DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to application filed on 12/19/2023. Claims 1-5, 7-8, 11-16, 18-19, 22, 28-41 were previously pending. Claims 1-5, 7-8, 11-16, 18-19, 22, 28-41 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2023, 05/09/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note
4. For examination purposes, Examiner interpret “A and/or B” in claims 33, 41 as “at least one of A or B”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5.1. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
5.2. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
5.3. Claims 1-5, 7, 13-16, 18, 22, 28-32, 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Wang et al., ("Wang", US 2023/0370931 A1) in view of Alanara, (US 2012/0281551 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches, a method of communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
identifying a delay spread of a communication channel associated with a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) deployment (Wang, FIG.4, UE 110, base station, RIS 406, signal rays 492, 494, [0055]: the base station 120 directs how the RIS 406 transforms an incident signal ray from the UE 110 on a path reciprocal to signal ray 494 into another signal ray that follows a path reciprocal to that of signal ray 492 to the base station 120. The link-quality measurements that do not meet an acceptable performance level can indicate channel impairments, such as by a delay spread between a first received signal and a last received signal (e.g., received multipath rays) exceeding an acceptable delay spread threshold);
transmitting, to a network entity, a measurement report including the delay spread of the communication channel (Wang, FIG.2, adaptive phase-changing device manager 220 (UE APD manager), [0038]: UE APD manager 220 determines to request a reconfiguration of a (RIS) surface of a current APD utilized in the communication path; Wang, FIG.6, UE 111, base station 121, [0067]: receiving, by base station 121, downlink-quality measurements and/or measurement reports from the UE 111).
Wang does not expressly teach
receiving, from the network entity, an indication associated with a cyclic prefix (CP) length.
Alanara teaches (Alanara, [0011]: transmitting, by a mobile node, a radio resource to enable the measuring of an uplink direction delay spread; receiving an indication of an uplink direction cyclic prefix length specific to the mobile node from a base station).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “specific cyclic prefix” of Alanara into the invention of Wang. The suggestion/motivation would have been enabled avoiding long cyclic prefixes to enhanced bitrate for transmission in uplink or downlink direction (Alanara, [0076]). Including the “specific cyclic prefix” of Alanara into the invention of Wang was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Alanara.
Regarding Claim 2, Wang-Alanara teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the indication signifies a presence of the RIS deployment, the method further comprising:
selecting an extended CP length to mitigate inter-symbol interference (ISI) on the communication channel (Alanara, [0004]: If the duration of the transmission of the cyclic prefix exceeds the maximum delay spread, the Inter-Symbol Interference (ISI) is eliminated; [0005]: The extended CP can handle up to 16.67 μs root mean squared delay spread in the received signal so that there is no signal deterioration).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang-Alanara teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the indication signifies an absence of the RIS deployment, the method further comprising:
selecting a normal CP for transmissions on the communication channel (Alanara, [0005]: The disadvantage in the use of the extended CP is the smaller space for packet traffic payload, because in each 1 ms subframe there are only 12 symbols instead of the 14 symbols in the case of normal CP. As the consequence, the normal CP allows 17% higher bit rate compared with the extended CP, provided that the MCS and retransmission rate are comparable.).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang-Alanara teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the CP length corresponds to one of an extended CP length or a normal CP length, wherein the extended CP length is across all numerologies or a subset of numerologies, and wherein receiving the indication includes receiving, from the network entity, the indication including one of the extended CP length or the normal CP length (Alanara, [0011]: receiving an indication of an uplink direction cyclic prefix length specific to the mobile node from a base station).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang-Alanara teaches, the method of claim 1, further comprising selecting the a selected CP length as one of an extended CP length or a normal CP length based on the delay spread; and
wherein transmitting, to the network entity, the measurement report includes transmitting the selected CP length (Alanara, [0011]: receiving an indication of an uplink direction cyclic prefix length specific to the mobile node from a base station).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang-Alanara teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein identifying the delay spread includes identifying a plurality of delay spreads including the delay spread associated with an active RIS deployment (Wang, [0055]:a delay spread between a first received signal and a last received signal (e.g., received multipath rays) exceeding an acceptable delay spread threshold associated RIS 406).
