DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed May 19, 2026 has been entered. No new matter has been added.
Claims 1 – 10 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishii (US 2020/0255057).
Regarding Claim 1:
Ishii teaches a steering device comprising: a cylindrical support tube (48) that includes a flange (53) and that supports a steering shaft (13) such that the steering shaft is rotatable; a speed reducer (12a, 20a) configured to apply torque to the steering shaft; a housing (15, 16) that includes a cylindrical portion (39) that houses the speed reducer, the cylindrical portion being disposed coaxially with the flange (Figs 1 – 2); and a bolt (57) that couples the flange and the cylindrical portion to each other, wherein the flange and the cylindrical portion include an engagement portion (47), at which the flange and the cylindrical portion are directly engaged with each other in a radial direction of the flange, at a different location from a location at which the bolt is provided (Figs 2 – 5).
Regarding Claim 2:
Ishii teaches the engagement portion is positioned at a location away from the location at which the bolt is provided in a circumferential direction of the support tube (Figs 2 – 5).
Regarding Claim 3:
Ishii teaches the bolt includes a plurality of bolts (paragraph 0059); the bolts are spaced from each other along a circle centered on an axis of the support tube (Figs 2 – 5); the bolts each include a head portion and a shaft portion; and the engagement portion is positioned inward of a virtual circle that circumscribes head portions of the bolts when seen in an axial direction of the support tube (Figs 2 – 5).
Regarding Claim 4:
Ishii teaches the engagement portion is positioned inward of a profile of the housing when seen in an axial direction of the support tube (Figs 2 – 5).
Regarding Claim 5:
Ishii teaches the engagement portion includes a plurality of regulation portions (53) provided on an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion; the regulation portions are spaced from each other in a circumferential direction of the cylindrical portion; and the regulation portions each include an inside surface that faces and is engaged with an outer peripheral surface of the flange in the radial direction of the flange (Figs 3 – 5).
Regarding Claim 6:
Ishii teaches the engagement portion includes a plurality of regulation portions (53) provided on an outer peripheral surface of the flange; the regulation portions are spaced from each other in a circumferential direction of the flange; and the regulation portions each include an inside surface that faces and is engaged with an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion in the radial direction of the flange (Figs 3 – 5).
Regarding Claim 7:
Ishii teaches at least a part of the regulation portions is positioned inward of a profile of the housing when seen in an axial direction of the support tube (Figs 2 – 5).
Regarding Claim 8:
Ishii teaches the speed reducer includes a worm wheel (20a) that rotates together with the steering shaft and a worm (12a) to be meshed with the worm wheel; the housing includes a worm wheel housing member (17a) that houses the worm wheel and a worm housing member (18a) that houses the worm; and the cylindrical portion is the worm wheel housing member.
Regarding Claim 9:
Ishii teaches at least a part of the regulation portions is positioned inward of a profile of the housing when seen in an axial direction of the support tube (Figs 2 – 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 19, 202 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Pages 5 – 6 of the Remarks, the Applicant argues that Ishii does not teach the flange and cylindrical portion of Ishii are directly engaged. The Examiner disagrees and maintains the rejection because Fig 5 of Ishii shows the two elements on opposing sided and are coupled together via bolts 57.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747