DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 2, 3, 4, 9-10,12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the rim shaped casing” in line 3. It then recites "the casing" in lines 4, 8, 9, and 11. Claim 4 recites the limitation "the casing" in lines 4 and 7. Claim 12 recites the limitation "the casing" in line 2. Claim 14 recites the limitation "the casing" in line 2. It is not clear if “the rim shaped casing” refers to “the casing”. Consistent terminology should be used. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a long body” in line 2, but recites "the body" in line 3. Claim 9 recites the limitation "the body" in lines 3 and 4. Claim 10 recites the limitation "the body" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Additionally, “long” is indefinite relative term.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "on one end and at least one of two opposite ends of each of the films based on the length direction" in lines 4-5 [emphasis added]. The phrase "at least one of two opposite ends" appears to encompass the phrase "on one end"; the phrases make the metes and bounds of the claim unclear. For examination on the merits, prior art that teaches each of the plurality of films comprising a structure in which an electrode layer is interposed between a first insulation film and a second insulation film will be interpreted as also teaching the limitations recited in lines 4-6 of claim 3.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the outside through the electrode exposure portion" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the phrase "wherein when an end of each of the films at which the electrode exposure portion is formed is referred to as an exposure end" [emphasis added]. The phrase raises the following: Should the phrase be interpreted as "wherein [[when]] an end of each of the plurality of films [[at]] which formed the electrode exposure portion or "wherein an exposure end comprises an end of each of the plurality of films that formed the exposure portion"?
Claim 6 recites the limitations "a front surface of the exposure end" and "a rear surface of the exposure end" in lines 2-3 that raises the question—front and rear in reference to what? The terms "front" and "rear" are relative and undefined in the claim. The term "close" is recited in line 3 and is both relative and subjective—"close contact" to what; what determines close? The metes and bounds of claim 6 are unclear.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a plurality of guide protrusions" in line 2 and the limitations "the guide protrusion," at least a part of the guide protrusion," and "an end of the guide protrusion" in lines 4, 5, and 6, respectively [emphasis added]. Is the limitation a plurality of guide protrusions in line 2 distinct from or the same as the limitations in lines 4, 5, and 6?
Claims 1, 3-4, 10, and 12 recites the phrases "one side," "the other end," "the other side," "on at least one of one side," "the other side," "on one end," "at least one of two opposite ends," "one end," "the other end," "along one side," "one at least one of one side," "the other side," "along one side," "the other side," "at one side," "the other side," respectively. The claims do not clearly establish an antecedent basis for the limitations recited in these phrases.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the protruding portion" in line 2. Is this limitation distinct from or the same as the limitation "a plurality of protruding portions" recited in claim 4?
Since the above claims are indefinite, claims 5, 7-9, and 13 are also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noh (US 20120312170 A1).
For claim 1, Noh discloses a dust collection unit (collector 20; Fig. 3), which is configured to collect electrically charged dust particles (par [0053]), the dust collection unit comprising: a rim-shaped casing (collector case 100; par [0059]; Fig. 1-4A); a plurality of films ([0106] #300/400 film with electrode thereon) accommodated in the casing and configured to collect the electrically charged dust particles (par [0057]; Figs. 1-2, 6A-C); and a conductive terminal (either one of power connection terminals 410, 510 and 520; Figs. 1, 4C-D, 7) configured to apply voltages to the plurality of films (pars [0075]-[0079]), wherein one end of each of the plurality of films 300/400 based on a length direction is fixed to one side of the casing 100 (pars [0090]-[0101]), and the other end of each of the plurality of films based on the length direction is fixed to the other side of the casing (pars [0090]-[0101]), and wherein the conductive terminal is disposed on at least one of one side and the other side of the casing and electrically connects the plurality of films (pars [0090], [0092], [0099]).
For claim 2, Noh discloses the dust collection unit of claim 1, wherein the conductive terminal comprises: a long body; and a plurality of contact protrusions protruding in one direction from the body (Figs. 1, 4C-D, 7; pars [0078], [0090] ).
