Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zemp (US 2018/0164418 A1) and Ceroici (2019, IEEE Trans. on Ultrasonics).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Zemp teaches a method of acquiring an image of a body and a system, the method and system comprising:
providing a row-column addressed matrix ultrasonic imaging device comprising an array of elementary ultrasonic transducers arranged in rows and columns, each of the elementary ultrasonic transducers comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein, in each of the rows, the first electrodes of the elementary ultrasonic transducers of a same one of the rows are connected to each other by a same row electrode, wherein the first electrodes of the elementary ultrasonic transducers of different ones of the rows are connected to different row electrodes, wherein, in each column, the second electrodes of the elementary ultrasonic transducers of a same one of the columns are connected to each other by a same column electrode, wherein the second electrodes of the elementary ultrasonic transducers of different ones of the columns are connected to different column electrodes [[0029] CMUT architectures permits independent addressability of both top and bottom CMUT electrodes. CMUT top electrodes are connected in strips along the x-direction, while CMUT bottom electrodes are connected in strips along the y-direction; [0031] aspects of the CMUT architectures discussed herein include (1) top electrodes that are addressable and connected separately and independently from bottom electrodes, which have their own connectivity and (2) top electrodes that are connected in strips, with bottom electrodes connected in strips in the orthogonal direction from top electrode strip; [0044] row- and column addressing can be switched, for example to transmit along columns and receive along rows to obtain fast y-z B-scans. By quickly switching imaging orientations one may acquire fast x-z and y-z orthogonal imaging planes. Alternatively, multiple B-scans can be scanned to form a volumetric 3D image.];
performing N successive shots of a same ultrasonic wave towards said body, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 2 [[0039] using this approach, a 3D image may be formed using only N transmit events, and with N transmit channels and N-receive channels; [0041]];
after each shot, implementing a reception phase, by means of said device, of a return ultrasonic wave reflected by said body, in which, during each of the reception phases, a variable electrical quantity representative of the a received wave is read at each of the row electrodes of the device, and in which, between any two of the N reception phases, a sign of an individual contribution of at least one of the elementary ultrasonic transducers of the array is modified [[0041] if we then consider two transmit events along the same strip: one with a bias applied to one vertical strip (with zero elsewhere) and another with zero bias on all strips, we may subtract the measured response from the two transmit events to effectively simulate a transmit event from a single element… enhanced resolution and lower sidelobes of O2-DTRF come at the expense of more transmit events; [0043] after firing multiple transmit events using a complete set of biasing patterns, selected from an S-Matrix or Hadamard Matrix, the data can be unmixed to obtain the effective signal associated with transmitting along individual columns; [0045]; [0047] after 32 transmit events (each with a separate bias-encoding), we decoded using the inverse Hadamard Matrix to recover the synthetic aperture dataset; [0051]].
Zemp does not explicitly teach and yet Ceroici teaches calculating, by means of an electronic processing device [[abstract] FORCES imaging scheme involves transmitting along rows to form an elevational transmit focus, while biasing columns with bias patterns selected from a Hadamard matrix]; [[pg. 1101, col. 2] ultrasonic imaging and therapeutic applications and all of the associated electronic hardware required to drive capture and process the ultrasonic signals], by linear combinations of the electrical variable quantities read on the row electrodes of the device during the N reception phases, of an individual contribution of each of the elementary ultrasonic transducers of the array [[pg. 1095, col. 2] FORCES imaging sequences consisted of applying the appropriate Hadamard bias pattern to column channels, transmitting delayed pulses to row channels and repeating for all Hadamard patterns. The FORCES images are reconstructed fline using a custom Hadamard decoding and synthetic-aperture delay-and-sum script, and Scheme 1 images are reconstructed using a custom delay-and-sum script],
