Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the particular species that are: (I) ligation characterized in that the first oligonucleotide is ligated directly or via an oligonucleotide bridge (relevant to claim 6) and (II) providing a DNA strand by a padlock workflow (relevant to claim 12) in the reply filed on 05/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-10 (drawn to non-elected methods of providing an oligonucleotide) and claims 11 and 13 (draw n to non-elected methods of providing a DNA strand) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/08/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim has a period in the middle of the text of the claim, at the end of 4 of the claim (i.e.: “and ligation.”).
The term “Circular” as recited in line 3 of the claim, and the term “Oligonucleotide” as recited in line 5 of the claim, each being with an unnecessary capitalized letter.
Appropriate correction is required.
Objections to the Specification and Drawings
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification provides several instances of the abbreviation “TECP” (e.g.: para 0011 on p.3; para 0022 on p.6) where the abbreviation “TCEP” (i.e.: for tris(2-carboxyethyl)phosphine ) is likely intended.
Appropriate correction is required.
Similarly, the drawings are objected to because Fig. 4 provides the abbreviation “TECP” where “TCEP” is likely intended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Written Description
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejection of claim 2 for lack of an adequate written description of the claimed subject matter in the application as originally filed is relevant in to the claim as it generically encompasses any progenitor of any reagent (i.e.: the structures encompassed by the claim are broad) in combination with the required particular functionalities of being able to be cleaved with light to provide a reagent that cleaves a blocking group from a nucleotide. The claim encompasses any cleaving agent, and progenitors thereof, that cleave by any mechanism; in this regard it is noted that such cleavage can be effected by different mechanisms (and thus via different reagents) including but not limited to enzymatic cleavage, chemical cleavage, oxidative cleavage. The application as filed discloses only a single agent that is a progenitor of a cleaving reagent that is activated by irradiation with light; the application discloses Cy5-TCEP that is irradiated to form free TCEP which cleaves a blocking group via nucleophilic attack, cleavage and hydrolysis. But such a particular teaching is not informative to the skilled artisan as to any other progenitors of cleaving reagents that are suitable for use in the method as claimed. A disclosure that some particular reagent meets the functional limitations of the claim is not itself a description of any other reagents that may be encompassed by the claim. This finding is emphasized in Ex Parte Kubin (No. 2007-0819, Bd. Pat. App. & Int. May 31, 2007), wherein it is stated that:
“Although there is often significant overlap” between the enablement and written description requirements, “they are nonetheless independent of each other.” University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 921, 69 USPQ2d at 1891. An “invention may be enabled even though it has not been described.” Id. Such is the situation here. While we conclude one skilled in the art would have been able to make and use the full scope of claim 73 through routine experimentation, we find Appellants did not describe the invention of claim 73 sufficiently to show they had possession of the claimed genus of nucleic acids. See, e.g., Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1348, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed”). Thereby, a showing of how to potentially identify sequence that might be used in the claimed methods is not sufficient to establish that Applicants were in possession of the invention as broadly encompassed by the rejected claim.
Thereby, a showing of a particular progenitor of a specific cleavage reagent that might be used in the claimed methods is not sufficient to establish that Applicants were in possession of the invention as broadly encompassed by the rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefiniteness
Where the limitations of claims 6, 7 and 12 are unclear, as detailed below, the Examiner was not able to make a comparison between the claimed methods and the related prior art for consideration of patentability under 35 USC 102 an103.
Claims 6, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5-7 are unclear over recitation of the limitation “the overhang of the first strand is provided at its 5’-end with a first oligonucleotide”, as recited in claim 5 from which claims 6 and 7 depend, because it is unclear what is intended to be required with regard to providing an oligonucleotide. It is unclear if the limitation intends to require that “first oligonucleotide” is hybridized to nucleotides at the 5’ portion of the first strand (e.g.: forming a duplex), or if “provided at its 5’-end” is intended to require that the oligonucleotide is joined (e.g.: ligated to) the 5’-end of the first strand.
Claim 6 is unclear over recitation of the limitation “the first oligonucleotide is ligated … to the 3' end of the first strand thereby forming a circle”, because there appears to be a step or element that is omitted from the claimed method. Where the claim is directed to a first strand and a first oligonucleotide, the step of ligating the oligonucleotide to the 3’-end of the first strand does not appear to be sufficient to form a circle. Ligating two oligonucleotides together, as recited in the claim, does not result in a circle.
Claim 7 is unclear over recitation of the limitation “the first oligonucleotide is hybridized with the corresponding nucleotides” because there is not antecedent basis for any “corresponding nucleotides”. It is unclear what the hybridization target of the “first oligonucleotide” is intended to be.
