DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “the positive current collector” and “the negative current collector” and “the connection region of the positive and the negative electrode non-coating portion, respectively” but lacks antecedent basis for these recitations in claim 14, and it’s unclear what positive current collector, what negative current collector and what connection regions of the positive and the negative electrode non-coating portions are being referenced in claim 14. As such, the scope of claim 14 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 15 recites “said connecting regions of the positive electrode non-coating portion and the negative electrode non-coating portion” but lacks antecedent basis for these recitations in claim 15, and it’s unclear what connecting regions of the positive electrode non-coating portion and the negative electrode non-coating portion are being referenced in claim 15. As such, the scope of claim 15 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 11-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’478 (WO 2020/149478A1, reference made to US 2022/0052419A1 as equivalent English machine translation), and further in view of Kim’953 (US 2015/0243953).
Regarding claim 1 Kim’478 discloses an electrode assembly comprising:
a positive electrode plate comprising a positive electrode coating portion on which a positive electrode active material is coated ([0096]-[0097], see Figure see: positive electrode 114 including a positive current collector coated with a positive active material);
a negative electrode plate comprising a negative electrode coating portion on which a negative electrode active material is coated ([0096], [0102], see Figure see: negative electrode 112 including a negative current collector coated with a negative active material); and
a separator interposed between the positive and the negative electrode plate ([0096], see Figure see: separator 113 between the negative electrode 112 and the positive electrode 114); wherein:
the separator comprises a substrate and a coating layer disposed on at least one surface of the substrate (para [0018]),
the coating layer comprises organic particles and inorganic particles (paras [0030]-[0031], [0035] see: coating layer including inorganic particles and organic filler particles), and
an amount of the organic particles is in the range from 1.5 to 5 wt. % related to a total weight of the organic particles and the inorganic particles in the coating layer ([0031]-[0034] see: organic filler particles can be included in at amount of 5wt% based on the total amount of organic filler and inorganic particles).
Although Kim’478 does not explicitly disclose a positive electrode non-coating portion on which the positive electrode active material is not coated and a negative electrode non-coating portion on which the negative electrode active material is not coated, such portions are common structure in battery electrode assemblies as in Kim’953 ([0044], [0047], Figs. 2-4 see: positive electrode plate 111 including an uncoated portion 111a and negative electrode plate 112 including an uncoated portion 112a) to provide a region for attaching the tabs for power extraction ([0055], Figs. 2-4 see: first positive electrode tab 114 and first negative electrode tab 115 connected respective uncoated portion 111a, 112a so that power generated through the interaction between the first electrode assembly 110 and the electrolyte can be transferred to an outside of the secondary battery).
Kim’953 and Kim’478 are combinable as they are both concerned with electrode assemblies for batteries.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the electrode assembly of Kim’478 in view of Kim’953 such that the positive electrode of Kim’478 includes a positive electrode non-coating portion on which the positive electrode active material is not coated and the negative electrode of Kim’478 includes a negative electrode non-coating portion on which the negative electrode active material is not coated as in Kim’953 ([0044], [0047], Figs. 2-4 see: positive electrode plate 111 including an uncoated portion 111a and negative electrode plate 112 including an uncoated portion 112a) to provide a region for welding the tabs for power extraction as in Kim’953 ([0055], Figs. 2-4 see: first positive electrode tab 114 and first negative electrode tab 115 connected respective uncoated portion 111a, 112a so that power generated through the interaction between the first electrode assembly 110 and the electrolyte can be transferred to an outside of the secondary battery).
Regarding claim 2 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 1, and Kim’953 discloses wherein the positive electrode non-coating portion and the negative electrode non-coating portion each have a length in a width direction of the electrode assembly that corresponds to the width of the electrode assembly (Kim’953, Fig. 3 see: uncoated portion 111a, 112a each having a length in the width W direction of the first electrode assembly 110).
