Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 12/20/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, lines 6-7 recite “among radio waves”, which should be revised to “among the radio waves”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a determination unit” (claims 1-8) – Interpreted to be part of a “a CPU”, in accordance with the instant application’s specification ¶ [0024].
“a decision unit” (claims 2, 9) – Interpreted to be part of a “a CPU”, in accordance with the instant application’s specification ¶ [0034].
“a phase adjustment unit” (claims 4-6) – Interpreted to be part of a “a CPU”, in accordance with the instant application’s specification ¶ [0024].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 4-5 recite “a power receiver to which power is supplied by a radio wave transmitted from each of the plurality of power transmitters”.
This language is indefinite as to the plurality of the “radio wave” supplied to the power receiver. For examination purposes, it is interpreted that the power receiver is supplied by a plurality of radio waves, wherein each power transmitter supplies one of the plurality of radio waves.
Claim 1, lines 8-9 recite “a signal received from the power receiver or each of other power transmitters of the plurality of power transmitters”. This language is indefinite as to the plurality of the “signal”.
If “received from the power receiver”, then the signal would be singular.
Alternatively, if received from “each of other power transmitters of the plurality of power transmitters”, then there would need to be a plurality of signals.
For examination purposes, it is interpreted the term “signal” may be singular or plural.
Further, there is insufficient antecedent basis in the claim language for the “other power transmitters”. Thus, this language is indefinite as to what makes up the “other power transmitters”.
For examination purposes, it is interpreted that the “other power transmitters” may be any in the “plurality of power transmitters”, including or not including each of the “master power transmitter”, “slave power transmitters”, and “first power transmitter”.
Claim 2, line 4 recites “a plurality of the radio waves”. This language is indefinite as to the plurality of the “radio wave(s)” due to its contradiction with claim 1, which only introduces a single “radio wave”.
Claim 3, lines 2-4 recite “each of the plurality of power transmitters receives, from the power receiver, a reception intensity signal indicating a reception intensity of the radio wave transmitted to the power receiver”.
This language is indefinite as to which “reception intensity” is indicated in the “reception intensity signal”. Because claim 1 requires that the power receiver receives “a radio wave transmitted from each of the plurality of power transmitters”, it was interpreted that each transmitter sends a respective radio wave of a plurality of radio waves to the power receiver. Thus, there must also be a plurality of reception intensity values (one value for every power transmitter).
For examination purposes, it is interpreted that the “reception intensity signal” indicates at least one of the reception intensities of the radio waves transmitted to the power receiver.
Claim 3, lines 5-7 and claim 8, lines 5-7 recite “a power transmitter-side signal receiver configured to receive a notification signal including information on the reception intensity from each of the other power transmitters”. This language is indefinite because it may be interpreted in the following different ways.
Firstly, one may interpret that “from each of the other power transmitters” is intended to modify “receive a notification signal”. However, then the language is further indefinite as to the plurality of the “notification signal” because there a plurality of “other power transmitters”.
Alternatively, one may interpret that “from each of the other power transmitters” is intended to describe of paths of the radio waves from which “the reception intensity” is observed. In this interpretation, the signal is not required to be received from each of the other power transmitters.
For examination purposes, any of the above-described possible interpretations of the indefinite language are broadly considered to be valid.
Claim 4, lines 2-3 recite “the radio wave”. However, claim 1 is interpreted to require a plurality of radio waves. Thus, claim 4 is indefinite as to which of the plurality of radio waves is being modified. For examination purposes, it is interpreted that claim 4 requires any one of the plurality of radio waves to be modified by the phase adjustment unit.
Claim 5, lines 3-4 recite “to synchronize the phase of the radio wave to be transmitted to the power receiver”. However, claim 1 is interpreted to require a plurality of radio waves. Thus, claim 5 is indefinite as to which of the plurality of radio waves is being synchronized.
Claim 6, line 2 recites “the radio wave”. However, claim 1 is interpreted to require a plurality of radio waves. Thus, claim 6 is indefinite as to which of the plurality of radio waves is being modified. For examination purposes, it is interpreted that claim 6 requires any one of the plurality of radio waves to be modified by the phase adjustment unit.
Claim 7, lines 1-2 separately introduce “A power transmitter” and “a plurality of power transmitters”. Thus, claim 7 is indefinite as to the plurality of the power transmitter(s).
Claim 7, line 4 recites “the power transmitter comprising: …”. This language is indefinite as to which of the “plurality of power transmitters” is being referenced.
Claim 7, lines 6-7 recite “other power transmitters”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this term in the claim language. Thus, this language is indefinite as to what makes up the “other power transmitters”.
For examination purposes, it is interpreted that the “other power transmitters” may be any in the “plurality of power transmitters”, including or not including each of the “master power transmitter”, “slave power transmitters”, and “first power transmitter”.
Claim 8, lines 2-4 recite “each of the plurality of power transmitters receives, from the power receiver, a reception intensity signal indicating a reception intensity of the radio wave transmitted to the power receiver”.
This language is indefinite as to which “reception intensity” is indicated in the “reception intensity signal”. Because claim 7 requires that the power receiver receives a “radio waves transmitted from a plurality of power transmitters”, there must be a plurality of reception intensity values (one value for every power transmitter).
For examination purposes, it is interpreted that the “reception intensity signal” indicates at least one of the reception intensities of the radio waves transmitted to the power receiver.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hada et al. (US 2016/0197488 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hada discloses a wireless power supply system (“wireless power feeding system”; Figs. 1, 16).
