DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palsrok (US 4826486 ). Regarding claim 1 , Palsrok discloses a secondary securement device for a vascular access device (fig. 1) comprising: a base (base 66 in fig. 1) including a first end (see below) , a second end positioned opposite the first end (see below) , a first side (see below) , a second side positioned opposite the first side (see below) , a top surface (top surface 72 in fig. 1) , and a bottom surface positioned opposite the top surface (bottom surface 73 in fig. 1) , the bottom surface configured to be in contact with a patient's skin surface (surface 73 is capable of being in contact with the skin) ; a first securing member ( split fork lock 68 in fig. 2; see below) including a first end connected to the base (base portion 78 in fig. 2) and a second end positioned opposite from the first end ( fingers 90 and 92 in figs. 1-3 form the “second end”, see below) , the second end moveable relative to the base (4:66-68 discloses the “split fork bends” so that the fingers would be flexible relative to the base) , the first securing member defining a first opening configured to receive a first portion of the vascular access device (aperture 84 and slot 86 form the “opening” in fig. 2) ; a second securing member (other split fork lock 68 in fig. 2, see below) including a first end connected to the base (base portion 78 in fig. 2) and a second end positioned opposite from the first end (fingers 90 and 92 in figs. 1-3 form the “second end”, see below) , the second end moveable relative to the base (4:66-68 discloses the “split fork bends” so that the fingers would be flexible relative to the base ) , the second securing member defining a second opening configured to receive a second portion of the vascular access device (aperture 84 and slot 86 form the “opening” in fig. 2) . Regarding claim 3 , Palsrok discloses the first portion of the vascular access device comprises tubing (the “first portion” is not positively recited; the first opening above is capable of receiving a tubing) , and wherein the second portion of the vascular access device comprises a connector positioned on the tubing (the “second portion” is not positively recited; the first opening above is capable of receiving a connector) . Regarding claim 6 , Palsrok discloses the first opening comprises a spherical portion (aperture 84 in fig. 2) and an elongated portion (slot 86 in fig. 2) , the elongated portion extending from the second end of the first securing member to the spherical portion (fig. 2) . Regarding claim 7 , Palsrok discloses the second opening comprises a spherical portion (aperture 84 in fig. 2) and an elongated portion (slot 86 in fig. 2) , the elongated portion extending from the second end of the second securing member to the spherical portion (fig. 2) . Regarding claim 9 , Palsrok discloses the first and second securing members are moveable relative to the base via a living hinge (fingers 90 and 92 in figs. 1-3 are connected to surfaces 80/82 so as to form a living hinge between the fingers) . Regarding claim 11 , Palsrok discloses a third securing member (clamp 70 in figs. 4-6) including a first end connected to the base ( portion 112 in fig. 5) and a second end positioned opposite from the first end (cylinder 110 in fig. 5) , the second end moveable relative to the base (5:11-15 discloses the walls of cylinder 110 spreading apart) , the third securing member defining a third opening configured to receive a third portion of the vascular access device (opening 114 in fig. 5) . Regarding claim 12 , Palsrok discloses a method of using the secondary securement device of claim 1 (see discussion above for claim 1), the method comprising: positioning tubing of the vascular access device within the first opening of the first securing member to secure the tubing (5:23-28 discloses forcing tube 38 into aperture 84; fig. 1); and positioning a connector of the vascular access device within the second opening of the second securing member to secure the connector (4:64-66 discloses forcing tube 46 in aperture 84, fig. 1; the examiner notes that tube 46 is disclose d in 4:61-64 as connecting the source to fitting 24 so as to be a “connector”). Regarding claim 1 3 , Palsrok discloses the first opening comprises a spherical portion (aperture 84 in fig. 2) and an elongated portion (slot 86 in fig. 2), the elongated portion extending from the second end of the first securing member to the spherical portion (fig. 2), and wherein the second opening comprises a spherical portion (other aperture 84 in fig. 2) and an elongated portion (other slot 86 in fig. 2), the elongated portion extending from the second end of the second securing member to the spherical portion (fig. 2), the method further comprising: pushing the tubing of the vascular access device past the elongated portion of the first opening (5:23-25 discloses “forcing” tube 38 through slot 86 until the tube 38 is received in aperture 64) ; and pushing the connector of the vascular access device past the elongated portion of the second opening (4:64-66 discloses “forcing” tube 46 through slot 86 until tube 46 is received in the aperture 64). Claim(s) 1-5, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taylor (US 9746052). Regarding claim 1 , Taylor discloses a secondary securement device for a vascular access device (fig. 7) comprising: a base (base portion 12 in fig. 7) including a first end (see below), a second end positioned opposite the first end (see below), a first side (see below), a second side positioned opposite the first side (see below), a top surface, and a bottom surface positioned opposite the top surface (see below), the bottom surface configured to be in contact with a patient's skin surface (the bottom surface below is capable of being in contact with the skin); a first securing member including a first end connected to the base and a second end positioned opposite from the first end (see below), the second end moveable relative to the base (6:5-12 discloses flexing holder portion 11 to open channel 13 indicating that the second end is movable relative to the base above), the first securing member defining a first opening configured to receive a first portion of the vascular access device (see below; hole 23 below is capable of receiving a “first portion” of a vascular device); a second securing member including a first end connected to the base and a second end positioned opposite from the first end (see below), the second end moveable relative to the base (6:5-12 discloses flexing holder portion 11 to open channel 13 indicating that the second end is movable relative to the base above), the second securing member defining a second opening configured to receive a second portion of the vascular access device ( hole 23 below; the hole below is capable of receiving a “first portion” of a vascular device). Regarding claim 2 , Taylor discloses the first opening has a first diameter and the second opening has a second diameter larger than the first diameter (see annotated figure above) . Regarding claim 3 , Taylor discloses the first portion of the vascular access device comprises tubing (the “first portion” is not positively recited; the first opening above is capable of receiving a tubing) , and wherein the second portion of the vascular access device comprises a connector positioned on the tubing (the “second portion” is not positively recited; the first opening above is capable of receiving a connector) . Regarding claim 4 , Taylor discloses the first and second securing members each have a first position where the base and the first and second securing members are positioned coplanar and a second position where the first and second securing members are positioned at a non-zero angle relative to the base (4:63-66 discloses shipping the product flat, equated to the claimed “first position”, and then folding to desired orientation, equated to the claimed “second position”) . Regarding claim 5 , Taylor discloses the non-zero angle is 45-135 degrees (4:66-67 discloses a preferred range between 75-115 degrees) . Regarding claim 9 , Taylor discloses the first and second securing members are moveable relative to the base via a living hinge (4:63-66 discloses a “living hinge” to move between a flat and folded state) . Regarding claim 10 , Taylor discloses the bottom surface of the base comprises an adhesive surface (adhesive 16 in fig. 1) . Allowable Subject Matter Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 8 , the closest prior art is Palsrok which teaches that the first and second securing members are defined by projected which extend from opposite ends of the base. As such, Palsrok does not teach the securing members are defined by a plurality of slits in the base. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT COURTNEY FREDRICKSON whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7481 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday (9 AM - 5 PM EST) . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT BHISMA MEHTA can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3383 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /COURTNEY FREDRICKSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783