This communication is in response to application No. 18/571,861 Steering Device; filed on 12/29/2023. Claims 12-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 13, 15, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawada (US 2011/0120798 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kawada discloses;
A steering device comprising:
a cylindrical support tube (upper portion 33; fig. 1) that includes a flange and that rotatably supports a steering shaft (steering shaft 3; fig. 1);
a speed reducer (speed reduction mechanism 24; fig. 1) configured to apply a torque to the steering shaft;
a housing that includes a cylindrical portion housing the speed reducer (lower housing 37, fig. 1), the cylindrical portion being disposed coaxially with the flange;
a bearing support member that is fitted to an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion and through which the steering shaft extends; (The bearing support member consists of an inner tube (67) and outer tube (98) and an annular connection wall (69) and fits within the second tubular connection portion (64).; fig.4, paragraph 71)
a bearing (bearing 40) interposed between an outer peripheral surface of the steering shaft and an inner peripheral surface of the bearing support member, (fig. 3 illustrates the assembly, while fig. 4 illustrates an exploded view of the connecting parts.)
wherein the bearing support member includes a wall portion (annular connection wall 69; fig. 4) extending in a radial direction, and
a deformation allowing portion configured to allow elastic deformation of the bearing support member in the radial direction,
the deformation allowing portion includes a first slit (annular groove 75; fig. 4) provided in the wall portion,
the first slit is an annular groove extending continuously in a circumferential direction along an outer peripheral surface of the bearing support member, (Fig. 5 is a three-quarter view showing the bearing support feature and the annular groove around the bearing support wall.)
Kawada does not disclose a bolt which couples the flange to the cylindrical portion, or a second slit which is an annular groove. However
a bolt that couples the flange and the cylindrical portion to each other; (Kawada does not specifically disclose a joining method for the steering column assembly, however a bolted-flange arrangement is common and well known. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize a bolted-flange arrangement. Further, the bolted-flange arrangement would result in steering column assembly which continues to function as intended. As an example of a bolted-flange, Kichikawa fig. 1 paragraph 12, illustrates a similar steering column with a bearing support feature and a bolted-flange assembly.)
the deformation allowing portion further includes a second slit provided in the wall portion, and the second slit is an annular groove positioned on a radially inner side with respect to the first slit and extending continuously in the circumferential direction along the inner peripheral surface of the bearing support member. (Kawada discloses a single, annular groove however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to duplicate the single, annular groove in order to provide a second annular groove, spaced away in a radial direction, from the first groove, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Further, the duplication of the annular groove would result in bearing support feature to continuing to function as intended and locate the bearing on the steering shaft in relation to the housing.)
Regarding claim 13, Kawada discloses as modified above;
the bearing support member includes a peripheral wall (outer wall 68; fig. 4), and the wall portion is an end wall (annular connection wall 69) extending radially inward from an end of the peripheral wall in an axial direction;
the end wall includes a first end face and a second end face positioned opposite to each other in the axial direction; (fig. 4 illustrates the wall 69 as having a left and a right face. The slit (annular groove) being in the right side face.)
the first slit and the second slit are provided on one same end face out of the first end face and the second end face, or are provided on different end faces out of the first end face and the second end face. (As described above, it would have been obvious to duplicate the existing slit (groove) of Kawada in order to provide a second slit in this same wall structure. As there are only two faces (left and right) it would have been obvious to position the second slit in either the same face as the first slit, or in the opposing face.)
Regarding claim 15, Kawada discloses;
wherein the bearing support member and the cylindrical portion include engagement portions (engagement portion 64; paragraph 69) that engage with each other in an axial direction of the bearing support member. (Fig. 3 of Kawada illustrates the outer circumference of the bearing support member (68) assembled into the mating surface of the cylindrical portion (64). Paragraph 72)
Regarding claim 17, Kawada discloses;
the bearing support member includes a peripheral wall (outer wall 68; fig. 4),
an end wall (annular connection wall 69) extending radially inward from an end of the peripheral wall in the axial direction,
a corner (fig. 4 illustrates a corner in the bearing support member) formed at a part where the peripheral wall and the end wall intersect each other; the engagement portions include a stepped portion (fig. 4 illustrates a stepped portion in the housing engagement portion) extending in the circumferential direction along the inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion, and the corner of the bearing support member;
the corner engages with the stepped portion in the axial direction of the bearing support member. (fig. 3 illustrates the bearing support member assembled into the engagement portion, with the corner of the bearing support fitting with the stepped portion of the engagement portion of the housing.)
Regarding claim 20, Kawada discloses;
the speed reducer includes a worm wheel (worm wheel 27; fig. 4) configured to rotate together with the steering shaft, and
a worm (worm 26) that meshes with the worm wheel;
the housing includes a worm wheel housing member (second tubular portion 63) housing the worm wheel, and a worm housing member housing the worm (first tubular housing 62); and
the cylindrical portion is the worm wheel housing member. (Fig. 4 illustrates the position of the worm wheel in the cylindrical housing.)
