DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application communication filed on 12/19/2023.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
3. Claims 1, 16,19 and 20 are independent claims.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: application switching interaction method.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. (emphasis added) A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a display unit configured to” (see claim 16), “a processing unit configured to” (see claim 16, claim 18).
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites a “second movable control” without introducing a “first movable control”, which suggests essential features are omitted from the claimed invention. To overcome objection, Examiner suggest to introduce a “first movable control” prior to introducing a “second movable control”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 20 recites the phrase “nonvolatile computer-readable medium”, which is not explicitly defined in the specification. In par. 179; computer-readable storage medium is described with open ended language such as “includes but is not limited to”. Examiner submits that one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the open ended language to include a carrier wave or signal per se, which is considered non statutory subject matter. Therefore, in such instance, the recited phrase “nonvolatile computer-readable medium” is merely a signal and is not a process, a machine, a manufacture or a composition of matter.
Accordingly, the claim fails to recite statutory subject matter as defined in 35 U.S.C. § 101.
To overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, Examiner suggests to amend claim to recite “non-transitory computer readable medium”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hendricks et al. (hereinafter “Hendricks”), U.S. Published Application No. 20120166191 A1.
Claim 1:
Hendricks teaches An interaction method, comprising:
displaying first display content corresponding to a first type in a first display interface switching from the first display interface to a second display interface in response to a triggering; (e.g., displaying a page of content from an electronic book without dictation and switching to a second page of content from the electronic with dictation in response to turning the page (i.e., triggering) par. 199; An auto text-to-speech section 1106 with manual page turn permits a user to select an option to have the viewer 266 automatically convert an entire page of displayed text to speech. par. 200; A dictation section 1112 permits a user to select an option to perform dictation into an electronic book. The term dictation refers to conversion of speech to corresponding text in electronic form capable of display on a viewer or other display device. par. 202; If the user selected dictation section 1112, a dictation process 1144 executes a dictation routine 1146. If the user selected view book section 1108, a view book process 1148 executes a view book routine 1150. Par. 204; The user may select page turn sections 1210 and 1212 to page backward and forward, respectively, in the displayed electronic book. The user may select a convert section 1206 to convert selected text to speech )
and displaying second display content corresponding to a second type in the second display interface, (e.g., displaying a second page from electronic book with dictation (i.e., second type of content) par. 204; The user may select a convert section 1206 to convert selected text to speech)
wherein the first display content of the first type is one of a data stream corresponding to visual content and a data stream corresponding to auditory content, (e.g., viewing displayed first page of text without dictation (i.e., visual content) par. 55; Preferably, a connector, library unit and an electronic book unit, or viewer unit, are used. The connector portion of the home subsystem receives the analog video signal and strips or extracts the text from the video. par. 56; The viewing device is preferably a portable book shaped viewer which stores one or more electronic books for viewing and provides a screen for interacting with the home library unit.)
the second display content of the second type is the other of the data stream corresponding to visual content and the data stream corresponding to auditory content, (e.g., selecting text to speech feature (i.e., auditory content) for text portions on second page of the displayed electronic book par. 199; An auto text-to-speech section 1106 with manual page turn permits a user to select an option to have the viewer 266 automatically convert an entire page of displayed text to speech Par. 205; The user may select page turn sections 1210 and 1212 to page backward and forward, respectively, in the displayed electronic book. The user may select a convert section 1206 to convert selected text to speech)
and wherein at least one item of auditory content data in the data stream corresponding to auditory content is different from auditory content data corresponding to visual content data in the data stream corresponding to visual content. (e.g., different auditory content based on different textual words or different voice settings such a child voice for one page and male voice for a second page par. 219; The settings menu screen 1280 also includes a voice options section 1301 permitting a user to select various options for speech used to convert text. These options include, for example, a male voice 1313; a female voice 1315; a child's voice 1317; voice option 1 (1319); and voice option N (1321).)
