DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “non-combustible adhesive material” (See Claims 6-7) and the “fixing means” (See Claims 16-18) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claims 2-19, each instance of “A fire barrier product” should be revised to “The fire barrier product” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claims 2-3, each instance of “man made” should be revised to “man-made” to ensure proper spelling.
In Claim 4 Lines 1-2, “claim 1 claim wherein” should be revised to “claim 1 wherein” to correct an apparent scrivener’s error.
In Claim 5 Line 2, “wherein intumescent composition” should be revised to “wherein the intumescent composition” to ensure proper grammar.
In Claim 9 Line 2, “provide in the form of a film” should be revised to “provided in film form” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 11 Line 2, “provide in the form of a film” should be revised to “provided in film form” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 15 Lines 1-3, “wherein the intumescent composition is arranged on a different portion of the support on the opposite side of the cavity to the compressed expandable non-combustible material” should be revised to “wherein the intumescent composition is arranged on a different portion of the support on an opposite side of the cavity relative to the compressed expandable non-combustible material” to ensure clarity in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitations:
The “fixing means” in Claims 16-17 corresponds to the disclosure in Page 13 of the Specification which states, “Fixing means may be provided within the fire barrier product of the first aspect or separately as part of the kit of the second aspect. Any suitable means by which the fire barrier product can be attached to a wall or other structure can be used as a fixing means. Such means include adhesives, cup head pins, spikes, angles, shelves, brackets, channels, adhesives, screws, bolts or other fixings.”. Furthermore, Claim 18 states “wherein the fixing means is selected from spikes, angles, shelves, brackets, channels, adhesives, screws, bolts, or other fixings”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “fixing means” in Claims 16-17 to be adhesives, cup head pins, spikes, angles, shelves, brackets, channels, adhesives, screws, bolts or other fixings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PGPUB 2015/0059260 A1 to Kallweit et al. (“Kallweit”).
As to Claim 1, Kallweit discloses a fire barrier product (See #4, #8, and #10 in Fig. 1 which combine to make up a fire barrier. See the embodiment of #10 shown in Fig. 3.) for a cavity (#7) comprising a compressed expandable non-combustible material (See #24 in Fig. 3, which per Paragraph 0045 is made of bent mineral fiber which is compressed to some extent by #28 per Paragraph 0047), an intumescent composition (See Paragraph 0046 disclosing an intumescent material in #27 and See Annotated Fig. 3), an expandable covering (See #26 in Fig. 3, which per Paragraph 0047 can be an expandable coating covered by aluminum film) and a heat-frangible covering (See #28 in Fig. 3, which per Paragraph 0054 can be polyethylene film and per Paragraph 0047 burns or melts under action of fire, thus #28 is heat-frangible).
As to Claim 2, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit further discloses wherein the compressed expandable non-combustible material is selected from man made mineral fibres and man made vitreous fibres (See Paragraph 0045 disclosing mineral fiber board, which is man-made).
As to Claim 3, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit further discloses wherein the compressed expandable non-combustible material is selected from one or more of mineral wool, mineral fibres, mineral cotton, vitreous fibres, stone wool, slag wool, glass wool, ceramic fibre, ceramic wool and other man made fibres (See Paragraph 0045 disclosing that that #24 is made of mineral fiber).
As to Claim 4, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit further discloses wherein the intumescent composition is coated on at least a portion of a surface of the compressed expandable non-combustible material (See Paragraph 0046 disclosing that intumescent material is applied in #27, thus the intumescent composition is coated on at least an inner portion of an inner surface of #24 when #24 is bent as shown in Annotated Fig. 3).
As to Claim 6, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit further discloses wherein the fire barrier product further comprises a non-combustible adhesive material (See #11 in Fig. 1, which per Paragraph 0037 is an adhesive mortar. Adhesive mortar used in fire barrier applications is non-combustible).
As to Claim 8, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit further discloses wherein the expandable covering is arranged between the compressed expandable non-combustible material and the heat-frangible covering (See Annotated Fig. 3 and Paragraphs 0045-0047. One leg #23 of the compressed expandable non-combustible material has expandable covering #26 applied to it, and then #24 is wrapped with heat-frangible covering #28. Thus #26 is between #24 and #28).
As to Claim 9, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit further discloses wherein the expandable covering is provided in the form of a film (See Fig. 3 and Paragraph 0045. #26 is a coating that includes a lining of aluminum, thus the expandable covering is in film form).
As to Claim 10, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit further discloses wherein the expandable covering comprises a metal (See Paragraph 0045 disclosing #26 having a cover of aluminum foil).
As to Claim 11, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit further discloses wherein the heat-frangible covering is provided in the form of a film (See Paragraph 0054 disclosing that #28 is a polyethylene film).
As to Claim 12, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit further discloses wherein the heat-frangible covering comprises a polymeric material (See Paragraph 0054 disclosing that #28 is a polyethylene film. Polyethylene is a polymeric material).
