DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be undue search burden. This is not found persuasive because search burden is not a criteria to demonstrate lack of unity for national state applications. The claims lack unity for the reasons set forth in the restriction mailed 4/8/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/26/2026.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statement filed 1/7/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (WO 0010512 A2) in view of Franklin et al. (US 20160136066) and Zijun Li (US Patent 7087220).
Shen (WO 0010512 A2), published 03/02/2000, cited in IDS dated 01/07/2025) teaches compositions comprising enhanced efficacy antiperspirant salts stabilized by inclusion of calcium and an amino acid or a hydroxy acid (See entire document, e.g., Abstract). A preferred salt is aluminum-zirconium chlorohydrate which includes the penta-chlorohydrate form (e.g., Page 7 Lines 30-34). Preferred calcium salts include calcium chloride (i.e., a suitable calcium salt having a solubility in water of 10 g/L or greater of the instant claims; see claim 9) (e.g., Page 8 Lines 32-33). The most preferred amino and/or hydroxy acid is glycine, and the amino and/or hydroxy acid may be included as part of the antiperspirant salt complex such as, for example, Al-Zr-Gly salts (e.g. aluminum-zirconium tetrachlorohydrate-gly), wherein the glycine content of the salts may be adjusted (e.g., Page 9 Lines 22-24, 30-34). The composition will comprise in percent by weight about 18% to about 45% antiperspirant salt, about 20% to about 80% water, an amino acid or a hydroxy acid in an amount to provide an acid:Al+Zr weight ratio of about 2:1 to about 1:20, and a soluble calcium salt in an amount to provide a Ca:Al+Zr weight ratio of about 1:1 to about 1:28 (e.g., Page 10 Lines 13-19). The compositions may be formulated as oil-in-water and water-in-oil emulsions (e.g., Example 7 on Page 19 Line 30-Page 20 Line 3). The compositions comprise fragrance (ex 8). Claim 9 recites that the aluminum-zirconium complex is heat activated by the water-soluble calcium salt for at least 30 min at a temperature of at least 50° C. This is regarded as a product by process claim. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe. It must be noted that the recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed.Cir. 1997) MPEP § 2111.02. The compositions may contain ethanol (Example 8).
Shen et al. does not explicitly teach the molar ratio of aluminum to calcium ratio from 1.3 to 60 and molar ratio of aluminum to glycine from 1.5 to 25.
Franklin et al. (US 20160136066) (hereinafter Franklin et al.) teach molar ratio of calcium to aluminum from 1:20 to 1:5 (para 0031-0032). The molar ratio of amino acid to aluminum is at least 1:4 (para 0030). Franklin et al. teach calcium to aluminum molar ratio and/or amino acid to aluminum molar ratio lead to compositions of higher Band III content (vide infra) and, in general, higher antiperspirancy performance. It will be noted that higher Band III content is generally indicative of higher antiperspirancy performance (para 0033). A preferred amino acid is glycine (para 0034). Franklin et al. teach in order for the antiperspirant to become activated, it is important to have sufficient amino acid present relative to the amount of aluminum present. The molar ratio of amino acid to aluminum is at least 1:20, preferably at least 1:10 and most preferably at least 1:5. It is not advantageous to have the amino acid concentration in excess of the aluminum concentration; hence, the molar amino acid to aluminum is preferably from 1:20 to 1:1, more preferably from 1:10 to 1:1 and most preferably from 1:5 to 1:1 (para 0029). In order for the antiperspirant to become activated, it is important to have sufficient calcium present relative to the amount of aluminum present. The molar ratio of calcium to aluminum is at least 1:40, preferably at least 1:30 and more preferably at least 1:20. It is not advantageous to have the calcium concentration in excess of the aluminum concentration, indeed it is preferred that the calcium concentration is no more than half that of the aluminum concentration and more preferred that it is no more than a fifth of said concentration. For the preferred molar ratio of calcium to aluminum of at least 1:20, it is independently preferred that this ratio is no greater than 1:2 and more preferred that it is no greater than 1:5 (para 0025).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to optimize the molar ratio of aluminum to calcium and optimize the molar ratio of aluminum to glycine. One would have been motivated to do so as taught by Franklin et al, doing so allows for the antiperspirant to become activated.
Shen et al. does not teach pH as claimed. Zijun Li (US Patent 7087220) teach that products with a lower pH tend to increase the irritancy potential of the actives. The pH is at least 3.5. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the pH of the antiperspirant composition be of at least 3.5. One would have been motivated to do so because a lower pH tend to increase the irritancy potential of the active ingredients.
DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 and 7-13 of copending Application No. 18571916. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to antiperspirant compositions containing an aluminium-zirconium pentachlorohydrex-glycine complex and calcium salt having a solubility in water of 10 g/L or greater wherein the molar ratio of aluminium to glycine is from 2 to 6 and the molar ratio of aluminium to calcium is from 2-7. The differences being that the ‘916 reference discloses an aqueous and oil phase where the instant application is an aqueous form however, the instant application does disclouse inclusions of oils and antiperspirant compositions can be in aqueous form or in emulsion forms as taught by WO 0010512 A2 .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615