DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made that the instant application was effectively filed on 19 December 2023, but claims priority to Korean Patent Application No. KR 10-2022-0000723, filed on 04 January 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 19 December 2023, 15 April 2025, and 29 October 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 5, the recitation “the first adhesive layer is surrounds…” should read “the first adhesive layer surrounds”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the recitation “wherein the collision wall part…” is indefinite, because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; claim 9 depends on claim 6, rather than claim 8, where “a collision wall part” was initially recited.
For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitation is interpreted to mean “wherein a collision wall part…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamashita et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0373287).
Regarding claim 1, Yamashita teaches a battery module (1, Figs. 1-7, [0019]) comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (2, Fig. 4), wherein each of the plurality of battery cells has a respective vent part (2d, Fig. 4, [0021 and 0026]);
a cell frame (3, Fig. 3) including a cell seating part (30, Fig. 4, [0026]) having a plurality of seating grooves (306, Fig. 4, [0026]) accommodating the respective vent parts (2d); and
a first adhesive layer (317, Fig. 4, [0028]) disposed between the vent parts (2d) and the plurality of seating grooves (306, see explanation, below), so as to bond the plurality of battery cells to the cell seating part ([0028]),
wherein adjacent ones of the plurality of seating grooves (306) of the cell seating part (30) are spaced apart from each other (spaced apart in left-right axis, see Fig. 4).
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4
Yamashita teaches the epoxy (317) enters a gap between a cylindrical surface on the battery cell (2) and the accommodation support (306, see [0028]), shown as a small sliver in Fig. 4. Therefore, it is the position of the Examiner that 317 on the bottom surface of 306 (see Annotated Fig. 4, above) is disposed in between 306 on the left and 2d on the right. Thus, Yamashita teaches a first adhesive layer (317) disposed between the vent parts (2d) and the plurality of seating grooves (306).
Regarding claim 2, Yamashita teaches wherein each of the plurality of seating grooves (306, Fig. 4) is recessed in an inner surface (top of 30, Fig. 4) of the cell frame (3, Fig. 3) facing the vent parts (2d).
Regarding claim 3, Yamashita teaches wherein each of the plurality of seating grooves (306, Fig. 4) has a seating groove bottom surface (bottom surface of 306, Annotated Fig. 4, under claim 1) and a seating groove side surface (side surface of 306, Annotated Fig. 4, under claim 1), wherein each of the seating groove bottom surfaces are positioned to face the respective vent part (2d, see Fig. 4), wherein each of the seating groove side surfaces (side surface of 306) connect the respective seating groove bottom surface (bottom surface of 306) and the inner surface (top of 30, Fig. 4) of the cell frame (3, Fig. 3) extending parallel to a plane in which the plurality of seating grooves are spaced apart from each other (left-right axis, Fig. 4), wherein the first adhesive layer (317, Fig. 4) is positioned between each of the seating groove bottom surfaces (bottom surface of 306) and the respective vent part of the plurality of battery cells (2d, see explanation, below), and the first adhesive layer (317) is positioned between each of the seating groove side surfaces (side surface of 306) and the respective one of the plurality of battery cells (2, Fig. 4).
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4
As noted above, Yamashita teaches the epoxy (317) enters a gap between a cylindrical surface on the battery cell (2) and the accommodation support (306, see [0028]), shown as a small sliver in Fig. 4. Therefore, it is the position of the Examiner that there exists a portion of the adhesive 317, which is in between a portion of the bottom surface on the left and 2d on the right (see Annotated Fig. 4, above). Thus, Yamashita teaches the first adhesive layer (317) is positioned between each of the seating groove bottom surfaces and the respective vent part (2d).
Regarding claim 4, Yamashita, teaches wherein the first adhesive layer (317, Fig.) is an adhesive material (epoxy adhesive, [0028]) disposed on the inner surface (top of 30, Fig. 4) of the cell frame (3, Fig. 3) including the seating groove bottom surfaces (adhesive 317 on bottom surface of 306, Annotated Fig. 4, under claim 1) and the seating groove side surfaces (adhesive 317 on side surface of 306, Annotated Fig. 4, under claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Yamashita teaches the first adhesive layer (317, Fig. 4) is surrounds each plurality of seating grooves (306, Fig. 4, see explanation below).
