Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites thermoplastic domains of the thermoplastic and rubbery domains of the elastomer of Claim 1. There is no evidence of record the composition of Claim 1 is anything but thermoplastic domains of the thermoplastic and rubbery domains of the elastomer. Therefore, Claim 2 does not further limit Claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-12, 17-18, 22, 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brann (U.S. 5,741,858) in view of Anantha Narayana Iyer (WO2020068409)(herein after Anantha) and Schombourg (U.S. 20160319117).
Brann teaches silane crosslinked blends of polyolefin elastomers and crystalline polyolefin polymers. (See abstract) Example B5 (Table IV) comprises 93 wt% of E3 (an ethylene / 1-octene copolymer / elastomer See Table I) and 7 wt% of CP4 (a polypropylene homopolymer See Table III). Both these elastomers and crystalline polypropylene homopolymer reads over the definitions for these components in the as-filed specification. (¶[0033/0034])
Brann teaches silane crosslinking of the above components by blending to achieve grafting of the silane crosslinker then shaping into an article and curing the blend with water in the presence of a cure catalyst.
The exemplified silane / cure catalyst system is vinyl trimethoxy silane (VTMOS), dicumyl peroxide (DCP) and dibutyl tin dilaurate (DBTDL). The exemplified amounts of VTMOS are generally 1.5 wt%.
Brann does not teach or suggest a nitrile butadiene rubber component as recited by the instant claims.
Anantha, working in the field of improving the oil resistance of crystalline polyolefin / elastomer vulcanizate (i.e. crosslinked materials) directed to and/or pertinent to the same problem faced by Applicant, teaches the inclusion of nitrile butadiene rubber (a preferred polar type elastomer) improves the oil resistance (or hydrocarbon resistance as oil is a hydrocarbon in the context of Anantha) and is used in an amount of 2-70 wt% of the composition. (See ¶[0037], ¶[0095] and ¶[0124 as butadiene is a preferred conjugated diene for nitrile rubber).
Additionally, both Anantha and Brann are directed to hoses (See Column 12 lines 35-40 of Brann and Abstract of Anantha and ¶[00315]/¶[00316]) and Brann’s automotive applications in the same section of above making oil resistance a relevant parameter for one of ordinary skill in the art as these applications areas reasonably suggests oil may be used.
Schombourg, working in the filed of crosslinking thermoplastics with silanes similar to Applicant, teaches NBR and EPDM participate in a grafting / crosslinking reaction. ¶[0028]¶[0029], Abstract/¶[0010].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Brann by adding NBR for the advantage of improving the oil resistance of the compositions of Brann as taught by Anantha as discussed above.
A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in the above modification because Schombourg reasonably suggests the NBR will take place in the silane crosslinking reactions of Brann to achieve the crosslinked articles of Brann.
Brann exemplifies at least 70 wt% of the elastomer (ethylene/1-octene) and at most 30 wt% of the crystalline polymer. (Column 3 lines 10-20). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to portion out the NBR from the elastomeric portion as it is an elastomer. Therefore, based on the combined ranges of Brann (70 to exemplified 93 wt% and Anantha (2 to 70 wt%), one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggest about 70 wt% to less than 91 wt% of the ethylene / 1-octene copolymer as Brann requires at least 70 wt% of polyolefin elastomer and 2 to 23 wt% of the NBR as this is the difference between the exemplified amount and minimum of Brann and also the minimum of Anantha.
The resulting combined composition as discussed above is:
Up to 30 wt% (7 wt% exemplified) of crystalline polypropylene which reads over the thermoplastic polyolefin of Claim 1 and Claim 5, Claim 6 and Claim 7.
70 wt% to 91 wt% of the ethylene / 1-octene copolymer elastomer of Brann which reads over the ethylene α-olefin copolymer of Claim 1 along with the amount touching the range of Claim 8, rendering it obvious.
A prima facie case of obviousness is established when a claimed narrow range is within a broad prior art range or partially overlaps or touches the broad range. In Re Harris, 409 F.3d at 1341; In Re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1329-30.
