DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2023 and 2/4/2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 12/20/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeong et al (US 20200235369 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong discloses a cylindrical battery (100) comprising an electrode assembly (120) including a first electrode having an elongated shape and a second electrode having an elongated shape, the first electrode having a plurality of lead portions, the first electrode and the second electrode being wound with a separator (123) interposed therebetween; an outer housing can (110) having a cylindrical shape with a closed bottom, the outer housing can (110) housing the electrode assembly (120); and a sealing assembly (150) fixed by crimping to an opening of the outer housing can (110), wherein the sealing assembly (150) includes a sealing plate (151) and a current collector plate (131), the current collector plate (131) having a through hole (132), and wherein the plurality of lead portions (124) extend through the through hole (132) and are folded back and joined on the current collector plate (131) [Fig. 1-5; paragraph 0031-0101].
Regarding claim 3, Jeong teaches that the sealing assembly (150) includes a metal plate (136) disposed between the current collector plate (131) and the sealing plate (151), the plurality of lead portions (124) being held between the current collector plate (131) and the metal plate (136) [Fig. 1-2].
Regarding claim 4, Jeong teaches that the metal plate (136) has a through hole (132, 137, 138) [Fig. 1-2; paragraph 0048].
Regarding claim 6, Jeong teaches that the sealing plate (151) serves as a terminal cap [Fig. 1; paragraph 0040].
Regarding claim 7, Jeong teaches that the first electrode serves as a positive electrode [Fig. 1; paragraph 0037-0040].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (US 20200235369 A1) as applied in clam 1 and further in view of Cho et al (US 20230006313 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Jeong remains silent that the sealing plate is joined to an outer circumferential portion of the current collector plate. However, it is known in the art join the sealing plate (130) to an outer circumferential portion of the current collector plate (150) as taught by Cho [Fig. 1-2; paragraph 0036-0041]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
12. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (US 20200235369 A1) as applied in clam 1 and further in view of Kozuki et al (US 20100104945 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Jeong remains silent that the current collector plate has a recess in which the plurality of lead portions are received. However, Kozuki teaches a cylindrical battery wherein the current collector is provided with recess and the recess being located to the inside of the outer circumferential portion in the radial direction [Fig. 1-4; paragraph 0029-0030, 0101, 0175, 0175, 0187]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723