DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 7, recite (on the last line) the term “preferably” which renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Applicant is required to clarify these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burakowski-Meise et al. (US 2019/0231659 A1) in view of Tabor et al. US 2017/0029561 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Meise teaches a benefit agent(s) delivery spherical particles for textile and laundry (instant claim 10) purposes; [185-193], wherein particles comprise a core-shell structure with sizes in the range of 10-600 µm; [abstract, 18, claim 16], wherein the particles are made of aliphatic-aromatic, aliphatic-aliphatic and polylactic polyesters; [22-26, 29, 52].
Regarding claims 1-4, Meise does not teach the polymers of delivery particle are made from waste polymers of post-consumer recycled material. However, the related art of Tabor teaches making the instantly claimed delivery particles’ polymer from previously used and waste polyester polymers as explained: (“The term "recycled polymer" as used herein refers to a polymer that has little value after its original lifespan has ended, and is recovered in an economically viable fashion from the original spent application for use in other applications”; 156), wherein it includes the same type of particles shell material; [168-169, 186, 212]. Tabor and Meuse are related arts that of polyester delivery particle and their usage in different applications such as laundry active agent’s delivery means. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Tabor’s recycled polyester for Meise’s benefit agent delivery particles with the motivation of making the same product with the same quality and lower cost as explained by Tobar above.
Regarding claims 5-6, Meise teaches deposition aids such as polysaccharide delivered by the particles on the laundry fabrics or textile; [73].
Claims 7-9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burakowski-Meise et al. (US 2019/0231659 A1), Tabor et al. US 2017/0029561 A1) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Ferguson et al. US 2017/0154328 A1).
Regarding claims 7-9, Meise does not teach the specific type(s) of polysaccharide deposition aid material. However, the analogous art of Ferguson teaches polymer shell delivery capsules as deposition aid delivery mean for laundry, comprising the instantly claimed 1-4 linked ẞ-glycan such as hydroxypropyl cellulose, xyloglucan and galactomannan; [19, 25-28]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use polysaccharides of Ferguson (by substitution) for Meise laundry application as a complete functional equivalent material.
Regarding claim 11, Meise teaches application of benefit delivery agent for laundry applications; [188, 193]. This, as construed, does indeed include introducing the benefit agents (e.g. fragrance) on to fabric surfaces in an aqueous medium wherein the dilution of laundry liquor with active ingredient is an obvious practice with the motivation of enhancing the washing results. However, Ferguson, also, teaches the dilution of the washing liquor as a preferred step of washing fabrics with for enhancing the fragrance deposition on the substrates; [70].
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burakowski-Meise et al. (US 2019/0231659 A1) in view of Tabor et al. US 2017/00 29561 A1).
Regarding claims 12-14, Meise teaches a method of making the instantly claimed benefit agent particles from the very claimed materials, aliphatic-aromatic, aliphatic-aliphatic and polylactic polyesters; [22-26, 29, 52], particles comprise a core-shell structure with sizes in the range of 10-600 µm; [abstract, 18, claim 16]. Meise does not teach the polymers of delivery particle are made from waste polymers of post-consumer recycled material. However, the related art of Tabor teaches making the instantly claimed delivery particles’ polymer from previously used and waste polyester polymers as explained: (“The term "recycled polymer" as used herein refers to a polymer that has little value after its original lifespan has ended, and is recovered in an economically viable fashion from the original spent application for use in other applications”; 11; e.g. packaging, 156), wherein it includes the same type of particles shell material; [168-169, 186, 212]. Tabor and Meuse are related arts that of polyester delivery particle and their usage in different applications such as laundry active agent’s delivery means. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the Tabor’s recycled polyester for Meise’s benefit agent’s delivery particles with the motivation of making the same product with the same quality and lower cost as explained by Tobar above. Note that (instant claim 14) both Meise teaches a solvent in preparation of polyester particle material; [13, 31, 35], and by the same token Tabor a using a solvent for recycling of the claimed polymer material; [295].
Correspondence
/M.R.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2025/11/15
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767