DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: the Preliminary Amendment filed on 05/16/2024. This action is made non-final.
In this Preliminary amendment, claims 1-12, 15-16 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 15 and 16 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 15-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first multimedia content" in line 4, line 6, and line 8 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is noted that there is “multimedia contents” recited in the preamble of the claim and “a first multimedia work” recited in line 3 of the claim.
Independent claim 15 and 16 repeat the similar limitation “the first multimedia content” in the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 15 further recites “the interaction method” in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 16 also recites “the interaction method” in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 16 also is directed to a single claim which claims both a device and a method steps is indefinite. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). In this case, claim 16 recites “a device comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the computer program, the interaction method based on multimedia contents comprising:”. There is no connection between the method steps and the device. Therefore, the claim is considered indefinite.
Dependent claims 2-7, 10-12 also recite the limitation “the first multimedia content” which also lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 4 further recites “the playing volume” in the last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Dependent claims 8-9 are rejected as incorporating the deficiencies of the claim upon which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
With respect to claim 16, “A computer program product” is being recited. However, all the included in the product is “computer programs/instructions” which would reasonably be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art as software, per se. As such, it believed that the production of claim 16 is reasonably interpreted as functional descriptive material, per se. The functional descriptive material is nonstatutory when claimed as descriptive material per se, 33 F.3d at 1360, 31 USPQ2d at 1759.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zha et al. (US 2018/0012308 A1; hereinafter Zha).
As to claim 1, Zha teaches:
An interaction method based on multimedia contents (see Fig. 5-6A and ¶ 0013, 0064), comprising:
obtaining feedback information corresponding to a first multimedia work in response to a preset interaction operation triggered for the first multimedia content (see Fig. 5 and ¶ 0013-0015; the resource publisher client being configured to release a network resource {~network resource is interpreted as a first multimedia work/content} to the background server; the background server shares the network resource to at least one resource consumer clients. See ¶ 0016; displaying, by the resource consumer client, a presentation window of the network resource, the presentation window including a resource rewarding affordance corresponding to the network resource, and the resource rewarding affordance being an operation affordance used for rewarding a resource to a publisher of the network resource. See ¶ 0017; sending, by the resource consumer client, a resource rewarding instruction for the network resource to the background server according to a resource rewarding operation triggered based on the resource rewarding affordance {~a preset interaction operation}. ¶ 0018; the background server executing, by the background server, the resource rewarding instruction and sending reward feedback information{~obtaining feedback information} to the resource consumer client according to the resource rewarding instruction), wherein the feedback information is used to indicate that a first user obtains a virtual object based on the preset interaction operation (See ¶ 0018, 0090; the reward feedback information being used to indicate reward goods obtained due to the resource rewarding operation), and the first user is a creator of the first multimedia content (see Fig. 5 and ¶ 0013-0015; the resource publisher); and
displaying the feedback information corresponding to the first multimedia content (see Fig. 5 and ¶ 0019; presenting the reward feedback information to the consumer client).
Examiner further notes the limitation “wherein the feedback information is used to indicate that a first user obtains a virtual object based on the preset interaction operation” is directed to intended use of the “feedback information” which does not impart a patentable distinction because it simply expresses the intended use of displaying the descriptive material.
The prior art includes each element claimed as evidenced above, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g. programming), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would yield predictable result.
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Zha further discloses: wherein the displaying the feedback information corresponding to the first multimedia content comprises: displaying the feedback information corresponding to the first multimedia content on a pop-up window (Zha: see Fig. 6B and ¶ 0143; a gratitude expression window 66 is displayed).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Zha further discloses: obtaining feedback effect data corresponding to the first multimedia content in response to the preset interaction operation triggered for the first multimedia content; wherein the feedback effect data includes at least one of audio effect data, video effect data and animation effect data; and playing the feedback effect data (Zha: see Figs. 6B-6C and ¶ 0135; The reward feedback information is used to indicate reward goods obtained due to the resource rewarding operation. after completing the resource rewarding operation, the user may obtain corresponding reward goods. The reward goods may be pre-configured by the publisher according to an actual case. The reward goods include virtual goods. The virtual goods include at least one of a use right of a specified function, a setting right of a specified attribute, and an obtaining right of specified contents. For example, the use right of the specified function may be a use right of a function such as a chat surprise (e.g., bonus content) in an instant messaging application. The setting right of the specified attribute may be a setting right of an attribute such as an avatar decoration, a chat background, or a shadow effect. The obtaining right of the specified contents may be an obtaining right of contents such as a specified emoticon, a specified video, specified music, a specified picture, a specified article, or a specified APP. ¶ 0143; an animation effect of a chat surprise appears on the chat window).
