Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, & 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “less likely” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “less likely” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how one would determine a range where the voltage value of the lithium-ion battery is “less likely” to fluctuate since this could be understood to mean a voltage range where there is no slope or a voltage range that is mostly flat. For the purpose of this examination, examiner interprets this to read as “the PLC sets the conversion voltage of the converter to a voltage value within a range”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the secondary battery supplies power to the drive unit when a power consumption of the drive unit exceeds the upper limit value of the conversion voltage of the converter.” However, the term power consumption could be reasonably interpreted to mean an amperage value or a wattage value and is being compared to an upper limit value of the conversion voltage, i.e. a voltage value. It is unclear how one would reasonably compare either a wattage or amperage value to a voltage value to determine a power consumption exceeds the upper limit value of the conversion voltage for causing the secondary battery to supply power to the drive unit. For the purpose of this examination, examiner interprets this to read as “wherein the secondary battery supplies power to the drive unit”.
The term “rapid” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rapid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what frequency of fluctuation would be considered “rapid”. For the purpose of this examination, examiner interprets this to read as “according to a fluctuation” and “due to the load fluctuation”.
Claims 7-9 depend from claim 6 and therefore inherit its deficiencies.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a voltage adjustment means for adjusting the feeding region and the protective charging region of the secondary battery with a voltage value of the DC bus”. However, in view of the specification, the voltage adjustment means is the function of the converter controlling the voltage value of the DC bus and the feeding/protective charging regions are state of charge regions of the battery. Therefore, it is unclear how the converter adjusts these state of charge regions with the voltage value of the DC bus. For the purpose of this examination, examiner interprets this to read as “a voltage adjustment means for adjusting a voltage value of the DC bus”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morita et al. (WIPO Publication WO 2011/034130 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Morita (Figs.1 & 2) teaches a control system (100 & 300) comprising:
a drive unit (310) that drives construction equipment (Background Art: portal crane);
an inverter (130a) that is connected to the drive unit and converts power to be supplied to the drive unit;
a converter (120) that receives power for driving the drive unit from an AC power supply (110) and converts the received power into DC power (AC cable 102a & DC cable 130a);
a secondary battery (140) that charges the DC power converted by the converter according to a drive state of the drive unit or supplies power to the drive unit according to the drive state of the drive unit (Pg.4, Para.4: battery 140 charges or discharged based on the load power which includes the drive unit); and
a programmable logic controller (PLC) (200) that sets a conversion voltage of the converter (214 output to 120) based on a state of the secondary battery (180 BMU input to 205 feeds to 214 through 215 and 208) and an output capacity of the AC power supply (Pg.8, Para.1: DC bus voltage setting unit 210 sends data to both the engine control unit 213 and first power converter control unit 214 to set the conversion voltage based on the operation of the engine generator).
Regarding Claim 2, Morita (Fig.2) teaches wherein the secondary battery is a lithium-ion battery (Pg.4, Para.4: lithium ion battery), and the PLC sets the conversion voltage of the converter to a voltage value (214 output to 120) within a range (Pg.8, Para.2: DC bus voltage value setting unit sets a maximum value of the voltage applied to the DC bus and a minimum value of the voltage applied to the DC bus).
Regarding Claim 3, Morita (Fig.2) further teaches wherein the PLC (200) calculates and sets an upper limit value of the conversion voltage of the converter (214 output to 120; Pg.8, Para.1: DC bus voltage setting unit 210 sets the maximum value of the voltage that should be applied to the DC bus 101) based on an output capacity of the AC power supply (Pg.8, Para.1: DC bus voltage setting unit 210 sends data to both the engine control unit 213 and first power converter control unit 214 to set the conversion voltage based on the operation of the engine generator).
Regarding Claim 4, Morita (Fig.1) further teaches wherein the secondary battery supplies power to the drive unit (Pg.4, Para.4: lithium ion battery 140 is discharging if the output power of the converter 120 is smaller than the load power; 310 is included in the available loads).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita, in view of Takatsuji (Japanese Publication JP 2009284717 A – published 2009).