Hada further discloses the wireless power supply system (Figs. 1, 16) comprising a plurality of power transmitters (“power transmission devices 10a-10d, 10x-10z”, sometimes referred to simply as “10”; Figs. 1-2, 4, 10, 16-17) including a master power transmitter (per ¶ [87, 91], “10b” is assigned as the “master device” in the Fig. 4 example; in the Fig. 17 example, “10y”) and slave power transmitters (per ¶ [87, 91], “10a” and “10c” are assigned as “slave devices” in the Fig. 4 example; in the Fig. 17 example, “10x” and “10z”) controlled by the master power transmitter (¶ [87]: “The master device has an authority to determine which of the power transmission devices 10a to 10c is to transmit power to which of the power reception devices 20a to 20d.”; ¶ [103]: “the master instructs … the slaves to start power transmission (power feeding) to the power reception devices”).
Hada further discloses the wireless power supply system (Figs. 1, 16) comprising a power receiver (any one of “power reception devices 20a-20, 20x-20z”, sometimes referred to simply as “20”; Figs. 1, 3-4, 10, 16-17) to which power is supplied by a radio wave (¶ [9]: “radios from power transmission devices”) transmitted from each of the plurality of power transmitters (10).
Hada further discloses a first power transmitter (“self device” of Figs. 5, 7, 9, 12-13, 18, 20) of the plurality of power transmitters (10) includes a determination unit (¶ [17-20]: “a determination unit configured to determine the self device as the power transmission device to be set as the master device”; interpreted that the “determination unit” is part of the “controller 110”, including “CPU 111”; Fig. 2) configured to determine a power transmitter serving as the master power transmitter (see ¶ [17-20], quoted supra).
Hada further discloses this determination of the master power transmitter by the determination unit (“110”, including “111”) is based on a signal received from each of other power transmitters (steps S301-S302 involve the “self device” receiving “ID” and “Info” via signals from the other power transmitters; Figs. 4-5, 9, 12) of the plurality of power transmitters (10).
NOTE 1-1: Claim 1 does not require that the determination of the master power transmitter by the determination unit be based on a signal received “from the power receiver”. The claim term “or” allows for an alternate option for this determination to be based on a signal received from “each of other power transmitters of the plurality of power transmitters”.
Regarding Claim 7, Hada discloses a power transmitter (one of the “power transmission devices 10a-10d, 10x-10z”, sometimes referred to simply as “10”; Figs. 1-2, 4, 10, 16-17; operating as the “self device” of Figs. 5, 7, 9, 12-13, 18, 20) included in a wireless power supply system (“wireless power feeding system”; Figs. 1, 16) in which power is supplied to a power receiver (any one of “power reception devices 20a-20, 20x-20z”, sometimes referred to simply as “20”; Figs. 1, 3-4, 10, 16-17) by radio waves (¶ [9]: “radios from power transmission devices”) transmitted from a plurality of power transmitters (“power transmission devices 10a-10d, 10x-10z”, sometimes referred to simply as “10”; Figs. 1-2, 4, 10, 16-17).
Hada further discloses the plurality of power transmitters (10) including a master power transmitter (per ¶ [87, 91], “10b” is assigned as the “master device” in the Fig. 4 example; in the Fig. 17 example, “10y”) and slave power transmitters (per ¶ [87, 91], “10a” and “10c” are assigned as “slave devices” in the Fig. 4 example; in the Fig. 17 example, “10x” and “10z”) controlled by the master power transmitter (¶ [87]: “The master device has an authority to determine which of the power transmission devices 1 0a to 10c is to transmit power to which of the power reception devices 20a to 20d.”; ¶ [103]: “the master instructs … the slaves to start power transmission (power feeding) to the power reception devices”).
Hada further discloses the power transmitter (“10”, acting as the “self device”) comprising a determination unit (¶ [17-20]: “a determination unit configured to determine the self device as the power transmission device to be set as the master device”; interpreted that the “determination unit” is part of the “controller 110”, including “CPU 111”; Fig. 2) configured to determine a power transmitter serving as the master power transmitter (see ¶ [17-20], quoted supra).
Hada further discloses this determination of the master power transmitter by the determination unit (“110”, including “111”) is based on a signal received from other power transmitters (steps S301-S302 involve the “self device” receiving “ID” and “Info” via signals from the other power transmitters; Figs. 4-5, 9, 12) of the plurality of power transmitters (10).
NOTE 7-1: Claim 7 does not require that the determination of the master power transmitter by the determination unit be based on a signal received “from the power receiver”. The claim term “or” allows for an alternate option for this determination to be based on a signal received from “other power transmitters of the plurality of power transmitters”.
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (JP 2015-116066 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Ito discloses a wireless power supply system (“power transmission system”; Fig. 1).
Ito further discloses the wireless power supply system (Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of power transmitters (“power transmission devices 10a-10d”, sometimes referred to simply as “10”; Figs. 1-2, 5-6, 9) including a master power transmitter (¶ [16]: “one power transmission device in the group functions as a master device”; in the Fig. 6 example, “master device 10b”) and slave power transmitters (¶ [16]: “The power transmission devices other than the master device in the group function as slave devices.”; in the Fig. 6 example, “slave devices 10a and 10c”) controlled by the master power transmitter (¶ [16]: “The master device controls power transmission by the power transmission devices in the group, such as determining the power reception devices to be transmitted by the power transmission devices in the group”).