Claim 12 is unclear over recitation of the limitation “characterized in that the DNA strand is provided by” because the claim depends from claim 1 where claim 1 recites “a first and a second strand”. There is no antecedent basis for any “DNA strand”. Furthermore it is unclear which strand (i.e.: the first or the second) may be intended by the singular “strand” in the recitation of “the DNA strand”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nguyen et al (US PG Pub 20210301615, effectively filed 05/01/2020).
Relevant to the limitations of claims 1 and 3, Nguyen et al teaches methods of adding a distinct polynucleotide sequence (i.e.: a barcode) to a polynucleotide comprising a first and second strand where the first strand comprises a 5’-end overhang with universal bases and the second strand has a recessed 3’-end, where the recessed 3’-end of the second strand is provided with a nucleotide with a blocking group, and the blocking group is removed by irradiation with light (e.g.: (e.g.: Fig 2; para 0046; para 0066).
Relevant to claim 4, Nguyen et al provides a depiction of a universal template (i.e.: the first strand) attached via its 3’-end to a solid support (e.g.: Fig 2), teaches that the template may be attached to the solid support via a functionalized linker (e.g. para 0072), and teaches that nucleotides added by a polymerase are not added to the 3’-end of the template, thus providing that the 3’-end of the template is blocked by attachment to the solid surface.
Relevant to claim 5, Nguyen et al teaches that an oligonucleotide is hybridized to the 5’-end of the first strand (e.g. Fig 2C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al (US PG Pub 20210301615, effectively filed 05/01/2020) in view of Guo et al (2008) and Vaughn et al (2013) (citation 16 on the IDS of 09/06/2024).
Relevant to the limitations of claims 1 and 3, Nguyen et al teaches methods of adding a distinct polynucleotide sequence (i.e.: a barcode) to a polynucleotide comprising a first and second strand where the first strand comprises a 5’-end overhang with universal bases and the second strand has a recessed 3’-end, where the recessed 3’-end of the second strand is provided with a nucleotide with a blocking group, and the blocking group is removed by irradiation with light (e.g.: (e.g.: Fig 2; para 0046; para 0066).
Relevant to claim 4, Nguyen et al provides a depiction of a universal template (i.e.: the first strand) attached via its 3’-end to a solid support (e.g.: Fig 2), teaches that the template may be attached to the solid support via a functionalized linker (e.g. para 0072), and teaches that nucleotides added by a polymerase are not added to the 3’-end of the template, thus providing that the 3’-end of the template is blocked by attachment to the solid surface.
Relevant to claim 5, Nguyen et al teaches that an oligonucleotide is hybridized to the 5’-end of the first strand (e.g. Fig 2C).
Nguyen et al does not teach removal of a blocking group by irradiation of a progenitor of a cleaving reagent to provide a cleaving reagent, as recited in claim 2. However, a cleaving reagent to remove blocking groups was known in the prior art and is taught by Guo et al, and the production of the cleaving reagent of Guo et al by irradiation of a progenitor of the cleaving reagent was known in the prior art and is taught by Vaughn et al.
Guo et al teaches the removal of nucleotide blocking azidomethyl moiety using tris(2-carboxyethyl)phosphine (TCEP) for regenerating the 3′-OH group to allow a subsequent cycle of nucleotide incorporation (Fig S2). Vaughan et al teaches that in a covalent adduct of TCEP-Cy5, TCEP can be can be separated from Cy5 via irradiation with light (e.g. Figure 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the rejected claims to provide TCEP as a cleaving agent (as taught by Guo et al) to remove a blocking agent from a nucleotide incorporated by the methods of Nguyen et al. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use TCEP based on the expressed teachings of Nguyen et al that 3′-O-azidomethyl is an exemplary blocking group suitable for use in the methods of Nugyen et al (e.g.: para 0045; para 0080), and the expressed teaching of Gou et al that TCEP completely cleaves the 3’-O-azidomethyl group with high efficiency (e.g.: p.9147, left col). The skilled artisan would have been motivated to provide TCEP by irradiation of the TCEP-Cy5 adduct, as taught by Vaughan et al based on the expressed teachings of Vaughan et al that such methods allow for high-resolution photoreversible quenching (i.e.: separation of TCEP) of Cy 5 in the TCEP-Cy5 adduct, and the expressed teachings of Nguyen et al that polynucleotides with different sequences can be created in parallel by selectively deblocking protected nucleotides at only specific locations on the surface of the solid substrate.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li et al (2013) teaches methods comprising the addition of nucleotides that are templated by universal bases.
Stephen Kapushoc
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1683
/STEPHEN T KAPUSHOC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683