It is the position of the Examiner that Yamashita teaches the epoxy layer 317 is between the cylindrical surface of battery cell 2 and the accommodation support portion 306 ([0028]); because the surface is cylindrical, 317 would then encircle 306, thereby surrounding the seating grooves.
Regarding claim 6, Yamashita teaches wherein the cell seating part (30, Fig. 4) has a plurality of vent pattern grooves (vent pattern groove comprising 306a, Annotated Fig. 4, below, see [0026]) recessed in an exterior surface (bottom of 30, Fig. 4) of the cell frame (3, Fig. 3), the plurality of vent pattern grooves being opposed (open down, Annotated Fig. 4, below) to the respective plurality of seating grooves (open up, Annotated Fig. 4, below) in a thickness direction (y-axis, Fig. 4) of the cell frame (30), and wherein each of the plurality of vent pattern grooves is positioned so as to at least partially overlap with a respective one of the plurality of seating grooves (see Annotated Fig. 4, below).
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding claim 7, Yamashita teaches wherein a center of each of the plurality of vent pattern grooves (vent pattern groove comprising 306a, Annotated Fig. 4, under claim 6) is positioned coaxially (coaxial, Annotated Fig. 4, under claim 6) with a center of each of the plurality of seating grooves (seating groove 306, Annotated Fig. 4, under claim 6), respectively, and wherein each of the plurality of vent pattern grooves (vent pattern groove comprising 306a) has a diameter smaller than a diameter of a respective one of the plurality of seating grooves (seating groove 306, see Annotated Fig. 4, under claim 6).
Regarding claim 10, Yamashita teaches wherein a depth of each of the plurality of vent pattern grooves (vent pattern groove comprising 306a, Annotated Fig. 4, under claim 6) is smaller than a depth of a respective one of the plurality of seating grooves (seating groove 306, Annotated Fig. 4, under claim 6).
Regarding claim 12, Yamashita teaches wherein the plurality of seating grooves (306, Fig. 4) are partitioned from each other (spaced apart in left-right axis, see Fig. 4), so as to prevent damage to adjacent ones of the plurality of battery cells when one of the plurality of battery cells is interiorly ignited (see explanation, below).
It is the position of the Examiner that Yamashita teaches the plurality of seating grooves 306 are partitioned from each other, as shown in Fig. 4, which would necessarily result in prevention of damage to adjacent batteries in the event of ignition due to physical separation.
Regarding claim 13, Yamashita teaches further comprising a cell support part (4, Fig. 6) having a plurality of insertion holes (accommodation support portions, [0029]) configured to receive respective ones of the plurality of battery cells (2, Fig. 6), and wherein the cell support part is coupled to the cell frame (30 and 4 integrated together and fixed, [0029 and 0045]).
Regarding claim 14, Yamashita teaches further comprising a cover part (7, Fig. 6) surrounding (see explanation, below) the cell support part (4, Fig. 6) and coupled to the cell frame (3, Fig. 6, see explanation, below), so as to accommodate the plurality of battery cells (2, Fig. 6).
It is the position of the Examiner that Yamashita teaches the cover part (7) surrounding the cell support pad (4) because the cover part is depicted as having a top and 4 side walls, thereby covering the top and sides, or surrounding the support pad 4. Additionally, Yamashita teaches the cover part (7) as indirectly coupled to the cell frame (3), because the cell frame (3) comprises the cell seating part (30), which is attached to the cell support pad (4, [0029 and 0045]), while the cell support pad is coupled to the cover part (7, [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0373287), in view of Kim et al. (KR 20190069131, Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 8, Yamashita teaches the cell seating part (30, Fig. 4), the plurality of seating grooves (306, Fig. 4) and a respective one of the plurality of vent pattern grooves (vent pattern groove comprising 306a, Annotated Fig. 4, under claim 6),
but does not teach wherein the cell seating part has a collision wall part positioned between each of the plurality of seating grooves and a respective one of the plurality of vent pattern grooves in the thickness direction, and wherein the collision wall part comprises a region having a smallest thickness of the cell frame.