As to Claim 14, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit further discloses wherein the fire barrier product further comprises a support (See #4 in Fig. 1 which helps support the fire barrier product against #2).
As to Claim 15, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 14 above, Kallweit further discloses wherein the intumescent composition is arranged on a different portion of the support on the opposite side of the cavity to the compressed expandable non-combustible material (See Annotated Fig. 3, the intumescent composition in #27 is located on a top side of the cavity adjacent to an upper section of #4 while #24 is partially located below #27 on a bottom side of the cavity adjacent to a lower section of #4).
As to Claim 16, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit further discloses wherein the fire barrier product further comprises fixing means (See #8 in Fig. 1, which per Paragraph 0036 includes screws and adhesive).
As to Claim 17, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit further discloses a kit (See Fig. 1) comprising the fire barrier product as claimed in claim 1 (See #10, #4, and #8 in Fig. 1) and fixing means (See Paragraph 0036 disclosing screws being used with #8).
As to Claim 18, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 16 above, Kallweit further discloses wherein the fixing means is selected from spikes, angles, shelves, brackets, channels, adhesives, screws, bolts or other fixings (See Paragraph 0036 disclosing screws and adhesives).
As to Claim 19, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit discloses a method of forming a closure across a cavity (See Fig. 1), the method comprising fixing a fire barrier product according to claim 1 within the cavity (See Paragraph 0036 and Paragraphs 0045-0047) and heating the fire barrier product (See Paragraph 0047 disclosing a fire occurring, which will heat the fire barrier product).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kallweit in view of US PGPUB 2017/0030609 A1 to Kjetil et al. (“Kjetil”).
Regarding Claim 5, in reference to the fire barrier product according of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit does not specifically disclose wherein intumescent composition comprises an intumescent material comprising phosphorus, sulfur, a halogen, a melamine compound, boron, a polyol or a mixture thereof (See Paragraph 0046 disclosing an intumescent material being provided in #27, but a specific intumescent composition is not disclosed).
However, Kjetil discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fire protection (See Paragraph 0001), a fire barrier product (See Fig. 1A) comprising an intumescent composition that comprises an intumescent material comprising phosphorus, sulfur, a halogen, a melamine compound, boron, a polyol or a mixture thereof (See Paragraph 0053).
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice per In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above such that the intumescent composition of Kallweit comprises an intumescent material comprising phosphorus, sulfur, a halogen, a melamine compound, boron, a polyol or a mixture thereof as taught by Kjetil, since doing so would utilize a known intumescent material suitable for fire protection (Kjetil Paragraph 0058).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kallweit in view of GB-2411200-A to Ward (“Ward”).
Regarding Claim 7, in reference to the fire barrier product according of Kallweit as applied to Claim 6 above, Kallweit does not specifically disclose wherein the non-combustible adhesive material is arranged between the compressed expandable non-combustible material and the intumescent composition (See Paragraph 0046 disclosing that an intumescent material is provided in #27, but the adhesive mortar #11 is shown in Fig. 1 as being on an exterior of #10).
However, Kjetil discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fire protection (See Page 1 Paragraph 1), a fire barrier product (See Fig. 1) comprising an adhesive material (See Page 3 Paragraph 2 disclosing intumescent containing adhesive) that is arranged between an expandable non-combustible material (#4, which per Page 3 Paragraph 2 can be glass wool) and an intumescent composition (See Page 3 Paragraph 2 disclosing that intumescent sheets #2 and #3 are secured to #4 with an adhesive).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 6 above such that an additional amount of the non-combustible adhesive material of Kallweit is arranged between the compressed expandable non-combustible material and the intumescent composition, since doing so would yield the predictable result of helping secure the intumescent composition to the compressed expandable non-combustible material (See Kjetil Page 3 Paragraph 2).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kallweit in view of US PGPUB 2021/0379430 A1 to Ahn (“Ahn”).
Regarding Claim 13, in reference to the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above, Kallweit does not specifically disclose the heat-frangible covering is made from a material having a melting point of 70°C to 150°C (See Paragraph 0054 disclosing polyethylene material, but a specific melting point is not disclosed).
However, Ahn discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fire protection (See Paragraph 0002) a fire barrier product (See Fig. 1) comprising a heat-frangible covering (#14) that is made from a polyethylene material that has a melting point of 105°C to 125°C (See Paragraph 0060 disclosing LDPE or LLDPE with melting points from 105°C to 125°C).
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice per In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire barrier product of Kallweit as applied to Claim 1 above such that the heat-frangible covering made from the polyethylene material of Ahn, since doing so would yield the predicable result of activating the fire barrier product as a desired temperature when a fire is occurring (See Ahn Paragraphs 0060-0061). Making such a modification would result in the melting point of material of the heat-frangible being within the claimed range of 70°C to 150°C
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited Form PTO-892.
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3752 December 5, 2025