DETAILED ACTION
2. It is noted for the record that this application has been transferred to Examiner Haney in Art Unit 1682.
3. Applicant's election with traverse of Group 2 and SEQ ID NOs: 1-40 in the reply filed on September 2, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter of each of the claim Groups is linked by a common inventive concept. As a result, a search into prior art with regard to the invention of the different Groups is so related that separate significant search efforts should not be necessary. Accordingly, there is no serious burden on the Examiner to collectively examine the different claim Groups of the subject application.
These arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. While the Applicants argue that the Groups are linked by a common inventive concept, the response fails to point out what they consider to be the common inventive concept. Thus is it maintained that the technical feature common to all the claims is using the methylation status of CpG sites in a sample to determine epigenetic age. However, since this was already known (as demonstrated by Horvath (JID 2015:212 pages 1563-1573), unity is lacking because there is no special technical feature common to all the claims. Further it is noted that this application was filed under 35 USC 371. Unlike domestic US restriction practice, where an examiner must demonstrate a serious burden, the international unity standard does not require this. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
4. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-9 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on September 2, 2026.
The claims have been examined to the extent that the claims read on the elected methylation markers. (SEQ ID NOs: 1-40). The additionally recited methylation markers have been withdrawn from consideration as being directed to non-elected subject matter. Prior to allowance of the claim, any non-elected subject matter that is not rejoined with any allowed elected subject matter will be required to be removed from the claims.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
5. Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). In particular Table 1 (pages 71-130) contains nucleic acid sequences that are not identified by sequence identifiers.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception without significantly more. The claims recite a judicial exception that is not integrated into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim analysis is set forth below.
Step 1: The claims are directed to the statutory category of a process.
Step 2A, prong one: Evaluate Whether the Claim Recites a Judicial Exception
The instant claims recite a law of nature.
The claims recite methylation markers (SEQ ID NOs: 1-40) that are correlated with epigenetic aging of mammalian cells. This type of correlation is a consequence of natural processes, similar to the naturally occurring correlation found to be a law of nature by the Supreme Court in Mayo.
The instant claims recite abstract ideas.
The claims recite a step of “observing methylation status in at least 40 methylation markers” (clm 10). Neither the specification nor the claims set forth a limiting definition for “observing” and the claims do not set forth how this step is accomplished. The “observing” step broadly encompasses a step that can be accomplished by a mental processes. For example, one may “observe” the methylation status by reading a laboratory report.
The claims recite a step of “comparing” the observations from (b) with observations of the methylation status in genomic DNA from control human cells not exposed to the test agent (clm 10). Neither the specification nor the claims set forth a limiting definition for “comparing” and the claims do not set forth how this step is accomplished. The “comparing” step broadly encompasses a step that can be accomplished by a mental processes. For example, one may “compare” the methylation status by reading a laboratory report with the test and control status side by side and thinking about if the methylation status is the same or different.
For the reasons discussed above the steps of “observing” and “comparing” could be performed by a human using mental steps or basic critical thinking, which are types of activities that have been found by the courts to represent abstract ideas (e.g., the mental comparison in Ambry Genetics or the diagnosing an abnormal condition by performing clinical tests and thinking about the results in Grams).
The claims recite that “correlating” observed methylation in the methylation markers comprises a regression analysis (clm 15). Regression analysis is a mathematical and statistical method. Mathematical concepts are considered to be abstract ideas.
Step 2A, prong two: Evaluate Whether the Judicial Exception Is Integrated Into a Practical Application
The claims do NOT recite additional steps or elements that integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application of the exception(s). For example, the claims do not practically apply the judicial exception by including one or more additional elements that the courts have stated integrate the exception into a practical application:
An additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
An additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
An additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
An additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
An additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological
environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In addition to the judicial exception the claims recite a step of “exposing” mammalian cells to an environmental condition (clm 10). The claims further recite steps of treating genomic DNA with bisulfite and hybridizing the genomic DNA to a microarray (clm 15). These steps are NOT considered to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application because they merely add insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering) to the judicial exception.
Step 2B: Evaluate Whether the Claim Provides an Inventive Concept
In addition to the judicial exception the claims recite a step of “exposing” mammalian cells to an environmental condition (clm 10). The claims further recite steps of treating genomic DNA with bisulfite and hybridizing the genomic DNA to a microarray (clm 15). These steps do not amount to significantly more because they simply append a well understood, routine, and conventional activity previously known in the art, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exceptions.