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawada (US 2011/0120798 A1) in view of Kiyota (US 9,387,873).
Regarding claim 14, Kawada as modified above discloses a first end face which includes the first slit and the second slit, but does not disclose a plurality of recess or ribs. However, Kiyota teaches;
the second end face includes: a plurality of recesses (see fig. 6) provided away from each other in the circumferential direction in a region of the second end face between the first slit and the second slit; and
a plurality of ribs (connecting portions 67; fig. 6, col. 10, lines 44-62) that is parts of the bearing support member between the two recesses adjacent in the circumferential direction.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kawada to include a second face which includes a plurality of recesses and a plurality of ribs that is parts of the bearing support member between the two recesses adjacent in the circumferential direction as taught by Kiyota, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to bearing support structures in steering columns. As disclosed by Kiyota, it is well known for a bearing support plate to include a second face which includes a plurality of recesses and a plurality of ribs that is parts of the bearing support member between the two recesses adjacent in the circumferential direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kawada to include a second face which includes a plurality of recesses and a plurality of ribs that is parts of the bearing support member between the two recesses adjacent in the circumferential direction, as taught by Kiyota, as such a modification would provide the ability to improve the rigidity of the bearing supports . (Kiyota, col. 11, lines 6-9).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawada (US 2011/0120798 A1) in view of Shibazaki (CN 102762433 A).
Regarding claim 16, Kawada does not disclose an outward protruding thread or a groove, along the inner surface, engaging with the thread. However, Shibazaki teaches;
the engagement portions include an outward protruding thread (external thread 52A; figs. 3, 10, paragraph 131) extending in the circumferential direction along the outer peripheral surface of the bearing support member,
a groove (internal thread 45A) extending in the circumferential direction along the inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion;
the outward protruding thread engages with the groove in the axial direction of the bearing support member. (Paragraph 131 and figs. 1 and 10 illustrate the external thread of the bearing support, mating with the internal thread of the housing.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kawada to include an outward protruding thread and a groove, along the inner surface, engaging with the thread, as taught by Shibazaki, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle steering columns. As disclosed by Shibazaki, it is well known for a vehicle steering column to include an outward protruding thread and a groove, along the inner surface, engaging with the thread. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kawada to include an outward protruding thread and a groove, along the inner surface, engaging with the thread, as taught by Shibazaki, as such a modification would provide the ability to locate the shaft supporting bearing while providing an improved seal for the lubricated internal components. (Paragraph 132 of Shibazaki).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawada (US 2011/0120798 A1) in view of Lin (US 5,762,426).
Regarding claim 18, Kawada discloses an bearing support but does not disclose an inward protruding thread, which engages with the bearing in an axial direction of the bearing support member. However, Lin teaches;
the bearing support member includes an inward protruding thread (inner thread 211/212; fig. 4, col. 2, line 18) extending in the circumferential direction along the inner peripheral surface of the bearing support member;
the inward protruding thread engages with the bearing (bearings 25/26; fig. 4, col. 2 line 28) in an axial direction of the bearing support member. (Lin illustrates a bearing support with an inner thread which mates with a matching, bearing outer race which is then threaded into the bearing support.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kawada to include an inward protruding thread, which engages with the bearing in an axial direction of the bearing support member, as taught by Lin, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to rotating shafts supported in a housing by rotating element bearings. As disclosed by Lin, it is well known for a rotating shaft supported in a housing by a bearing to include an inward protruding thread, which engages with the bearing in an axial direction of the bearing support member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kawada to include an inward protruding thread, which engages with the bearing in an axial direction of the bearing support member, as taught by Lin, as such a modification would provide the ability to positive bearing support in a narrow housing.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawada (US 2011/0120798 A1) in view of Kichikawa (US 2015/0298725 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Kawada does not disclose a bearing support and housing having different linear thermal expansion coefficients. However, Kichikawa teaches;
wherein the bearing support member and the housing have different linear thermal expansion coefficients. (Paragraph 24 describes the bearing support member as formed from a resin. Paragraph 4 describes the housing as metallic. This would result in different linear thermal expansion coefficient.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Kawada to include a bearing support and housing having different linear thermal expansion coefficients, as taught by Kichikawa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to vehicle steering columns. As disclosed by Kichikawa, it is well known for a bearing support and housing having different linear thermal expansion coefficients. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kawada to include a bearing support and housing having different linear thermal expansion coefficients as taught by Kichikawa, as such a modification would achieve a weight reduction when compared to a bearing support and housing formed of a metallic material. (Paragraph 37 of Kichikawa).
Conclusion
/SCOTT LAWRENCE STRICKLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
February 23, 2026