Regarding claim 3 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 1, and Kim’953 discloses wherein the positive electrode non-coating portion and the negative electrode non-coating portion are exposed from opposite sides of the electrode assembly (Kim’953, Fig. 3 see: uncoated portion 111a, 112a each exposed on opposite sides of first electrode assembly 110).
Regarding claim 4 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly includes a structure in which the positive electrode plate, the separator, and the negative electrode plate are stacked (Kim’478, [0096], see Figure see: separator 113 stacked between the negative electrode plate 112 and the positive electrode plate 111).
Regarding claim 5 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the organic particles comprise at least one selected from the group consisting of polystyrenes, poly(vinyl alcohol), polyacrylic acid, polyacrylamides and polyacrylates (Kim’478, [0044], see: organic filler particles are a polymer material such as an acrylate-based or methacrylate-based polymer or copolymer).
Regarding claim 7 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the inorganic particles comprise at least one selected from the group consisting of boehmite, Al2O3, Al(OH)3, Al(NO3)3, BN, BaSO4, MgO, SiO2, TiO2, BaTiO3 and ceramic particles (Kim’478, [0045], see: inorganic particles can be boehmite, Al2O3, BaSO4, MgO, SiO2, TiO2, BaTiO3 and ceramic particles).
Regarding claim 8 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the separator has a thermal shrinkage (%) of about 5% or less at a temperature of 150° C (Kim’478, [0045], see: separator can have a shrinkage rate of less than or equal to 5% at 150° C).
Regarding claim 11 Kim’478 discloses an electrochemical cell, comprising:
an electrode assembly comprising:
a positive electrode plate comprising a positive electrode coating portion on which a positive electrode active material is coated ([0096]-[0097], see Figure see: positive electrode 114 including a positive current collector coated with a positive active material);
a negative electrode plate comprising a negative electrode coating portion on which a negative electrode active material is coated ([0096], [0102], see Figure see: negative electrode 112 including a negative current collector coated with a negative active material); and
a separator interposed between the positive and the negative electrode plate ([0096], see Figure see: separator 113 between the negative electrode 112 and the positive electrode 114); wherein:
the separator comprises a substrate and a coating layer disposed on at least one surface of the substrate (para [0018]),
the coating layer comprises organic particles and inorganic particles (paras [0030]-[0031], [0035] see: coating layer including inorganic particles and organic filler particles), and
an amount of the organic particles is in the range from 1.5 to 5 wt. % related to a total weight of the organic particles and the inorganic particles in the coating layer ([0031]-[0034] see: organic filler particles can be included in at amount of 5wt% based on the total amount of organic filler and inorganic particles).
Although Kim’478 does not explicitly disclose a positive electrode non-coating portion on which the positive electrode active material is not coated and a negative electrode non-coating portion on which the negative electrode active material is not coated, such portions are common structure in battery electrode assemblies as in Kim’953 ([0044], [0047], Figs. 2-4 see: positive electrode plate 111 including an uncoated portion 111a and negative electrode plate 112 including an uncoated portion 112a) to provide a region for attaching the tabs for power extraction ([0055], Figs. 2-4 see: first positive electrode tab 114 and first negative electrode tab 115 connected respective uncoated portion 111a, 112a so that power generated through the interaction between the first electrode assembly 110 and the electrolyte can be transferred to an outside of the secondary battery).
Kim’953 and Kim’478 are combinable as they are both concerned with electrode assemblies for batteries.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the electrode assembly of Kim’478 in view of Kim’953 such that the positive electrode of Kim’478 includes a positive electrode non-coating portion on which the positive electrode active material is not coated and the negative electrode of Kim’478 includes a negative electrode non-coating portion on which the negative electrode active material is not coated as in Kim’953 ([0044], [0047], Figs. 2-4 see: positive electrode plate 111 including an uncoated portion 111a and negative electrode plate 112 including an uncoated portion 112a) to provide a region for welding the tabs for power extraction as in Kim’953 ([0055], Figs. 2-4 see: first positive electrode tab 114 and first negative electrode tab 115 connected respective uncoated portion 111a, 112a so that power generated through the interaction between the first electrode assembly 110 and the electrolyte can be transferred to an outside of the secondary battery).