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
Hendricks teaches wherein the first display content of the first type is the data stream corresponding to visual content, the second display content of the second type is the data stream corresponding to auditory content, (e.g., displaying a page of content from an electronic book without dictation (i.e., data stream corresponding to visual content) and switching to a second page of content from the electronic with dictation (i.e., data stream corresponding to auditory content) in response to turning the page (i.e., triggering) par. 199; An auto text-to-speech section 1106 with manual page turn permits a user to select an option to have the viewer 266 automatically convert an entire page of displayed text to speech. par. 200; A dictation section 1112 permits a user to select an option to perform dictation into an electronic book. The term dictation refers to conversion of speech to corresponding text in electronic form capable of display on a viewer or other display device. par. 202; If the user selected dictation section 1112, a dictation process 1144 executes a dictation routine 1146. If the user selected view book section 1108, a view book process 1148 executes a view book routine 1150. Par. 204; The user may select page turn sections 1210 and 1212 to page backward and forward, respectively, in the displayed electronic book. The user may select a convert section 1206 to convert selected text to speech )
and switching from the first display interface to the second display interface is a conversion from the data stream corresponding to visual content to the data stream corresponding to auditory content. (e.g., displaying a page without dictation and manually turning a page with automatic text to speech of the second page par. 199; An auto text-to-speech section 1106 with manual page turn permits a user to select an option to have the viewer 266 automatically convert an entire page of displayed text to speech. Par. 204; The user may select page turn sections 1210 and 1212 to page backward and forward, respectively, in the displayed electronic book. The user may select a convert section 1206 to convert selected text to speech)
Claim 3 depends on claim 2:
Hendricks teaches further comprising:
determining the second display content according to a background audio associated with the first display content of the first type; (e.g., displaying text with text to speech at low volume (i.e., background audio) par. 199; An auto text-to-speech section 1106 with manual page turn permits a user to select an option to have the viewer 266 automatically convert an entire page of displayed text to speech. For the various text-to-speech conversion features, the viewer 266 may use speaker/microphone 608′ to convert text in electronic form to corresponding speech. Par. 204; The user may select page turn sections 1210 and 1212 to page backward and forward, respectively, in the displayed electronic book. The user may select a convert section 1206 to convert selected text to speech)
or determining the second display content according to play information corresponding to the first display interface. (e.g., selecting a page of text based on title (i.e., play information) par. 203; In using a voice commands mode, a user may speak the title of a particular electronic book, or other identifying information, in order to select it.)
Claim 4 depends on claim 2:
Hendricks teaches further comprising: directly determining the second display content in response to the triggering, wherein there is no corresponding relationship between the second display content and the first display content. (e.g., selecting a first book for the first display and a different book for the second display (i.e., no corresponding relationship) par. 203; In using a voice commands mode, a user may speak the title of a particular electronic book, or other identifying information, in order to select it.)
Claim 5 depends on claim 3:
Hendricks teaches wherein the second display content is a predetermined audio, and the predetermined audio comprises the background audio. (e.g., selecting text for dictation at low volume (i.e., predetermined background audio) par. 199; An auto text-to-speech section 1106 with manual page turn permits a user to select an option to have the viewer 266 automatically convert an entire page of displayed text to speech. For the various text-to-speech conversion features, the viewer 266 may use speaker/microphone 608′ to convert text in electronic form to corresponding speech. Par. 204; The user may select page turn sections 1210 and 1212 to page backward and forward, respectively, in the displayed electronic book. The user may select a convert section 1206 to convert selected text to speech)
Claim 6 depends on claim 5:
Hendricks teaches wherein the determining the second display content according to a background audio associated with the first display content of the first type comprises: acquiring complete song information of the background audio, and determining the complete song information as the second display content. (e.g., low volume text to speech voice setting (i.e., background audio) for second page being the same as the low volume text to speech voice setting for the first page. Examiner considers the characteristics of the voice used for text to speech as the recited “complete song information”. Par. 219; The settings menu screen 1280 also includes a voice options section 1301 permitting a user to select various options for speech used to convert text. These options include, for example, a male voice 1313; a female voice 1315; a child's voice 1317; voice option 1 (1319); and voice option N (1321). A user may select one of these options by, for example, positioning a cursor over the corresponding section next to the desired option and selecting the section, or by entering various other commands such as a particular selection of input keys. Other options 1319 and 1321 may represent other types of voices such as user-defined voices, voices with particular characteristics, or the actual author's voice, for example. The other options 1319 and 1321 could also include the voice of a famous person, such as James Earl Jones or an imitation of James Earl Jones, for example.)
Claim 7 depends on claim 3:
Hendricks teaches wherein the displaying second display content corresponding to a second type in the second display interface comprises: acquiring a recommended audio data stream; (e.g., dictation for highlighted text Par. 204; The user may select page turn sections 1210 and 1212 to page backward and forward, respectively, in the displayed electronic book. The user may select a convert section 1206 to convert selected text to speech)
and determining the recommended audio data stream as the second display content, and automatically playing the recommended audio data stream in the second display interface .(automatic dictation of highlighted text par. 199; An auto text-to-speech section 1106 with manual page turn permits a user to select an option to have the viewer 266 automatically convert an entire page of displayed text to speech.)