Regarding independent claim 15, claim 15 is directed to a device, comprising: a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the processor executes the computer program to implement the interaction method steps as claimed in claim 1; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale. (Zha: see Fig. 1-2 and ¶ 0065-0077).
Regarding independent claim 16, claim 16 is directed to A computer program product, comprising computer programs/instructions which, when executed by a processor, realize the interaction method steps as claimed in claim 1; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale. (Zha: see Fig. 5-6A and ¶ 0013-0018).
Claims 4-9, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zha et al. (US 2018/0012308 A1; hereinafter Zha) in view of Kawakami et al. (US 2021/0204014 A1; hereinafter Kawakami).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. Zha further teaches wherein the first multimedia work is a video content or a music content (Zha: see ¶ 0061; the type of network resources includes, but is not limited to: video, music, picture, articles, and applications). However, Zha does not appear to teach:
the playing the feedback effect data comprises: determining playback volume of the feedback effect data based on current volume of the first multimedia content; wherein the playback volume is greater than the current volume of the first multimedia content; and playing the feedback effect data based on the playing volume.
Kawakami is relied upon for teaching the limitations. Specifically, Kawakami discloses a method/feature of playing effect data (see ¶ 0012) comprises: determining playback volume of the feedback effect data based on current volume of the first multimedia content; wherein the playback volume is greater than the current volume of the first multimedia content; and playing the feedback effect data based on the playing volume (see ¶ 0141; An example of the virtual item 12-1d subjected to the commitment in this embodiment is a symbol representing the support or the praise of the viewer or the distributor, and for example, can be a production such as a wine glass object that falls from the top to the bottom of the virtual space (FIG. 27(A)), a grass object that grows on the ground or from the bottom of the virtual space (FIG. 27(B)), or firework directed toward the top from the bottom in the virtual space. In addition, a sound production, an oscillation production, an animation production, and the like, associated with the production of such objects, may be added. The sound production, for example, may be the sound of the blasted firework or a sound effect of clinking wine glasses together, or may be a voice such as instrumental interlude or shout used in Kabuki or the like. At this time, in the case of performing a manipulation such as setting the virtual item to be subjected to the commitment to be transparent, it is also possible to perform a production in which only a sound is subjected to the commitment as a virtual item. In addition, similarly, a signal for operating an oscillation function may be transmitted to the distributor terminal and/or the viewer terminal at the time of the commitment of the virtual item, and the oscillation production may be added to the commitment of the virtual item).
Both references are directed to playing of special effect data; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the feedback effect data of Zha to include the sound effect as disclosed by Kawakami to obtain the feedback effect data as claimed. One would be motivated to make such a combination is because of the overlapping subject matter and advantages provided by the Kawakami reference such that the feedback effect data can be played with distinct sound to caught user’s attention; thus, enhance user interaction during the live streaming session (Kawakami: see ¶ 0132).
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. Zha/Kawakami further teach:
configuring feedback effect data corresponding to a second multimedia content in response to a first configuration triggering operation for the second multimedia content; wherein the feedback effect data is used to be played when the preset interaction operation is triggered for the second multimedia content (Zha: Figs. 6A-6C and ¶ 0135, 0143; feedback effect data for network resource which can include, but is not limited to: video, music, picture, articles, and applications, see ¶ 0061; the gratitude expression information may be configured by the publisher, see ¶ 0142. Kawakami: see ¶ 0141; special effects such as animation effect, sound effect can be configured to be added to a virtual object). Thus, combining Zha and Kawakami would render obvious the limitations of claim 5 for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated. Zha/Kawakami further teach:
displaying a first feedback configuration page in response to a first configuration triggering operation for a second multimedia content, wherein a recording control and/or an uploading control are arranged on the first feedback configuration page (Zha: see ¶ 0142; the gratitude expression information may be configured by the publisher; the gratitude expression information may be media contents such as characters, pictures, cartoons, or videos {~which all need to be uploaded}); and
recording or uploading audio data or video data as the feedback effect data corresponding to the second multimedia content in response to the triggering operation for the recording control or the uploading control, or uploading an animation as the feedback effect data corresponding to the second multimedia content (Zha: see ¶ 0142; the gratitude expression information may be configured by the publisher; the gratitude expression information may be media contents such as characters, pictures, cartoons, or videos {~which all need to be uploaded}).