Ito further discloses the wireless power supply system (Fig. 1) comprising a power receiver (any of “power reception devices 20a-20d”, sometimes referred to simply as “20; Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 9) to which power is supplied by a radio wave (¶ [19, 22]: “an electromagnetic wave … a frequency band (RF band) at the time of transmission”) transmitted from each of the plurality of power transmitters (¶ [13]: “20 receives supply of power from … 10 wirelessly”).
Ito further discloses a first power transmitter (¶ [29]: “in S303, one of the power transmission devices 10a to 10d is in charge of processing”; ¶ [29]: “the power transmission device in charge of processing determines a power transmission device that functions as a master that manages the power transmission devices in the group”) of the plurality of power transmitters (10a-10d) includes a determination unit (“control unit 110”, including “CPU 111”; Fig. 2; ¶ [40]: “CPU 111 determines that the own device (master device) is in charge of power transmission of the new power receiving device”; ¶ [42]: “CPU 111 determines the power transmission device in charge of power transmission of the new power reception device from among the plurality of power transmission devices”; thus, when a new power receiver “20” is detected the first power transmitter’s “CPU 111” is in charge of assigning the master power transmitter) configured to determine a power transmitter serving as the master power transmitter (“10b” selected as “master device” in example of ¶ [29]).
Ito further discloses this determination of the master power transmitter by the determination unit (“110”, including “111”) is based on a signal received (¶ [44]: “In S504, the CPU 111 confirms the necessity of the power of the new power receiving apparatus. If there is a need for power (Yes in S504), the CPU 111 advances the process to S505.”; ¶ [32]: “in S312, the power receiving device 20 transmits an answer of the necessity of the power to the power transmission devices 10a to 10c”) from the power receiver (20) or each of other power transmitters (per ¶ [32], each of “10a and 10c transmit the response result of the necessity of the power to the master device 10b”; ¶ [42]: “CPU 111 receives a detection notification from a plurality of slave devices (Yes in S415)”) of the plurality of power transmitters (10).
Ito further suggests that the disclosed system may be modified beyond the disclosure (¶ [29]: “The conditions for determining the master are not limited to the embodiment.”).
Regarding Claim 7, Ito discloses a power transmitter (any of “power transmission devices 10a-10d”, sometimes referred to simply as “10”; Figs. 1-2, 5-6, 9) included in a wireless power supply system (“power transmission system”; Fig. 1) in which power is supplied to a power receiver (any of “power reception devices 20a-20d”, sometimes referred to simply as “20; Figs. 1, 3, 5-6, 9) by radio waves (¶ [19, 22]: “an electromagnetic wave … a frequency band (RF band) at the time of transmission”) transmitted from a plurality of power transmitters (¶ [13]: “20 receives supply of power from … 10 wirelessly”).
Ito further discloses the plurality of power transmitters (10) including a master power transmitter (¶ [16]: “one power transmission device in the group functions as a master device”; in the Fig. 6 example, “master device 10b”) and slave power transmitters (¶ [16]: “The power transmission devices other than the master device in the group function as slave devices.”; in the Fig. 6 example, “slave devices 10a and 10c”) controlled by the master power transmitter (¶ [16]: “The master device controls power transmission by the power transmission devices in the group, such as determining the power reception devices to be transmitted by the power transmission devices in the group”).
Ito further discloses the power transmitter (¶ [29]: “in S303, one of the power transmission devices 10a to 10d is in charge of processing”; ¶ [29]: “the power transmission device in charge of processing determines a power transmission device that functions as a master that manages the power transmission devices in the group”) comprising a determination unit (“control unit 110”, including “CPU 111”; Fig. 2; ¶ [40]: “CPU 111 determines that the own device (master device) is in charge of power transmission of the new power receiving device”; ¶ [42]: “CPU 111 determines the power transmission device in charge of power transmission of the new power reception device from among the plurality of power transmission devices”; thus, when a new power receiver “20” is detected the first power transmitter’s “CPU 111” is in charge of assigning the master power transmitter) configured to determine a power transmitter serving as the master power transmitter (“10b” selected as “master device” in example of ¶ [29]).
Ito further discloses this determination of the master power transmitter by the determination unit (“110”, including “111”) is based on a signal received (¶ [44]: “In S504, the CPU 111 confirms the necessity of the power of the new power receiving apparatus. If there is a need for power (Yes in S504), the CPU 111 advances the process to S505.”; ¶ [32]: “in S312, the power receiving device 20 transmits an answer of the necessity of the power to the power transmission devices 10a to 10c”) from the power receiver (20) or other power transmitters (per ¶ [32], each of “10a and 10c transmit the response result of the necessity of the power to the master device 10b”; ¶ [42]: “CPU 111 receives a detection notification from a plurality of slave devices (Yes in S415)”) of the plurality of power transmitters (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hada et al. (US 2016/0197488 A1) in view of Uchida (US 2016/0013666 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Hada discloses the wireless power supply system according to claim 1.
Hada further discloses the first power transmitter (“10”, acting as the “self device”) causes the determination unit (¶ [17]: “a determination unit configured to determine the self device as the power transmission device to be set as the master device”; ¶ [20]: “a determination unit configured to determine the self device as the power transmission device to be set as the master device”; interpreted that the “determination unit” is part of the “controller 110”, including “CPU 111”; Fig. 2) to determine whether the first power transmitter is the master power transmitter (Fig. 5, step S1009: “self device selected as master?”).
