DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-15 are cancelled resulting in claims 16-30 pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the second woven fabric 28 in Fig. 4 as described on page 18 of the specification starting at line 14 and the zones Z1 and Z2 in Figs. 4 and 5 as described on page 19, line 37 through page 20, line 15. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the m stays" in 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is also unclear how the “m stays” and mean at-rest length h̅m differ from the previously recited “stay i” and the at-rest length hi in line 15.
Claims 17-30 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) based on their dependency from claim 16, rejected above.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “each group Gj being characterized in that each stage…” in lines 2-3. The limitation is indefinite because it is unclear what constitutes a “stage” of a group.
Claim 18 also recites the limitation “for j and k being different integers” in lines 4-5. The limitation is indefinite because the variable k has not been defined, therefore it is unclear what j is being compared to.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “there is an elongation AED < ARED …” in lines 5-6. The limitation is indefinite because it is unclear whether elongation is describing the variable AED or the relationship AED < ARED. It is the understanding of the examiner that the elongation is represented by AED. Therefore it is recommended to amend the claim to state –there is an elongation A------ED such that when AED < ARED a relationship M1ED/M2ED<1 is fulfilled…-- or a similar amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18, 22-23, 25, and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noyes (US 3328218) in view of Hayes (US 3565125).
With respect to claims 16-17, 22-23, 25, and 27-30, Noyes teaches a completed element 21 composed of coextensive parallel outer plies or sheets 22 and 23, having members 24 mounted therebetween and oriented at approximately right angles to the plies (col. 2, lines 52-57). The member utilizes a regular pattern of distribution of the columnar members (linking structure comprising stays), and it is understood that the length of the spacing thereof may be varied according to the desired strength of the member (col. 3, lines 55-60). In an embodiment shown in Figure 17 the outer ply 63 is a continuous member having a curvature and the central stiffener 61 has members 62 (stay) mounted that are of different lengths to conform to the shape desired (wherein at least some of the m stays of the linking structure have an at-rest length that is different from a mean h̅m of the at-rest length of stays) (col. 5, lines 8-11). The product may be used as a building panel (col. 1, lines 66-72).
The columnar members (stays) may be plastic, such as polystyrene, nylon or polyester; refractory, such as glass, asbestos, or ceramic; metal, such as brass, copper, steel, tantalum, molybdenum, tungsten, or aluminum; animal such as hog bristle; vegetable such as sisal; or other materials according to the end use (col. 2, lines 60-65). To one of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious to try the different materials of the columnar members in order to determine which provides the desired strength (see e.g., col. 3, lines 55-60).
It further would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the heights of the longest columnar members and the shortest columnar members and the elongation at break through selection of the columnar material to fulfill the claimed relationship in claim 16 and the claimed mean stay height in claim 29. One would have been motivated to provide a difference in height which provides the desired final shape without adversely affecting the strength of the final member while also providing a columnar member that provides the necessary strength. It has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Noyes is silent as to the plies being woven and plastically deformable.
Hayes teaches a dual wall containment fabric having integrally woven connection points (col. 2, lines 3-5). The fabric layers are woven (col. 3, lines 16-32) and the materials of the warp and weft yarns may be nylon (col. 4, lines 48-52).
Since both Noyes and Hayes teach construction panels comprising dual fabrics, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plies of Noyes to be a nylon woven because woven fabrics are known in the art as suitable for fabric construction panels and provide the predictable result of a fabric panel suitable for use for construction and related purposes. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
With respect to the woven fabric being plastically deformable, as described above Hayes teaches the use of nylon woven fabric is suitable for dual layered construction fabric. Instant claim 25 identifies polyamide as a suitable material for the woven fabrics. Therefore, the nylon (polyamide) woven fabric of Noyes in view of Hayes is interpreted as meeting the definition of “plastic deformation” provided on page 3, lines 10-12 of the specification as filed.
With respect to claim 18, Noyes in view of Hayes teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above. The columnar members can be organized into groups based on their height. For example, each group comprises columnar members of the same height. In Fig. 18 a group can be defined by each row of columnar members.
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noyes (US 3328218) in view of Hayes (US 3565125) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Pehr (US 4409271).
With respect to claims 19-21, Noyes in view of Hayes teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above.
Noyes in view of Hayes is silent as to a filling material being between the plies.
Pehr teaches a lightweight construction element comprising a fabric backing (col. 1, lines 6-8). The fabric backing consists of an untrimmed velvet fabric comprising vertical pile yarns linking two fabric webs to hold the webs at a predetermined distance while the internal space of the velvet fabric is filled with a pressurizing medium (col. 2, lines 13-24). The vertical pile yarns reliably prevent bulging out of the fabric webs during the filling process and after its conclusion (col. 2, lines 13-24). Pressurizing the construction element provides a stable structure (col. 3, lines 25-28). A hardenable plastic foam (expanded material) may be used as the pressurizing medium to ensure adequate dimensional stability and a relatively low weight (col. 2, lines 34-40). The foam may be polyurethane foam (col. 3, lines 30-32).
Since both Noyes in view of Hayes and Pehr teach plies connected by vertical yarns for construction panels, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the construction panel of Noyes in view of Hayes to be pressurized by polyurethane foam in order to stabilize the structure and provide adequate dimensional stability at a relatively low weight.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noyes (US 3328218) in view of Hayes (US 3565125) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Roell (US 5589245).
With respect to claim 26, Noyes in view of Hayes teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above.
Noyes in view of Hayes is silent as to one of the woven plies comprising a material that is either fire-retardant through its nature or by having a fire-retardant treatment.
Roell teaches a textile spacer material consisting of at least two covering layers which are joined by a pile thread structure (col. 1, lines 41-43). Roell further teaches the spacer fabric may be treated to be resistant to environmental effects such as heat (fire) or aggressive chemical substances so that it can be used in industrial cladding or linings (col. 5, lines 29-35).
Since both Noyes in view of Hayes and Roell teach spacer fabrics for use in industry, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have treated the spacer fabric of Noyes in view of Hayes, including the woven plies, to be fire resistant in order to ensure its safe use in industrial settings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Korfmacher (US 5595806) discloses a mat having an air-tight flexible envelope closable by means of a valve and filled with a granular filling material (abstract). The filling material is lodged in a fabric sack made from a spacing fabric (abstract). The filling material is a composite body composed of at least two materials having different mechanical properties (abstract).
Rock (US 6156406) discloses three-dimensional knit spacer fabric (abstract). The fabric includes a first fabric layer, a second fabric layer and yarns interconnecting the two layers (abstract). A portion of the yarns interconnecting the two layers is perpendicular to each of the first and second fabric layers, while the remaining interconnecting yarns will be disposed at an angle between the two layers (abstract). The fabric is pressurized until the angled interconnecting yarns are also disposed perpendicularly with respect to the two layers resulting in a fabric insert for footwear having sections with different fabric thickness (col. 1, lines 33-41).
Chen (US 7913520) discloses structure of a spacer fabric and a thickness-controlled knitting method for producing the same, the method including knitting a yarn into a three laminated layer fabric, and the three laminated layer fabric including a top layer, a middle layer and a bottom layer, wherein the middle layer has one end connected with the top layer and the other end connected with the bottom layer; and the spacer fabric has its thickness determined by a length and a knitted angle of the yarn of the middle layer; when in the knitting process, the length of each yarn of the middle layer is gradually decreased/increased and the knitted angle of each yam of the middle layer is varied, thereby gradually increasing or decreasing the thickness of the spacer fabric (abstract).
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789