CTFR 18/572,278 CTFR 79293 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment II. This action is in response to applicants amendment/arguments filed on April 8, 2026. This action is made FINAL. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. III. Claims 1-4 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev et al. (US 2020/0120589 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0227699 A1). Regarding claim 1 Velev teaches a method of operating an Access and Mobility management Function (AMF) apparatus (see paragraph [0083] and Fig. 5A, The AMF handling an initial registration for the UE reads on a method of operating an Access and Mobility management Function (AMF) apparatus ), the method comprising: receiving, by the AMF apparatus from a User Equipment (UE), a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request message comprising first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) (see paragraph [0083] – [0084] and Fig. 5A, The UE performs an initial registration with the AMF. The UE sends a NAS Registration Request message including a Requested NSSAI to the AMF (502, Fig. 5A). This reads on receiving, by the AMF apparatus from a User Equipment (UE), a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request message comprising first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) ); and based on the AMF apparatus receiving information indicating that the first S-NSSAI is unavailable or congested (see paragraph [0090] and Fig. 5A, The AMF determines that one or more parameters used to establish the PDU session cannot be used anymore (512, Fig. 5A). The AMF determines a medication of the network slices for the UE. For example, the AMF may determine that S-NSSAI-a cannot be sued in the new registration area. This reads on based on the AMF apparatus receiving information indicating that the first S-NSSAI is unavailable or congested ), sending, by the AMF apparatus to a Session Management Function (SMF), a second S-NSSAI (see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 5A, The AMF sends to the first SMF a SM request including the new S-NSSAI (e.g., S-NSSAI-b) to be used by the UE. This reads on sending, by the AMF apparatus to a Session Management Function (SMF), a second S-NSSAI ). Velev does not teach the (PDU) session establishment request message comprising the first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI). Kim teaches a registration request message comprising first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI) (see paragraph [0098], When the terminal initially accesses the 5G network, the terminal includes information of a list of slices that the terminal desires to use in a registration message and transmits the registration message. The list of slices the terminal desires to use indicates at least first and second slice information and reads on the (PDU) session establishment request message comprising the first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI) ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the PDU) session establishment request message in Velev adapt to include the first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI) because the list of slices in the registration message in Kim can be sent to the AMF using well-known techniques it would allow for an efficient mechanism for the network to select the appropriate network function. Regarding claim 2 Velev teaches based on the AMF apparatus receiving the second S-NSSAI, proceeding with the PDU session establishment procedure using the second S-NSSAI (see paragraphs [0095] & [0101] and Fig. 5A & Fig. 5B, The second S-NSSAI-b is sent in step 514 (see 514, Fig. 5A) which is before the PDU session re-establishment request in step 528 (see 528, Fig. 5B). This reads on based on the AMF apparatus receiving the second S-NSSAI, proceeding with the PDU session establishment procedure using the second S-NSSAI ). Regarding claim 3 Velev teaches wherein the SMF is selected based on the second S-NSSAI (see paragraph [0116], The AMF selects a SMF (SMF-b) corresponding to replacement S-NSSAI-b. This reads on wherein the SMF is selected based on the second S-NSSAI ). Regarding claim 4 Velev teaches receiving a notification that the first S-NSSAI is available (see paragraph [0084], The UE sends a registration request with a requested NSSAI to the AMF. The AMF responds with an allowed/accepted S-NSSAI-a to the UE. This indicates the NSSAI is available and reads on receiving notification in a case where the first S-NSSAI is available ). Regarding claim 8 Velev teaches a method of operating a User Equipment (UE) (see paragraph [0083] and Fig. 5A, The UE sends a requested NSSAI to the network, the AMF receives the requested AMF. This reads on a method of operating User Equipment (UE) ), the method comprising: communicating with an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) apparatus (see paragraph [0083], The UE performing an initial registration with the AMF reads on communicating with an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) apparatus ); and sending, to the AMF apparatus, a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request message comprising first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) (see paragraph [0083] – [0084] and Fig. 5A, The UE performs an initial registration with the AMF. The UE sends a NAS Registration Request message including a Requested NSSAI to the AMF (502, Fig. 5A). This reads on sending, to the AMF apparatus, a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request message comprising first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) ), wherein the second S-NSSAI is configured to replace the first S-NSSAI in a case where the first S-NSSAI is not available (see paragraph [0090] and Fig. 5A, The AMF determines that one or more parameters used to establish the PDU session cannot be used anymore (512, Fig. 5A). The AMF determines a modification of the set of network slices for a UE. For example, the AMF may determine that S-NSSAI-a cannot be used anymore. This reads on wherein the second S-NSSAI is configured to replace the first S-NSSAI in a case where the first S-NSSAI is not available ). Velev does not teach the (PDU) session establishment request message comprising the first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI). Kim teaches a registration request message comprising first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI) (see paragraph [0098], When the terminal initially accesses the 5G network, the terminal includes information of a list of slices that the terminal desires to use in a registration message and transmits the registration message. The list of slices the terminal desires to use indicates at least first and second slice information and reads on the (PDU) session establishment request message comprising the first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI) ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the PDU) session establishment request message in Velev adapt to include the first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI) because the list of slices in the registration message in Kim can be sent to the AMF using well-known techniques it would allow for an efficient mechanism for the network to select the appropriate network function. Regarding claim 9 Velev teaches wherein sending the second S-NSSAI is configured to cause the PDU session establishment procedure to proceed using the second S-NSSAI (see paragraphs [0095] & [0101] and Fig. 5A & Fig. 5B, The second S-NSSAI-b is sent in step 514 (see 514, Fig. 5A) which is before