Hada does not disclose “the power receiver includes a decision unit configured to decide, to be the master power transmitter, a power transmitter serving as a transmission source of a radio wave having a highest intensity among a plurality of the radio waves received from the plurality of power transmitters and a power receiver-side signal transmitter configured to transmit a master decision signal including information on the master power transmitter decided by the decision unit, to each of the plurality of power transmitters”.
As addressed supra, Hada discloses the first power transmitter causes the determination unit to determine whether the first power transmitter is the master power transmitter. However, Hada further does not disclose this determination is “based on the master decision signal received from the power receiver”.
Uchida teaches the power receiver (“power receiver 2E”; Fig. 15C) includes a decision unit (“power reception control unit 23E”, which includes the capabilities of “entire controller 100”; Fig. 15C; ¶ [171-173]) configured to decide, to be the master power transmitter (¶ [84]: “designating one of the plurality of power sources as a master and the other one or more power sources as slaves”; ¶ [91]: “the master … determines processing such as optimization of the plurality of power sources and the power receiver.”), a power transmitter (one of “1A-1D”; Figs. 14C, 15C) serving as a transmission source of a power transmission wave (“magnetic field resonance” in Fig. 1; see note 2-1, included infra) having a highest intensity (¶ [98]: “Of the plurality of power sources, a single power source is determined as a master. The master may be determined, for example, depending on a condition in which a largest number of power receivers are located within the communication range of the power source or within the power transfer range thereof”; ¶ [99]: “when there is an equal condition in which each one power receiver is located within the communication ranges of the power sources, the master may be determined by adding an additional condition such as a communication strength between the power source and the power receiver”; thus, the master power transmitter is selected to be the power transmitter which is closest and/or has the highest reception intensity with the power receiver) among a plurality of the power transmission waves (solid arrows from power transmitters “1C, 1D” to “21E”; Fig. 15C) received from the plurality of power transmitters (“power sources 1A-1D”; Figs. 14C, 15C).
NOTE 2-1: Though Uchida’s wireless power supply system uses magnetic fields rather than radio waves, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that both magnetic fields and radio waves are types of electromagnetic fields that are widely used to wirelessly transmit electrical power (as evidenced by Uchida ¶ [5]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the magnetic fields taught by Uchida are analogous to the radio waves set forth prior by Hada.
Uchida further teaches a power receiver-side signal transmitter (“communication circuit unit 24E” within “2E”; Fig. 15C) configured to transmit a master decision signal (communication signal from “100” to each of “1A-1D” with results of Fig. 17, steps ST35, ST40: “select master power source”; shown by dotted arrows from “24E” to each of “14C-14D” in Fig. 15C) including information on the master power transmitter (¶ [187]: “step ST35, the entire controller considers transfer conditions … and selects a master power source”) decided by the decision unit (23E, 100), to each of the plurality of power transmitters (1A-1D).
Uchida further teaches to assign the power transmitter with best reception intensity to be the master power transmitter to ensure reliability of communication between the master power transmitter and the slave power transmitters (¶ [112]). Uchida further teaches that incorporating the decision unit’s capabilities in the power receiver to select the master power transmitter and transmit the selection to each power transmitter reduces the need for additional hardware in the power transmitters and/or an external controller (¶ [171-173]), which would obviously reduce cost of the wireless power system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination of the master power transmitter disclosed by Hada for the power receiver to select the master power transmitter with best reception intensity and transmit the selection to each power transmitter, as taught by Uchida, to improve reliability of communication between the master power transmitter and the slave power transmitters and/or to reduce cost of the wireless power system.
Thus, the combo of Hada & Uchida teaches the first power transmitter (Hada: “10”, acting as the “self device”) causes the determination unit (Hada ¶ [17]: “determination unit”, interpreted to be part of “110”) to determine whether the first power transmitter is the master power transmitter (Hada ¶ [17-20]: “a determination unit configured to determine the self device as the power transmission device to be set as the master device”), based on the master decision signal (incorporated from Uchida: output from “24E”, controlled by “23E / 100”, which decides the master from among “1A-1D” with highest reception intensity) received from the power receiver (Hada: “20”; analogous Uchida power receiver: “2E”).
Regarding Claim 9, Hada discloses a power receiver (any one of “power reception devices 20a-20, 20x-20z”, sometimes referred to simply as “20”; Figs. 1, 3-4, 10, 16-17) included in a wireless power supply system (“wireless power feeding system”; Figs. 1, 16) in which power is supplied to the power receiver (20) by radio waves (¶ [9]: “radios from power transmission devices”) transmitted from a plurality of power transmitters (“power transmission devices 10a-10d, 10x-10z”, sometimes referred to simply as “10”; Figs. 1-2, 4, 10, 16-17).
Hada further discloses the plurality of power transmitters (10) including a master power transmitter (per ¶ [87, 91], “10b” is assigned as the “master device” in the Fig. 4 example; in the Fig. 17 example, “10y”) and slave power transmitters (per ¶ [87, 91], “10a” and “10c” are assigned as “slave devices” in the Fig. 4 example; in the Fig. 17 example, “10x” and “10z”) controlled by the master power transmitter (¶ [87]: “The master device has an authority to determine which of the power transmission devices 1 0a to 10c is to transmit power to which of the power reception devices 20a to 20d.”; ¶ [103]: “the master instructs … the slaves to start power transmission (power feeding) to the power reception devices”).
