DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogawa et al. (US 20130333929 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Ogawa et al. discloses a vehicular glass module comprising:
a glass panel 6;
an electric conductor (claim 3 and para. [0002]) disposed along a plate surface (top surface as seen in fig. 8) of the glass panel 6 and including a power supply section 5 in an end part;
at least one connection terminal (fig. 1 and 2) configured to supply electric power to the power supply section, the at least one connection terminal being made of a conductive material having a linear thermal expansion coefficient different from the glass panel (claim 2, and para. [0016]); and
a lead-free solder 4 bonding the connection terminal to the power supply section 5 to
electrically connect the electric conductor (claim 3 and para. [0002]) to the connection terminal, wherein:
the connection terminal includes a plate-shaped seating surface section 1 facing the power supply section 5; and
the lead-free solder 4 has a thickness (claim 8) equal to or more than two-thirds of a thickness of the seating surface section 1 (claim 7).
In regard to claim 2, Ogawa et al. discloses the lead-free solder 4 has an elongation percentage smaller than an Sn-Pb based solder (para.[0014]).
In regard to claim 3, Ogawa et al. discloses the seating surface section 1 and the plate surface of the glass panel 6 are disposed generally in parallel to each other, the plate surface facing the seating surface section 1.
In regard to claim 5, Ogawa et al. discloses the lead-free solder 4 present between the seating surface section 1 and the power supply section 5 has a volume equal to or less than a product of a contact area of the seating surface section 1 with the lead-free solder 4 and a separated distance from the seating surface section 1 to the power supply section 5.
In regard to claim 6, Ogawa et al. discloses the lead-free solder 4 has a contact area with the seating surface section 1, the contact area being equal to or more than a contact area with the power supply section 5.
In regard to claim 9, Ogawa et al. discloses the connection terminal is made of an alloy mainly containing copper (para. [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. in view of Rateiczak et al. (US 20120205152 A1).
In regard to claim 4, Ogawa et al. does not disclose the lead-free solder 4 has an intermediate region between the seating surface section 1 and the power supply section 5 such that the intermediate region is formed to be hollowed inwardly relative to both end regions in contact with the seating surface section 1 and the power supply section 5, respectively.
Rateiczak et al. discloses (fig. 8) the lead-free solder 7 has an intermediate region between the seating surface section 4 and the power supply section 2 such that the intermediate region 5 is formed to be hollowed inwardly relative to both end regions in contact with the seating surface section 4 and the power supply section 2, respectively. Because of the shape and the viscosity of the lead-free solder 7, the mechanical stresses were completely conducted via the intermediate layer 3. Critical forces between the seating surface section 4 and the glass pane 1 were not observed during production and during use para.[0078])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Ogawa et al. by constructing the lead-free solder as disclosed by Rateiczak et al. in order to relieve stress on the lead-free solder.
Claim(s) 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. in view of Degen et al. (US 10305239 B2).
In regard to claims 7, 8, Ogawa et al. does not disclose the seating surface section 1 further includes a projection projecting toward the electric conductor, wherein the lead-free solder has a thickness larger than a length of the projection in a direction perpendicular to the plate surface of the glass panel.
Degen et al. discloses (in fig. 12) the seating surface section 7, 7’ further includes a projection 19 projecting toward the electric conductor 2, wherein the lead-free solder 4 has a thickness larger than a length of the projection 19 in a direction perpendicular to the plate surface of the glass panel 1, and wherein by means of the projection 19, the formation of a uniform layer of solder material 4 is favored. That is particularly advantageous with regard to the adhesion of the connection element 3 (col. 12, lines 17-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Ogawa et al. by constructing the projection as disclosed by Degen et al. in order to improve the adhesion between the seating surface section and the electric conductor on the glass panel.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. in view of EP 3199286 A1.
In regard to claim 10, Ogawa et al. does not disclose the glass panel 6 is constituted by laminated glass including a first glass plate on a vehicle outer side and a second glass plate on a vehicle inner side such that the first glass plate and the second glass plate are disposed to face each other.
EP 3199286 A1 discloses in para. [0012] that the glass panel 20 is constituted by laminated glass including a first glass plate on a vehicle outer side and a second glass plate on a vehicle inner side such that the first glass plate and the second glass plate are disposed to face each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Ogawa et al. by constructing the glass panel as disclosed by EP 3199286 A1 in order to provide a stronger glass panel.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. in view of DE 112019002864 T5.
In regard to claim 11, Ogawa et al. discloses the lead-free solder is an Sn-Ag based solder (para. [0014]).
However, Ogawa et al. does not disclose a shielding layer disposed in a peripheral region of the glass panel.
DE 112019002864 T5 discloses a shielding layer 30 disposed in a peripheral region of the glass panel 10, wherein the shielding layer 30 has a urethane sealant for connecting and holding the vehicle window glass 10 on an automobile chassis is protected from deterioration due to ultraviolet radiation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Ogawa et al. by constructing the shielding layer as disclosed by DE 112019002864 T5 in order to protect the urethane sealant for connecting and holding the vehicle window glass 10 on an automobile chassis from deterioration due to ultraviolet radiation.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
3/16/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834