DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 10, 13-14, 18, 21, 24, and 28, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 recites “a label support for arranging a label…” and further “an adhesive layer disposed on the upper part and the lower part [of the holding body]” which is unclear and indefinite. There is no adhesive disposed on the upper part of the label support as claimed. The Specification describes a “label element 50 in the form of a printed adhesive label 50’” (0184, Fig. 5). Thus, the adhesive on the upper part is only present as the label itself, yet no label is positively recited by the claims but rather a label support for arranging a label as explicitly recited in the preamble. Adhesive only exists on the upper part once the label is applied, yet the scope of the claim is a label support with no positive recitation of the label (explicitly stating that the label support is for application of a label). Thus, the label support itself, as claimed, does not have an upper part with adhesive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 13-14, 18, 21, 24, and 28, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Puttkammer (US 7,301,682).
In respect to claims 1-3 and 18, Puttkammer discloses a label support comprising: a “holding body” 1/2 configured to hold a label (either direct text or an adhesive label thereon); the holding body comprising at least one transparent layer 1* configured to arrange thereon said label (a flat surface); and at least one transparent section (layer) 2, comprising a plastic layer on an “lower part” of the “holding body” which is electronically conductive (e.g. PEDT/PSS) (and thus is functionally capable of contactless induction) (Col. 3, 35-47; Fig. 1). *Support web 1 is also transparent as would be readily ascertained by one of ordinary skill in the art, since the hologram (lacquer 3 and reflection layer 4) are underneath and are visually inspected.
In respect to claim 4, Puttkammer discloses that the transparent section 1 “upper part” is “configured to attach a print with the label” (i.e. printing located on a label intended to be provided on the top surface of the transparent section).
In respect to claims 13 and 14, Puttkammer discloses that the holding body is configured to be releasably held in a “holding state” via adhesive 5 (Col. 3, 20-26; Fig. 1).
In respect to claims 21 and 24, Puttkammer discloses that the entire “holding body” is a multilayer film body (Fig. 1), capable of forming an “upper part” and “lower part” i.e. wrapping or vertical application to an object.
In respect to claim 28, Puttkammer discloses a metallic layer 4 (part of the hologram) thus characterizing the holding body as a “foil”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puttkammer (US 7,301,682) in view of Electrically Conductive Plastics (NPL)
Puttkammer only discloses intrinsically electronically conductive plastics, however, Electrically Conductive Plastics teaches that traditional plastics may be provided with additives to afford conductivity. It would have obvious to substitute the discloses intrinsically electronically conductive plastics taught in Puttkammer with plastics having conductive additives in view of Electrically Conductive Plastics, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant contends that Puttkammer fails to disclose at least the upper part of the holding body, however, this is not disclosed by the applicant as described in the 35 USC 112(b) above.
As for the “label support for arranging a label…”, Puttkammer discloses an upper part of the holding surface capable of receiving an adhesive label. Due to the conflicting language, it is also permissible to read “an adhesive layer disposed on the upper part [of the holding body]” as an intended step. The holding body of Puttkammer, if receiving an adhesive label, would then have an upper part having an adhesive layer (bottom layer of the adhesive label).
A more detailed comparison to Puttkammer or other prior art cannot be completed without an amendment clarifying the subject matter discussed in the 35 USC 112(b) rejection.
Conclusion
/KYLE R GRABOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637