Applicant's response to the previous Office action, dated August 25, 2026, has been received. By way of this submission, Applicant has amended the specification claims 133, 180, and 190-191, cancelled claims 181 and 185-186, and introduced new claim 195.
Claims 133, 180, 182-184, and 187-195 are pending in the application and under examination before the Office.
The rejections of record can be found in the previous Office action, dated June 3, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 25, 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the first Office action on the merits on June 3, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification was previously objected to due to the presence of browser-executable code.
Applicant's amendment to the specification has addressed this issue, and this objection is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Claims 133, 180, 182-184, and 188-194 were previously rejected on the basis that the claim contained an improper Markush grouping of alternatives.
Applicant's amendment to the specification has addressed this issue, and this rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claims 133, 180-185, and 187-194 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US20180169238A1, cited in IDS as U.S. patent 10,124,061).
Applicant argues that White does not teach or suggest the presently claimed dosage range for the specifically recited anti-TIGIT antibody, and there is no motivation or a reasonable expectation of success for modifying White to arrive at the presently claimed invention. Applicant further argues that the rejection identifies no antibody-specific clinical information from which an expectation of success could have arisen. Applicant cites Example 6 of the specification demonstrates that the claimed range possesses unexpected and surprising results in clinical efficacy in treating cancer.
Applicant's arguments have been considered fully but are not found to be persuasive.
White is explicit in teaching that suitable dosages may be discovered by routine experimentation by those skilled in the art. White at para. 0310-0311:
"The dosing amounts and frequencies of administration are, in a preferred embodiment, selected to be therapeutically or prophylactically effective. As is known in the art, adjustments for protein degradation, systemic versus localized delivery, and rate of new protease synthesis, as well as the age, body weight, general health, sex, diet, time of administration, drug interaction and the severity of the condition may be necessary, and will be ascertainable with routine experimentation by those skilled in the art.
In order to treat a patient, a therapeutically effective dose of the Fc variant of the present invention may be administered. By 'therapeutically effective dose' herein is meant a dose that produces the effects for which it is administered. The exact dose will depend on the purpose of the treatment, and will be ascertainable by one skilled in the art using known techniques."
The teachings of White make it clear that determination of a suitable dosing regimen was well within the grasp of the ordinary practitioner, and could be determined by routine experimentation. This is an express motivation for one of ordinary skill to determine the optimal dosage through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Applicants can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness by showing the criticality of the range. "The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims. . . . In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range." In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(III)(A). Applicant has not met the above burden of showing an unexpected criticality.
White teaches that the claimed anti-TIGIT antibody is useful for treating cancer (para. 0133-0136 and 0178, also see para. 0340). This is at least a general expectation of success that the claimed antibody would be useful in treating cancer.
Applicants must show that the results were greater than those which would have been expected from the prior art to an unobvious extent, and that the results are of a significant, practical advantage. Ex parte The NutraSweet Co., 19 USPQ2d 1586 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1991). MPEP 716.02(a)(I). Given that the claimed antibody was known to be useful in treating cancer, according to the teachings of White, Applicant's results cannot be said to be unexpected.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 to claims 133, 180, 182-184, and 187-194 in view of White is therefore maintained and extended to include new claim 195.
Applicant has requested that the outstanding nonstatutory double patenting rejections described previously be held in abeyance until there is an indication of allowable subjected matter. As there is no allowable subject matter in the application for reasons described above, these rejections are therefore maintained and extended to include new claim 195.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 133, 180, 182-184, and 187-195 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US20180169238A1, cited in IDS as U.S. patent 10,124,061).
White teaches an anti-TIGIT antibody comprising a heavy chain of SEQ ID NO: 160 and a light chain of SEQ ID NO: 165 (para. 0014), which has identical sequences to Applicant's SEQ ID NOs: 877 and 882, respectively, including the relevant CDRs, which is pertinent to claims 133, 180-181, 185, and 187.
White further teaches that this antibody is useful in treating cancer (para. 0134-0135 and 0178).
White further teaches that the skilled medical practitioner can determine the appropriate dosages of the antibody, as well as the appropriate timings and methods of administration (para. 0310, 0311, and 0347).
White further teaches that the antibody comprises a heavy chain comprising VH-CH1-hinge-CH2-CH3, and a light chain comprising VL-VC, wherein the VC is either kappa or lambda (para. 0015), which is pertinent to claim 182.
White further teaches that the antibody may be an IgG4, and have an S241P mutation in the hinge (para. 0224), which is pertinent to claims 183-184.
White further teaches that the antibody is useful for treatment of pancreatic cancer, glioblastoma, cervical cancer, ovarian cancer, and melanoma, among many others (para. 0339), which is pertinent to claim 194.
While White does not expressly teach the claimed dosages and schedules, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to follow the teachings of White to arrive at the claimed invention. White teaches the claimed anti-TIGIT antibody as well as methods of treating cancer by using said antibody. White also teaches that the skilled practitioner can determine appropriate dosages of the antibody, as well as the appropriate schedule and methods of administration. One of ordinary skill could follow the teachings of White to arrive at the claimed invention with nothing more than routine experimentation, with the claimed antibody performing its known, usual function, and affecting a predictable result.
Double Patenting
Claims 133, 180, 182-184, and 187-195 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following claims of the U.S. patents and patent applications listed below in view of White:
Conflicting patent / Conflicting
patent application clams
10,124,061 1-3
11,225,523 1-2, 4, 9-10
12,152,084 1-2, 10-11
18/774,872 59-61, 71-72
18/868,661 23, 25
By means of example, the '084 patent claims a method of treatment for cancer in a patient, comprising administering an anti-TIGIT antibody CPA.9.086.H4(S241P) (claims 1-2).
However, the '061 patent does not claim a dosage schedule.
White teaches an anti-TIGIT antibody comprising a heavy chain of SEQ ID NO: 160 and a light chain of SEQ ID NO: 165 (para. 0014), which has identical sequences to Applicant's SEQ ID NOs: 877 and 882, respectively, including the relevant CDRs, which is pertinent to claims 133, 180-181, 185, and 187.
White further teaches that this antibody is useful in treating cancer (para. 0134-0135 and 0178).
White further teaches that the skilled medical practitioner can determine the appropriate dosages of the antibody, as well as the appropriate timings and methods of administration (para. 0310, 0311, and 0347).
White further teaches that the antibody comprises a heavy chain comprising VH-CH1-hinge-CH2-CH3, and a light chain comprising VL-VC, wherein the VC is either kappa or lambda (para. 0015), which is pertinent to claim 182.
White further teaches that the antibody may be an IgG4, and have an S241P mutation in the hinge (para. 0224), which is pertinent to claims 183-184.
White further teaches that the antibody is useful for treatment of pancreatic cancer, glioblastoma, cervical cancer, ovarian cancer, and melanoma, among many others (para. 0339), which is pertinent to claim 194.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the claims of the '084 patent with the teachings of White to arrive at the claimed invention. Both White and the claims of the '084 patent are drawn to the same anti-TIGIT antibody. White also teaches that the skilled practitioner can determine appropriate dosages of the antibody, as well as the appropriate schedule and methods of administration. One of ordinary skill could follow the teachings of White for an appropriate dosage of the antibody claimed by the '084 patent to arrive at the claimed invention with nothing more than routine experimentation, with the claimed antibody performing its known, usual function, and affecting a predictable result.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER JOHANSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644