Hada does not disclose “the power receiver comprising: a decision unit configured to decide, to be the master power transmitter, a power transmitter serving as a transmission source of a radio wave having a highest intensity among radio waves received from the plurality of power transmitters; and a power receiver-side signal transmitter configured to transmit a master decision signal including information on the master power transmitter decided by the decision unit, to each of the plurality of power transmitters”.
Uchida teaches the power receiver (“power receiver 2E”; Fig. 15C) comprising: a decision unit (“power reception control unit 23E”, which includes the capabilities of “entire controller 100”; Fig. 15C; ¶ [171-173]) configured to decide, to be the master power transmitter (¶ [84]: “designating one of the plurality of power sources as a master and the other one or more power sources as slaves”; ¶ [91]: “the master … determines processing such as optimization of the plurality of power sources and the power receiver.”), a power transmitter (one of “1A-1D”; Figs. 14C, 15C) serving as a transmission source of a power transmission wave (“magnetic field resonance” in Fig. 1; see note 9-1, included infra) having a highest intensity (¶ [98]: “Of the plurality of power sources, a single power source is determined as a master. The master may be determined, for example, depending on a condition in which a largest number of power receivers are located within the communication range of the power source or within the power transfer range thereof”; ¶ [99]: “when there is an equal condition in which each one power receiver is located within the communication ranges of the power sources, the master may be determined by adding an additional condition such as a communication strength between the power source and the power receiver”; thus, the master power transmitter is selected to be the power transmitter which is closest and/or has the highest reception intensity with the power receiver) among power transmission waves (solid arrows from power transmitters “1C, 1D” to “21E”; Fig. 15C) received from the plurality of power transmitters (“power sources 1A-1D”; Figs. 14C, 15C).
NOTE 9-1: Though Uchida’s wireless power supply system uses magnetic fields rather than radio waves, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that both magnetic fields and radio waves are types of electromagnetic fields that are widely used to wirelessly transmit electrical power (as evidenced by Uchida ¶ [5]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the magnetic fields taught by Uchida are analogous to the radio waves set forth prior by Hada.
Uchida further teaches a power receiver-side signal transmitter (“communication circuit unit 24E” within “2E”; Fig. 15C) configured to transmit a master decision signal (communication signal from “100” to each of “1A-1D” with results of Fig. 17, steps ST35, ST40: “select master power source”; shown by dotted arrows from “24E” to each of “14C-14D” in Fig. 15C) including information on the master power transmitter (¶ [187]: “step ST35, the entire controller considers transfer conditions … and selects a master power source”) decided by the decision unit (23E, 100), to each of the plurality of power transmitters (1A-1D).
Uchida further teaches to assign the power transmitter with best reception intensity to be the master power transmitter to ensure reliability of communication between the master power transmitter and the slave power transmitters (¶ [112]). Uchida further teaches that incorporating the decision unit’s capabilities in the power receiver to select the master power transmitter and transmit the selection to each power transmitter reduces the need for additional hardware in the power transmitters and/or an external controller (¶ [171-173]), which would obviously reduce cost of the wireless power system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination of the master power transmitter disclosed by Hada for the power receiver to select the master power transmitter with best reception intensity and transmit the selection to each power transmitter, as taught by Uchida, to improve reliability of communication between the master power transmitter and the slave power transmitters and/or to reduce cost of the wireless power system.
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hada et al. (US 2016/0197488 A1) in view of Takeuchi (US 2013/0328417 A1) and Uchida (US 2016/0013666 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Hada discloses the wireless power supply system according to claim 1.
Hada further discloses each of the plurality of power transmitters (10) receives, from the power receiver (20), a reception intensity signal (signal from “20” to “10” during Fig. 4, step S307: “Information Exchange”) indicating a reception intensity (¶ [95]: “In the step S307, information indicative of results of checking whether or not each of the power reception devices 20a to 20c is in each of the power feeding areas 30a to 30c of the power transmission devices 10a to 10c is exchanged between the power transmission devices 10a to 10c.”; ¶ [95]: “determined based on a result of training of electric power transmission from each of the power transmission devices 10a to 10c to each of the power reception devices 20a to 20d”) of the radio wave transmitted to the power receiver (20).
Hada does not disclose “the first power transmitter includes a power transmitter-side signal receiver configured to receive a notification signal including information on the reception intensity from each of the other power transmitters, and the first power transmitter causes the determination unit to determine, based on the notification signal received by the power transmitter-side signal receiver, a power transmitter having a highest reception intensity of a radio wave among the other power transmitters to be the master power transmitter”.
Takeuchi teaches each of the plurality of power transmitters (“power transmitting apparatus #1” and “power transmitting apparatus #2”; Fig. 5; “101-103” in Fig. 1; detailed internal view of “300” in Fig. 3) receives, from the power receiver (“power receiving apparatus #1”; Fig. 5; may be any of “104-105” in Fig. 1; detailed internal view of “200” in Fig. 2), a reception intensity signal (Fig. 5, steps S509 and S512: “reception level notification”) indicating a reception intensity (¶ [84]: “Electric power receiving apparatus #1 generates a reception level notification in which the reception levels with respect to the power transmitted from the respective electric power transmitting apparatuses and the IDs of the respective electric power transmitting apparatuses are associated, and transmits the reception level notification to electric power transmitting apparatus #1 and electric power transmitting apparatus #2 (sequences S509 and S512).”) of the radio wave (¶ [3, 5]: “radio wave transmission method”) transmitted to the power receiver (“power receiving apparatus #1”).