However, Kim teaches wherein the cell seating part (PW, Fig. 5) has a collision wall part (MV, Fig. 5) positioned between each of the plurality of seating grooves (seating groove, Annotated Fig. 5, under claim 6) and a respective one of the plurality of vent pattern grooves (vent pattern groove, Annotated Fig. 5, under claim 6) in the thickness direction (vertical direction, Fig. 5), and wherein the collision wall part comprises a region having a smallest thickness of the cell frame (see Fig. 5, and explanation below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cell sealing part of Yamashita, in view of Kim, such that it comprises a collision wall part, to allow for gas to be discharged quickly upon breakage of the collision wall, as to not deteriorate neighboring battery cells ([0107]).
Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5
It is the position of the Examiner that “comprises a region having a smallest thickness of the cell frame” can be interpreted broadly; since Applicant did not limit “a region”, any portion of the collision wall’s total depth can be a region. This means an arbitrary top shaving of the collision wall (MV) of Kim has a smallest thickness of the cell frame, inherently. Further, Kim teaches the collision wall (MV) comprises the break line portion which is 30% or less than the thickness of the top cover ([0104-0106]).
Regarding claim 9, Yamashita, in view of Kim, teaches a battery cell of the plurality of battery cells (2, Fig. 4) disposed in a respective seating groove (306, Fig. 4),
but does not teach wherein the collision wall part is configured to be damaged when a battery cell of the plurality of battery cells disposed in a respective seating groove is ignited.
However, Kim teaches wherein the collision wall part (MV, Fig. 5, see 35 U.S.C. § 112b rejection, above for interpretation) is configured to be damaged when a battery cell of the plurality of battery cells disposed in a respective seating groove is ignited (module vent broken in overheating, [0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cell sealing part of Yamashita, in view of Kim, such that it comprises a collision wall part configured to be damaged upon cell ignition, to allow for gas to be discharged quickly upon breakage of the collision wall, as to not deteriorate neighboring battery cells ([0107]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0373287), in view of Reinshagen et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0025657).
Regarding claim 11, Yamashita teaches the cell frame (3, Fig. 4) and the plurality of seating grooves (306, Fig. 4) is inside recessed in the inner surface (top of 30, Fig. 4) of the cell frame (3, Fig. 3), and the plurality of vent pattern grooves (vent pattern groove comprising 306a, Annotated Fig. 4, under claim 6) is recessed in the exterior surface (bottom of 30, Fig. 4) of the cell frame (3),
but does not teach wherein the cell frame is injection-molded.
However, Reinshagen teaches wherein the cell frame (2, Fig. 2) is injection-molded (injection-molded, [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cell frame of Yamashita, in view of Kim, such that it was injection-molded, as taught by Reinshagen, to provide cost-effective production of the device (see [0023]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. (U.S. Pub. US 2017/0373287), in view of Newman et al. (U.S Pub. US 2019/0296407).
Regarding claim 15, Yamashita teaches the plurality of battery cells (2, Fig. 6) and the cover part (7, Fig. 6),
but does not teach further comprising a second adhesive layer bonding the plurality of battery cells to the cover part.
However, Newman teaches a second adhesive layer (404, Fig. 4B, see explanation, below) bonding the plurality of battery cells (208, Fig. 4B) to the cover part (212B, Fig. 4B, [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Yamashita such that it comprises a second adhesive layer bonding the cells to the cover, as taught by Newman, to mechanically join the cells and cover to form a unified and integral structure, resistant to impact and shock ([0081 and 0193]).
It is the position of the Examiner that the adhesive layer (404) can be a second adhesive layer, since Newman teaches an additional adhesive layer (924, Fig. 9B, [0112]).
Conclusion
/AIDAN LACHLAN PAPANDRIA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723