DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
4. Claims 1-14 are pending in this application.
Oath/Declaration
The receipt of Oath/Declaration is acknowledged.
Drawings
6. The receipt of Drawings is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
9. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a luminance distribution controlling section” in claims 1 and 14.
“a luminance conversion section” in claims 1 and 14.
“an outputting section” in claims 1 and 14.
(a) Claims 1 and 14: “a luminance distribution controlling section” corresponds to “a luminance distribution controlling section 274”. ‘a luminance distribution controlling section 274 that controls adjustment of a luminance distribution compatible with human visual adaptation. (See Applicant’s Drawing, Fig. 10, a luminance distribution controlling section 274 and Applicant’s Specification, Para. [0043]).
(b) Claims 1 and 14: “a luminance conversion section” corresponds to “a luminance conversion section 266”. ‘a luminance conversion section 266 that converts a luminance given as a pixel value. (See Applicant’s Drawing, Fig. 10, a luminance conversion section 266 and Applicant’s Specification, Para. [0043]).
(c) Claims 1 and 14: “an outputting section” corresponds to “an outputting section 236”. ‘an outputting section 236 that outputs data to the head-mounted display 100. (See Applicant’s Drawing, Fig. 10, An outputting section 236 and Applicant’s Specification, Para. [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 14, “A computer program" (See line 1) fails to specify the term “non-transitory” prior to the “computer program”, therefore, the definition does not exclude the possibility of a signal as being one type of “computer program”. A "computer program” is stated in the Applicant’s Specification at paragraphs [0009], “It is to be noted that any combinations of the components described above and representations of the present invention where they are converted between a method, an apparatus, a system, a computer program, a data structure, a recording medium, and so forth are also effective as modes of the present invention..” however, the Applicant’s Specification does not specify that “A computer program” is non-transitory; therefore, the definition, does not exclude the possibility of a signal as one type of computer program. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to “A computer program” includes both forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer-readable media. See Subject Matter Eligibility of Computer Readable Medium, Jan. 26, 2010. Since, the Applicant’s specification and claim(s) does not limit “storage medium” and/or “a computer-readable storage medium” to non-transitory embodiments, “a computer-readable storage medium” in claim 14 is broad enough to cover both transitory and non-transitory embodiments. As a result, the claim is not eligible subject matter. It is recommended to amend the claim by adding the limitation/term "non-transitory" prior to "computer program" in order for the claim to cover only statutory embodiments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AN (US PG. Pub. 2017/0270841 A1).
Referring to Claim 1, An teaches an image displaying system (See AN, Fig. 1, Head-Mounted Display System 100, Sect. [0034] lines 1-3, head-mounted display device 100 (or head-mounted display system)) comprising:
a luminance distribution controlling section (See AN, Fig. 1, the display device 10) that detects (See AN, Sect. [0034] lines 8-11, For image detection the display device 10 produces an image which is provided to the lens 20 for the eyes of the user when head-mounted display device 100 is mounted on the user.), on a basis of predetermined information (See AN, Sect. [0051], The data driver 230 of the display device 10 may generate data signals based on predetermined grayscale voltages from a gamma circuit in analog form based on the image data in digital form.), such a degree of change in amount of light entering eyes of a user as to decrease visibility in an action of photoreceptor cells (See AN, Sect. [0043], In FIG. 3B, the photoreceptor cells may detect luminance and color amounts entering the eyes of the user with the photoreceptors including cone cells and rod cells for identifying relatively low light, contrast and object shape.) and controls adjustment of a luminance distribution of an image in accordance with a rule corresponding to the change in amount of light (See AN, Sect. [0047], the display device 10 adjusts the luminance distribution by lowering or minimizing a reduction in quality of an image visible to the user and may reduce power consumption by reducing luminance in a range exceeding 20 degrees of the viewing angle at which the visual recognition ability of the user is relatively poor (e.g., luminance of first peripheral region Z2);
a luminance conversion section (See AN, Fig. 2, Timing Controller 240) that converts a luminance represented by an image value in accordance with the rule (See An, Sect. [0054] lines 1-11, the timing controller 240 converts input image data to have maximum luminance of peripheral regions (e.g., the first peripheral region Z2) lower than maximum luminance of central regions (e.g., the first central region Z1) in order to generate converted data by calculating an on-pixel ratio (ORP) of the input image data (e.g., the first data DATA1) to generate the input data (e.g., the second data DATA2) by reducing (or by down scaling) the input image data based on the on-pixel ratio); and
an outputting section (See AN, Fig. 2, Display Panel 210) that outputs data of the image having the converted luminance (See AN, Figs. 9-10, Sect. [0111]-[0112], Display panel 210 is used to output the converted input data having maximum luminance of peripheral regions (e.g., the first peripheral region Z2) lower than maximum luminance of central regions (e.g., the first central region Z1) using first scan signal SCAN_A provided to control output data signal (e.g., the second data signal) of the first peripheral region Z2 and a second scan signal SCAN_B to control output data signal (e.g., the first data signal) of the first central region Z1.).