Regarding Claim 13, Wang teaches, a method of communication at a network entity, comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a measurement report including a delay spread of a communication channel (Wang, FIG.2, base station-adaptive phase-changing device manager 272 (BS APD manager), [0041]: the BS APD manager 272 receives an indication from the UE to utilize an APD in the communication path and/or to perform a surface reconfiguration of the existing APD utilized in the communication path; Wang, FIG.6, UE 111, base station 121, [0067]: receiving, from UE 111, downlink-quality measurements and/or measurement reports);
identifying a cyclic prefix (CP) length associated with a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) deployment on the communication channel (Wang, FIG.4, UE 110, base station, RIS 406, signal rays 492, 494, [0055]: the base station 120 directs how the RIS 406 transforms an incident signal ray from the UE 110 on a path reciprocal to signal ray 494 into another signal ray that follows a path reciprocal to that of signal ray 492 to the base station 120. The link-quality measurements that do not meet an acceptable performance level can indicate channel impairments, such as by a delay spread between a first received signal and a last received signal (e.g., received multipath rays) exceeding an acceptable delay spread threshold).
Wang does not expressly teach
transmitting, to the UE, an indication associated with the CP length.
Alanara teaches (Alanara, [0011]: transmitting, by a mobile node, a radio resource to enable the measuring of an uplink direction delay spread; receiving an indication of an uplink direction cyclic prefix length specific to the mobile node from a base station).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “specific cyclic prefix” of Alanara into the invention of Wang. The suggestion/motivation would have been enabled avoiding long cyclic prefixes to enhanced bitrate for transmission in uplink or downlink direction (Alanara, [0076]). Including the “specific cyclic prefix” of Alanara into the invention of Wang was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Alanara.
Regarding Claim 14, Wang-Alanara teaches, the method of claim 13, wherein the indication signifies a presence of the RIS deployment (Alanara, [0004]: If the duration of the transmission of the cyclic prefix exceeds the maximum delay spread, the Inter-Symbol Interference (ISI) is eliminated; [0005]: The extended CP can handle up to 16.67 μs root mean squared delay spread in the received signal so that there is no signal deterioration).
Regarding Claim 15, Wang-Alanara teaches, the method of claim 13, wherein the CP length corresponds to one of an extended CP length or a normal CP length, wherein the extended CP length is across all numerologies or a subset of numerologies, and wherein transmitting the indication includes transmitting the indication including one of the extended CP length or the normal CP length (Alanara, [0011]: receiving an indication of an uplink direction cyclic prefix length specific to the mobile node from a base station).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang-Alanara teaches, the method of claim 13, further comprising:
receiving, from the UE, a message including a CP length selected by the UE, wherein the CP length is a function of the delay spread of the communication channel (Alanara, [0011]: receiving an indication of an uplink direction cyclic prefix length specific to the mobile node from a base station).
Regarding Claim 18, Wang-Alanara teaches, the method of claim 13, wherein receiving the measurement report further includes identifying a plurality of delay spreads including the delay spread associated with an active RIS deployment (Wang, [0055]:a delay spread between a first received signal and a last received signal (e.g., received multipath rays) exceeding an acceptable delay spread threshold associated RIS 406).
Regarding Claim 22, Wang teaches, an apparatus at a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a transceiver; one or more memories configured to store instructions; and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or in combination (Wang, FIG.2, UE 110, transceiver 204-210, processors 214, computer-readable storage media (CRM) 216, [0034-37]: processor-executable instructions that are stored on CRM 216 and executable by processors 214), to:
identify a delay spread of a communication channel associated with a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) deployment (Wang, FIG.4, UE 110, base station, RIS 406, signal rays 492, 494, [0055]: the base station 120 directs how the RIS 406 transforms an incident signal ray from the UE 110 on a path reciprocal to signal ray 494 into another signal ray that follows a path reciprocal to that of signal ray 492 to the base station 120. The link-quality measurements that do not meet an acceptable performance level can indicate channel impairments, such as by a delay spread between a first received signal and a last received signal (e.g., received multipath rays) exceeding an acceptable delay spread threshold);
transmit, to a network entity, a measurement report including the delay spread of the communication channel (Wang, FIG.2, adaptive phase-changing device manager 220 (UE APD manager), [0038]: The UE APD manager 220 then sends, to the base station 120, an indication to utilize and/or reconfigure an APD in the communication path; Wang, FIG.6, UE 111, base station 121, [0067]: receiving, by base station 121, downlink-quality measurements and/or measurement reports from the UE 111).
