DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 12/20/2023.
Claims 1-9 have been examined and rejected.
The IDS filed on 12/20/2023 and 9/3/2025 have been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “congestion detector, detecting congestion state”; “congestion measurer, measuring congestion state”; and “congestion state estimator, estimating congestion state” in claims 1 and 6.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification discloses at paragraph 24, that these functional blocks comprising (“congestion detector, detecting congestion state”; “congestion measurer, measuring congestion state”; and “congestion state estimator, estimating congestion state”) are realized by the cooperation of hardware resources, such as the central processing unit, memory, input devices, output devices, and peripheral devices connected to the computer, and software that is executed using them.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. The claim is directed to a computer readable medium (CRM) that covers transitory signals which is not statutory. This rejection can be overcome by adding “Non-transitory” before the limitation “computer-readable medium”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felemban (US 20220254162 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Felemban discloses a communication control apparatus (see FIG. 1. illustrates a system for detecting and predicting crowd congestion in real-time) comprising at least one processor that performs:
by a communication congestion detector, detecting congestion state of communications in a communication cell (see FIG. 1. Congestion detection system (see FIG 2 for details), para 62, congestion detection system manipulates the image data to obtain motion data (e.g., trajectories) of individuals in a crowd, to determine the level of congestion in an area… congestion detection system divides the video stream/i.e., representing communication stream in a cell, from data intake system into temporal segments, extracts motion data (e.g., trajectories) of individuals of the crowd from each of the temporal segments, and converts the trajectories into two-dimensional (2D) images, for example spatial-temporal images (also referred to as trajectory images), to feed into training system);
by a congestion measurer, measuring congestion state of at least one of persons and objects in the communication cell (see para 62, Congestion detection system, see details in FIG. 2 score generator/i.e., representing the function of congestion measurer, then encodes the trajectories with a classification score, and generates a score map to visualize and localize areas of crowd congestion. The classification score may be based on a level of confidence of the degree of congestion of each trajectory); and
by a congestion state estimator, estimating congestion state in the communication cell, based on the congestion state of communications detected by the communication congestion detector and the congestion state of at least one of the persons and the objects measured by the congestion measurer (see para 65, Congestion prediction system (details in FIG. 3.) intakes a time series list of areas (e.g. localized regions) from the temporal segments (e.g., segmented video streams of crowd density in an area), predicts future congestion of the area, and visualizes the prediction (e.g., displays chart of degree of congestion at various future time intervals)… congestion prediction system may analyze the area of the temporal segment and normalize the area. Congestion prediction system may feed the time series list of the areas of each temporal segment into the LSTM learning model. The LSTM model may predict future congestion for each area of the time series list; also see para 11, LSTM is a long short-term memory (LSTM) model. The LSTM model may be trained to predict potential congestion based on, for example, the congestion patterns in the time series).
Felemban does not specify a “congestion state measurer”.
However, it teaches that the congestion detection system generates a score map of areas of crowd congestion, and performs the function of generating score by measurement of crowd congestion data.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Felemban, to specify the congestion state measurer as being implemented in the congestion detection system, since the congestion detection system is already performing the function of determining and generation score map of crowd congestion using the score generator (see Felemban, para 62).
Regarding Claim 5, Felemban discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the congestion state estimator determines the state of at least one of the persons and the objects measured by the congestion measurer (see para 65, Congestion prediction system (details in FIG. 3.) intakes a time series list of areas (e.g. localized regions) from the temporal segments (e.g., segmented video streams of crowd density in an area)/i.e., crowd represents persons, predicts future congestion of the area, and visualizes the prediction (e.g., displays chart of degree of congestion at various future time intervals). In an embodiment, congestion prediction system may analyze the area of the temporal segment and normalize the area. Congestion prediction system may feed the time series list of the areas of each temporal segment into the LSTM learning model. The LSTM model may predict future congestion for each area of the time series list; also see para 11, LSTM is a long short-term memory (LSTM) model. The LSTM model may be trained to predict potential congestion based on, for example, the congestion patterns in the time series).
