DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 16-24) in the reply filed on 05/26/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 25-31 are withdrawn. Claims 16-24 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “an austenitic stainless steel comprising” in line 1. “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which does not exclude other elements. Claim 16 also recites “a remainder to 100% of the weight of the austenitic stainless steel” in the last line. It’s unclear whether this limitation exclude other elements. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 recites the austenitic stainless steel comprises less than 5% of Fe as a percentage by weight based on the weight of the austenitic stainless steel. The major composition of a steel is Fe and thus the Fe content in a steel can’t be less than 5 wt.%. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 recites a metal powder consisting of an austenitic stainless steel. “consisting of” is a closed transitional phrase, which excludes other material. Claim 24 depends from claim 16 and recites that the powder may further comprises chromium nitride, which does not further limit claim 16. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2020/0407835).
Regarding claims 16-20 and 22-23, Li teaches a metal powder comprising ≤0.15 wt.% C, 13-21 wt.% Cr, 0.035-2 wt.% N, ≤4.5 wt.% Mn, 5-16 wt.% Ni and the balance is Fe ([0006] to [0016]), which overlaps the recited composition in the instant claims and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the amount of each element from the ranges disclosed in Li to make a metal powder that meets the recited composition in the instant claims. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Li discloses that the steel after nitriding has FCC structure and is non-magnetic ([0050]), which meets the limitation that the powder consists of austenitic stainless steel as recited in claim 16.
Regarding claim 21, Li discloses that the alloys include P less than or equal to 0.01 wt. % ([0109]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 21. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 24, Li does not explicitly disclose the content of chromium nitride. However, “where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I. In view of the fact that Li teaches a composition that overlaps the recited composition in claim 16, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the powder disclosed by Li to meet the recited content of chromium nitride in claim 24.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733