Takeuchi further teaches the first power transmitter (either “power transmitting apparatus #1” or “power transmitting apparatus #2”; Fig. 5) includes a power transmitter-side signal receiver (“communication section 350” within “300”; Fig. 3) configured to receive a notification signal (Fig. 5, steps S509 and S512: “reception level notification”, received from “power receiving apparatus #1”) including information on the reception intensity (S509 and S512 include information on reception intensity from each of “power transmitting apparatus #1” and “power transmitting apparatus #2” to “power receiving apparatus #1”; see claim interpretation notes detailed in the 112(b) rejection section supra) from each of the other power transmitters (“power transmitting apparatus #1” and “power transmitting apparatus #2”).
Takeuchi further teaches the first power transmitter (“power transmitting apparatus #2”) causes the determination unit (“determination section 330”; Fig. 3) to determine, based on the notification signal (signals of steps S509 and S512) received by the power transmitter-side signal receiver (“350” within “power transmitting apparatus #2”), a power transmitter to be the master power transmitter (in the example of Fig. 5, the “power transmitting apparatus #2” performs the “determination processing” to determine the “power transmission method” of step S513, and is thus operating as the master power transmitter after step S512).
NOTE 3-1: Takeuchi does not appear to provide details for why “power transmitting apparatus #2” was chosen to be the master power transmitter (i.e., perform the “determination processing”) over “power transmitting apparatus #1” in Fig. 5. However, additional prior art makes it clear that it is preferable to select the master power transmitter to be the power transmitter with the best reception intensity, as detailed infra.
Takeuchi further teaches the determination unit to determine the master power transmitter based on the notification signal to ensure the master power transmitter can communicate the power transmission method notification to the power receiver and the slave power transmitters (Fig. 5, step S513), thus ensuring the wireless power system can operate at higher efficiency (¶ [79]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless power supply system disclosed by Hada to determine the master power transmitter based on the notification signal, as taught by Takeuchi, to improve the efficiency of the wireless power system by ensuring the master power transmitter can communicate the power transmission method notification to the power receiver and the slave power transmitters.
Uchida teaches to determine a power transmitter having a highest reception intensity (¶ [98]: “Of the plurality of power sources, a single power source is determined as a master. The master may be determined, for example, depending on a condition in which a largest number of power receivers are located within the communication range of the power source or within the power transfer range thereof”; ¶ [99]: “when there is an equal condition in which each one power receiver is located within the communication ranges of the power sources, the master may be determined by adding an additional condition such as a communication strength between the power source and the power receiver”; thus, the master power transmitter is selected to be the power transmitter which is closest and/or has the highest reception intensity with the power receiver) of a power transmission wave (“magnetic field resonance” in Fig. 1; see note 3-2, included infra) among the other power transmitters to be the master power transmitter (¶ [91]: “In the wireless power transfer system depicted in FIG. 6, the single power source 1A of the plurality of power sources 1A and 1B is designated as a master (primary) and the other power source 1B is designated as a slave (secondary). For example, the master (the power source 1A) determines processing such as optimization of the plurality of power sources and the power receiver.”).
NOTE 3-2: Though Uchida’s wireless power supply system uses magnetic fields rather than radio waves, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that both magnetic fields and radio waves are types of electromagnetic fields that are widely used to wirelessly transmit electrical power (as evidenced by Uchida ¶ [5]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the magnetic fields taught by Uchida are analogous to the radio waves set forth prior by the combo of Hada and Takeuchi.
Uchida further teaches to assign the power transmitter with best reception intensity to be the master power transmitter to ensure reliability of communication between the master power transmitter and the slave power transmitters (¶ [112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination of the master power transmitter disclosed by the combo of Hada & Takeuchi to assign the power transmitter with best reception intensity to be the master power transmitter, as taught by Uchida, to improve reliability of communication between the master power transmitter and the slave power transmitters.
Regarding Claim 8, Hada discloses the power transmitter according to claim 7.
Hada further discloses each of the plurality of power transmitters (10) receives, from the power receiver (20), a reception intensity signal (signal from “20” to “10” during Fig. 4, step S307: “Information Exchange”) indicating a reception intensity (¶ [95]: “In the step S307, information indicative of results of checking whether or not each of the power reception devices 20a to 20c is in each of the power feeding areas 30a to 30c of the power transmission devices 10a to 10c is exchanged between the power transmission devices 10a to 10c.”; ¶ [95]: “determined based on a result of training of electric power transmission from each of the power transmission devices 10a to 10c to each of the power reception devices 20a to 20d”) of the radio wave transmitted to the power receiver (20).
Hada does not disclose “the power transmitter includes a power transmitter-side signal receiver configured to receive a notification signal including information on the reception intensity from each of the other power transmitters of the plurality of power transmitters, and based on the notification signal received by the power transmitter-side signal receiver, the determination unit determines, to be the master power transmitter, a power transmitter having a highest reception intensity of a radio wave among the other power transmitters”.
