DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 71-82, 85-88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aygun et al (US 2008/0293655, November 2008, cited from IDS).
Concerning claims 1, 81-82 Aygun disclose tandem oligoribonucleotides which encode two inhibitory RNA molecules such as siRNAs, wherein each siRNA may be specific for the same or a different gene (see paragraph [0026]). Such oligoribonucleotide comprises consecutive nucleotides wherein a first segment of such nucleotides encodes a first inhibitory RNA molecule and a second segment of such nucleotides encodes a second inhibitory RNA molecule. Each of the first and the second segment may comprise one strand of a double stranded RNA, and the first and second segments may be joined together by a linker (see paragraph [0027]). One of the oligoribonucleotides is of the following structure (see paragraph [0030]):
5' oligo1 (sense) LINKER A oligo2 (antisense) 3'
3' oligo2 (sense) LINKER B oligo1 (antisense) 5', wherein either LINKER A or LINKER B is present. Further, Aygun disclose that each nucleotide of siRNA can be modified (see paragraph [0075]). Thus, compounds disclosed by Aygun satisfy structural requirements of instant claim 1, anticipating it.
Concerning claims 3, 71-72 Aygun disclose that such tandem oligoribonucleotide can be 40-60 nucleotides in length (see paragraph [0082]).
Concerning claims 73-75 Aygun disclose that siRNA strands can be 19-20 nucleotides long (see paragraphs [0075-0077]).
Concerning claims 76-78 Aygun disclose that the linker can be polynucleotide (see paragraph [0027]) such as comprising eight phosphodiester thymines (see paragraph [0032]).
Concerning claim 79 Aygun disclose that each nucleotide can be modified with 2’-O-methyl and 2’-fluoro (see paragraphs [0028 and 0075]).
Concerning claim 80 Aygun disclose that oligoribonucleotide can comprise phosphorothioate linkages (see paragraph [0088]).
Concerning claim 85 Aygun disclose that oligoribonucleotide can comprise three siRNAs connected by linkers as described above, such siRNAs targeting same or different genes (see paragraph [0026]).
Concerning claims 86-87 Aygun disclose pharmaceutical compositions comprising oligoribonucleotides of the invention and pharmaceutically acceptable carriers (see paragraphs [0012, 0046]).
Concerning claim 88 Aygun disclose that oligoribonucleotides of the invention can be conjugated to antibodies (see paragraph [0236]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 83-84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aygun, above, and in further view of Liu (US 2018/0105815, April 2018) and in further view of Podsypanina et al (PNAS, 2008, vol.105, no.13: 5242-5247).
Teachings of Aygun are discussed above.
Aygun do not teach oligoribonucleotides comprising siRNAs targeting c-Myc and KRAS.
Liu teaches bivalent siRNAs combined in one compound targeting two or more genes (see Abstract, Figure 1A). Such genes to target include MYC (same as c-Myc) and KRAS (see paragraph [0076]).
Podsypanina teach that inhibiting both or each MYC and KRAS oncogenes leads to tumor regression (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create oligoribonucleotides as described by Aygun targeting c-Myc gene or targeting both c-Myc and KRAS gene based on teachings of Liu and Podsypanina. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Liu teaches bivalent siRNAs targeting one or several genes such as c-Myc and KRAS, similar to oligoribonucleotides taught by Aygun, and Podsypanina specify that c-Myc and KRAS inhibited in combination or individually lead to tumor regression, motivating one of the art to combine such siRNAs targeting c-Myc and KRAS or two different siRNAs targeting c-Myc in one compound as taught by Aygun, arriving at instant invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 71-88 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 29-33 of copending Application No. 19/459,626 (reference application) in view of Liu and Podsypanina, above. Claims from '626 recite pairs of sense and antisense strands of siRNAs targeting c-Myc, similar to ones instantly claimed. Further, specification of '626 teach that such siRNAs can be arranged with sense strand of first siRNA connected through a linker to an antisense strand of the second siRNA (see paragraph [0006] of '626 specification). Such arrangement would lead to the same compounds as instantly claimed. Teachings of Liu and Podsypanina are discussed above. It would have been obvious to combine siRNAs from ‘626 with siRNAs targeting KRAS based on teachings of Liu and Liu and Podsypanina, arriving at instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Previous 112 rejection is withdrawn in view of new amendments, arguments are moot.
Concerning 102 rejection Applicant argues that Aygun reference does not teach fully modified siRNAs. In response the reference does teach fully modified siRNAs in paragraph [0075] (see amended rejection above).
Further Applicant argues that Examples 8-10 show unexpected results of higher activity and stability of “inverted chimeras” as claimed. In response the results are related only to siRNAs targeting c-Myc and KRAS, therefore the scope of results is much narrower than the scope of instant claims claiming “inverted chimeras” of any possible siRNAs combinations. Therefore, the results are not sufficient to overcome rejections.
Concerning double patenting rejection Applicant argues that the rejection relies on specification thus it is not appropriate. In response it is appropriate to use specification as a dictionary (see MPEP 804(II)(B)(1)) and Figure 7 of the disclosure does present siRNAs connected with a linker the same way as instantly claimed. Rejection is modified and maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637