For claim 15, Noh discloses an electric dust collection apparatus (electrostatic precipitator 1; Figs. 1-2; pars [0052]-[0053]) comprising: an electrification unit (charger 10) configured to electrically charge dust particles by receiving a voltage (par [0054]-[0056]); and the dust collection unit of claim 1(collector 20). See claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh (US 20120312170 A1) in view of Jeon (US 20170120256 A1).
For claim 3, Noh is relied upon as indicated above. Noh does not explicitly state wherein the films each have a structure in which an electrode layer is interposed between a first insulation film and a second insulation film, and wherein an electrode exposure portion is formed on one end and at least one of two opposite ends of each of the films based on the length direction, and a part of the electrode layer is exposed to the outside through the electrode exposure portion as recited in claim 3. However, Noh does disclose the high-voltage electrodes 300 and low-voltage electrodes 400 (i.e., “plurality of films”) of the collector 20 (i.e., “dust collection unit”) are formed of a conductive material, or are formed of a non-conductive material, the surface of which is subjected to surface treatment (par [0093]). Prior art to Jeon discloses in the background of the invention section a dust collection unit comprising first and second film types and each first film comprises insulative layers on opposite surfaces of an electrically conductive layer and each second film comprises a metal (pars [0009], [0019]). Additionally, Jeon discloses an electrode layer interposed between a first insulation film and a second insulation film with an electrode exposure portion (pars [0092]-[0098]; Figs. 6-7). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention substitute the electrode layer of Jeon for the film of Noh to obviate adverse performance as discussed in Jeon. NOTE: The phrase “layer is exposed to the outside through the electrode exposure portion” is interpreted as an intended use/result. The instant invention is an apparatus. Apparatus claims are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than intended use or function. See MPEP § 2114.
For claim 4, the teaching of the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Noh further discloses, wherein a connection structure in which the conductive terminal and one end or the other end of each of the films based on the length direction are disposed and the conductive terminal and each of the films are electrically connected is provided on at least one of one side and the other side of the casing, wherein the connection structure is formed as a structure in which a plurality of insertion grooves and a plurality of protruding portions are alternately formed along one side or the other side of the casing, and wherein when an end of each of the films at which the electrode exposure portion is formed is referred to as an exposure end, the exposure ends of the films are inserted into the insertion grooves of the connection structure, and the contact protrusions of the conductive terminal are inserted into the insertion grooves of the connection structure, such that the electrode exposure portions of the films and the contact protrusions are in contact with one another. See Figs. 1, 4C-D, 5A-C, 6A-C, 7; pars [0057]-[0059], [0063]-[0078], [0085]-[0093]: see the following reference characters: 131A, 131, 132, 133, 133A, 134, 134A, 230, 231, 232, 300, 400, 510, 520.
For claim 5, the teaching of the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Noh further discloses wherein the contact protrusions of the conductive terminal are respectively physically inserted and fitted into the insertion grooves of the connection structure (Figs. 1, 4A-D, 7). The phrase “wherein the contact protrusions of the conductive terminal are respectively physically inserted and fitted into the insertion grooves of the connection structure” is interpreted as an intended use/result. The instant invention is an apparatus. Apparatus claims are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than intended use or function. See MPEP § 2114.
For claim 6, the teaching of the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Jeon discloses electrode exposure portion is formed on a surface of the exposure end of each of the films (Figs. 6-7). The prior art references do not appear specifically state a front surface of the exposure end of each of the films, and a rear surface of the exposure end is disposed to be in close contact with the protruding portion. Nevertheless, these features are considered location of parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to relocate the features as claimed since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art and relocating would not have changed the function of the device. See MPEP § 2144.04(VIC).
For claim 7, the teaching of the prior art is relied upon as indicated above and teaches wherein the electrode exposure portion has an area larger than a contact area of the contact protrusion being in contact with the electrode exposure portion (see Jeon Figs. 6-7). The phrase “the electrode exposure portion has an area larger than a contact area of the contact protrusion being in contact with the electrode exposure portion” is considered as an intended use/result. The instant invention is an apparatus. Apparatus claims are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than intended use or function. See MPEP § 2114.