Regarding Claim 7, Felemban discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the congestion measurer measures the congestion state of at least one of the persons and the objects in the communication cell, through the communication radio wave of a base station that provides the communication cell (see para 65, Congestion prediction system (details in FIG. 3.) intakes a time series list of areas (e.g. localized regions) from the temporal segments (e.g., segmented video streams of crowd density in an area)/i.e., crowd represents persons, predicts future congestion of the area, and visualizes the prediction (e.g., displays chart of degree of congestion at various future time intervals). In an embodiment, congestion prediction system may analyze the area of the temporal segment and normalize the area. Congestion prediction system may feed the time series list of the areas of each temporal segment into the LSTM learning model. The LSTM model may predict future congestion for each area of the time series list; also see para 11, LSTM is a long short-term memory (LSTM) model. The LSTM model may be trained to predict potential congestion based on, for example, the congestion patterns in the time series).
Felemban does not specify a “congestion state measurer”.
However, it teaches that the congestion detection system generates a score map of areas of crowd congestion, and performs the function of generating score by measurement of crowd congestion data.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Felemban, to specify the congestion state measurer as being implemented in the congestion detection system, since the congestion detection system is already performing the function of determining and generation score map of crowd congestion using the score generator (see Felemban, para 62).
Regarding Claim 8, Felemban discloses a communication control method performing:
detecting congestion state of communications in a communication cell (see FIG. 1. Congestion detection system (see FIG 2 for details), para 62, congestion detection system manipulates the image data to obtain motion data (e.g., trajectories) of individuals in a crowd, to determine the level of congestion in an area… congestion detection system divides the video stream/i.e., representing communication stream in a cell, from data intake system into temporal segments, extracts motion data (e.g., trajectories) of individuals of the crowd from each of the temporal segments, and converts the trajectories into two-dimensional (2D) images, for example spatial-temporal images (also referred to as trajectory images), to feed into training system);
measuring congestion state of at least one of persons and objects in the communication cell (see para 62, Congestion detection system, see details in FIG. 2 score generator/i.e., representing the function of congestion measurer, then encodes the trajectories with a classification score, and generates a score map to visualize and localize areas of crowd congestion. The classification score may be based on a level of confidence of the degree of congestion of each trajectory); and
estimating congestion state in the communication cell, based on the congestion state of communications detected by the communication congestion detector and the congestion state of at least one of the persons and the objects measured by the congestion measurer (see para 65, Congestion prediction system (details in FIG. 3.) intakes a time series list of areas (e.g. localized regions) from the temporal segments (e.g., segmented video streams of crowd density in an area), predicts future congestion of the area, and visualizes the prediction (e.g., displays chart of degree of congestion at various future time intervals)… congestion prediction system may analyze the area of the temporal segment and normalize the area. Congestion prediction system may feed the time series list of the areas of each temporal segment into the LSTM learning model. The LSTM model may predict future congestion for each area of the time series list; also see para 11, LSTM is a long short-term memory (LSTM) model. The LSTM model may be trained to predict potential congestion based on, for example, the congestion patterns in the time series).
Felemban does not specify a “congestion state measurer”.
However, it teaches that the congestion detection system generates a score map of areas of crowd congestion, and performs the function of generating score by measurement of crowd congestion data.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Felemban, to specify the congestion state measurer as being implemented in the congestion detection system, since the congestion detection system is already performing the function of determining and generation score map of crowd congestion using the score generator (see Felemban, para 62).