The prior art demonstrates the well understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element because it teaches that the additional element is well known in the art. For example Firestein (US 2013/0129668 Pub 5/23/2013) teaches a method comprising contacting a cell with a test agent; and determining the methylation state of at least 1 locus. Firestein further teaches comparing the methylation state of the at least 1 locus in the contacted cell with the methylation state of the locus in the cell not contacted with the test agent (para 0165). Firestein discloses the analysis of human cells (para 0080). Additionally Firestein teaches that the methylation state of loci can be determined using the Illumina 450K microarray (Example 5).
Further it is noted that the courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Determining the level of a biomarker in blood by any means, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; Cleveland Clinic Foundation v. True Health Diagnostics, LLC, 859 F.3d 1352, 1362, 123 USPQ2d 1081, 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017);
Using polymerase chain reaction to amplify and detect DNA, Genetic Techs. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Ariosa Diagnostics, Inc. v. Sequenom, Inc., 788 F.3d 1371, 1377, 115 USPQ2d 1152, 1157 (Fed. Cir. 2015);
Detecting DNA or enzymes in a sample, Sequenom, 788 F.3d at 1377-78, 115 USPQ2d at 1157); Cleveland Clinic Foundation 859 F.3d at 1362, 123 USPQ2d at 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017);
Immunizing a patient against a disease, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1063, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1497 (Fed. Cir. 2011);
Analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546;
Freezing and thawing cells, Rapid Litig. Mgmt. 827 F.3d at 1051, 119 USPQ2d at 1375;
Amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid sequences, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
For the reasons set forth above the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firestein (US 2013/0129668 Pub 5/23/2013) in view of GEO record: (Platform GPL28271 available 7/2/2020) and/or Arneson (bioRxiv preprint doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2021.01.07.425637 posted May 10, 2021).
As noted in MPEP 2111.02, “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” In the present situation, the process steps are able to stand alone and the preamble limitation is not accorded patentable weight. Accordingly, the claim language of “A method of observing the effects of an environmental condition on genomic methylation associated epigenetic aging of mammalian cells” merely sets forth the purpose of the process, but does not limit the scope of the claims.
Regarding Claim 10 Firestein teaches a method comprising contacting a cell with a test agent; and determining the methylation state of at least 1 locus. Firestein further teaches comparing the methylation state of the at least 1 locus in the contacted cell with the methylation state of the locus in the cell not contacted with the test agent (para 0165). Firestein discloses the analysis of mammalian cells and human cells (para 0080). Firestein teaches that the methylation state of loci can be determined using the Illumina 450K microarray (Example 5). Thus Firestein teaches a method comprising (a)exposing mammalian cells to an environmental condition (the presence of a test agent); (b) observing methylation status in methylation markers in genomic DNA from the mammalian cells; and (c) comparing the observations from (b) with observations of a methylation status in methylation markers in genomic DNA from control mammalian cells not exposed to the environmental condition.
Firestein does not teach a method wherein the methylation markers are SEQ ID NOs: 1-40 (clm 10). Firestein does not teach a method wherein the methylation markers are those associated with age in (i) humans and dogs, (ii) humans and rats, (iii) humans and mice, and (iv) a plurality of mammals (clms 11-14).
However, the instant specification teaches that the claimed SEQ ID NOs: represent CpG loci that are present on the HorvathMammalMethylChip40 (para 0107, 0282, 0342). Both the Geo platform record and Arneson disclose the HorvathMammalMethylChip40 (see page 24 of Arneson). It is property of this array that has probes which detect SEQ ID NOs: 1-40. It is property of this array that is has methylation markers associated with age in (i) humans and dogs, (ii) humans and rats, (iii) humans and mice, and (iv) a plurality of mammals (clms 11-14).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Firestein by observing the methylation status of methylation markers using the HorvathMammalMethylChip40 (which contains probes to SEQ ID NOs: 1-40) as suggested by Geo and Arneson. One of skill in the art wishing to study the effects of an environmental condition on mammalian cells would have been motivated to use this array because it contains 37,492 CpGs and applies to all mammals. Further the claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one microarray (450K) for another (HorvathMammalMethylChip40) would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
While the combination of Firestein and Geo and Arneson teach all of the claimed method steps, the combination does not teach a correlation between SEQ ID NOs: 1-40 and epigenetic aging of mammalian cells. However this art rejection is set forth because it teaches a broad interpretation of the claims which does not require such a correlation. In the instant case the preamble is considered to be an intended use of the claimed method and the limitation “such that effects of the environmental condition on genomic methylation associated epigenetic aging in the mammalian cells is observed” is broadly interpreted as a property of the recited method.
