Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 6/3/2026 is acknowledged. As no mention of traverse was made in the response, the election is considered without traverse.
Claim 32 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/3/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Freeman et al. (US 2019/0343184 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Freeman teaches an aerosol-generating device for generating an aerosol from an aerosol- forming substrate (Para. [0022]) where the aerosol-generating device comprises a controller configured to control a usage session (Para. [0029]) to select one of a first criterion and a second criterion different from the first criterion, and to control the usage session with reference to the selected criterion, wherein both the first criterion and the second criterion are criteria selected from the list consisting of volume of aerosol-generated (first criterion, Para. [0032]), a combination of time and number of user puffs (second criterion, Para. [0032]), a combination of time and volume of aerosol-generated, and a combination of time and a monitored user interaction parameter.
Regarding claim 17, Freeman teaches that the controller controls the duration of the session based off the volume of aerosol-generated (first criterion) (Para. [0030]).
Regarding claim 18, Freeman teaches that the controller is configured to control the usage session with regards to the first and second criterion (Para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Freeman teaches using LED lights (visual indicator) to display the usage session progress (Para. [0031]).
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Freeman teaches using a slider, switch, or dial (user interface) to select which criterion controls the session (Para. [0051]).
Regarding claim 22, Freeman teaches that the further criterion is pressure drop to determine when a user stop inhaling (monitored user interaction parameter) (Para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 23, Freeman teaches that the device is configured so that the usage session has a maximum duration based upon the first criterion (Para. [0048]).
Regarding claim 24, Freeman teaches that when the criterion selected is volume of aerosol generated, the usage session has a maximum duration based on the volume threshold (Para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 25, Freeman teaches that the device is configured to monitor pressure drop to determine when a user stop inhaling (monitored user interaction parameter) (Para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 26, Freeman teaches that the user interaction parameter is indicative of puffs taken (Para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 27, Freeman teaches a puff counting mechanism (Para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 28, Freeman teaches a plurality of light emitting units (Para. [0031]) configured to indicate the progress of the session in a sequence where n equals 4.
Regarding claim 29, Freeman teaches a visual indicator consisting of a plurality of light emitting units (Para. [0031]) wherein control electronics are configured to independently control each light emitting unit (Para. [0048], lights configured to indicate various variables) of the plurality of light emitting units to display a first indication so as to indicate a progression of the usage session to a user when the usage session is controlled by the first criterion (Para. [0031], [0048]), and to display a second indication visually distinguishable from the first indication, so as to indicate the progression of the usage session to the user when the usage session is controlled by the second criterion (Para. [0031], [0048]).
Regarding claim 30, Freeman teaches that the first or second indication is a sequence of lights (Para. [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman et al. (US 2019/0343184 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Freeman does not teach that the first indication is a different illumination sequence from the second indication and/or the first indication is a different colour illumination from the second indication; however, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing as Freeman teaches a device that would be capable of having the first and the second indication be different illumination sequences (Para. [0031], [0048]) due to having lighted indicators to indicate the progression of different criterion (Para. [0031], [0048]).
Conclusion
/N.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749