DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Muller (US 2019/0281199).
Regarding Claim 1, Muller discloses a tracking system [0020] comprising: a conveyor conveying objects in a conveying direction on a conveying surface [#46, #48 of Fig 2; 0040]; a rangefinder disposed above the conveyor scanning a field of view encompassing a portion of the conveyor at a predetermined repetition rate to capture depth frames constituting an array of pixels whose values indicate the distance from the rangefinder to objects in the field of view [#10, #14, #24 of Fig 1; 0035]; a processing system executing program instructions to: a) determine the position on the conveyor of a selected tracking point on each of the objects [Fig 2, 5; 0040; 0049]; b) track the selected tracking point of each of the objects from depth frame to depth frame to map the trajectory of each of the objects along the conveyor [0049]; and c) determine one or more motion characteristics of the object from the trajectory [Fig 2, 5; 0040; 0049].
Regarding Claim 12, Muller discloses a method for tracking objects [0020], comprising: conveying objects in a conveying direction on a conveying surface of a conveyor [#46, #48 of Fig 2; 0040]; capturing, with a rangefinder, depth frames constituting an array of pixels whose values indicate the distance from the rangefinder to objects in a field of view encompassing a portion of the conveyor [#10, #14, #24 of Fig 1; 0035]; executing program instructions by a processing system to: a) determine the position on the conveyor of a selected tracking point on each of the objects [Fig 2, 5; 0040; 0049]; b) track the selected tracking point of each of the objects from depth frame to depth frame [0049]; c) map the trajectory of each of the objects along the conveyor from the depth frames [0049]; d) determine one or more motion characteristics of each of the objects from the trajectory [Fig 2, 5; 0040; 0049].
Regarding Claims 2 and 13, Muller also discloses wherein the processing system executes program instructions to compensate the depth frame for tilt of the rangefinder with respect to the conveyor [Fig 4; 0046].
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Muller also discloses a processing system executes program instructions to erode and dilate the pixels in each depth frame before determining outer boundaries of the objects [#10, #56 of Fig 6; 0050].
Regarding Claim 4, Muller also discloses wherein the processing system executes program instructions to set a depth threshold above the conveying surface to eliminate the conveying surface and structures farther from the rangefinder from appearing in the depth frames [#48, #56 of Fig 6; 0050].
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Muller also discloses wherein the processing system executes program instructions to determine outer boundaries of groups of contiguous pixels in each depth frame whose values are within a predetermined range of each other and to compute an average distance of all the pixels within the outer boundary of each of the objects and assign that average value distance to each of the pixels within the outer boundary [#48, #56 of Fig 6; 0050].
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Muller also discloses wherein the processing system executes program instructions to determine the distance to a top face of each of the objects from the rangefinder from the depth frames and to calculate a length and a width for each of the objects [#10, #14, #48 of Fig 6; 0050].
Regarding Claim 7, Muller also teaches wherein the processing system executes program instructions to :a) calculate the length of each of the objects as the product of the length in the conveying direction of a plane containing the top face and the ratio of the number of pixels defining the length of the top of the object to the depth frame length in the conveying direction in pixels [[0027-28; 0040; 0043-49; 0052]; and b) calculate the width of each of the objects as the product of the width in the transverse direction perpendicular to the conveying direction of the plane containing the top face and the ratio of the number of pixels defining the width of the top of the object to the depth frame width perpendicular to the conveying direction in pixels [0027-28; 0040; 0043-49; 0052], as the processing system is already determining height (Z), inclination and position, thus would also incorporate basic algorithms to determine length (X) and width (Y).
Regarding Claim 8, Muller also teaches wherein the processing system executes program instructions to :a) compute the length … in the conveying direction of the plane containing the top face of the object as …, where B is the distance of the rangefinder from the top face of the object and ax is half the maximum sweep angle of the rangefinder in the conveying direction; and b) compute the width… in the transverse direction of the plane containing the top face of the object as …, where B is the distance of the rangefinder from the top face of the object … the rangefinder in the transverse direction [0027-28; 0040; 0043-49; 0052], as the processing system is already determining height (Z), inclination and position, thus would also incorporate basic algorithms to determine length (X) and width (Y).
Regarding Claims 10 and 18, Muller also discloses wherein the one or more motion characteristics of the objects are selected from the group consisting of: component of object velocity or acceleration in the conveying direction; component of object velocity or acceleration perpendicular to the conveying direction; net acceleration of the object; trajectory angle of the object; and orientation of the object [0027-28; 0040; 0043-49; 0052].
Regarding Claim 11, Muller also discloses wherein the conveyor is a conveyor belt and wherein the processing system executes program instructions to estimate the speed of the conveyor belt from the component of object velocity in the conveying direction [0049].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller (US 2019/0281199), as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Buckley (US 20160178434).
Regarding Claims 9 and 17, Muller does not explicitly teach – but Buckley does teach wherein the processing system executes program instructions to compute the centroid of each of the objects and use the centroid as the selected tracking point to be tracked [0022; 0031]. It would have been obvious to modify the system and method of Muller to include centroid tracking as the sensor can be calibrated and the centroid points of maximum intensity would reveal the distance of target object from the optimum focus.
Conclusion
JAMES R. HULKA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645