Wang does not expressly teach
receive, from the network entity, an indication associated with a cyclic prefix (CP) length.
Alanara teaches (Alanara, [0011]: transmitting, by a mobile node, a radio resource to enable the measuring of an uplink direction delay spread; receiving an indication of an uplink direction cyclic prefix length specific to the mobile node from a base station).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “specific cyclic prefix” of Alanara into the invention of Wang. The suggestion/motivation would have been enabled avoiding long cyclic prefixes to enhanced bitrate for transmission in uplink or downlink direction (Alanara, [0076]). Including the “specific cyclic prefix” of Alanara into the invention of Wang was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Alanara.
Regarding Claim 28 Wang-Alanara teaches, the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
select an extended CP length to mitigate inter-symbol interference (ISI) on the communication channel based on the indication signifying a presence of the RIS deployment (Alanara, [0004]: If the duration of the transmission of the cyclic prefix exceeds the maximum delay spread, the Inter-Symbol Interference (ISI) is eliminated; [0005]: The extended CP can handle up to 16.67 μs root mean squared delay spread in the received signal so that there is no signal deterioration).
Regarding Claim 29, Wang-Alanara teaches, the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
select a normal CP for transmissions on the communication channel based on the indication signifying an absence of the RIS deployment (Alanara, [0005]: The disadvantage in the use of the extended CP is the smaller space for packet traffic payload, because in each 1 ms subframe there are only 12 symbols instead of the 14 symbols in the case of normal CP. As the consequence, the normal CP allows 17% higher bit rate compared with the extended CP, provided that the MCS and retransmission rate are comparable).
Regarding Claim 30, Wang-Alanara teaches, the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the CP length corresponds to one of an extended CP length or a normal CP length, wherein the extended CP length is across all numerologies or a subset of numerologies, and wherein the indication includes one of the extended CP length or the normal CP length (Alanara, [0011]: receiving an indication of an uplink direction cyclic prefix length specific to the mobile node from a base station).
Regarding Claim 31, Wang-Alanara teaches, the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
select a selected CP length as one of an extended CP length or a normal CP length based on the delay spread; and wherein the measurement report includes the selected CP length (Alanara, [0011]: receiving an indication of an uplink direction cyclic prefix length specific to the mobile node from a base station).
Regarding Claim 32, Wang-Alanara teaches, the apparatus of claim 22, wherein, to identify the delay spread, the one or more processors are configured to identify a plurality of delay spreads including the delay spread associated with an active RIS deployment (Wang, [0055]: a delay spread between a first received signal and a last received signal (e.g., received multipath rays) exceeding an acceptable delay spread threshold associated RIS 406).
Regarding Claim 36, Wang teaches, an apparatus at a network entity for wireless communication, comprising: a transceiver; one or more memories configured to store instructions; and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or in combination (Wang, FIG.2, base station-adaptive phase-changing device manager 272 (BS APD manager)[0041]: the BS APD manager 272 receives an indication from the UE to utilize an APD in the communication path and/or to perform a surface reconfiguration of the existing APD utilized in the communication path; Wang, FIG.2, base station 120, transceivers 256-260, processors 262, computer-readable storage media (CRM), [0040-42]: The base station 120 also includes processor(s) 262 and CRM 264, processor-executable instructions that are stored on CRM 264 and executable by processors 214), to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a measurement report including a delay spread of a communication channel (Wang, FIG.6, UE 111, base station 121, [0067]: receiving, from UE 111, downlink-quality measurements and/or measurement reports; FIG.2, base station-adaptive phase-changing device manager 272 (BS APD manager));
identify a cyclic prefix (CP) length associated with a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) deployment on the communication channel (Wang, FIG.4, UE 110, base station, RIS 406, signal rays 492, 494, [0055]: the base station 120 directs how the RIS 406 transforms an incident signal ray from the UE 110 on a path reciprocal to signal ray 494 into another signal ray that follows a path reciprocal to that of signal ray 492 to the base station 120. The link-quality measurements that do not meet an acceptable performance level can indicate channel impairments, such as by a delay spread between a first received signal and a last received signal (e.g., received multipath rays) exceeding an acceptable delay spread threshold).