Referring to Claim 2, AN teaches the image displaying system according to claim 1 (See AN, Fig. 1, Sect. [0034] lines 1-3, head-mounted display device 100 (or head-mounted display system) which includes a display device 10 and a lens 20.), wherein the luminance distribution controlling section increases the luminance in response to a decrease of the amount of light (See Figs. 1-2, Sect. [0058] lines 1-4, the display device 10 increases the luminance to a maximum luminance based on converted input image data of the peripheral regions in response to lower luminance of the central regions.) and decreases the luminance in response to an increase of the amount of light (See AN, Figs. 1-2, Sect. [0086] lines 10-16, the display device 10 may reduce or minimize a reduction of the display quality of an image and may also reduce power consumption by reducing luminance (or brightness) of the image corresponding to the central regions and increasing luminance of the image corresponding to the central regions, independently (or differently).).
Referring to Claim 3, AN teaches the image displaying system according to claim 1 (See AN, Fig. 1, Sect. [0034] lines 1-3, head-mounted display device 100 (or head-mounted display system) which includes a display device 10 and a lens 20.), wherein the luminance conversion section converts the luminance in such a manner that a rate of change in the luminance depends upon the luminance before the adjustment (See AN, Sect. [0076] lines 4-12, The image converter 440 of the timing controller 240 may include a first sub image converter 441 (or a first image converting unit) and a second sub image converter 442 (or a second image converting unit) and may generate the first and second sub converted data using the first sub image converter 441 and the second sub image converter 442.).
Referring to Claim 4, AN teaches the image displaying system according to claim 1 (See AN, Fig. 1, Sect. [0034] lines 1-3, head-mounted display device 100 (or head-mounted display system) which includes a display device 10 and a lens 20.), wherein the luminance conversion section converts the luminance with use of a gamma curve to carry out adjustment under control of the luminance distribution controlling section simultaneously with another gamma correction (See AN, Sect. [0109], the timing controller 240 may provide the data driver 230 with a control signal to operate the second gamma block 922, which generates a second data signal based on a grayscale value and second grayscale voltages which are predetermined. The second grayscale voltages may be different from the first grayscale voltages. For example, a maximum grayscale voltage of the second grayscale voltages may be 5 volts (V), and a maximum grayscale voltage of the first grayscale voltages may be 3 V. The second gamma block 922 may be operated when the scan signal is provided to the first central region Z1. For example, when the scan signal is provided to the first central region Z1.).
Referring to Claim 5, AN teaches the image displaying system according to claim 1 (See AN, Fig. 1, Sect. [0034] lines 1-3, head-mounted display device 100 (or head-mounted display system) which includes a display device 10 and a lens 20.), wherein the luminance distribution controlling section acquires a degree of the change in the amount of light on the basis of the predetermined information and controls the adjustment of the luminance distribution with an adjustment amount according to the degree (See AN, Sect. [0102], the display device 100 may determine the weight scaling rate to be a predetermined value, e.g., 0.5. When the certain point is in the first sub region (e.g., at the sixth point X6), the display device 100 may calculate a converted grayscale value (e.g., a grayscale value in the converted data) by multiplying a grayscale value corresponding to the certain point, the weight scaling rate, and the third scaling rate (or the fourth scaling rate) described with reference to FIG. 8A and controls luminance at the first sub region to be adjusted according to the twenty-first luminance curve 821.).
Referring to Claim 6, AN teaches the image displaying system according to claim 1 (See AN, Fig. 1, Sect. [0034] lines 1-3, head-mounted display device 100 (or head-mounted display system) which includes a display device 10 and a lens 20.), wherein the luminance distribution controlling section determines an adjustment amount of the luminance distribution at a time at which the change occurs, as a target value (See AN, Sect. [0080], the maximum grayscale value of the second sub image data (e.g., a grayscale value of 255) may be changed based on the second scaling rate ACL_DY2 according to the second mapping curve 622; when the on-pixel ratio OPR is less than the second reference on-pixel ratio START_OPR2, the maximum grayscale value of the second sub image data may be mapped (or be converted) to a grayscale value of 255.), and gradually decreases the adjustment amount in such a manner as to reach a state free from adjustment (See AN, Sect. [0081], The display device 100 may reduce power consumption for the second sub image data by the second maximum scaling rate ACL_OFF_MAX2 when the on-pixel ratio OPR is greater than the second reference on-pixel ratio START_OPR2, the maximum grayscale value of the second sub image data may be mapped (or be converted) to a specified grayscale value less than a grayscale value of 255 according to a reduction of the second scaling rate ACL_DY2.).