Takeuchi teaches each of the plurality of power transmitters (“power transmitting apparatus #1” and “power transmitting apparatus #2”; Fig. 5; “101-103” in Fig. 1; detailed internal view of “300” in Fig. 3) receives, from the power receiver (“power receiving apparatus #1”; Fig. 5; may be any of “104-105” in Fig. 1; detailed internal view of “200” in Fig. 2), a reception intensity signal (Fig. 5, steps S509 and S512: “reception level notification”) indicating a reception intensity (¶ [84]: “Electric power receiving apparatus #1 generates a reception level notification in which the reception levels with respect to the power transmitted from the respective electric power transmitting apparatuses and the IDs of the respective electric power transmitting apparatuses are associated, and transmits the reception level notification to electric power transmitting apparatus #1 and electric power transmitting apparatus #2 (sequences S509 and S512).”) of the radio wave (¶ [3, 5]: “radio wave transmission method”) transmitted to the power receiver (“power receiving apparatus #1”).
Takeuchi further teaches the power transmitter (either “power transmitting apparatus #1” or “power transmitting apparatus #2”; Fig. 5) includes a power transmitter-side signal receiver (“communication section 350” within “300”; Fig. 3) configured to receive a notification signal (Fig. 5, steps S509 and S512: “reception level notification”, received from “power receiving apparatus #1”) including information on the reception intensity (S509 and S512 include information on reception intensity from each of “power transmitting apparatus #1” and “power transmitting apparatus #2” to “power receiving apparatus #1”; see claim interpretation notes detailed in the 112(b) rejection section supra) from each of the other power transmitters (“power transmitting apparatus #1” and “power transmitting apparatus #2”) of the plurality of power transmitter (“101-103” in Fig. 1).
Takeuchi further teaches based on the notification signal (signals of steps S509 and S512) received by the power transmitter-side signal receiver (“350” within “power transmitting apparatus #2”), the determination unit (“determination section 330”; Fig. 3) determines, to be the master power transmitter (in the example of Fig. 5, the “power transmitting apparatus #2” performs the “determination processing” to determine the “power transmission method” of step S513, and is thus operating as the master power transmitter after step S512), a power transmitter.
NOTE 8-1: Takeuchi does not appear to provide details for why “power transmitting apparatus #2” was chosen to be the master power transmitter (i.e., perform the “determination processing”) over “power transmitting apparatus #1” in Fig. 5. However, additional prior art makes it clear that it is preferable to select the master power transmitter to be the power transmitter with the best reception intensity, as detailed infra.
Takeuchi further teaches the determination unit to determine the master power transmitter based on the notification signal to ensure the master power transmitter can communicate the power transmission method notification to the power receiver and the slave power transmitters (Fig. 5, step S513), thus ensuring the wireless power system can operate at higher efficiency (¶ [79]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless power supply system disclosed by Hada to determine the master power transmitter based on the notification signal, as taught by Takeuchi, to improve the efficiency of the wireless power system by ensuring the master power transmitter can communicate the power transmission method notification to the power receiver and the slave power transmitters.
Uchida teaches that it determines, to be the master power transmitter (¶ [91]: “In the wireless power transfer system depicted in FIG. 6, the single power source 1A of the plurality of power sources 1A and 1B is designated as a master (primary) and the other power source 1B is designated as a slave (secondary). For example, the master (the power source 1A) determines processing such as optimization of the plurality of power sources and the power receiver.”), a power transmitter having a highest reception intensity (¶ [98]: “Of the plurality of power sources, a single power source is determined as a master. The master may be determined, for example, depending on a condition in which a largest number of power receivers are located within the communication range of the power source or within the power transfer range thereof”; ¶ [99]: “when there is an equal condition in which each one power receiver is located within the communication ranges of the power sources, the master may be determined by adding an additional condition such as a communication strength between the power source and the power receiver”; thus, the master power transmitter is selected to be the power transmitter which is closest and/or has the highest reception intensity with the power receiver) of a power transmission wave (“magnetic field resonance” in Fig. 1; see note 8-2, included infra) among the other power transmitters.
NOTE 8-2: Though Uchida’s wireless power supply system uses magnetic fields rather than radio waves, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that both magnetic fields and radio waves are types of electromagnetic fields that are widely used to wirelessly transmit electrical power (as evidenced by Uchida ¶ [5]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the magnetic fields taught by Uchida are analogous to the radio waves set forth prior by the combo of Hada and Takeuchi.
Uchida further teaches to assign the power transmitter with best reception intensity to be the master power transmitter to ensure reliability of communication between the master power transmitter and the slave power transmitters (¶ [112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination of the master power transmitter disclosed by the combo of Hada & Takeuchi to assign the power transmitter with best reception intensity to be the master power transmitter, as taught by Uchida, to improve reliability of communication between the master power transmitter and the slave power transmitters.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hada et al. (US 2016/0197488 A1) in view of Kang et al. (US 2012/0098485 A1).
Regarding Claims 4-6, Hada discloses the wireless power supply system according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Hada does not disclose “the master power transmitter includes a phase adjustment unit configured to adjust a phase of the radio wave to be transmitted to the power receiver”.
Regarding claim 5, Hada does not disclose “the master power transmitter includes a power transmitter-side signal transmitter configured to transmit, to the slave power transmitters, a synchronization signal to synchronize the phase of the radio wave to be transmitted to the power receiver with a phase of a radio wave adjusted by the phase adjustment unit”.
Regarding claim 6, Hada does not disclose “the master power transmitter repeatedly adjusts the phase of the radio wave to be transmitted to the power receiver while power is being supplied to the power receiver by the radio waves transmitted from the plurality of power transmitters”.
Kang teaches the master power transmitter (“charging power supply device 310, 320” operating in “master mode”; Fig. 3) includes a phase adjustment unit (“power phase synchronizer 315, 325”; Fig. 3) configured to adjust a phase of the radio wave to be transmitted to the power receiver (“mobile terminal 330”; Fig. 3).