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. Zha/Kawakami further teach:
configuring feedback effect data corresponding to a second user in response to a second configuration triggering operation; wherein the feedback effect data is used to be played when the preset interaction operation is triggered for a third multimedia content with the second user as the creator (Zha: Figs. 6A-6C and ¶ 0135, 0143, 0061; feedback effect data for network resource which can include, but is not limited to: video, music, picture, articles, and applications. See ¶ 0142; the gratitude expression information may be configured by the publisher; the gratitude expression information may be media contents such as characters, pictures, cartoons, or videos. Kawakami: see ¶ 0141; special effects such as animation effect, sound effect can be configured to be added to a virtual object). Thus, combining Zha and Kawakami would meet the limitations of claim 7 for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated. Zha/Kawakami further teach:
displaying a second feedback configuration page in response to the second configuration triggering operation, wherein the recording control and/or the uploading control are arranged on the second feedback configuration page (Zha: see ¶ 0142; the gratitude expression information may be configured by the publisher; the gratitude expression information may be media contents such as characters, pictures, cartoons, or videos {~which all need to be uploaded}); and
recording or uploading audio data or video data as the feedback effect data corresponding to the second user in response to the triggering operation for the recording control or the uploading control, or uploading an animation as the feedback effect data corresponding to the second user (Zha: see ¶ 0142; the gratitude expression information may be configured by the publisher; the gratitude expression information may be media contents such as characters, pictures, cartoons, or videos {~which all need to be uploaded}).
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated. Zha/Kawakami further teach:
deleting or modifying the feedback effect data in response to a deleting operation or a modifying operation for the configured feedback effect data (Zha: see ¶ 0142; the gratitude expression information may be configured by the publisher; the gratitude expression information may be media contents such as characters, pictures, cartoons, or videos; the configuration would allow modifying the feedback effect data because in Kawakami: special effects such as animation effect, sound effect can be configured to be added to a virtual object, see ¶ 0141). Thus, combining Zha and Kawakami would meet the limitations of claim 9 for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated. Zha/Kawakami further teach:
wherein after the configuration of the feedback effect data is completed, the method further comprises: playing a fourth multimedia content on a preview page; and playing the feedback effect data on the preview page in response to the preset interaction operation triggered for the fourth multimedia content (Zha: Figs. 6A-6C and ¶ 0135, 0143; feedback effect data for network resource which can include, but is not limited to: video, music, picture, articles, and applications, see ¶ 0061; the gratitude expression information may be configured by the publisher, see ¶ 0142. ¶ 0125; preview image. Kawakami: see ¶ 0141; special effects such as animation effect, sound effect can be configured to be added to a virtual object). Thus, combining Zha and Kawakami would render obvious the limitations of claim 5 for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zha et al. (US 2018/0012308 A1; hereinafter Zha) in view of Kawakami et al. (US 2021/0204014 A1; hereinafter Kawakami) further in view of Chandrashekar et al. (US 2023/0011793 A1; hereinafter Chandrashekar).
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated. Zha/Kawakami do not teach further teach receiving a notification message for the second multimedia content; wherein, the notification message is used for instructing a third user to trigger the preset interaction operation for the second multimedia content. However, these limitations are well-known features as suggested by Chandrashekar (see ¶ 0096; methods for providing suitable notifications to the likely viewers of the live media stream).
The references, each is directed to presenting multimedia content to viewers; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the streaming user interface of Zha/ Kawakami to include the notification feature as disclosed by Chandrashekar to obtain the claimed feature. One would be motivated to make such a combination is because of the overlapping subject matter and advantages provided by the Chandrashekar reference such that the notification is provided to the likely viewers of the live media stream in order to maximize the total viewership of the live media stream and make it easier for users of the social media network to find the live media stream (Chandrashekar: see ¶ 0096).
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated. Zha/Kawakami/Chandrashekar further teach: receiving a notification message for the third multimedia content; wherein, the notification message is used for instructing the third user to trigger the preset interaction operation for the third multimedia content (Chandrashekar: see ¶ 0096; methods for providing suitable notifications to the likely viewers of the live media stream). Thus, combining Zha/Kawakami/Chandrashekar would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)).
/TUYETLIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179