DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite.
Regarding claims 3 & 6, the claims recite broad and narrow ranges for the polar elastomer component and rubber component, respectively, within the same claim. Reciting broad and narrow ranges within the same claim renders the claim indefinite as it is not possible to determine which range the inventors intend to patent without speculation. See MPEP § 2173.05(C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4 & 7 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nadella et al. (US 2006/0293457 A1) in view of Muyldermans et al. (US 2022/0298351 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2 & 4, Nadella teaches vulcanized thermoplastic elastomer compositions (Abstract). Exemplary thermoplastics include polyesters, polyurethanes and mixtures thereof (p. 3, [0030]). Examples of rubbers suitable for use include EPDM rubber and butadiene-acrylonitrile rubber (p. 4, [0035], [0042]). Nadella teaches a compatibilizer such as a functionalized olefin or grafted block copolymer (p. 6, [0052]).
Nadella states the invention can be widely used in the automotive industry and for the manufacturing of automotive parts (p. 1, [0003]-[0004]). Nadella, however, does not expressly teach a polar elastomer and is silent on silane crosslinking.
In the same field of endeavor, Muyldermans teaches thermoplastic elastomer compositions comprising a silane-functionalized copolymer (Abstract), further disclosing the invention can be used in the manufacturing of automotive parts (p. 1, [0003]). Embodiments further comprise thermoplastic polyurethanes, copolyesters, copolyester-ethers &/or mixtures thereof. Suitable thermoplastic elastomers include thermoplastic copolyester, copolyester-ether, or polyurethane based elastomers (p. 4, [0060]-[0061]), reading on the polar elastomer as required by claim 1.
Muyldermans teaches the silane-functionalized copolymer is obtained by grafting said copolymer with a silane, thus providing improved adhesion to both polar and non-polar substrates (p. 2, [0024]). Muyldermans further teaches crosslinking by exposure to hot water to achieve a higher degree of tensile strength (p. 4, [0059] & p. 5, [0074]). This would be expected to at least result in intermolecular crosslinking.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select any of the polar elastomers, taught by Muyldermans, and employ it as the thermoplastic used in Nadella’s composition, as they are shown to be suitable for use in combination with a rubber component and included in automotive applications. It would have been further obvious to carry out Muyldermans’ silane functionalization on the rubber of Nadella in order to take advantage of the aforementioned benefits thereof. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans as detailed above reads on limitations established by the instant claims 1, 2 & 4.
Regarding claims 7 & 8, maintaining the modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans previously detailed, Nadella discloses EPDM as a suitable rubber to prepare the elastomers (p. 4, [0035]), reading on a copolymer of ethylene and a C3 olefin as required by the claim. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Additionally, pertaining to limitations not taught by the prior art, claims 7 & 8 further limit an optional element of the independent base claim 1, without positively requiring its presence. Therefore, the limitations of these claims need not be addressed when the prior art teaches an alternative rubber. See MPEP § 2143.03
Regarding claim 9, maintaining the modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans previously detailed, Nadella teaches EPDM rubbers comprising non-conjugated dienes including 5-ethylidene-2-norbornene, dicyclopentadiene, and 5-vinyl-2-norbornene (p. 3, [0035]). It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 10, maintaining the modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans previously detailed, Muyldermans states the amount of silane present depends on desired level of silane functionalization, typically in the range of 0.1-20 wt.% (p. 3, [0043]). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claims 11 & 12, maintaining the modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans previously detailed, Muyldermans teaches suitable silane compounds including vinyltrimethoxysilane, vinyltriethoxysilane and mixtures thereof (p. 3, [0041]). It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claims 13 & 14, maintaining the modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans previously detailed, pertaining to the product-by-process limitation established by claim 13, the patentability of a product, does not depend on its method of production; determination of patentability is based on the product itself. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as, or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process. See MPEP § 2113.