Referring to Claim 7, AN the image displaying system according to claim 4 (See AN, Fig. 1, Sect. [0034] lines 1-3, head-mounted display device 100 (or head-mounted display system) which includes a display device 10 and a lens 20.), wherein the luminance distribution controlling section acquires a degree of the change in the amount of light on the basis of the predetermined information and causes a state free from the adjustment to be reached in a period of time according to the degree (See AN, Fig. 5, Sect. [0123] the display device 100 may prevent a reduction of luminance being visible for the user by generating the converted data based on the center of the input image data (e.g., a first image center Y1 and a second image center Y2 of the input image data) compared with generating the converted data based on the center of the display panel 210 (e.g., a first area center Y1 and a second area center Y2 of the display panel 210). Thus, the display device 10 may efficiently prevent a reduction of luminance from being visible for the user and reduce power consumption, for example, by the same amount. In addition, the display device 10 may improve the reduction rate of power consumption with reducing luminance, for example, by the same amount (e.g., with reducing luminance at a boundary of the display panel 210 by the same amount).).
Referring to Claim 8, AN teaches the image displaying system according to claim 1 (See AN, Fig. 1, Sect. [0034] lines 1-3, head-mounted display device 100 (or head-mounted display system) which includes a display device 10 and a lens 20.), wherein the luminance distribution controlling section detects, on a basis of a detection result of a contact sensor provided in a head-mounted display that is a displaying destination of an image (See AN, Fig. 11, Sect. [0116], the display device 10 (or the head-mounted display device 100) may calculate a weight scaling rate (or a weight) based on direction information of a certain point and may reduce the image data based on the weight scaling rate. The direction information may be a direction of the certain point with respect to a center of the display panel 210 (e.g., a left direction or a right direction with respect to the first central axis Y1 of the first displaying region 311).), a decrease of the amount of light caused by wearing of the head-mounted display (See AN, Sect. [0079], The display device 10 (or the head-mounted display device 100) may reduce power consumption for the first sub image data by the first maximum scaling rate ACL_OFF_MAX1 which decreases light amount when the on-pixel ratio OPR (or the Nth on-pixel ratio OPR(N)) is greater than the first reference on-pixel ratio START_OPR1, the maximum grayscale value of the first sub image data may be mapped (or be converted) to a specified grayscale value less than a grayscale value of 255 according to a reduction of the first scaling rate ACL_DY1.).
Referring to Claim 10, AN teaches the image displaying system according to claim 1 (See AN, Fig. 1, Sect. [0034] lines 1-3, head-mounted display device 100 (or head-mounted display system) which includes a display device 10 and a lens 20.), wherein the luminance distribution controlling section detects the change in the amount of light by acquiring a change in the luminance of an image being displayed (See AN, Fig. 5, Sect. [0060] lines1-12, a change in light amount is represented by first through fourth luminance curves, wherein, a first luminance curve 511 may represent luminance of an image displayed on the display panel 210 (or on the first displaying region 311 of the display panel 210) based on the input image data (e.g., the first data DATA1), a second luminance curve 512 may represent luminance of an image displayed on the display panel 210 based on converted data (e.g., the second data DATA2) generated by the timing controller 240, a third luminance curve 513 and a fourth luminance curve 514 may represent luminance of an image displayed on the display panel 210 based on other converted data (e.g., the second data DATA2) generated by the timing controller 240.), on a basis of a result of drawing of the image or on a basis of metadata of a content for which the image is displayed (See AN, Sect. [0062], the resolution of the input image data (e.g., a resolution of input image data in 2-dimensional format) may be 1920*1440, and the resolution of the display panel 210 may be 2560*1440. The image processor 410 may generate left image data based on some of the input image data which correspond to a resolution of 1280*1440 with respect to one side (e.g., a left side) of the input image data and right image data based on some of the input image data which correspond to a resolution of 1280*1440 with respect to the other side (e.g., a right side) of the input image data.).
Referring to Claim 11, AN teaches the image displaying system according to claim 1 (See AN, Fig. 1, Sect. [0034] lines 1-3, head-mounted display device 100 (or head-mounted display system) which includes a display device 10 and a lens 20.), wherein the luminance distribution controlling section detects the change in the amount of light by specifying switching of a content of a displaying target or switching between a content screen image and a system screen image on a basis of details of a user operation (See AN, Sect. [0046], the user may recognize an image in a center of a screen (e.g., an image corresponding to a range within 20 degrees of the viewing angle) and may not recognize an image at a boundary of the screen (e.g., an image in a range exceeding 20 degrees of the viewing angle, or a change of luminance at the boundary of the screen, wherein, the user may recognize a view having an angle greater than 20 degrees of the viewing angle (or an object in an area corresponding to an angle greater than 20 degrees of the viewing angle) by rotating the head (not the eyes).).