wherein the calculation of the individual contributions of the elementary ultrasonic transducers of the array comprises a multiplication of the electrical variable quantities read on the row electrodes of the device during the N reception phases by coefficients of a matrix A, previously determined during a characterization or simulation phase and stored in a memory of the electronic processing device [[pg. 1094, col. 1-2 bridging] FORCES imaging scheme, shown in Fig. 1(c), transmits an electronically focused beam across rows but applies a set of encoded bias patterns along receiving columns. These patterns are obtained from the rows of a Hadamard matrix. Once the data set is obtained using all of the encoded bias patterns, the data set can then be decoded by multiplying the data set by the inverse of the Hadamard matrix], and wherein for each of the elementary ultrasonic transducers of the array, the coefficients of the matrix A represent respective weights of the individual contributions to the variable electrical quantity generated on each of the row electrodes and on each of the column electrodes of the array during the reception phases [[abstract] FORCES imaging scheme involves transmitting along to form an elevational transmit focus, while biasing columns with bias patterns selected from a Hadamard matrix. Channel data from columns is received and decoded for synthetic-aperture beamforming in azimuth. This scheme offers two-way azimuthal focusing.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the transducer array as taught by Zemp, with the row and column biasing using a Hadamard matrix as taught by Ceroici because TOBE array architecture and FORCES imaging scheme thus enable high - quality 3-D ultrasound imaging using only row-column addressing and bias control and may prove an enabling technology for many future 3-D imaging platforms (Ceroici) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 3, Zemp does not explicitly teach and yet Ceroici teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, during each of the N receiving phases each of the column electrodes of the array is maintained at a DC bias voltage, and wherein, between any two of the N receiving phases, the sign of the DC bias voltage applied to at least one of the column electrodes of the device is changed [[abstract] FORCES imaging scheme involves transmitting along rows to form an elevational transmit focus, while biasing columns with bias patterns selected from a Hadamard matrix; [pg. 1095, col. 1] each column electrode has either a positive or negative bias depending on the Hadamard vector, while all row electrodes are grounded. … [t]his technique relies on the ability to shift the phase of the transmitted waveform and received signals by 180° by reversing the applied bias.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the transducer array as taught by Zemp, with the row and column biasing using a Hadamard matrix as taught by Ceroici because TOBE array architecture and FORCES imaging scheme thus enable high-quality 3-D ultrasound imaging using only row–column addressing and bias control and may prove an enabling technology for many future 3-D imaging platforms (Ceroici) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 4, Zemp does not explicitly teach and yet Ceroici teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the signs of the polarization voltages applied respectively to the column electrodes of the device during the N reception phases are coded by the vectors of an orthogonal matrix, for example a Hadamard matrix [[abstract] FORCES imaging scheme involves transmitting along rows to form an elevational transmit focus, while biasing columns with bias patterns selected from a Hadamard matrix; [pg. 1095, col. 1] each column electrode has either a positive or negative bias depending on the Hadamard vector, while all row electrodes are grounded. … [t]his technique relies on the ability to shift the phase of the transmitted waveform and received signals by 180° by reversing the applied bias].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the transducer array as taught by Zemp, with the row and column biasing using a Hadamard matrix as taught by Ceroici because TOBE array architecture and FORCES imaging scheme thus enable high-quality 3-D ultrasound imaging using only row–column addressing and bias control and may prove an enabling technology for many future 3-D imaging platforms (Ceroici) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 5, Zemp does not explicitly teach and yet Ceroici teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the N successive shots are performed by means of said row-column-addressed matrix ultrasonic imaging device [[abstract] here, experimental results are reported for the fast orthogonal row–column electronic scanning (FORCES) imaging scheme], and wherein, during each of the N shots, each of the column electrode of the array is held at a DC bias voltage [[pg. 1094, col. 2] to compare our proposed 3-D imaging scheme (FORCES) with pyramidal scanning (Scheme 1), we keep all the array and channel parameters the same, use the same transmit voltage and bias voltage levels, as well as include an averaged Scheme 1 case with an equivalent number of transmit events], and wherein, during each shot, the signs of the DC bias voltages applied respectively to the column electrodes of the array are the same as the signs of the DC bias voltages applied respectively to the column electrodes in the subsequent receiving phase [[pg. 1095, col. 1] each column electrode has either a positive or negative bias depending on the Hadamard vector, while all row electrodes are grounded. … [t]his technique relies on the ability to shift the phase of the transmitted waveform and received signals by 180° by reversing the applied bias.