DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The preliminary amendment filed on 12/19/2023 has been entered. Claims 1-20 have been canceled and claims 21-40 are newly added. As such, claims 21-40 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 31-32 and 37-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 29, the parenthetical limitation “(mol ratio)” is interpreted as "such as mol ratio" and renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation “mol ratio” is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 35, The limitation “functionalized derivative thereof” renders the claim vague and indefinite because the term does not limit the claim to the recited species and thus is unclear as to how much variation of the recited species are tolerated by the use of term “functionalized derivative thereof”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23, 30, 33 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lieb (Lieb, A. et al. “MIL-100(V) – A mesoporous vanadium metal organic framework with accessible metal sites” Microporous and Mesoporous Materials 157 (2012) 18–23)).
Regarding claim 21, Lieb teaches a method for synthesizing a vanadium metal organic framework by combining 588 mg of triethyl-1,3,5-benzenetricarboxylate as a pre-ligand with 628 mg of VCl3 as a metal source comprising a metal component to provide a plurality of solid reactants; adding 5 mL (5000 mg) of water as a solvent to the plurality of solid reactants to form a reaction mixture, wherein about 19.6 wt % of the reaction mixture are the plurality of solid reactants; heating the reaction mixture wherein the pre-ligand is converted to a ligand in the reaction mixture and the ligand reacts with the metal component; and cooling the reaction mixture to produce an insoluble portion and a soluble portion, wherein the reaction mixture does not comprise dimethylformamide and the insoluble portion comprises a plurality of the metal-organic frameworks, each metal-organic framework comprising the ligand and the metal component (Experimental, sect. 2.1).
The claimed concentration of at least 50 wt% of the plurality of solid reactants in the reaction mixture are merely close to about 19.6 wt % of Lieb. In view of MPEP §2144.05, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality.
Regarding claim 23, Lieb’s triethyl-1,3,5-benzenetricarboxylate and the claimed trimethyl-1,3,5-benzenetricarboxylate are homologs, i.e. (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) and thus are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP § 2144.09.
Regarding claim 30, the amount of water added to the reaction mixture is in 5000 mg relative to 1216 mg of solid reactants, i.e. about 4 weight equivalents relative to solid reactants. Based on the above rationale, the claimed ratio is deemed obvious for being merely close to that of Lieb.
Regarding claim 33, Lieb teaches that the reaction is performed at a temperature of 220 °C.
Regarding claim 36, Lieb teaches the process further comprising separating the insoluble portion from the soluble portion by filtration followed by drying at 373 K (100 °C) under air.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to conduct a method of making a metal-organic framework comprising: combining a pre-ligand with a metal source comprising a metal component to provide a plurality of solid reactants; adding a solvent to the plurality of solid reactants to form a reaction mixture, wherein at least 50 wt % of the reaction mixture are the plurality of solid reactants; heating the reaction mixture wherein the pre-ligand is converted to a ligand in the reaction mixture and the ligand reacts with the metal component; and cooling the reaction mixture to produce an insoluble portion and a soluble portion, wherein the reaction mixture does not comprise dimethylformamide and the insoluble portion comprises a plurality of the metal-organic frameworks, each metal-organic framework comprising the ligand and the metal component in view of the teachings of Lieb.
Claims 21-27, 29-30, and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (Zhou, L. et al. “Direct synthesis of robust hcp UiO-66(Zr) MOF using poly(ethylene terephthalate) waste as ligand source” Macroporous and Mesoporous Materials, vol. 290, Aug. 2019, pp. 1-8; cited in IDS 10/23/2025).
Regarding claims 21-27, 29-30 and 34-35, Zhou teaches a method for synthesizing a Zr metal organic framework, UiO-66(Zr), by combining 75 mg of PET as a pre-ligand with 105 mg of ZrCl4 as a metal source comprising a metal component to provide a plurality of solid reactants; adding 3 mL of formic acid (3660 mg) and 3 mL acetone (2373 mg) as solvents to the plurality of solid reactants to form a reaction mixture, wherein about 2.98 wt % of the reaction mixture are the plurality of solid reactants; heating the reaction mixture wherein the pre-ligand is converted to a ligand in the reaction mixture and the ligand reacts with the metal component; and cooling the reaction mixture to produce an insoluble portion and a soluble portion, wherein the reaction mixture does not comprise dimethylformamide and the insoluble portion comprises a plurality of the metal-organic frameworks, each metal-organic framework comprising the ligand and the metal component (Experimental, sect. 2.1).