Alanara teaches (Alanara, [0011]: transmitting, by a mobile node, a radio resource to enable the measuring of an uplink direction delay spread; receiving an indication of an uplink direction cyclic prefix length specific to the mobile node from a base station).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “specific cyclic prefix” of Alanara into the invention of Wang. The suggestion/motivation would have been enabled avoiding long cyclic prefixes to enhanced bitrate for transmission in uplink or downlink direction (Alanara, [0076]). Including the “specific cyclic prefix” of Alanara into the invention of Wang was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Alanara.
Regarding Claim 37, Wang-Alanara teaches, the apparatus of claim 36, wherein the indication signifies a presence of the RIS deployment or an absence of the RIS deployment (Alanara, [0004]: If the duration of the transmission of the cyclic prefix exceeds the maximum delay spread, the Inter-Symbol Interference (ISI) is eliminated; [0005]: The extended CP can handle up to 16.67 μs root mean squared delay spread in the received signal so that there is no signal deterioration).
Regarding Claim 38, Wang-Alanara teaches, the apparatus of claim 36, wherein the CP length corresponds to one of an extended CP length or a normal CP length, wherein the extended CP length is across all numerologies or a subset of numerologies, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the indication including one of the extended CP length or the normal CP length (Alanara, [0011]: receiving an indication of an uplink direction cyclic prefix length specific to the mobile node from a base station).
Regarding Claim 39, Wang-Alanara teaches, the apparatus of claim 36, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the UE, a message including the CP length selected by the UE, wherein the CP length is a function of the delay spread of the communication channel (Alanara, [0011]: receiving an indication of an uplink direction cyclic prefix length specific to the mobile node from a base station).
Regarding Claim 40, Wang-Alanara teaches, the apparatus of claim 36, wherein based on receiving the measurement report, the one or more processors are further configured to identify a plurality of delay spreads including the delay spread associated with an active RIS deployment (Wang, [0055]:a delay spread between a first received signal and a last received signal (e.g., received multipath rays) exceeding an acceptable delay spread threshold associated RIS 406).
5.4. Claims 8, 11-12, 19, 33-35, 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Wang et al., ("Wang", US 2023/0370931 A1) in view of Alanara, (US 2012/0281551 A1), and further in view of Oh et al., (“Oh”, US 2023/0328704 A1)
Regarding Claim 8, Wang-Alanara teaches, the method of claim 1, but not expressly teaches comprising at least one of:
transmitting UE capability of CP adaptation according to the RIS deployment; or
selecting a subcarrier spacing (SCS) based on the RIS deployment or the delay spread of the communication channel, wherein the SCS and the CP length are inversely proportional.
Oh teaches transmitting UE capability of CP adaptation according to the RIS deployment (Oh, Table 4, Note 1: depends on UE capability, [0112]: It is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transmit capability of UE).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara. The suggestion/motivation would have been enable BWP switch involves changing of SCS is dependent on UE capability (Oh, Table 4, [0113]). Including the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Oh.
Regarding Claim 11, Wang-Alanara teaches, the method of claim 1, but not expressly teaches wherein the indication signifies a presence of the RIS deployment, the method further comprising:
switching from a first subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a second SCS lower than the first SCS.
Oh teaches (Oh, Table 4, Note 2: If the BWP switch involves changing of SCS, the BWP switch delay is determined by the larger one between the SCS before BWP switch and the SCS after BWP switch).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara. The suggestion/motivation would have been enable BWP switch involves changing of SCS is dependent on UE capability (Oh, Table 4, [0113]). Including the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Oh.