Kang further teaches the master power transmitter (“310, 320” in “master mode”) includes a power transmitter-side signal transmitter (315, 325) configured to transmit (¶ [45]: “the power phase synchronizer 315 being set in a master mode may transmit a synchronization signal, and the power phase synchronizer 315 being set in a slave mode may receive the synchronization signal and detect a phase of the wireless power from the synchronization signal”), to the slave power transmitters (“310, 320” in “slave mode”), a synchronization signal (Fig. 6, step 603: “transmit power phase synchronization signal”) to synchronize the phase of the radio wave (¶ [43]: “315 synchronizes a power phase with that of another charging power supply device (e.g., the second charging power supply device 320)”) to be transmitted to the power receiver (330) with a phase of a radio wave adjusted by the phase adjustment unit (315, 325).
Kang further teaches the master power transmitter (“310, 320” in “master mode”) repeatedly adjusts (phase adjustment is repeated for each slave power transmitter, per ¶ [75]; may be more than two power transmitters per ¶ [17]) the phase of the radio wave to be transmitted to the power receiver (330) while power is being supplied to the power receiver (330) by the radio waves transmitted from the plurality of power transmitters (310, 320)
Kang further teaches the phase adjustment and synchronization to improve the efficiency of the wireless power transmission (¶ [11, 33, 63]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless power system disclosed by Hada to incorporate phase adjustment and synchronization controlled by the master power transmitter, as taught by Kang, to improve the efficiency of the wireless power transmission
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (JP 2015-116066 A) in view of Tani (US 2018/0159381 A1).
Regarding Claims 4-6, Ito discloses the wireless power supply system according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Ito does not disclose “the master power transmitter includes a phase adjustment unit configured to adjust a phase of the radio wave to be transmitted to the power receiver”.
Regarding claim 5, Ito does not disclose “the master power transmitter includes a power transmitter-side signal transmitter configured to transmit, to the slave power transmitters, a synchronization signal to synchronize the phase of the radio wave to be transmitted to the power receiver with a phase of a radio wave adjusted by the phase adjustment unit”.
Regarding claim 6, Ito does not disclose “the master power transmitter repeatedly adjusts the phase of the radio wave to be transmitted to the power receiver while power is being supplied to the power receiver by the radio waves transmitted from the plurality of power transmitters”.
Tani teaches the master power transmitter (“master power transmission apparatus 203”, including “first power transmission antenna 201” and “first power transmission device 202”; Figs. 1A, 1B, 2A, 3A, 4A, 5-6, 7A, 8-9) includes a phase adjustment unit (¶ [103]: “a phase adjustment function in a master power transmission apparatus 203 side”; included within “first controller 202a” of Fig. 1B; ¶ [42]: “202a that controls to generate the microwaves to be radiated from first microwave generator 202c and controls a power transmission direction thereof”) configured to adjust a phase of the radio wave (¶ [103]: “phase adjustment may be performed”; ¶ [77]: “(… first controller 202a adjusts first microwave generator 202c) so as to change … a phase of the microwave”) to be transmitted to the power receiver (“power reception apparatus 207”; Figs. 1A, 1D, 1F, 2A, 3A, 6, 7A, 8-9).
Tani further teaches the master power transmitter (203) includes a power transmitter-side signal transmitter (“information output 202f”; Fig. 1B; ¶ [71]: “from information output 202f of first power transmission device 202 to second information obtainer 205e of second power transmission device 205, a signal including information of the direction in which the power transmission can be most efficiently performed … is output”) configured to transmit, to the slave power transmitters (“slave power transmission apparatus 206”, including “second power transmission device 205” and plurality of “second power transmission antennas 204”; Figs. 1A, 1C, 2A, 3A, 4A, 5-6, 7A, 8-9), a synchronization signal (signal output from “202f” to “205e” when “203” is performing “phase synthesis” per ¶ [103]) to synchronize the phase of the radio wave (¶ [103]: “by adjusting the phase of the microwave of slave power transmission apparatus 206, phase synthesis between master power transmission apparatus 203 and slave power transmission apparatus 206 is performed”; ¶ [13]: “a fourth step of adjusting a phase of at least one radio wave transmitted from the master power transmission apparatus and the slave power transmission apparatus to a phase in which the amount of the electric power received by the power reception apparatus becomes maximum”) to be transmitted to the power receiver (207) with a phase of a radio wave adjusted by the phase adjustment unit (“first controller 202a” with “phase adjustment function”).
Tani further teaches the master power transmitter (203) repeatedly adjusts the phase of the radio wave (per the flowcharts of Figs. 1E, 2B, 3B, 4B, & 7B, the process of phase adjustment is performed any time when “207” is detected) to be transmitted to the power receiver (207) while power is being supplied to the power receiver (207) by the radio waves transmitted (¶ [55]: “microwaves radiated from each of first microwave generator 202c of master power transmission apparatus 203 and second microwave generator 205c of slave power transmission apparatus 206 are received in microwave receiver 207b”) from the plurality of power transmitters (203, 206).
Tani further teaches the phase adjustment and synchronization to minimize interference and improve efficiency of wireless power transmission from the plurality of power transmitters (¶ [15, 37]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless power supply system disclosed by Ito to incorporate phase adjustment and synchronization controlled by the master power transmitter, as taught by Tani, to minimize interference and improve efficiency of wireless power transmission from the plurality of power transmitters.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859