Regarding claim 12 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrochemical cell according to claim 11, and Kim’953 discloses wherein the positive electrode non-coating portion and the negative electrode non-coating portion each have a length in a width direction of the electrode assembly that corresponds to the width of the electrode assembly (Kim’953, Fig. 3 see: uncoated portion 111a, 112a each having a length in the width W direction of the first electrode assembly 110).
Regarding claim 14 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrochemical cell according to claim 11, and Kim’953 discloses wherein a length of the positive current collector and a length of the negative current collector corresponds to the length of the connection region of the positive and the negative electrode non-coating portion, respectively (Kim’953, Fig. 3 see: first positive electrode tab 114 and first negative electrode tab 115 have length corresponding to a respective connection region along the lengths of uncoated portion 111a, 112a in the width W direction of the first electrode assembly 110).
Regarding claim 15 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrochemical cell according to claim 11, and Kim’953 discloses wherein said connecting regions of the positive electrode non-coating portion and the negative electrode non-coating portion are in a plane parallel to a stacking plane of the positive and the negative electrode plates in the cell (Kim’953, Fig. 3 see: first positive electrode tab 114 and first negative electrode tab 115 arranged in a respective connection region of uncoated portion 111a, 112a in in a plane parallel to the stacking plane of positive electrode plate 111 and negative electrode plate 112).
Regarding claim 16 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrochemical cell according to claim 11, wherein the electrochemical cell is a lithium-ion secondary battery (Kim’478, see Abstract).
Regarding claim 17 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrochemical cell according to claim 11, wherein the electrochemical cell is of a prismatic-type cell (Kim’478, [0094]-[0095] see: lithium secondary battery can be provided as a prismatic-type cell).
Regarding claim 18 Kim’478 discloses a Lithium-ion secondary battery comprising:
an electrode assembly comprising:
a positive electrode plate comprising a positive electrode coating portion on which a positive electrode active material is coated ([0096]-[0097], see Figure see: positive electrode 114 including a positive current collector coated with a positive active material);
a negative electrode plate comprising a negative electrode coating portion on which a negative electrode active material is coated ([0096], [0102], see Figure see: negative electrode 112 including a negative current collector coated with a negative active material); and
a separator interposed between the positive and the negative electrode plate ([0096], see Figure see: separator 113 between the negative electrode 112 and the positive electrode 114); wherein:
the separator comprises a substrate and a coating layer disposed on at least one surface of the substrate (para [0018]),
the coating layer comprises organic particles and inorganic particles (paras [0030]-[0031], [0035] see: coating layer including inorganic particles and organic filler particles), and
an amount of the organic particles is in the range from 1.5 to 5 wt. % related to a total weight of the organic particles and the inorganic particles in the coating layer ([0031]-[0034] see: organic filler particles can be included in at amount of 5wt% based on the total amount of organic filler and inorganic particles), and
the positive electrode active material is selected from lithium transition metal composite oxides including nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co) and manganese (Mn) as transition metals ([0099] see: positive active material may use lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide).
Although Kim’478 does not explicitly disclose a positive electrode non-coating portion on which the positive electrode active material is not coated and a negative electrode non-coating portion on which the negative electrode active material is not coated, such portions are common structure in battery electrode assemblies as in Kim’953 ([0044], [0047], Figs. 2-4 see: positive electrode plate 111 including an uncoated portion 111a and negative electrode plate 112 including an uncoated portion 112a) to provide a region for attaching the tabs for power extraction ([0055], Figs. 2-4 see: first positive electrode tab 114 and first negative electrode tab 115 connected respective uncoated portion 111a, 112a so that power generated through the interaction between the first electrode assembly 110 and the electrolyte can be transferred to an outside of the secondary battery).