The claimed concentration of at least 50 wt% of the plurality of solid reactants in the reaction mixture are merely close to about 2.98 wt % of Zhou. In view of MPEP §2144.05, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality. In this instance, the instant specification describes in [0056] Under reaction conditions, the pre-ligand converts to a ligand (e.g., fumaric acid or terephthalic acid or a derivative thereof) and reacts with the metal component to form a metal- organic framework. The same conversion of PET (pre-ligand) to terephthalic acid is observed in Zhou to obtain the final metal organic framework. As such, in the absence of evidence of criticality, the use of a lower weight percent of the plurality of solid reactants in the reaction mixture as claimed will not support the patentability. The same rationale applies for claims 29-30.
Regarding claim 33, Zhou teaches that the reaction is performed at a temperature of 160 °C.
Regarding claim 36, Zhou teaches the process further comprising separating the insoluble portion (precipitates) from the soluble portion by centrifugation, washed and dried at room temperature in air.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to conduct a method of making a metal-organic framework comprising: combining a pre-ligand with a metal source comprising a metal component to provide a plurality of solid reactants; adding a solvent to the plurality of solid reactants to form a reaction mixture, wherein at least 50 wt % of the reaction mixture are the plurality of solid reactants; heating the reaction mixture wherein the pre-ligand is converted to a ligand in the reaction mixture and the ligand reacts with the metal component; and cooling the reaction mixture to produce an insoluble portion and a soluble portion, wherein the reaction mixture does not comprise dimethylformamide and the insoluble portion comprises a plurality of the metal-organic frameworks, each metal-organic framework comprising the ligand and the metal component in view of the teachings of Zhou.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-30 and 33-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 18/413,176. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to a method of making a metal of making a metal-organic framework.
Copending claim 1 fails to recite that the reaction mixture does not comprise dimethylformamide as instantly claimed, however, copending claim 8 cures the deficiency by reciting “wherein the reaction mixture does not comprise dimethylformamide”. Thus, a skilled artisan has a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the instantly claimed method by combining the method of copending claims 1 and 8.
Furthermore, the method of the instant claim is generic to copending claim 9 because copending claim 9 recites species of metal source “selected from the group consisting of metal hydroxides, metal acetates, metal hydroxyacetates, metal carbonates, metal hydroxycarbonates, and mixtures thereof”, and a narrower concentration of “between 15 wt.% and 50 wt.% of the reaction mixture is the plurality of reactants”. As such, the entire scope of '504 claims falls within the scope of the instant claims. In accordance to MPEP § 804, the claim under examination is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) if the claim under examination is anticipated by the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 1052, 29 USPQ2d 2010, 2015-16 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Thus, the instant claims are anticipated by copending claims 9-21.
Allowable Subject Matter
The subject matter of claims 31-32 and 37-40 is free of prior art. The closest prior art references, Lieb (Lieb, A. et al. “MIL-100(V) – A mesoporous vanadium metal organic framework with accessible metal sites” Microporous and Mesoporous Materials 157 (2012) 18–23)) and Zhou (Zhou, L. et al. “Direct synthesis of robust hcp UiO-66(Zr) MOF using poly(ethylene terephthalate) waste as ligand source” Macroporous and Mesoporous Materials, vol. 290, Aug. 2019, pp. 1-8; cited in IDS 10/23/2025), and their teachings have been set forth above. The references further teach the crystal forms of the MOFs, but fail to teach or suggest adding a crystallization aid to the reaction mixture with the solvent, wherein the crystallization aid is a divalent metal. Hence, claims 31-32 and 37-40 are deemed novel and unobvious over the closest prior art references.
Conclusion
Claims 21-30 and 33-36 are rejected and no claims are allowed.
/MEDHANIT W BAHTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692