Referring to Claim 12, AN teaches the image displaying system according to claim 1 (See AN, Fig. 1, Sect. [0034] lines 1-3, head-mounted display device 100 (or head-mounted display system) which includes a display device 10 and a lens 20.), wherein the luminance distribution controlling section detects starting of a head-mounted display that is a displaying destination of an image (See AN, Sect. [0048] lines 1-5, the display panel 210 (or the first display region 311) may display an image corresponding to a range within about 50 degrees of the viewing angle of the user when the user wears the head-mounted display device 100., predicts a decrease of the amount of light to be caused by wearing of the head-mounted display (See AN, Sect. [0047], the display device 10 (or the head-mounted display device 100) may reduce or minimize a reduction in quality of an image visible to the user and may reduce power consumption by reducing luminance in a range exceeding 20 degrees of the viewing angle at which the visual recognition ability of the user is relatively poor (e.g., luminance of first peripheral region Z2).), and controls the luminance in such a manner as to increase at a point of time before the wearing (See AN, Sect. [0048] lines 5-11, The display panel 210 (or the second width W2 of the first displaying region 311) may correspond to an area having a range greater than an area having a range of 20 degrees of the viewing angle of the user. The first central region Z1 (or the first width W1 of the first central region Z1) may be determined to correspond to the range of 20 degrees of the user viewing angle.).
Referring to Claim 13, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable herein;. The structural elements of “An image displaying system” in claim 1 perform all of the functions of “An image displaying method” in claim 13. Thus, “An image displaying method” in claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Referring to Claim 14, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable herein. Thus, a computer program of claim 14 is explicitly/inherently taught as evidenced by (See Sect. [0125]-[0127], processes, and/or operations described herein may be performed by code or instructions to be executed by a computer, processor, controller, or other signal processing device. The computer, processor, controller, or other signal processing device may be those described herein or one in addition to the elements described herein. Because the algorithms that form the basis of the methods (or operations of the computer, processor, controller, or other signal processing device) are described in detail, the code or instructions for implementing the operations of the method embodiments may transform the computer, processor, controller, or other signal processing device into a special-purpose processor for performing the methods described herein. When implemented in at least partially in software, the controllers, processors, calculators, blocks, converters, and other processing features may include, for example, a memory or other storage device for storing code or instructions to be executed, for example, by a computer, processor, microprocessor, controller, or other signal processing device.) and various memories stored therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
20. Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AN (US PG. Pub. 2017/0270841 A1) in view of Samec (US PG. Pub. 2016/0270656 A1).
Referring to Claim 9, AN teaches the image displaying system according to claim 1 (See AN, Fig. 1, Sect. [0034] lines 1-3, head-mounted display device 100 (or head-mounted display system) which includes a display device 10 and a lens 20.),
AN fails to explicitly teach
wherein the luminance distribution controlling section detects the change in the amount of light on a basis of a change in size of a pupil appearing in an image captured by an infrared camera provided in a head-mounted display that is a displaying destination of the image.
However, Samec teaches
wherein the luminance distribution controlling section detects the change in the amount of light on a basis of a change in size of a pupil appearing in an image captured by an infrared camera provided in a head-mounted display that is a displaying destination of the image (See Samec, Figs. 5-6, Sect. [1491]-[01492], the ophthalmic device includes one or more eye tracking infrared cameras to track one or more eyes of the user paired with light infrared light sources configured to monitor and track light entering the eyes of the user based on the cameras monitoring of the orientation of the eyes, pupil size of the eyes, vergence of the eyes, and the corresponding direction of the line of sight of the respective eyes. With a display device (62) comprising a sensor assembly (39) configured to detect movement imparted onto and orientation of the display device (62) due to movement of the user's head to determine that the users view of the image.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the luminance distribution controlling section detects the change in the amount of light on a basis of a change in size of a pupil appearing in an image captured by an infrared camera provided in a head-mounted display that is a displaying destination of the image. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow user to send and receive faxes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine AN and Samec to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Cited Art
21. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hall et al. (US 12,153,723 B2) discloses A system for providing an augmented reality, a virtual reality, and/or a mixed reality experience to a user includes a first display and a second display. The user views a real-world environment through the first display and the second display. The system includes a wearable visualization device that includes the first display and a fixed visualization device that includes the second display. The first display is configured to display a first layer of virtual features and the second display is configured to display a second layer of virtual features. The system includes a processor configured to generate the first layer of virtual features and the second layer of virtual features. The processor is configured to operatively communicate with the wearable visualization device and the fixed visualization device to coordinate presentation of the first layer of virtual features and the second layer of virtual features.
Conclusion
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681