Claim 8 depends on claim 2:
Hendricks teaches wherein the second type comprises N sub-categories of audio data streams, N is an integer greater than 1, and the method further comprises: determining one of the N sub-categories of audio data streams as the second display content in response to the triggering. (e.g., different auditory content based on different voice settings (i.e., sub categories of audio data streams) such a child voice for one page and male voice for a second page par. 219; The settings menu screen 1280 also includes a voice options section 1301 permitting a user to select various options for speech used to convert text. These options include, for example, a male voice 1313; a female voice 1315; a child's voice 1317; voice option 1 (1319); and voice option N (1321). Par. 219; Other options 1319 and 1321 may represent other types of voices such as user-defined voices, voices with particular characteristics, or the actual author's voice, for example.)
Claim 9 depends on claim 2:
Hendricks teaches wherein the second type comprises N sub-categories of audio data streams, N is an integer greater than 1, and the method further comprises: switching to play the N sub-categories of audio data streams in the second display interface in response to a preset operation for the second display interface; (e.g., different auditory content based on different voice settings (i.e., sub categories of audio data streams) such a child voice for one page and male voice for a second page (i.e., switching interfaces in response to turning the page operation) Par. 204; The user may select page turn sections 1210 and 1212 to page backward and forward, respectively, in the displayed electronic book. The user may select a convert section 1206 to convert selected text to speech par. 219; The settings menu screen 1280 also includes a voice options section 1301 permitting a user to select various options for speech used to convert text. These options include, for example, a male voice 1313; a female voice 1315; a child's voice 1317; voice option 1 (1319); and voice option N (1321).)
or displaying a first movable control on the second display interface, and switching to play the N sub-categories of audio data streams in the second display interface in response to a dragging for the first movable control. (e.g., selecting voice setting via cursor (i.e., dragging first movable control) par. 118; These unique and novel controls 740 allow the consumer to select stored electronic books and electronic books from catalogues, move a cursor, and turn pages in a book. Typically, preferred controls 740 include forward and reverse page buttons 742, 741, a ball (or trackball) 743 for cursor movement, one or more selection buttons 745, a current book button 747 and a bookmark button 749 (see FIG. 14a). par. 198; Main menu 1100 has a number of sections for permitting the user to select the options by selecting an appropriate section. The term section refers to a definable portion of the screen, and the act of selecting a section may involve, for example, positioning the cursor or a pointer over the section using trackball 743 and depressing selection button 745 to “click on” the section; other cursor-control devices, including peripheral devices, may be used to select a section either by positioning the cursor or by entering a particular command. Par. 219; Other options 1319 and 1321 may represent other types of voices such as user-defined voices, voices with particular characteristics, or the actual author's voice, for example.)
Claim 10 depends on claim 2:
Hendricks teaches further comprising: when current display content is the data stream corresponding to auditory content, controlling the current display content and/or the data stream corresponding to auditory content in response to obtained voice control command. (e.g., selecting textual content corresponding to text to speech (i.e., auditory content) based on voice commands par. 5; The present invention allows a user to control the system by selecting options from a screen or by entering voice commands. par. 203; In using a voice commands mode, a user may speak the title of a particular electronic book, or other identifying information, in order to select it. par. 216; Voice or audible commands are the ability of the viewer 266 to execute a function corresponding to a command provided by a user in speech form. The settings menu screen 1280 also includes an available voice commands section 1311, identifying voice or audible commands available to a user and the following exemplary speech required to execute the command: “page forward” command 1303; “page backward” command 1305; “open book” command 1307; and other functions 1309.)