Regarding Claim 9, Felemban discloses a computer-readable medium storing a communication control program causing a computer to perform:
detecting congestion state of communications in a communication cell (see FIG. 1. Congestion detection system (see FIG 2 for details), para 62, congestion detection system manipulates the image data to obtain motion data (e.g., trajectories) of individuals in a crowd, to determine the level of congestion in an area… congestion detection system divides the video stream/i.e., representing communication stream in a cell, from data intake system into temporal segments, extracts motion data (e.g., trajectories) of individuals of the crowd from each of the temporal segments, and converts the trajectories into two-dimensional (2D) images, for example spatial-temporal images (also referred to as trajectory images), to feed into training system);
measuring congestion state of at least one of persons and objects in the communication cell (see para 62, Congestion detection system, see details in FIG. 2 score generator/i.e., representing the function of congestion measurer, then encodes the trajectories with a classification score, and generates a score map to visualize and localize areas of crowd congestion. The classification score may be based on a level of confidence of the degree of congestion of each trajectory); and
estimating congestion state in the communication cell, based on the congestion state of communications detected by the communication congestion detector and the congestion state of at least one of the persons and the objects measured by the congestion measurer (see para 65, Congestion prediction system (details in FIG. 3.) intakes a time series list of areas (e.g. localized regions) from the temporal segments (e.g., segmented video streams of crowd density in an area), predicts future congestion of the area, and visualizes the prediction (e.g., displays chart of degree of congestion at various future time intervals)… congestion prediction system may analyze the area of the temporal segment and normalize the area. Congestion prediction system may feed the time series list of the areas of each temporal segment into the LSTM learning model. The LSTM model may predict future congestion for each area of the time series list; also see para 11, LSTM is a long short-term memory (LSTM) model. The LSTM model may be trained to predict potential congestion based on, for example, the congestion patterns in the time series).
Felemban does not specify a “congestion state measurer”.
However, it teaches that the congestion detection system generates a score map of areas of crowd congestion, and performs the function of generating score by measurement of crowd congestion data.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Felemban, to specify the congestion state measurer as being implemented in the congestion detection system, since the congestion detection system is already performing the function of determining and generation score map of crowd congestion using the score generator (see Felemban, para 62).
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felemban in view of Xu (US 20220165150 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Felemban discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor performs, by a congestion state sharer, sharing the congestion state in the communication cell estimated by the congestion state estimator with a service provider that provides a service in the communication cell (see paras 65-66, FIG. 3 for details, the congestion prediction system intakes a time series list of areas (e.g. localized regions) from the temporal segments (e.g., segmented video streams of crowd density in an area), predicts future congestion of the area, and visualizes the prediction (e.g., displays chart of degree of congestion at various future time intervals) … Visualization system may comprise a display to present information associated with the congestion detection system and/or congestion prediction system. For example, a score map generated by congestion detection system may be displayed with color coding to indicate regions of crowd congestion or normal crowd density. Visualization system may comprise a user interface (e.g., interactive dashboard) to allow a user to provide feedback); also see FIG. 1 depicting the congestion prediction system connected to the network).
Felemban does not disclose details regarding sharing the congestion state with a service provider.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches this limitation: see FIG. 7, paras 122-123, it may be tested whether the lane of the road segment is congested or not. The control moves to non-congestion state, else for congestion state. The processor (see FIGs. 1-2, para 80, a system used for determining road capacity pattern data of a lane) may be configured to test whether the lane of the road segment is congested or not. The traffic condition on the lane of the road segment may correspond to a congestion state or a non-congestion state… congestion message to the traffic service backend server/i.e., representing the traffic server for the service provider, may be sent.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Felemban, to share the congestion state with a service provider as taught by Xu, since there is a need for a reliable system for safety reasons to identify data associated with dynamic traffic change and road capacity for an autonomous vehicle status change update so that it is beneficial for a driver of the autonomous vehicle, a customer or agencies. (see Xu, para 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Felemban discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the service provider includes an emergency agency that provides an emergency service in response to the congestion state in the communication cell (see paras 4-5, The congestion detection system may be used to monitor a crowd to prevent or mitigate crowd disasters/i.e., representing emergency situation service use case. Moreover, the congestion detection system may be used by crowd management entities to timely detect congested regions and manage the crowd efficiently).
Regarding Claim 4, Felemban discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the service provider provides the service at a store in the communication cell (see para 5, elements of the present invention may be applied to other situations involving large crowds or high densities of people occupying a space/i.e., representing a store, including, but not limited to, traffic management, urban development, public health and disease prevention, transportation management, animal migration, video game players, etc.).
Conclusion
/DEEPA BELUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472