DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 14, and 18 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laramee et al. (US 3757272).
As per claim 1: Laramee et al. discloses a transmission line for communicating between a first electronic device and a second electronic device (as shown in figs. 1-2, wherein ends of the transmission line can be connected to other devices as needed) comprising: a flexible planar transmission line 20/22/24/28/30 for connecting to the first electronic device (see fig. 2, element 20 wherein the region surrounded by element flexible 36),
the flexible planar transmission line comprising a first conducting layer 30, a first dielectric layer 24, a second dielectric layer 22, a second conducting layer 28, and a signal line 20 provided between the first dielectric layer 24 and second dielectric layer 22, wherein the signal line 20 is provided with a bare portion 21 (as shown in figs. 1-2);
an adapter (not label, see figs. 1-2) comprising a conducting body provided with a first opening at a first side of the conducting body arranged to receive the flexible planar transmission line (see fig. 2, elements 52, 54; wherein the shell 50 is a component part of the coupling device 16 and includes a cylindrical wall 52 having a longitudinal slot 54 therein); and
a first connector 48 provided at a second side of the conducting body (see fig. 2, wherein the outer conductor 46 is open at one end and terminates at the other end in an outwardly extending annular flange 48 of a conductive shell 50), the first connector 48 provided with a contact area at the second side arranged to receive a first connection of a second transmission line (wherein is element 46 located) for connection to the second electronic device and a pin 40 for receiving a second connection of the second transmission line (see fig. 2, wherein a device can be connected to an end with thread where the element 46 is located),
wherein the contact area is electrically connected to the second conducting layer 28 wherein the adapter (not label, see figs. 1-2) further comprises a support arranged to planar deform flexible transmission line to connect the signal line 20 to the pin 40 and the first conducting layer 30 to the contact area (as shown in fig. 2; wherein a pressure device, such as cylindrical plug 58, for example, may be inserted into the end cap 56 prior to assembling the end cap onto the protruding end portion of the wall 52. When the end cap 56 is threaded onto the protruding end portion of wall 52 and tightened against the ground plane 30, the end cap 56 in conjunction with the annular flange 48 exerts a uniform annular pressure on the respective ground planes 28 and 30 thereby avoiding localized variations in line impedance. Simultaneously, the plug 58 presses against the area of ground plane 30 located within the inner periphery of slot 34, thereby urging the terminal end portion 21 of center strip conductor 20 against the head 42 of center pin 40 and pressing the pin 40 longitudinally still further into the dielectric bushing 44 of connector 14).
As per claims 4-5, and 18: Laramee et al. discloses the transmission line (as shown in figs. 1-2), wherein the support comprises a first adjustment provided at a third side (wherein is element 52 located) of the conducting body opposite to the second side (wherein is element 48 located) arranged to apply a first force in a direction aligned with a longitudinal axis of the pin 40 (see fig.2); and wherein the first adjustment comprises a first screw 56/58; and
As per claim 14: Laramee et al. discloses an electronic device (see Abstract, wherein a coupling device for electrically connecting a strip transmission line to another transmission line; and inherent to use the coax to stripline in an electronic device in order to transmit signal) comprising a transmission line (see figs. 1-2), wherein the transmission line includes: a flexible planar transmission line 20/22/24/28/30 for connecting to the first electronic device (see fig. 2, element 20 wherein the region surrounded by element flexible 36),
the flexible planar transmission line comprising a first conducting layer 30, a first dielectric layer 24, a second dielectric layer 22, a second conducting layer 28, and a signal line 20 provided between the first dielectric layer 24 and second dielectric layer 22, wherein the signal line 20 is provided with a bare portion 21 (as shown in figs. 1-2);
an adapter (not label, see figs. 1-2) comprising a conducting body provided with a first opening at a first side of the conducting body arranged to receive the flexible planar transmission line (see fig. 2, elements 52, 54; wherein the shell 50 is a component part of the coupling device 16 and includes a cylindrical wall 52 having a longitudinal slot 54 therein); and
a first connector 48 provided at a second side of the conducting body (see fig. 2, wherein the outer conductor 46 is open at one end and terminates at the other end in an outwardly extending annular flange 48 of a conductive shell 50), the first connector 48 provided with a contact area at the second side arranged to receive a first connection of a second transmission line (wherein is element 46 located) for connection to the second electronic device and a pin 40 for receiving a second connection of the second transmission line (see fig. 2, wherein a device can be connected to an end with thread where the element 46 is located),
wherein the contact area is electrically connected to the second conducting layer 28 wherein the adapter (not label, see figs. 1-2) further comprises a support arranged to planar deform flexible transmission line to connect the signal line 20 to the pin 40 and the first conducting layer 30 to the contact area (as shown in fig. 2; wherein a pressure device, such as cylindrical plug 58, for example, may be inserted into the end cap 56 prior to assembling the end cap onto the protruding end portion of the wall 52. When the end cap 56 is threaded onto the protruding end portion of wall 52 and tightened against the ground plane 30, the end cap 56 in conjunction with the annular flange 48 exerts a uniform annular pressure on the respective ground planes 28 and 30 thereby avoiding localized variations in line impedance. Simultaneously, the plug 58 presses against the area of ground plane 30 located within the inner periphery of slot 34, thereby urging the terminal end portion 21 of center strip conductor 20 against the head 42 of center pin 40 and pressing the pin 40 longitudinally still further into the dielectric bushing 44 of connector 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 19 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laramee et al. (US 3757272).
As per claims 9, 19: Laramee et al. discloses the transmission line (as shown in figs. 1-2), and the flexible planar transmission line, and the 1st dielectric layer 24. However, Laramee et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the flexible planar transmission line is provided with a third dielectric layer at a side of the first conducting layer opposite the first dielectric layer.
On the other hand, Laramee et al. mentioned there were dielectric panels 22 and 24 (as shown in figs. 1-2, wherein the strip transmission line 12 includes a center conductor 20 which is sandwiched between juxtaposed inner broad surfaces of respective dielectric panels 22 and 24. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having a 3rd dielectric layer at a side of the first conducting layer opposite the first dielectric layer can only deal with duplication of parts because such modification still would not change the function of the flexible planar transmission line but to further enhance the influence the speed of electrical signals and to impact overall circuit performance of the devices. Since, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the transmission line of Laramee et al. by having the flexible planar transmission line is provided with a third dielectric layer at a side of the first conducting layer opposite the first dielectric layer as taught by the instant invention to further enhance the influence the speed of electrical signals and to impact overall circuit performance of the devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is allowed.
Claims 2-3, 6-8, 10-13, 16-17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: with regards to claim 15, Laramee et al. is the closest prior art of record regards to the instant invention of claim 15. However, Laramee et al. does not teach the method: “wherein providing (HF) signal at one end of the transmission line with a frequency spectrum range of 1-80GHz; and measuring an output (HF) signal at the one end and another end of the transmission line; and adjusting a force through a support based on a characteristic of the output HF signal; and fixate the support in a fixed position”. The above noted structure in combination with other recitations within the claims is not shown by a single prior art document and the examiner knows of no reasonable rational to combine the prior art of record such that the claimed invention would have been obvious at prior to the filing of this application.
Therefore, claim 15 is allowed.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831