For claim 8, the teaching of the prior art is relied upon as indicated above and teaches wherein an insulating material is inserted into the insertion groove of the connection structure, such that the electrode exposure portion of the film is insulated and sealed. The phrase “such that the electrode exposure portion of the film is insulated and sealed” is considered as an intended use/result. The instant invention is an apparatus. Apparatus claims are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than intended use or function. See MPEP § 2114.
For claim 9, the teaching of the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Noh teaches wherein a guide groove is recessed inward in the protruding portion of the connection structure while traversing an upper surface of the protruding portion, and at least a part of the body of the conductive terminal is inserted into the guide groove so that a position of the body is fixed (Figs. 1, 4C-D, 5A-C, 7).
For claim 10, the teaching of the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Noh teaches wherein the conductive terminal has a shape further including a plurality of guide protrusions protruding in one direction from the body, wherein the guide protrusion is formed at a position corresponding to the guide groove such that at least a part of the guide protrusion is formed in the guide groove, and wherein an end of the guide protrusion is formed in a curved shape (Figs. 1, 4C-D, 5A-C, 7).
For claim 11, the teaching of the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Noh teaches wherein an inclined guide surface is formed on an upper portion of the protruding portion of the connection structure and inclined toward the insertion groove (Figs. 1, 4C-D, 5A-C, 7). The phrase “is formed on an upper portion of the protruding portion of the connection structure and inclined toward the insertion groove” is an intended result/use. The instant invention is an apparatus. Apparatus claims are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than intended use or function. See MPEP § 2114.
For claim 12, the teaching of the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Noh teaches wherein interval maintaining parts are respectively provided at one side and the other side of the casing to maintain intervals between the films, wherein the interval maintaining part comprises: first fixing portions each configured to support one surface of each of the films; and second fixing portions each configured to support the other surface of each of the films, and wherein the first fixing portion and the second fixing portion are disposed in an oblique direction with respect to each other (Figs. 1, 4C-D, 6A-C, 5A-C, 7; pars [0008], [0010], [0080], [0096], [0100]). The phrase “are disposed in an oblique direction with respect to each other” is considered an intended result/use. The instant invention is an apparatus. Apparatus claims are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than intended use or function. See MPEP § 2114.
For claim 13, the teaching of the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Noh teaches wherein inclined guide surfaces are respectively formed on an upper portion of the first fixing portion and an upper portion of the second fixing portion and inclined toward a gap between the first fixing portion and the second fixing portion(Figs. 1, 4C-D, 5A-C, 7).
For claim 14, the teaching of the prior art is relied upon as indicated above. Noh teaches wherein a dust collection unit set, which includes the casing, the plurality of films, and the conductive terminal (Fig. 1) . The phrase “is provided as a single dust collection unit set constituting a single-layer structure, or the dust collection unit set is provided as a plurality of dust collection unit sets stacked in an upward/downward direction to constitute a multilayer structure” is considered an intended result/use. The instant invention is an apparatus. Apparatus claims are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than intended use or function. See MPEP § 2114.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant should consider the references below in response to this Office Action:
US4313741 see fig. 29,31.
US 20220331815 A1: high-voltage bus bar 13; separation unit 170; filter frame 40.
US 20210291199 A1: dust collecting unit 20; a plurality of positive electrodes 210, 220; insulating support member 300.
US 2359149 A: housing 80, insulated precipitator plates 63, high voltage plates 85, insulators 102, busbar 104.
US 20150266033 A1: frame 301; spacer 109; endplates 102,103; conductive terminal 104, 105; conductive strip 108.
US 20200179946 A1: bus bar 700, 900; collecting electrodes 310, 330; case 500.
JP 3622600 B2: dust collecting electrode unit 11; electrodes 5; frame member 12; collector portion 6; electrode unit 10; support 8; power supply 9.
/SONJI TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1776 March 5, 2026
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776