Regarding Claim 15 Firestein teaches a method comprising treating genomic DNA with bisulfite and then hybridizing the treated DNA to a microarray (para 0151). Firestein further teaches a method wherein the genomic DNA is obtained from a fibroblast (paras 0009, 0168).
Regarding Claim 16 Firestein teaches that the environmental condition comprises exposure to a composition of matter (para 0165).
9. Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firestein (US 2013/0129668 Pub 5/23/2013) in view of GEO record: (Platform GPL28271 available 7/2/2020) and/or Arneson (bioRxiv preprint doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2021.01.07.425637 posted May 10, 2021) as applied to claims 10 and 16 above and in further view of Bennett (US 2020/0392567 Pub 12/17/2020).
The teachings of Firestein, GEO, and Arneson are presented above.
The combined references do not teach a method wherein the composition of matter is combined with mammalian cells for at least 1 day, at least 1 week or at least 1 month. The combined references do not teach a method wherein the test agent has a molecular weight of less than 900 Da.
However Bennett teaches that to examine the effect of a test agent on a biological cell, the biological cell is exposed to a test agent. The test agent may comprise a small molecule agent (e.g., molecular weight less than about 2000 Da or less than about 1000 Da) or a large molecule, such as a polynucleotide, polypeptide, lipid nanoparticle, liposome, a combination thereof, or the like (para 0127). Bennett further teaches that the biological cell is contacted with the test agent for a period that can be 1-1.5 days, 1.5-2 days, 2-3 days, 3-5 days, 5-10 days, or 10-20 days (para 0128).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Firestein, GEO, and Arneson by using test agents having a molecular weight less than 900 Da as suggested by Benett. As discussed by Bennett small organic molecules have molecular weights less than 900 Da. Small organic molecules are routinely used in drug screening assays and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to conduct a drug screening assay using small organic molecules for the benefit of being able to determine their ability to modulate methylation status. Further it would have been obvious to contact the cell with the test agents for a day, week, or month since this was also routine as demonstrated by Bennett.
Double Patenting
11a. Claims 10-14 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 13-21 of copending Application No. 17/058,542 in view of the GEO record: (Platform GPL28271 available 7/2/2020) and/or Arneson (bioRxiv preprint doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2021.01.07.425637 posted May 10, 2021). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding Claim 10 both sets of claims encompass a method of observing the effects of an environmental condition on genomic methylation associated epigenetic aging of mammalian cells (see clm 11 of the copending application). Both sets of claims encompass (a) exposing mammalian cells to the environmental condition; (b) observing methylation status of methylation markers in genomic DNA from the mammalian cells: and (c) comparing the observations from (b) with observations of methylation markers in genomic DNA from control mammalian cells not exposed to the environmental condition such that effects of the environmental condition on genomic methylation associated epigenetic aging in the mammalian cells is observed (see clm 11 of the copending application). Regarding Claims 11-14 both sets of claims state that the cells are human cells (see clm 11 of the copending application). Regarding Claim 16 both sets of claims encompass exposing the cells to a composition of matter (see clm 18-20). The instant claims are different because they recite that the methylation markers are SEQ ID NOs: 1-40 (clm 10). The instant claims are different because they recite that the methylation markers are those associated with age in (i) humans and dogs, (ii) humans and rats, (iii) humans and mice, and (iv) a plurality of mammals (clms 11-14). However, the instant specification teaches that the claimed SEQ ID NOs: represent CpG loci that are present on the HorvathMammalMethylChip40 (para 0107, 0282, 0342). Both the Geo platform record and Arneson disclose the HorvathMammalMethylChip40 (see page 24 of Arneson). It is property of this array that is has methylation markers associated with age in (i) humans and dogs, (ii) humans and rats, (iii) humans and mice, and (iv) a plurality of mammals (clms 11-14). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have modified the method of the copending claims by using the HorvathMammalMethylChip40 to measure methylation changes in cells contacted with a test agent. It is a property of this microarray that it contains probes which measure the methylation level of each of SEQ ID NOs: 1-40. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use this microarray because it contains 37,492 CpGs and applies to all mammals.