Regarding Claim 12, Wang-Alanara teaches, the method of claim 1, but not expressly teaches comprising transmitting a message indicating support for subcarrier switching (SCS) switching based on the RIS deployment or the delay spread of the communication channel.
Oh teaches (Oh, Table 4, Note 2: If the BWP switch involves changing of SCS, the BWP switch delay is determined by the larger one between the SCS before BWP switch and the SCS after BWP switch).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara. The suggestion/motivation would have been enable BWP switch involves changing of SCS is dependent on UE capability (Oh, Table 4, [0113]). Including the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Oh.
Regarding Claim 19, Wang-Alanara teaches, the method of claim 13, but not expressly teaches comprising at least one of:
receiving UE capability of a CP adaptation according to the RIS deployment; or receiving, from the UE, a message indicating support for subcarrier switching (SCS) switching based on the RIS deployment or the delay spread of the communication channel.
Oh teaches (Oh, Table 4, Note 2: If the BWP switch involves changing of SCS, the BWP switch delay is determined by the larger one between the SCS before BWP switch and the SCS after BWP switch).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara. The suggestion/motivation would have been enable BWP switch involves changing of SCS is dependent on UE capability (Oh, Table 4, [0113]). Including the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Oh.
Regarding Claim 33, Wang-Alanara teaches, the apparatus of claim 22, but not expressly teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit UE capability of CP adaptation according to the RIS deployment; and/or
select a subcarrier spacing (SCS) based on the RIS deployment or the delay spread of the communication channel, wherein the SCS and the CP length are inversely proportional.
Oh teaches transmitting UE capability of CP adaptation according to the RIS deployment (Oh, Table 4, Note 1: depends on UE capability, [0112]: It is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transmit capability of UE ).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara. The suggestion/motivation would have been enable BWP switch involves changing of SCS is dependent on UE capability (Oh, Table 4, [0113]). Including the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Oh.
Regarding Claim 34, Wang-Alanara teaches, the apparatus of claim 22, but not expressly teaches wherein the indication signifies a presence of the RIS deployment, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
switch from a first subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a second SCS lower than the first SCS.
Oh teaches (Oh, Table 4, Note 2: If the BWP switch involves changing of SCS, the BWP switch delay is determined by the larger one between the SCS before BWP switch and the SCS after BWP switch).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara. The suggestion/motivation would have been enable BWP switch involves changing of SCS is dependent on UE capability (Oh, Table 4, [0113]). Including the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Oh.
Regarding Claim 35, Wang-Alanara teaches, the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit a message indicating support for subcarrier switching (SCS) switching based on the RIS deployment or the delay spread of the communication channel.
Oh teaches (Oh, Table 4, Note 2: If the BWP switch involves changing of SCS, the BWP switch delay is determined by the larger one between the SCS before BWP switch and the SCS after BWP switch).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara. The suggestion/motivation would have been enable BWP switch involves changing of SCS is dependent on UE capability (Oh, Table 4, [0113]). Including the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Oh.
Regarding Claim 41, Wang-Alanara teaches, the apparatus of claim 36, but not expressly teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a UE capability of a CP adaptation according to the RIS deployment; and/or receive, from the UE, a message indicating support for subcarrier switching (SCS) switching based on the RIS deployment or the delay spread of the communication channel.
Oh teaches (Oh, Table 4, Note 2: If the BWP switch involves changing of SCS, the BWP switch delay is determined by the larger one between the SCS before BWP switch and the SCS after BWP switch).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara. The suggestion/motivation would have been enable BWP switch involves changing of SCS is dependent on UE capability (Oh, Table 4, [0113]). Including the “transmitting UE capability” of Oh into the invention of Wang-Alanara was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Oh.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Kim et al., US 2023/0170969 A1, Method for transmitting an uplink signal in a wireless communication system for a terminal, involves transmitting first uplink signal by applying first beam, and performing beam switching operation to change first beam into second beam.
be directed to CHHIAN (AMY) LING whose telephone number is (571)270-1074. The examiner can
normally be reached M-F 9-6 ET.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
BRIAN J GILLIS can be reached on (571) 272-7952. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions,
contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance
from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-
1000.
/C.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446