DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 18, and 21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In respect to claims 3-4, 18, and 21, the claims are not reciting features of the label support, but rather orientation of areas of the label after intended application in an “installed state” to a holding body (e.g. a cylinder). E.g. “upper” and “lower” parts of the label support are not structural details (what one of ordinary skill would understand to mean a lower layer and an upper layer), and thus such recitations are unclear and indefinite, particularly since the “holding body” is not even defined and could constitute any structure.
The removal of the “installed state” does not ameliorate the issues at hand, as the orientations are still being claimed, with an “installed state” now assumed. Ultimately the claimed recitations are not relevant to the actual structure, and only intended orientations after application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 13-14, 18, 21, and 24, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Puttkammer (US 7,301,682).
In respect to claims 1-3 and 18, Puttkammer discloses a label support comprising: a “holding body” 1/2 configured to hold a label (either direct text or an adhesive label thereon); the holding body comprising at least one transparent layer 1* configured to arrange thereon said label (a flat surface); and at least one transparent section (layer) 2, comprising a plastic layer on an “lower part” of the “holding body” which is electronically conductive (e.g. PEDT/PSS) (and thus is functionally capable of contactless induction) (Col. 3, 35-47; Fig. 1). *Support web 1 is also transparent as would be readily ascertained by one of ordinary skill in the art, since the hologram (lacquer 3 and reflection layer 4) are underneath and are visually inspected.
In respect to claim 4, Puttkammer discloses that the transparent section 1 “upper part” is “configured to attach a print with the label” (i.e. printing located on a label intended to be provided on the top surface of the transparent section).
In respect to claims 13 and 14, Puttkammer discloses that the holding body is configured to be releasably held in a “holding state” via adhesive 5 (Col. 3, 20-26; Fig. 1).
In respect to claims 21 and 24, Puttkammer discloses that the entire “holding body” is a multilayer film body (Fig. 1), capable of forming an “upper part” and “lower part” i.e. wrapping or vertical application to an object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puttkammer (US 7,301,682) in view of Electrically Conductive Plastics (NPL)
Puttkammer only discloses intrinsically electronically conductive plastics, however, Electrically Conductive Plastics teaches that traditional plastics may be provided with additives to afford conductivity. It would have obvious to substitute the discloses intrinsically electronically conductive plastics taught in Puttkammer with plastics having conductive additives in view of Electrically Conductive Plastics, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/04/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The rejection remains the same, however, the rejection has been clarified in light of the remarks made by the applicant. As can be seen, the “holding body” is construed as both transparent layers 1 and 2, and the “upper part” transparent layer 1 is functionally capable of arranging a label thereon (or else printing a “label” thereon) and the “lower part” is the transparent section (layer) 2, which is conductive.
Arguments drawn to Figure 3 are moot, as Figure 5 was elected by the applicant and searched by the Examiner. The prior art of record is drawn to Figure 5.
The 35 USC 112 rejection has been obviated in part, however, claims 3-4, 18, and 21, remain rejected.
The applicant is correct that all references in the Specification are in the IDS.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE R GRABOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637