Regarding Claim 5, Morita fails to explicitly teach wherein the PLC performs balance control between modules of the secondary battery when the drive unit is in a no- load condition.
However, Takatsuji teaches that it is common knowledge in the art to perform balance control between modules of a secondary battery under a no-load condition (¶0007: balance control under no load conditions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Morita with Takatsuji to include the PLC performs balance control between modules of the secondary battery when the drive unit is in a no- load condition. Doing so allows for an accurately controlled balancing of the battery modules, as evidenced by Takatsuji (¶0007).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita, in view of Yanagisawa et al. (USPGPN 2010/0280697).
Regarding Claim 6, Morita (Fig.1) teaches a motor that drives the drive unit of the construction equipment according to a fluctuation in a load on the construction equipment (Pg.4, Para.4: lithium ion battery 140 is discharging if the output power of the converter 120 is smaller than the load power; Pg.3, Para.4: hoisting motor operates by receiving power from the inverter and outputting regenerative power to the inverter),
wherein the secondary battery is connected to the inverter with a DC bus (140 connected to 102 and 130a), and has a feeding region for supplying power to the drive unit and a protective charging region for absorbing regenerative energy from the drive unit due to the load fluctuation to protect the inverter (Pg.25, Para.5: when the SOC of the battery is equal to or less than the stored SOC value, charging is necessary (i.e. feeding region), and when the SOC value is greater than the stored SOC value, charging is not necessary (i.e. protective charging region); supplying power to the drive unit and absorbing regenerative energy occur within either region).
Morita fails to explicitly teach an interior permanent magnet (IPM) motor.
However, Yanagisawa teaches a construction machine which uses an IPM motor to drive a drive unit (¶0092: electric motor 21 may be an IPM motor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Morita with Yanagisawa to use an IPM motor. The usage of IPM motors is known in the art to provide improved performance and efficiency when compared with induction motors.
Regarding Claim 7, Morita (Fig.1), as modified, further teaches a voltage adjustment means for adjusting a voltage value of the DC bus (converter 120).
Regarding Claim 8, Morita, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for the setting of a voltage value for the inverter to control the IPM motor is adjusted (Pg.9, Para.3: controls the outputs of the inverters), but not explicitly stated to be adjusted to an upper limit value. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art effective filing date of the invention to control the output of the inverter to be adjusted to an upper limit value since it was known in the art that inverters have maximum output ratings and operating them above this rating can lead to inefficient power conversion and damage to the inverter.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita, in view of Yanagisawa, as applied in the rejection of claim 6 above, and further in view of NPL - Terex Finlay – J-1175 Hybrid Jaw Crusher (Published Apr. 25, 2020, hereinafter referred to as Terex) with supporting evidence from NPL – 911 Metallurgist – Jaw Crusher Components & Parts (Published Jul. 25, 2015; hereinafter referred to as Metallurgist).
Regarding Claim 9, Morita, as modified, further teaches regenerative energy due to a load fluctuation is absorbed by the secondary battery (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Morita, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the drive unit is a flywheel of a crusher, and a crushing tooth driven in accordance with the operation of the flywheel.
However, Terex teaches a hybrid crusher using an electrical system (Pg.3, Para.1: onboard genset powerpack) to drive a flywheel (Metallurgist-Fig.1: shows that a jaw crusher includes a flywheel) of a jaw crusher (Pg.3, Para.2: jaw crusher) using a motor and a crushing tooth driven in accordance with the operation of the flywheel (Metallurgist-Fig.1: shows that a jaw crusher includes a swing jaw driven by the flywheel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Morita, in view of Yanagisawa, with Terex to utilize the control system in the known technology of a hybrid jaw crusher to provide an improved mining or recycling system with the benefit of cost advantages and efficiencies, as evidenced by Terex.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Anders et al. (USPGPN 2013/0006457) teaches a hybrid construction device with power regeneration.
Wu et al. (USPGPN 2017/0335547) teaches a hybrid construction machine.
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859