11b. Claim 15 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 13-21 of copending Application No. 17/058,542 in view of the GEO record: (Platform GPL28271 available 7/2/2020) and/or Arneson (bioRxiv preprint doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2021.01.07.425637 posted May 10, 2021) as applied to claim 10 above and in further view of Firestein (US 2013/0129668 Pub 5/23/2013). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The claims of the copending application in view of GEO and Arneson are discussed above. Regarding Claim 15 both sets of claims encompass cells from fibroblasts, keratinocytes, buccal cells, endothelial cells, lymphoblastoid cells and/or cells obtained from blood, skin, dermis, epidermis or saliva (see clm 21 of the copending application). However, the instant claims are different because they encompass treating the genomic DNA with bisulfite and then hybridizing the treated DNA to a microarray (clm 15). However Firestein teaches a method comprising treating genomic DNA with bisulfite and then hybridizing the treated DNA to a microarray (para 0151). It would have been obvious to have modified the method of the copending claims in view of GEO, and Arneson by treating the genomic DNA with bisulfite and hybridizing it to an array as suggested by Firestein because this method of measuring methylation was routine in the art.
11c. Claims 16 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 13-21 of copending Application No. 17/058,542 in view of the GEO record: (Platform GPL28271 available 7/2/2020) and/or Arneson (bioRxiv preprint doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2021.01.07.425637 posted May 10, 2021) as applied to claims 10 and 16 above and in further view of Bennett (US 2020/0392567 Pub 12/17/2020). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The claims of the copending application in view of GEO and Arneson are discussed above. The instant claims are different from the copending ones because they recite that
the composition of matter is combined with mammalian cells for at least 1 day, at least 1 week or at least 1 month. The combined references do not teach a method wherein the test agent has a molecular weight of less than 900 Da. However Bennett teaches that to examine the effect of a test agent on a biological cell, the biological cell is exposed to a test agent. The test agent may comprise a small molecule agent (e.g., molecular weight less than about 2000 Da or less than about 1000 Da) or a large molecule, such as a polynucleotide, polypeptide, lipid nanoparticle, liposome, a combination thereof, or the like (para 0127). Bennett further teaches that the biological cell is contacted with the test agent for a period that can be 1-1.5 days, 1.5-2 days, 2-3 days, 3-5 days, 5-10 days, or 10-20 days (para 0128). It would have been obvious to have modified the method of the copending claims in view of GEO, and Arneson by using test agents having a molecular weight less than 900 Da as suggested by Benett. As discussed by Bennett small organic molecules have molecular weights less than 900 Da. Small organic molecules are routinely used in drug screening assays and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to conduct a drug screening assay using small organic molecules for the benefit of being able to determine their ability to modulate methylation status. Further it would have been obvious to contact the cell with the test agents for a day, week, or month since this was also routine as demonstrated by Bennett.
12a. Claims 10-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10, 12, 15-16, and 18-19 of copending Application No. 17/419,641 in view of the GEO record: (Platform GPL28271 available 7/2/2020) and/or Arneson (bioRxiv preprint doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2021.01.07.425637 posted May 10, 2021). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding Claim 10 both sets of claims encompass a method of observing the effects of an environmental condition on genomic methylation associated epigenetic aging of mammalian cells (see clm 10 of the copending application). Both sets of claims encompass (a) exposing mammalian cells to the environmental condition; (b) observing methylation status of methylation markers in genomic DNA from the mammalian cells: and (c) comparing the observations from (b) with observations of methylation markers in genomic DNA from control mammalian cells not exposed to the environmental condition such that effects of the environmental condition on genomic methylation associated epigenetic aging in the mammalian cells is observed (see clm 10 of the copending application). Regarding Claims 11-14 both sets of claims state that the cells are human cells (see clm 10 of the copending application). Regarding Claim 15 both sets of claims encompass cells from fibroblasts, keratinocytes, buccal cells, endothelial cells, lymphoblastoid cells and/or cells obtained from blood, skin, dermis, epidermis or saliva (see clm 10 of the copending application). Additionally both sets of claims encompass treating the genomic DNA with bisulfite and then hybridizing the treated DNA to a microarray (see clms 10 and 18 of the copending application). Regarding Claim 16 both sets of claims encompass exposing the cells to a composition of matter (see clm 10 of the copending application). The instant claims are different because they recite the methylation markers are SEQ ID NOs: 1-40 (clm 10). The instant claims are different because they recite that the methylation markers are those associated with age in (i) humans and dogs, (ii) humans and rats, (iii) humans and mice, and (iv) a plurality of mammals (clms 11-14). However, the instant specification teaches that the claimed SEQ ID NOs: represent CpG loci that are present on the HorvathMammalMethylChip40 (para 0107, 0282, 0342). Both the Geo platform record and Arneson disclose the HorvathMammalMethylChip40 (see page 24 of Arneson). It is property of this array that is has methylation markers associated with age in (i) humans and dogs, (ii) humans and rats, (iii) humans and mice, and (iv) a plurality of mammals (clms 11-14). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have modified the method of the copending claims by using the HorvathMammalMethylChip40 to measure methylation changes in cells contacted with a test agent. It is a property of this microarray that it contains probes which measure the methylation level of each of SEQ ID NOs: 1-40. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use this microarray because it contains 37,492 CpGs and applies to all mammals.