2 to 23 wt% of NBR which reads over the NBR of Claim 1 and overlaps the range of Claim 11.
As the thermoplastic polyolefin and elastomers are different phases and suggested by Brann as different phases, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the phase domains of Claim 2 must be met. This reads over Claim 2.
Brann teaches the silane crosslink the elastomer and/or the crystalline polyolefin or both and Schombourg, as above, suggests the NBR will also crosslink with silane. Therefore, one ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested the NBR, ethylene/1-octene elastomer and the crystalline polypropylene copolymer must be crosslinked intermolecularly and intramolecularly as defined in the as-filed specification. In other words, all the above components must be silane crosslinked to each other and themselves. This reads over Claim 3 and Claim 4.
Roughly 1.5 wt% (exemplified) of silane (as it is one with 100 parts of the elastomer / crystalline polyolefin (Column 8 lines 55-67), however, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested an exact calculation will still place the amount of silane in the claimed range of Claim 12 as the amount is small compared to the amount of rubber present. The VTMOS is exemplified as being in solution with DCP (the peroxide) (See Column 10 lines 55-60) which reads over claim 27.
DBDTL as the moisture cure catalyst which reads over Claim 17 and Claim 18 and also Claim 28.
Plasticizers are taught by Brann in Column 9 lines 59-63 which reads over the plasticizer of Claim 22.
The process of Claim 26 is reasonably suggested by the above passages of Brann along with Column 9 lines 1-30.
With respect to the preamble “thermoset”, this thermoset term has a specific meaning ¶[0027] of the as-filed specification. Brann is silent on this specific definition. However, Brann teaches these compositions are crosslinked, in other words entirely crosslinked, and the exemplified plaques are molded at 60 oC and then tested at 70 oC without appreciably changing their shape (see Column 11 lines 45 – Column 12 line 40 – compression molding then compression set testing), this reasonably suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art the above compositions of Brann and Anantha must be thermoset within the definition of the as-filed specification when tested appropriately.
Alternatively, the as filed specification exemplifies the above components, in particular that of silane (VMTO) and DBDTL crosslinking NBR, crystalline polypropylene and ethylene / 1-octene copolymer / elastomer such that they are thermoset using the same or substantially similar process as Claim 26 which reasonably suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art the above compositions of Brann and Anantha must be thermoset within the definition of the as-filed specification when tested appropriately.
The reliance upon the specification by the Office to establish inherent properties has been supported by the Federal Circuit. In re Kao, 98 USPQ2d 1799, 1809 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brann (U.S. 5,741,858) in view of Anantha Narayana Iyer (WO2020068409)(herein after Anantha) and Schombourg (U.S. 20160319117) in further view of Arjunan (U.S. 5,352,739).
Brann, Anantha and Schombourg are applied as above.
Braun teaches additional additives may be added but does not teach or suggest a compatibilizer.
Arjunan, working in the field of non-polar/polar elastomer blends similar to Applicant, teaches use of a 1 to 15 phr of compatibilizer to improve heat resistance. (Column 4 lines 30-67). Nitrile is a polar elastomer while ethylene / 1-octene is a non-polar elastomer in the above modified composition.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Brann by adding a compatibilizer to improve the compatibility between the polar and non-polymer elastomers of the above modified composition and their heat resistance as taught by Arjunan. One of ordinary skill in the art is motivated to choose EVA for this purpose because it is taught and exemplified by Arjunan. The 1 to 15 phr is reasonably suggested to overlap the 2 to 20 wt% of Claim 20 when a strict calculation is made. For example, the exemplified amount of EVA and elastomers is 10 phr or 10/110 * 100 = ~9 wt%. This further supports the above conclusion of overlapping ranges.
This reads over Claim 19, Claim 20 and Claim 21.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is Brann (U.S. 5,741,858) which teaches crystalline polypropylene and ethylene 1-octene copolymer elastomers but does not reasonably suggest being able to add 37 to 53 wt% of NBR along with 25 to 43 wt% of ethylene-octene copolymer as discussed above.
Conclusion
/Christopher M Rodd/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766