Claim 11 depends on claim 1:
Hendricks teaches wherein a second movable control is displayed in the first display interface, the switching from the first display interface to a second display interface in response to a triggering comprises: acquiring a first dragging for the second movable control; and determining to trigger interface switching in response to the first dragging, wherein the interface switching correspond to switch from the first display interface to the second display interface. (e.g., selecting turn page button via moving cursor (i.e., dragging movable control) to select the button par. 216; A user may select the activate or deactivate options by, for example, positioning a cursor over the corresponding section next to the desired option and selecting the section, or by entering various other commands such as a particular selection of input keys. Par. 223; Page turn sections 1338 and 1340 permit a user to page backward and forward, respectively, in the displayed electronic book. )
Claim 12 depends on claim 11:
Hendricks teaches wherein the determining to trigger interface switching in response to the first dragging comprises: determining to trigger the interface switching in response to the first dragging corresponding to dragging the second movable control to a target area in the first display interface, wherein the target area comprises at least one first predetermined area located in the first display interface. (e.g., selecting “next page” arrow button via moving cursor (i.e., dragging movable control) to select the button (i.e., first predetermined area) see Figures 23 and 24; 1212 page turn button; par. 216; A user may select the activate or deactivate options by, for example, positioning a cursor over the corresponding section next to the desired option and selecting the section, or by entering various other commands such as a particular selection of input keys. Par. 223; Page turn sections 1338 and 1340 permit a user to page backward and forward, respectively, in the displayed electronic book. )
Claim 13 depends on claim 11:
Hendricks teaches further comprising: acquiring a second dragging for a third movable control in the second display interface after displaying the second display content in the second display interface; and in response to the second dragging corresponding to dragging the third movable control to a second predetermined area in the second display interface, switching to the first display interface and continuing to display the first display content in the first display interface. (e.g., selecting “previous page” arrow button via moving cursor (i.e., dragging movable control) to select the button (i.e., second predetermined area) see Figures 23 and 24; 1210 page turn button; par. 216; A user may select the activate or deactivate options by, for example, positioning a cursor over the corresponding section next to the desired option and selecting the section, or by entering various other commands such as a particular selection of input keys. Par. 223; Page turn sections 1338 and 1340 permit a user to page backward and forward, respectively, in the displayed electronic book. )
Claim 14 depends on claim 13:
Hendricks teaches wherein the second predetermined area corresponds to a position where the second movable control is displayed in the first display interface. (e.g., predetermined area at the bottom of the interface of Figure 23 is where the cursor (i.e., movable control) selects page turning options see Figures 23 and 24;page turn buttons 1210 and 1212)
Independent Claim 16:
Claim 16 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 16. (see Hendricks; computer system of Figure 2)
Claim 17 depends on claim 16:
Claim 17 is substantially encompassed in claim 2, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 2 to reject claim 17.
Claim 18 depends on claim 17:
Claim 18 is substantially encompassed in claim 3, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 3 to reject claim 18.
Claim 19:
Claim 19 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 19. (see Hendricks; computer of Figure 2)
Claim 20 depends on claim 1:
Claim 20 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 20. (see Hendricks; computer system of Figure 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendricks as cited above in view of Alonso Ruiz et al. (hereinafter “Alonso”), U.S. Published Application No. 20210191588 A1.
Claim 15 depends on claim 1:
Hendricks teaches wherein an operable control is displayed in the first display interface, (e.g., page turn controls of Figure 23 and 24; par. 204; The user may select page turn sections 1210 and 1212 to page backward and forward, respectively, in the displayed electronic book.)
the switching from the first display interface to a second display interface in response to a triggering comprises: determining to trigger interface switching in response to an operation duration for the operable control , wherein the interface switching corresponds to switch from the first display interface to the second display interface. (e.g., selecting page turn controls of Figure 23 and 24 to switch pages (i.e., switch from first to second interface); par. 204; The user may select page turn sections 1210 and 1212 to page backward and forward, respectively, in the displayed electronic book.)
Hendricks fails to expressly teach satisfying a time threshold.
However, Alonso teaches an operation duration for a operable control satisfying a time threshold. (e.g., selecting displayed GUI elements (i.e., operable controls) based on touch gestures satisfying a time threshold see par. 56; In some embodiments, a tap gesture is detected in accordance with a determination that the length of time between the finger-down event and the finger-up event is less than a predetermined value (e.g., less than 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, 0.4 or 0.5 seconds) par. 57; a long press gesture is detected based on a duration of the contact on the touch-sensitive surface with less than a threshold amount of movement par. 185; Each application icon, when selected and activated by a user input (e.g., a tap input or double tap input), causes the device to open (e.g., display) the application corresponding to the application icon. Par. 192; In FIG. 5H, after contact 5018 remains substantially stationary for a threshold amount of time (e.g., a long press time threshold), the device enlarges card 5012 to indicate that card 5012 is selected. )
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch inputs for selecting operable controls as taught by Hendricks to include touch gestures satisfying time thresholds as taught by Alonso, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of performing various operations with a touchscreen in effort to improving user interaction experience with a device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KIM; Young-Jin et al. US 20140164991
Par. 12; Accordingly, an aspect of the present disclosure is to provide a display device of executing a plurality of windows in various sizes on a single display and facilitating switching from one window to another lower-layer window, and a method for controlling the display device.
Liao; Zhi; US 11163827 B2
See abstract; The video processing method, device, terminal, and storage medium are provided; the method includes: acquiring a video captured by a user and marking the video with original sound in the case that the video is a video with original sound; performing data separation on the video with original sound according to the mark, and extracting the original audio from the video with original sound; the extracted original sound audio is used for video shooting by other users.
/HENRY ORR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172