Kim’953 and Kim’478 are combinable as they are both concerned with electrode assemblies for batteries.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the electrode assembly of Kim’478 in view of Kim’953 such that the positive electrode of Kim’478 includes a positive electrode non-coating portion on which the positive electrode active material is not coated and the negative electrode of Kim’478 includes a negative electrode non-coating portion on which the negative electrode active material is not coated as in Kim’953 ([0044], [0047], Figs. 2-4 see: positive electrode plate 111 including an uncoated portion 111a and negative electrode plate 112 including an uncoated portion 112a) to provide a region for welding the tabs for power extraction as in Kim’953 ([0055], Figs. 2-4 see: first positive electrode tab 114 and first negative electrode tab 115 connected respective uncoated portion 111a, 112a so that power generated through the interaction between the first electrode assembly 110 and the electrolyte can be transferred to an outside of the secondary battery).
Regarding claim 19 modified Kim’478 discloses the Lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 18, and Kim’953 discloses wherein the positive electrode non-coating portion and the negative electrode non-coating portion each have a length in a width direction of the electrode assembly that corresponds to the width of the electrode assembly (Kim’953, Fig. 3 see: uncoated portion 111a, 112a each having a length in the width W direction of the first electrode assembly 110).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’478 (WO 2020/149478A1, reference made to US 2022/0052419A1 as equivalent English machine translation) in view of Kim’953 (US 2015/0243953) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8, 11-12, and 14-19 above, and further in view of Uemura (US 2013/0260207).
Regarding claim 6 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the organic particles have a particle diameter that is 2 to 30 times the particle diameter of the inorganic particles.
Uemura discloses a battery separator surface protective agent composition (coating film) comprising organic particles and inorganic particles (Uemura, Abstract, [0023]-[0024]) where the organic particles can have a size larger than that of the inorganic particles preferably 2 times the size (diameter) or 10 times the size (Uemura, [0094] see: inorganic particles are preferably 1/2 or less, further preferably 1/10 or less of the size of the organic particles) where Uemura teaches these inorganic particles include active hydrogen groups on their surface providing them smaller than the organic particles allows the organic particles to form a continuous phase while increasing the specific surface area of the inorganic particles to provide more active hydrogen groups and improves the adhesion of the inorganic particles to the organic particles to improve mechanical strength and heat resistance ([0091]-[0092], [0094]).
Uemura and modified Kim’478 are combinable as they are both concerned with batteries and their separators.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the electrode assembly of Kim’478 in view of Uemura such that the separator includes organic particles having a particle diameter that is 2 to 30 times the particle diameter of inorganic particles as in Uemura ([0094] see: inorganic particles are preferably 1/2 or less, further preferably 1/10 or less of the size of the organic particles) as Uemura teaches these inorganic particles include active hydrogen groups on their surface providing them smaller than the organic particles allows the organic particles to form a continuous phase while increasing the specific surface area of the inorganic particles to provide more active hydrogen groups and improves the adhesion of the inorganic particles to the organic particles to improve mechanical strength and heat resistance ([0091]-[0092], [0094]).
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’478 (WO 2020/149478A1, reference made to US 2022/0052419A1 as equivalent English machine translation) in view of Kim’953 (US 2015/0243953) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8, 11-12, and 14-19 above, and further in view of Kim’858 (WO 2019/164130A1, reference made to US 2021/0005858A1 as equivalent English machine translation).
Regarding claim 6 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the organic particles have a particle diameter that is 2 to 30 times the particle diameter of the inorganic particles.
Kim’858 discloses an electrode assembly having a separator coating layer comprising organic particles having a particle diameter that is 2 to 30 times the particle diameter of inorganic particles ([0027], [0035]-[0036], [0050]-[0051], Fig. 2 see: first organic particles 20 may have an average particle diameter about 1.1 times to about 5 times larger than that of the inorganic particles 40). Kim’858 discloses the first organic particles may thus protrude as an embossed structure from the surface of the porous coating layer to thereby act as an electrode adhesive that enhances the adhesive force between the separator and an electrode (paras [0050]-[0051]).