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the transducer array as taught by Zemp, with the row and column biasing using a Hadamard matrix as taught by Ceroici because TOBE array architecture and FORCES imaging scheme thus enable high-quality 3-D ultrasound imaging using only row–column addressing and bias control and may prove an enabling technology for many future 3-D imaging platforms (Ceroici) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 6, Zemp does not explicitly teach and yet Ceroici teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, between any two of the N receiving phases, the electrical connection of at least one of the elementary transducers between the row and column electrodes is reversed by means of a system of switches [[pg. 1095, col. 2] bias control was conducted using a microcontroller connected with a set of relays switching between +55-/−55-V biases.], so as to modify the sign of the individual contribution of said at least one elementary ultrasonic transducer of the array [[pg. 1095, col. 1] each column electrode has either a positive or negative bias depending on the Hadamard vector, while all row electrodes are grounded. … [t]his technique relies on the ability to shift the phase of the transmitted waveform and received signals by 180° by reversing the applied bias.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the transducer array as taught by Zemp, with the row and column biasing using a Hadamard matrix as taught by Ceroici because TOBE array architecture and FORCES imaging scheme thus enable high-quality 3-D ultrasound imaging using only row–column addressing and bias control and may prove an enabling technology for many future 3-D imaging platforms (Ceroici) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 7, Zemp does not explicitly teach and yet Ceroici teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the ultrasonic transducers are CMUT Capacitive Micromachined Ultrasonic Transducers or PMUT transducers Piezoelectric Micromachined Ultrasonic Transducers [[pg. 1101, col. 2] focus on the fabrication of capacitive micromachined ultrasound transducers for medical imaging applications.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the transducer array as taught by Zemp, with the capacitive micromachined transducer as taught by Ceroici because CMUTs can be used for medical imaging applications (Ceroici) [[pg. 1101, col. 2]].
Regarding claim 8, Zemp does not explicitly teach and yet Ceroici teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said array comprises N rows and N columns of the elementary ultrasonic transducers [[abstract] elements in 2-D array transducers … row column addressing].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the transducer array as taught by Zemp, with the row and column biasing using a Hadamard matrix as taught by Ceroici because TOBE array architecture and FORCES imaging scheme thus enable high-quality 3-D ultrasound imaging using only row–column addressing and bias control and may prove an enabling technology for many future 3-D imaging platforms (Ceroici) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 9, Zemp teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the electrical variable quantity read on each row electrode of the device is a voltage value [[abstract] return pulses are detected by measuring received signals from biased second electrode strips; [0040] alternate electronics may also be used to provide bias voltages and transmit receive signals.; [0041] this control scheme makes use of the nonlinear transmit and receive response of CMUTs as a function of the bias voltage.].
Regarding claim 11, Zemp does not explicitly teach and yet Ceroici teaches the device of claim 13, wherein the ultrasonic transducers are CMUT Capacitive Micromachined Ultrasonic Transducers or PMUT transducers Piezoelectric Micromachined Ultrasonic Transducers [[pg. 1101, col. 2] focus on the fabrication of capacitive micromachined ultrasound transducers for medical imaging applications.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to implement the transducer array as taught by Zemp, with the capacitive micromachined transducer as taught by Ceroici because CMUTs can be used for medical imaging applications (Ceroici) [[pg. 1101, col. 2]].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zemp (US 2018/0164418 A1) and Ceroici (2019, IEEE Trans. on Ultrasonics) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of O’Donnell (US 5,453,575 A).
Regarding claim 12, Zemp does not explicitly teach and yet O’Donnell teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the coefficients of the matrix A are non-zero and non-unitary coefficients, in absolute value [[col. 25:10-30] by alternatingly adding and subtracting signal values, the DSA 110 effectively modulates the input signal values by a plus or minus one value equivalent to a bi-polar square wave (illustratively depicted in FIG. 8a). However, in an alternative embodiment of the invention, the signal processor 30, in addition to performing a sequence of addition and subtraction on a set of J signal samples for an image region (in accordance with a specified M value), modulates the magnitude of ones of the set of J signal samples by applying a sequence of non-unitary coefficients to the set of J signal samples.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the transducer array as taught by Zemp, with the non unitary coefficients as taught by O’Donnell because balanced coefficients result in the attenuation of the portions of the combined signal samples attributable to echo signals caused by stationary features (e.g., tissue) in an image region. (O’Donnell) [[col. 25:40-60]].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 6-7, filed 9/4/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zemp (US 2018/0164418 A1). Finally, as to the substance of the argument on pg. 8 concerning Ceroici, the Examiner does not seem to agree because the language that might be applicable to the presented arguments does not appear to be present in the claims themselves.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3645