic agent [0052,0110,0111,0265], the coating defining a thickness of at least 45 micrometers [0017,0080,0258] and a therapeutic agent loading of at least 30 wt.% [0431]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Demaria’s catheter coating by providing it with the Wang’s teachings of a coating thickness and loading as claimed since such modification is taught old and well known in the art to control the release of the therapeutic coating as desired.
Regarding claims 2-3, Demaria discloses the delivery of wherein the therapeutic agent comprises a nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug [0056]. Wang teaches nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug meloxicam as the therapeutic agent [0240].
Regarding claim 6, Demaria discloses the catheter is configured to remain inserted in the patient for at least 7 days, and wherein the catheter is configured to continuously release the therapeutic agent while inserted [0033,0055], figs 14-15.
Regarding claim 7, Demaria discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, it fails to disclose the therapeutic agent is comprised of a plurality of discrete particles embedded in the polymer matrix.
Wang teaches in [0052] drug particles that are dispersed in the mixture of the coating forming the polymer matrix helping with the rapid release of the drug from the polymer matrix. Given the teaching, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Demaria’s polymer matrix by including a plurality of particles embedded in the polymer matrix since it would expedite the release of the therapeutic agent from the polymer matrix.
Regarding claim 8, Demaria/Wang discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, they fail to disclose the therapeutic coating comprises at least 40 wt.% of the therapeutic agent. The material weight selection is deemed matter of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results.
Regarding claim 9, Demaria discloses the therapeutic coating further comprises a second therapeutic agent [0028].
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demaria et al (US 20190054233 A1) in view of Wang (US 20150209489 A1), further in view of Hossainy et al (US 20100330147 A1).
Regarding claims 4-5, Demaria discloses the polymer matrix [0058] to improve solubility or elution properties and/or impart time-release effect to the elution of the medicament 290. Wang also discloses the use of polymer matrix [0052,0110]. However, Demaria/Wang fails to disclose the polymer matrix specifically being at least one of ethyl vinyl acetate, thermoplastic polyurethane, or poly(caprolactone); and (claim 5) wherein the polymer matrix is ethyl vinyl acetate and has a melt index of about 33 dg/min. and a vinyl acetate content of about 25%.
Hossainy teaches an infusion delivery device [0034] comprising a drug containing polymer matrix to alter drug release [0005,0077,0079,0148] which can comprise ethyl vinyl acetate copolymer [0148], and poly((caprolactone). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Demaria/Wang’s catheter polymer matrix with the Hossainy’s teaching of the alternative polymer matrix material as a alternative material since also teaches drug release alteration.
However, Demaria/Wang/Hossainy fails to disclose the polymer matrix is ethyl vinyl acetate and has a melt index of about 33 dg/min. and a vinyl acetate content of about 25%. These parameters are deemed matters of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/Cris L. Rodriguez/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3783