DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BIBA (DE202019102253) in view of Zhang (CN110615223).
Referring to claim 1. BIBA discloses a “Device For Verifying Storage Goods Positions In Intralogistics Storage Systems”. See Figs. 1-7 and respective portions of the specification. BIBA further discloses a method for inspecting objects stored in a three-dimensional warehouse, comprising the following steps: under a set condition, controlling a shuttle to move to an inspection position (pp 4-5, describes storage machines (18) moving along transport routes (26) and initiating scanning of storage locations and discloses that scanning may be triggered following certain conditions such as malfunctions, thus constituting operation under a defined/set condition); calculating whether an attitude of a stored object corresponding to the inspection position has been changed (pp 4, discloses extracting an actual position of a stored item from scan data and comparing the extracted actual position with a pre-stored target position, while it’s understood a deviation between actual and target position corresponds to a change in the objects orientation or attitude); and if the attitude of the stored object has been changed, using the shuttle to take away the stored object and then place the stored object back to its original position (pp 4, discloses determining deviation and updates the stored target position if deviation exists). BIBA doesn’t disclose using a shuttle to take away the stored object and then place the stored object back to its original position. Zhang discloses a “A Case Transferring Device and Method”. See Figs. 1-5 and respective portions of the specification. Zhang further discloses a shuttle-based box retrieval system in which multiple distances are measured to determine box tilt and displacement and if the posture is abnormal (set condition), the shuttle retrieves the box and repositions it to correct the attitude (See at least Summary of the Invention). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify BIBA inspection system to incorporate the shuttle configured for corrective repositioning as taught by Zhang, so that objects were positioned correcting to ensure more reliable handling and reduce handling errors.
Referring to claim 2. BIBA doesn’t disclose calculating deviation amounts and/or a tilt angle of the stored object; determining whether neither the deviation amounts nor the tilt angle exceeds a set value; and if any of the deviation amounts and the tilt angle exceeds the set value, determining that the attitude of the stored object has been changed. Zhang discloses measuring Δy1 and Δy2 vertical distances and Δ|1, Δ|2 horizontal displacement distances, determining whether Δy1 = Δy2 and whether Δ|1, Δ|2 fall within preset tolerances, and determining abnormal posture when measured values exceed thresholds, thus Zhang discloses calculating deviation amounts, comparing to set threshold values, determining change of altitude based on threshold exceedance. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the calculation and threshold-based comparison methodology of Zhang, so that the precise changes, positions and tolerance levels of objects could be calculated, to help distinguish acceptable placement from misalignment and provide greater system stability.
Referring to claim 3. BIBA doesn’t disclose calculating the titlt angle of the stored object by detecting first distance between a first corner of the store object corresponding to the inspection position and the shuttle, a second distance between a second corner of the stored object and the shuttle, and a third distance the shuttle moves from corresponding to the first corner of the stored object to corresponding to the second corner of the stored object; and calculating the tilt angle of the stored object based on the first distance, the second distance and the third distance. Zhang discloses measuring Δy1 (distance to beginning of box) and Δy2 (distance to end of the box), measuring walking distances Δ|1, x, Δ|2 via displacement sensor, calculating the tilt angle using geometric relationships and Pythagorean theorem (See pp. 2-3), which correspond directly to first and second corner distances, third displacement distance, and geometric tilt angle. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the teachings of Zhang because these calculation methods would allow for improved precision as multi-distance geometry provides more accurate determination of angular deviation and would allow for improved precision in automated warehouse alignment systems.
Referring to claim 4. BIBA doesn’t wherein deviation amounts of the stored object are calculated by the following steps of calculating the deviation amounts of the stored object based on coordinates of the shuttle in a coordinate system of the stored object under inspection, dimensions of the stored object, the tilt angle of the stored object, the first distance and the second distance. Zhang discloses establishing coordinate points P1, P2, P3, P4 (See at least pp. 1-3); computing width x and tilt angle using coordinate relationships, and using displacement and distance data to derive box posture (pp. 1-3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the coordinate-based geometric position determination of Zhang, which determines object position and orientation using coordinate points derived from measured distances and object dimensions, for the purpose of improving the precision with which the deviation and attitude of stored objects are calculated relative to the shuttle and store location, which would improve the reliability of the automated retrieval operations in the warehouse system.
Referring to claims 5-6. BIBA doesn’t disclose wherein the first corner is a corner of the stored object facing toward a passage where the shuttle is located, and the first corner is a corner where the shuttle passes for the first time or wherein the second corner is a corner of the stored object facing toward the passage where the shuttle is located, and the second corner is a corner where the shuttle passes for the second time. Zhang discloses measuring Δ|1 from previous box end to current box start, measuring Δ|2 from end of current box to next box, and wherein points P1, P2, P3, P4 are defined along the shuttle travel direction (See pp. 1-3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inspection process of BIBA to incorporate the edge detection along the shuttle travel direction as taught by Zhang, wherein the shuttle detects/measures the beginning and trailing edge, for determining the orientation, boundaries, and full spatial extent of the stored object, so that the objects geometry, orientation and width relative to shuttle was determined which would allow for an improvement in positioning, retrieving, and reliability with regards to objects in the warehouse system.