Kim’858 and modified Kim’478 are combinable as they are both concerned with batteries and their separators.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the electrode assembly of Kim’478 in view of Kim’858 such that the separator includes organic particles having a particle diameter that is 2 to 30 times the particle diameter of inorganic particles as in Kim’858 ([0027], [0035]-[0036], [0050]-[0051], Fig. 2 see: first organic particles 20 may have an average particle diameter about 1.1 times to about 5 times larger than that of the inorganic particles 40) as Kim’858 discloses the first organic particles may thus protrude as an embossed structure from the surface of the porous coating layer to thereby act as an electrode adhesive that enhances the adhesive force between the separator and an electrode (paras [0050]-[0051]).
Furthermore the range of the organic particles having a particle diameter that is 1.1 times to about 5 times larger than the particle diameter of inorganic particles disclosed by Kim’858 substantially overlaps applicant’s claimed range (2 to 30 times larger). It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 9 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a coverage area of the organic particles on a surface of the coating layer is in the range of 1.5% to 5% with respect to a total surface area of the coating layer.
Kim’858 discloses an electrode assembly having a separator coating layer comprising organic particles wherein a coverage area of the organic particles on a surface of the coating layer is in the range of 1.5% to 5% with respect to a total surface area of the coating layer (Kim’858, [0015], [0057] see: first organic particles are distributed on the surface of the coating layer at an area ratio of about 5% to about 15% of a surface area of the coating layer). Kim’858 teaches this allows the organic particles to exhibit improved adhesion effects while preventing a deterioration of heat resistance and cell performance (para [0057]).
Kim’858 and modified Kim’478 are combinable as they are both concerned with batteries and their separators.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the electrode assembly of Kim’478 in view of Kim’858 such that the separator includes organic particles where a coverage area of the organic particles on a surface of the coating layer is in the range of 1.5% to 5% with respect to a total surface area of the coating layer as in Kim’858 ([0015], [0057] see: first organic particles are distributed on the surface of the coating layer at an area ratio of about 5% to about 15% of a surface area of the coating layer) as Kim’858 teaches this allows the organic particles to exhibit improved adhesion effects while preventing a deterioration of heat resistance and cell performance (para [0057]).
Furthermore, the coverage area of the organic particles on a surface of the coating layer disclosed by Kim’858 of about 5% to about 15% overlaps applicant’s claimed range (1.5% to 5%). It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’478 (WO 2020/149478A1, reference made to US 2022/0052419A1 as equivalent English machine translation) in view of Kim’953 (US 2015/0243953) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8, 11-12, and 14-19 above, and further in view of Lee et al (Optimized electrochemical performance of Ni rich LiNi0.91Co0.06Mn0.03O2 cathodes for high-energy lithium ion batteries. Sci Rep 9, 8901 (2019)).
Regarding claim 10 modified Kim’478 discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode active material is selected from a lithium transition metal composite oxide including nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co) and manganese (Mn) as transition metals ([0099] see: positive active material may use lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the content of nickel is at least 83 mol % based on all transition metals.
Lee discloses a cathode electrode active material for a lithium battery of LiNi0.91Co0.06Mn0.03O2 (NCM91) and thus having a content of nickel is at least 83 mol % based on all transition metals where Lee teaches this composition is a promising cathode material for its excellent discharge capacity, rate performance, cycle performance desirable in lithium ion batteries for high energy density applications such as electric vehicles and portable devices (See Abstract and Conclusion sections of Lee).
Lee and modified Kim’478 are combinable as they are both concerned with lithium ion batteries.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the electrode assembly of Kim’478 in view of Lee such that in the lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide positive electrode active material of Kim’478 the content of nickel is at least 83 mol % based on all transition metals as in Lee (Abstract, see: cathode material of LiNi0.91Co0.06Mn0.03O2 (NCM91)) to employ the battery of Kim’478 in an electric vehicle or portable device as Lee teaches such Ni-rich compositions are promising cathode materials for their excellent discharge capacity, rate performance, cycle performance desirable in lithium ion batteries for high energy density applications such as electric vehicles and portable devices (See Abstract and Conclusion sections of Lee).
