DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's response filed on 03/13/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
Claims 2-4 and 7-9 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are amended.
No new claims are added.
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Remarks (on page 6-7), filed 03/13/2026, with respect to Objection to the Title have been fully considered and the title has been amended. The objection to Specification has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to the title of the Specification.
Applicant's Remarks (on page 7), filed 03/13/2026, with respect to Claim Objection have been fully considered and claim 1 has been amended. The objection to claim 1 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant's Remarks (on page 7-8), filed 03/13/2026, with respect to Interpretation under AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) have been fully considered and claims 1 and 6 have been amended not to invoke interpretation under AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112(f). Thus, claims 1 and 6 are no longer invoke under AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112(f).
Applicant's Remarks (on page 7-8), filed 03/13/2026, with respect to Rejection under AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and claims 1, 5, and 6 have been amended, and claims 2-4 have been canceled. The rejection to claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant's arguments (see Remarks on page 10), filed 03/13/2026, with respect to “Lee is silent regarding a condition comprising: (A) a specific base station or cell within a small coverage area controls the terminal” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a condition comprising: (A) a specific base station or cell within a small coverage area controls the terminal”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Thus, the argument(s) is/are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 5, and 6 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. The amendments to the claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection discussed below.
This Office action is made Final.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 of copending Application No. 18/567,613 (hereinafter ‘613) in view of LEE (US 2021/0105649 A1) hereinafter “Lee”. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of claims 1, 5, and 6 in this instant application are merely a broader version of co-pending application ‘613, therefore, claims 1, 5, and 6 in this instant application constitute obvious double patenting over said claims of ‘613.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding pending claims 1, 5, and 6, the claimed limitations are substantially the same as claims 1, 5, and 6 of ‘613.
However, ‘613 does not recite “a terminal in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state”. In the same analogous art, Lee discloses to receive a terminal in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state (see FIG. 10; see ¶ [0409-10], the wireless device may perform measurement for cell selection and/or cell reselection in idle state and/or inactive state based on the first measurement configuration which include a relaxed measurement configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to receive a terminal in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state as taught by Lee, in the system of ‘613, so that it would provide a wireless device to perform relaxed measurement for saving power (Lee: see ¶ [0397]).
The table below shows only Example (sample) of how each of the limitations of claim 1 is/are covered by claim 1 of ‘613.
Instant Application No. 18/571,879
Co-pending Application No. 18/567,613
1. A terminal comprising:
a processor that determines, in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state, relaxation of a mobility measurement based on a condition; and
a transceiver that performs the mobility measurement to which the relaxation is applied,
wherein the condition comprises: the terminal being under control by a specific base station or cell, and a reception of information about a period in which at least one of the mobility measurement and reporting is stopped, and
wherein the specific base station or cell has a coverage area less than or equal to a given size.
1. A terminal comprising:
a processor that determines, in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state, relaxation of at least one of measurement and reporting of channel state information (CSI) on the basis of a condition; and
a transceiver that performs at least one of the measurement and reporting to which the relaxation is applied,
wherein the condition comprises: the terminal being under control by a specific base station or cell, and a transmission of information about a period in which at least one of the measurement and reporting is stopped, and
wherein the specific base station or cell is a base station or cell with a coverage area less than or equal to a given size.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 2021/0105649 A1) hereinafter “Lee” further in view of HE (US 2021/0352507 A1) hereinafter “He”. The U.S. reference, Lee, was cited in IDS filed 12/19/2023.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Lee discloses Claim 1 of a terminal (see FIG. 5; see ¶ [0096], UE) and Claim 5 of a radio communication method for a terminal, comprising:
a processor (see FIG. 5; see ¶ [0098], UE includes a processor) that determines, in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state, relaxation of a mobility measurement based on a condition (see FIG. 10; see ¶ [0409-10], the first measurement configuration for mobility of the wireless device and may include measurement configuration for cell selection and/or cell reselection. The wireless device may perform measurement for cell selection and/or cell reselection in idle state and/or inactive state based on the first measurement configuration which include a relaxed measurement configuration); and
a transceiver (see FIG. 5; see ¶ [0098], UE includes a transceiver) that performs the mobility measurement to which the relaxation is applied (see FIG. 10; see ¶ [0409-10], the wireless device may perform a relaxed measurement or no measurement in idle state and/or inactive state based on the first measurement configuration),
wherein the condition comprises: the terminal being under control by a specific base station or cell (see ¶ [0124], the term “cell” may be used to represent service coverage of the node sometimes, radio resources at other time, or a range that signals using the radio resources can reach with valid strength at other times), wherein the specific base station or cell has a coverage area less than or equal to a given size (see Table 3 and 4; see ¶ [0122-24]).
Lee does not explicitly disclose a reception of information about a period in which at least one of the mobility measurement is stopped.
However, He discloses wherein the condition comprises: the terminal being under control by a specific base station or cell (see ¶ [0027], the base stations may wirelessly communicate with the UEs and each of the base stations may provide communication coverage for a respective geographic coverage area), and a reception of information about a period in which at least one of the mobility measurement is stopped (see ¶ [0072] [0077], the UE receives a second indication to stop RRM measurement), and
wherein the specific base station or cell has a coverage area less than or equal to a given size (see ¶ [0027], the base station with a small cell coverage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a reception of information about a period in which at least one of the mobility measurement is stopped as taught by He, in the system of Lee, so that it would provide the aspects including the potential for reduced measurements and reporting may improve the efficient allocation of resources for the stationary UEs (He: see ¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses a base station (see FIG. 1 and 3; see ¶ [0060], base station) comprising:
a processor (see FIG. 3; see ¶ [0089], control unit) that judges that relaxation of mobility measurement is applied in a terminal in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state based on a condition (see FIG. 12; see ¶ [0588-89], the base station may transmit, to the wireless device, a first measurement configuration for a first relaxed measurement including at least one of relaxed measurement conditions; and see ¶ [0409-10], the wireless device may perform a relaxed measurement or no measurement in idle state and/or inactive state based on the first measurement configuration); and
a transmitter (see FIG. 3; see ¶ [0089], communication unit) that transmits, to the terminal, a signal used for the mobility measurement to which the relaxation is applied (see FIG. 12; see ¶ [0588-89], the base station may transmit, to the wireless device, a first measurement configuration for a first relaxed measurement including at least one of relaxed measurement conditions),
wherein the condition comprises: the terminal being under control by a specific base station or cell (see ¶ [0124], the term “cell” may be used to represent service coverage of the node sometimes, radio resources at other time, or a range that signals using the radio resources can reach with valid strength at other times), wherein the specific base station or cell has a coverage area less than or equal to a given size (see Table 3 and 4; see ¶ [0122-24]).
Lee does not explicitly disclose a reception of information about a period in which at least one of the mobility measurement is stopped.
However, He discloses wherein the condition comprises: the terminal being under control by a specific base station or cell (see ¶ [0027], the base stations may wirelessly communicate with the UEs and each of the base stations may provide communication coverage for a respective geographic coverage area), and a reception of information about a period in which at least one of the mobility measurement is stopped (see ¶ [0072] [0077], the UE receives a second indication to stop RRM measurement), and
wherein the specific base station or cell has a coverage area less than or equal to a given size (see ¶ [0027], the base station with a small cell coverage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a reception of information about a period in which at least one of the mobility measurement is stopped as taught by He, in the system of Lee, so that it would provide the aspects including the potential for reduced measurements and reporting may improve the efficient allocation of resources for the stationary UEs (He: see ¶ [0007]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462