12b. Claims 17-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10, 12, 15-16, and 18-19 of copending Application No. 17/419,641 in view of the GEO record: (Platform GPL28271 available 7/2/2020) and/or Arneson (bioRxiv preprint doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2021.01.07.425637 posted May 10, 2021) as applied to claims 10 and 16 above and in further view of Bennett (US 2020/0392567 Pub 12/17/2020). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The claims of the copending application in view of GEO and Arneson are discussed above. The instant claims are different from the copending ones because they recite that
the composition of matter is combined with mammalian cells for at least 1 day, at least 1 week or at least 1 month. The combined references do not teach a method wherein the test agent has a molecular weight of less than 900 Da. However Bennett teaches that to examine the effect of a test agent on a biological cell, the biological cell is exposed to a test agent. The test agent may comprise a small molecule agent (e.g., molecular weight less than about 2000 Da or less than about 1000 Da) or a large molecule, such as a polynucleotide, polypeptide, lipid nanoparticle, liposome, a combination thereof, or the like (para 0127). Bennett further teaches that the biological cell is contacted with the test agent for a period that can be 1-1.5 days, 1.5-2 days, 2-3 days, 3-5 days, 5-10 days, or 10-20 days (para 0128). It would have been obvious to have modified the method of the copending claims in view of GEO, and Arneson by using test agents having a molecular weight less than 900 Da as suggested by Benett. As discussed by Bennett small organic molecules have molecular weights less than 900 Da. Small organic molecules are routinely used in drug screening assays and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to conduct a drug screening assay using small organic molecules for the benefit of being able to determine their ability to modulate methylation status. Further it would have been obvious to contact the cell with the test agents for a day, week, or month since this was also routine as demonstrated by Bennett.
Improper Markush Grouping Rejection
13. Claims 10-18 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984).
A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The claims recite the following Markush group: “at least 40 of the methylation markers present in polynucleotides having SEQ ID NOs 1-3880”. The Markush grouping is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons:
MPEP 2117(II) states that “A Markush claim may be rejected under judicially approved “improper Markush grouping” principles when the claim contains an improper grouping of alternatively useable members. A Markush claim contains an “improper Markush grouping” if either: (1) the members of the Markush group do not share a “single structural similarity” or (2) the members do not share a common use. Supplementary Guidelines at 7166 (citing In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22, 206 USPQ 300, 305 (CCPA 1980)).
MPEP 2117(II) further state that alternatives (1) share a “single structural similarity” when they belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class and (2) share a common function or use when they are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent in the context of the claimed invention.
MPEP § 2117(II)(A) states that “A recognized physical class, a recognized chemical class, or an art-recognized class is a class wherein “there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. In other words, each member could be substituted one for the other, with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved”. For example, in the context of a claim covering a disposable diaper, a limitation "the fastener selected from the group consisting of a pressure sensitive adhesive and complementary release material, a complementary hook and loop structure, a snap, and a buckle" would likely be considered an art recognized class because a review of the prior art would establish that it was well known that each member could be substituted for each other with the expectation that the intended result (repositionable and refastenable) would occur.
Herein, the recited alternative species do not share a single structural similarity, as each CpG marker has a different chemical structure in that it consists of a different nucleotide sequence. The only structural similarity present is that all of the CpG markers comprise nucleotides. The fact that the CpG markers comprise nucleotides per se does not support a conclusion that they have a common single structural similarity because the structure of comprising nucleotides alone is not essential to the asserted common use of being used to determined epigenetic aging.