Nevertheless, Nadella teaches the use of organic peroxides, providing dicumyl peroxide as a suitable example thereof (p. 5, [0045]). Muyldermans expressly states the organic peroxides are added to graft the silane (p. 4, [0057]). It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 15, maintaining the modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans previously detailed, Nadella discloses broad utility for embodiments having Shore A (ShA) hardness values in the range of 60-71 (p. 17, [0177]). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 16, the modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans previously detailed remains as applied above. As already shown, said modification results in the thermoplastic elastomer article of the instant application. Nadella teaches mixing the thermoplastic elastomer with the rubber, via extrusion. This may be done with or without crosslinking (p. 11, [0106] & p. 13, [0129]). Nadella teaches complete mixing of all ingredients before crosslinking begins (p. 7, [0062]). Nadella teaches the thermoplastic vulcanizate may be reheated in order to be shaped for final production. In effect, Nadella teaches crosslinking as the final step. This is supported by the express disclosure where Nadella also cautions that if the process is executed improperly, the thermoplastic polymer may become trapped in the crosslinked rubber, resulting in an extrudate unusable for fabricating a thermoplastic article (p. 7, [0068], [0069]). Nadella teaches both partial curing and fully curing (p. 5, [0049], [0050]).
Muyldermans teaches grafting the polymer with silane during the extrusion step, facilitated via addition of organic peroxide (p. 4, [0054]-[0057]).
Employing the silane grafting step taught by Muyldermans during the extrusion process taught by Nadella enables one skilled in the art to conduct the manufacturing process required by the instant claim 16, as shown above. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nadella et al. (US 2006/0293457 A1) in view of Muyldermans et al. (US 2022/0298351 A1), in further view of Ansems (US 2010/0292403 A1).
Regarding claim 5, maintaining the modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans previously detailed, as shown above, said modification results in a composition which may comprise a thermoplastic polyurethane elastomer (Muyldermans | p. 4, [0061]), however, neither Nadella nor Muyldermans expressly teach an ether-based or ester-based polyurethane as required by the claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Ansems teaches compositions comprising an olefin multi-block interpolymer, a functionalized olefin-based polymer, and a thermoplastic polyurethane (Abstract). Ansems teaches a further embodiment of the invention wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane comprises a polyether unit (p. 6, [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the ether thermoplastic polyurethane taught by Ansems and employ it as the thermoplastic polyurethane present in the modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans, as Ansems demonstrates this to be a suitable thermoplastic polyurethane for use in similar compositions with similar end uses. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Claims 17 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nadella et al. (US 2006/0293457 A1) in view of Muyldermans et al. (US 2022/0298351 A1), in further view of Vielsack (US 10,647,836 B2).
Regarding claim 17, the modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans remains as applied to the previous claims. Although both Nadella and Muyldermans teach a variety of suitable rubbers, neither Nadella nor Muyldermans explicitly teach silicone rubber.
In the same field of endeavor, Vielsack teaches thermoplastic elastomer compositions (Abstract) with good adhesive properties and having a Shore A (ShA) hardness in the range of 30 – 90 ShA (col. 1, lines 62-67). The invention may be crosslinked (col. 2, lines 14-15). When teaching suitable rubbers for use in the invention, Vielsack cites nitrile butadiene rubber and silicone rubber in parallel (col. 2, lines 7-11). In addition to industrial applications, Vielsack also discloses the invention may find use in automotive and medical industry (col. 4, lines 37-43).
In view of Vielsack’s invention aligning with desired properties of Nadella & Muyldermans, as well as aligning with the objectives of the inventors of the instant application (Specification, p. 1, [0003]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the nitrile rubber in the modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans (previously detailed) with silicone rubber, as Vielsack demonstrates these two rubbers to be suitable for the same purpose in similar compositions with the same end uses. It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents where the equivalence is recognized by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.06.
Modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans in further view of Vielsack as detailed above reads on all limitations of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, maintaining the modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans in further view of Vielsack previously detailed, as already shown above, Nadella discloses a copolymer prepared from ethylene, alpha-olefin and diene monomers (p. 4, [0036]) with C4-C10 alpha-olefins as preferred (p. 3, [0030]). It would have been further obvious to utilize a rubber mixture of silicone rubber and ethylene alpha-olefin diene monomers as the rubber component in the modification detailed herein, as Nadella also teaches rubber mixtures for this purpose (p. 3, [0034]). It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Modification of Nadella in view of Muyldermans in further view of Vielsack as detailed above reads on all limitations of claim 18.
Conclusion
/CHRISTIAAN ROELOFSE/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762