DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 23-28, 30-36 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 38, 40, and 42-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Venkataraman et al. (2023/0180169) hereinafter “Venkataraman”.
As to claim 38, Venkataraman discloses (currently amended): A User Equipment (UE) comprising one or more memories (inherent to UE, see Figs 3/4) storing instructions and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to:
send, to a first Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) via Radio Access Network (RAN), a first Registration Request message (step “1902”, see Fig 19, [0113]); and
receive, from a second AMF selected based on the Requested NSSAI, a registration accept message based on second registration request message in clear text sent from the first AMF to the second AMF (step (“1928”, see Fig 19, [0113]).
It is noted that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim is merely a UE configured to send a registration request and receive a registration accept message. The contents of the messages and anything performed by an AMF are outside the scope of the claim since the contents of the messages are nonfunctional descriptive limitations not carrying patentable weight because they do not interact with any step and any actions by any AMF are intended uses. The UE is patentably defined by its structure.
As to claim 40, (currently amended), Venkataraman discloses The UE according to claim 38 wherein the first Registration Request message sent by the RAN to the first AMF apparatus is included in an Uplink Non-Access Stratum (NAS) Transport message (implied by the use of NAS signaling, as shown in [0060]-[0062],[0146],[0159]). Further this limitation is an intended use not carrying patentable weight to the UE.
As to claim 42. (currently amended), Venkataraman discloses The UE according to claim 38 wherein a Registration procedure is continued by the second AMF apparatus after receiving the second Registration Request message. See Fig 19.
As to claim 43, (previously presented), Venkataraman discloses The UE according to claims 42, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to receive, from the second AMF apparatus, a Registration Accept message in the Registration procedure. See Fig 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkataraman and Qiao (12/167,292).
As to claim 39, (previously presented), Venkataraman discloses The UE according to claim 38, Venkataraman discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to receive, from the second AMF apparatus, a Registration Accept message including a [[5G-GUTI]] and an Allowed NSSAI (see [0113]). In an analogous art, Qiao discloses wherein it was known to include a 5G-GUTI in a registration accept message (col 17 line 35 – col 18 line 30). Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Venkataraman such that a 5G-GUTI is received in the registration accept message for the purpose of useful identification.
As to claim 41, (currently amended), Venkataraman discloses The UE according to claim 38, is silent to yet in an analogous art Qiao discloses wherein the second Registration Request message sent by the first AMF apparatus to the second AMF apparatus is included in NamfCommunication_N1MessageNotify. See col 14 lines 32-63. Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Venkataraman such that the second Registration Request message sent by the first AMF apparatus to the second AMF apparatus is included in NamfCommunication_N1MessageNotify for the purpose of using recognized messaging to improve compatibility.
Claim(s) 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkataraman, Qiao, and Hedman et al. (2022/0322080), hereinafter “Hedman”.
Claims 16-21 correspond to claims 38-43 and additionally recite sending with non-clear text information and receiving based on a message in clear text.
Qiao further disclose sending may include SUCI (col 12 line 63-col 13, line 55) and in an analogous Hedman discloses AMF messaging in clear text ([0057]-[0069]). Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Venkataraman such that sending with non-clear text information (as taught by Qiao) and receiving based on a message in clear text (as taught by Hedman) for the purpose of using encryption for safety, when necessary for security.
As above, it is noted that the limitations to the contents of the message and basis of the message received do not carry weight as they recite nonfunctional limitations and/or intended uses. Art has been applied for compact prosecution.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
LESTER G. KINCAID
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/LESTER G KINCAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649