Further the methylation markers do not belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class because there is no expectation from the art that each of the recited methylation markers would function in the same way in the claimed method. It is only in the context of this specification that it was disclosed that all members of this group may behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. There is no evidence on the record that supports that a review of the prior art would establish that it was well known that the methylation markers could be substituted for each other with the expectation that the intended result would occur.
MPEP § 2117(II)(B) states that “Where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as explained in subsection IIA above, the members of the Markush grouping may still be considered to be proper where the alternatives share a substantial structure feature that is essential to a common use.
Again the members of the Markush grouping are all methylation markers. While they are all made up of nucleic acids, the structure of comprising nucleic acids is not essential to any asserted common use. The methylation markers are all useful for determining epigenetic age. The specification teaches the following:
[0009] The invention disclosed herein has a number of embodiments. Embodiments of the invention include, for example, methods for obtaining information associated with an age of a mammal, the method comprising: obtaining genomic DNA from the mammal; observing CpG methylation of the genomic DNA in a group of at least 40 methylation markers present in genomic polynucleotides having SEQ ID NO: 1-SEQ ID NO: 3880; and then correlating methylation observed in the methylation markers with an age of the mammal; so that information associated with an age of the mammal is obtained. In some embodiments of the invention, methylation of the genomic DNA is observed in a plurality of methylation markers present in in polynucleotides having SEQ ID NO: 1-SEQ ID NO: 956 such that the methylation markers observed are selected to be methylation markers whose methylation status is associated with an age in both humans and dogs. In some embodiments of the invention, methylation of the genomic DNA is observed in a plurality of methylation markers present in in polynucleotides having SEQ ID NO: 2220-SEQ ID NO: 3043 such that methylation markers observed are selected to be methylation markers whose methylation status is associated with an age in both humans and rats. In some embodiment of the invention, methylation of the genomic DNA is observed in a plurality of methylation markers present in in polynucleotides having SEQ ID NO: 1222-SEQ ID NO: 2219 such that methylation markers observed are selected to be methylation markers whose methylation status is associated with an age in both humans and mice. In some embodiments of the invention, methylation of the genomic DNA is observed in a plurality of methylation markers present in in polynucleotides having SEQ ID NO: 3044-SEQ ID NO: 3880 such that methylation markers observed are selected to be methylation markers whose methylation status is associated with an age in a plurality of mammalian species
Thus, the methylation markers recite in the claims (SEQ ID NOs: 1-3880) do not share a common function or use because they are disclosed in the specification as having different functions.
Requirement for Information
14. Applicant and the assignee of this application are required under 37 CFR 1.105 to provide the following information that the examiner has determined is reasonably necessary to the examination of this application.
The claims recite the methylation markers of SEQ ID NOs: 1-3880. These sequences are recited in Table 1 of the specification along with their Illumina CpG ID numbers. The specification (para 0107) teaches that the methylation markers shown in Table 1 were are on a custom Illumina Infinium array (HorvathMammalMethylChip40).
A search of the prior art has determined that at least some of the methylation markers are also present on other Illumina Infinium arrays.
CpG ID
Illumina Infinium Methylation EPIC v.1
Illumina Infinium HumanMethylation 450
cg12841266
x
cg27201382
x
cg09474015
x
x
cg22358580
x
x
In response to this requirement, please provide answers to each of the following interrogatories eliciting factual information:
A. Of the 3,880 sequences claimed, which SEQ ID NOs: are unique to the HorvathMammalMethylChip40?
B. Of the 3,880 sequences claimed, which SEQ ID NOs: are also present on the EPIC v.1 chip?
C. Of the 3,880 sequences claimed, which SEQ ID NOs: are also present on the 450K chip?
The applicant is reminded that the reply to this requirement must be made with candor and good faith under 37 CFR 1.56. Where the applicant does not have or cannot readily obtain an item of required information, a statement that the item is unknown or cannot be readily obtained may be accepted as a complete reply to the requirement for that item.
This requirement is an attachment of the enclosed Office action. A complete reply to the enclosed Office action must include a complete reply to this requirement. The time period for reply to this requirement coincides with the time period for reply to the enclosed Office action.
/AMANDA HANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682