the PDU session re-establishment request in step 528 (see 528, Fig. 5B). This reads on sending the second S-NSSAI is configured to cause the PDU session establishment procedure to proceed using the second S-NSSAI ). Regarding claim 10 Velev teaches an Access and Mobility management Function (AMF) (see paragraph [0083]) comprising: at least one memory (410, Fig. 4); and at least one hardware processor (405, Fig. 4) coupled to the at least one memory (see Fig. 4), wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured (see paragraphs [0063] & [0065]) to: receive, by the AMF apparatus from a User Equipment (UE), a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request message comprising first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) (see paragraph [0083] – [0084] and Fig. 5A, The UE performs an initial registration with the AMF. The UE sends a NAS Registration Request message including a Requested NSSAI to the AMF (502, Fig. 5A). This reads on receiving, by the AMF apparatus from a User Equipment (UE), a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request message comprising first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) ); based on the AMF apparatus receiving information indicating that the first S-NSSAI is unavailable or congested (see paragraph [0090] and Fig. 5A, The AMF determines that one or more parameters used to establish the PDU session cannot be used anymore (512, Fig. 5A). The AMF determines a medication of the network slices for the UE. For example, the AMF may determine that S-NSSAI-a cannot be sued in the new registration area. This reads on based on the AMF apparatus receiving information indicating that the first S-NSSAI is unavailable or congested ), sending, by the AMF apparatus to a Session Management Function (SMF), a second S-NSSAI (see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 5A, The AMF sends to the first SMF a SM request including the new S-NSSAI (e.g., S-NSSAI-b) to be used by the UE. This reads on sending, by the AMF apparatus to a Session Management Function (SMF), a second S-NSSAI ). Velev does not teach the (PDU) session establishment request message comprising the first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI). Kim teaches a registration request message comprising first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI) (see paragraph [0098], When the terminal initially accesses the 5G network, the terminal includes information of a list of slices that the terminal desires to use in a registration message and transmits the registration message. The list of slices the terminal desires to use indicates at least first and second slice information and reads on the (PDU) session establishment request message comprising the first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI) ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the PDU) session establishment request message in Velev adapt to include the first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI) because the list of slices in the registration message in Kim can be sent to the AMF using well-known techniques it would allow for an efficient mechanism for the network to select the appropriate network function. Regarding claim 11 Velev teaches a User Equipment (UE) (see paragraph [0083]) comprising: at least one memory (310, Fig. 3); and at least one hardware processor coupled to the at least one memory (see Fig. 3), wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured (see paragraphs [0048] & [0050]) to: communicate with an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) apparatus (see paragraph [0083], The UE performing an initial registration with the AMF reads on communicating with an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) apparatus ); and sending, to the AMF apparatus, a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request message comprising first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) (see paragraph [0083] – [0084] and Fig. 5A, The UE performs an initial registration with the AMF. The UE sends a NAS Registration Request message including a Requested NSSAI to the AMF (502, Fig. 5A). This reads on sending, to the AMF apparatus, a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request message comprising first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) ), wherein the second S-NSSAI is configured to replace the first S-NSSAI in a case where the first S-NSSAI is not available (see paragraph [0090] and Fig. 5A, The AMF determines that one or more parameters used to establish the PDU session cannot be used anymore (512, Fig. 5A). The AMF determines a modification of the set of network slices for a UE. For example, the AMF may determine that S-NSSAI-a cannot be used anymore. This reads on wherein the second S-NSSAI is configured to replace the first S-NSSAI in a case where the first S-NSSAI is not available ). Velev does not teach the (PDU) session establishment request message comprising the first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI). Kim teaches a registration request message comprising first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI) (see paragraph [0098], When the terminal initially accesses the 5G network, the terminal includes information of a list of slices that the terminal desires to use in a registration message and transmits the registration message. The list of slices the terminal desires to use indicates at least first and second slice information and reads on the (PDU) session establishment request message comprising the first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI) ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the PDU) session establishment request message in Velev adapt to include the first Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information (S-NSSAI) and second (S-NSSAI) because the list of slices in the registration message in Kim can be sent to the AMF using well-known techniques it would allow for an efficient mechanism for the network to select the appropriate network function. Response to Arguments IV. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 and 8-11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Conclusion 07-96 V. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wei et al. Pub. No.: US 2020/0383043 A1 discloses apparatus and method for network slicing and slice management to support multi-slice services including a UE sending a PDU session establishment request to an AMF (see paragraphs [0104] – [0110]). Prabhakar et al. Pub. No.: US 2021/0211974 A1 discloses network slice quota management including a UE sending registration requests for multiple S-NSSAIs. 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRANDON J MILLER whose telephone number is (571)272-7869. The examiner can normally be reached M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alison Slater can be reached at 571-270-0375 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647 June 2, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/572,278 Page 2 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/572,278 Page 3 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/572,278 Page 4 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/572,278 Page 5 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/572,278 Page 6 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/572,278 Page 7 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/572,278 Page 8 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/572,278 Page 9 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/572,278 Page 10 Art Unit: 2647