Referring to claims 7-8. BIBA doesn’t disclose wherein a same distance detection element is configured to detect the first distance and the second distance or wherein the distance detection element comprises a laser ranging module. Zhang discloses a distance sensor mounted on the shuttle configured to measure vertical distances from beginning and end of box (Δy1 and Δy2) and a laser ranging module (See at least pp. 2-4).
Referring to claims 9. BIBA doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein each side of the shuttle is provided with a distance detection element, and each distance detection element is configured to detect stored objects corresponding to inspection positions on one side of the passage. It should be noted BIBA discloses sensors mounted on shuttles scanning storage locations while moving along the transport route adjacent shelves. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sensors on multiple sides of the shuttle to scan storage locations on either side of the aisle, which would increase inspection efficiency and reduce require shuttle travel.
Referring to claim 10. BIBA discloses wherein the inspection positions are positions within the passage and the stored objects are placed on at least one side of each inspection position. BIBA discloses shuttles traveling along transport routes located between shelving rows and scanning storage locations on sides of passage (See at least Sect. 0041-0044).
Referring to claims 11-12. BIBA doesn’t disclose wherein the number of stored objects located on each side of the inspection position is two or more, and whether the attitudes of the plurality of stored objects located on one side of the inspection position have changed is determined by the following step: if attitudes of a stored object located on the one side of the passage has not changed, determining that the attitude of each stored object located on a side of the stored object away from the passage has not changed or wherein if the attitude of a stored object located on one side of the passage has changed, taking the stored object located in the row; determining whether the attitude of the stored object located in the next row has been changed; and repeating the above steps until determination for every stored object on the one side of the passage is completed. It should be noted that BIBA discloses generation of maps of stored goods and continuous sampling. Zhang discloses object posture evaluation and sequential posture determination (See pp. 2-4, 7). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the algorithm of BIBA to incorporate the determination logic and sequential posture determination of Zhang, for the purpose of reducing redundant inspection operations by inferring that additional objects remain correctly positioned when previously inspected objects show not deviation and enabling the system to evaluate object orientation one object at a time based on sensor measurements collected during shuttle movement, which would improve inspection efficiency and precision.
Referring to claim 13. BIBA doesn’t disclose inspecting objects comprising the steps of using a shuttle to take away a stored object, in that last row, the attitude of which is determined to have changed, and then place the same back to its original position to implement attitude correction of the stored object; and placing back the stored objects located on the one side of the passage one by one to complete attitude correction of every stored object on the one side of the passage. Zhang discloses retrieving items (box) and repositioning to correct posture (See Summary of the Invention). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the object retrieval and repositioning operations taught by Zhang, for the purpose of correcting misaligned objects that are detected during inspection and restoring them to proper orientation within the storage location.
Referring to claim 14. BIBA discloses inspecting objects comprising the step of after attitude correction of every stored object corresponding to the inspection position is completed, running the shuttle to the next inspection position with respect to the inspection position to accomplish determination of stored objects for every inspection position. It should further be noted BIBA discloses continuous movement of shuttles between storage locations for scanning and operation. Likewise, advancing to the next inspection position after correction is inherent in automated shuttle systems.
Referring to claim 15. BIBA doesn’t disclose wherein the set condition is when the shuttle does not receive an operation command. BIBA discloses scanning may occur following malfunction or specific system events (See at least Sect. 0011). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify BIBA to trigger inspection when the shuttle idles or not processing active transport orders, as a way of improving scheduling optimization and increasing throughput as scheduling maintenance during idle periods improves operational efficiency.
Referring to claim 16. BIBA discloses a system for inspecting objects stored in a three-dimensional warehouse, comprising: a shuttle (18, 30); a controller operatively connected that communicates and controls shuttles (See at least Sect. 0021, 0023, 0041, 0044); a distance detection element (32) mounted on the shuttle and communicatively connected to the controller to detect a distance from the shuttle to a stored object to be inspected (See at least Sect. 0047); a positioning element (32) mounted on the shuttle and communicatively connected to the controller so that the shuttle stops to at storage locations along the transport routes (See at least Sect. 0009-0016). It should further be understood that BIBA discloses the controlled movement of shuttles (18, 30) along transport routes to scan storage locations and the movement along predefined transport routes and the systems knowledge of shuttle positions along those routes. BIBA does not explicitly disclose stopping at a set inspection position, that the controller is mounted on the shuttle, or displacement detection element mounted on the shuttle connected to the controller to detect a third distance moved by the shuttle. Zhang discloses measuring shuttle displacement distances and using displacement data gathered by displacement sensors in conjunction with distance sensor data (See at least pp. 2-3, 7). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the controller on the shuttle and to stop the shuttles at set inspection positions, so that control function was distributed locally and shuttles had stopping functionality, as this would improve discrete inspection measurements thus improving measurement precision and allow for more control variation. Likewise, it would have been obvious to incorporate a displacement sensor, so that displacement data and distance data could be used in conjunction to improve positional accuracy and enable posture correction, yielding improved precision retrieval capabilities.
Referring to claim 17. BIBA discloses sensors mounted on shuttles for scanning storage locations (See Sect. 0041, 0044). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sensors on both sides of the shuttle to detect storage locations on both sides of an aisle, as it would increase inspection coverage and reduce shuttle travel time.
Conclusion
/TERRELL H MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653