Regarding claim 20 modified Kim’478 discloses the Lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 18, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the content of nickel in the lithium transition metal composite oxide is at least 83 mol % based on all transition metals.
Lee discloses a cathode electrode active material for a lithium battery of LiNi0.91Co0.06Mn0.03O2 (NCM91) and thus having a content of nickel is at least 83 mol % based on all transition metals where Lee teaches this composition is a promising cathode material for its excellent discharge capacity, rate performance, cycle performance desirable in lithium ion batteries for high energy density applications such as electric vehicles and portable devices (See Abstract and Conclusion sections of Lee).
Lee and modified Kim’478 are combinable as they are both concerned with lithium ion batteries.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the Lithium-ion secondary battery of modified Kim’478 in view of Lee such that in the lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide positive electrode active material of Kim’478 the content of nickel is at least 83 mol % based on all transition metals as in Lee (Abstract, see: cathode material of LiNi0.91Co0.06Mn0.03O2 (NCM91)) to employ the battery of Kim’478 in an electric vehicle or portable device as Lee teaches such Ni-rich compositions are promising cathode materials for their excellent discharge capacity, rate performance, cycle performance desirable in lithium ion batteries for high energy density applications such as electric vehicles and portable devices (See Abstract and Conclusion sections of Lee).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’478 (WO 2020/149478A1, reference made to US 2022/0052419A1 as equivalent English machine translation) in view of Kim’953 (US 2015/0243953) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8, 11-12, and 14-19 above, and further in view of Yamamoto (JP 2014241216A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 13 modified Kim’478 discloses the Electrochemical cell according to claim 11, and Kim’953 discloses further comprising:
a positive current collector electrically connected to the positive electrode non-coating portion at a connection region of the positive electrode non-coating portion (Kim’953, Fig. 3 see: first positive electrode tab 114 arranged in a respective connection region of uncoated portion 111a of positive electrode plate 111); and
a negative current collector electrically connected to the negative electrode non-coating portion at a connection region of the negative electrode non-coating portion (Kim’953, Fig. 3 see: first negative electrode tab 115 arranged in a connection region of uncoated portion 112a of negative electrode plate 112),
Modified Kim’478 does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection regions of the positive and the negative electrode non-coating portion each have a length in a width direction of the electrode assembly that corresponds to 70% or less of the length of the positive and negative electrode non-coating portions, respectively.
Yamamoto discloses an electrochemical cell where connection regions of positive and the negative electrode non-coating portion each have a length in a width direction of the electrode assembly that corresponds to 70% or less of the length of the positive and negative electrode non-coating portions, respectively (Yamamoto, paragraph bridging pages 3-4 of translation, Fig. 1 see: electrode terminals 42 and 44 connected to tabs 42a and 44a which each have a length corresponding to 70% or less (about 50%) of the length of the positive and negative electrode non-coating portions 52a, 62a).
Yamamoto and modified Kim’478 are combinable as they are both concerned with electrode assemblies for batteries.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the electrode assembly of Kim’478 in view of Yamamoto such that the connection regions of the positive and the negative electrode non-coating portion of modified Kim’478 each have a length in a width direction of the electrode assembly that corresponds to 70% or less of the length of the positive and negative electrode non-coating portions, respectively as in Yamamoto (paragraph bridging pages 3-4 of translation, Fig. 1 see: electrode terminals 42 and 44 connected to tabs 42a and 44a which each have a length corresponding to 70% or less (about 50%) of the length of the positive and negative electrode non-coating portions 52a, 62a) as such a modification would have amounted to the mere selection of a known connection region size for its intended use in a known environment of a lithium secondary battery to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing sufficient attachment between the positive and the negative electrode plates and the positive and negative current collectors.
Conclusion
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726