Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Helland (U.S. 20050131187).
Helland teaches polymerization of ethylene, butylene with hydrogen as a chain transfer catalyst in Example 2 ¶[0075-0077]. In particular, Helland exemplifies a loop-gas reactor system which uses a flash tank (i.e. flash separator) when transferring the solid polyolefin powder between the loop reactor and gas phase reactor. See ¶[0077].
For a more detailed account of the system (a Borstar system) that is reasonably suggested to be used by Helland in this example see ¶[0015] teaches anticipates the process steps of Claim 1 including the removal of hydrogen (a chain transfer agent). This removal of hydrogen by a separator is reasonably suggested to be happening by use of the flash tank of Helland in Example 2.
Therefore, based on ¶[0013-0015] and ¶[0075-0077] all process steps and the flash separators (as flash tanks) are anticipated in the process recited by Claim 1 and Claim 11 (as Claim 11 simply does not have the gas phase step of Claim 1).
The metallocene exemplified by Helland in Example 2 is a metallocene complex with MAO and silica support of Example 1 (¶[0073]) which anticipates the metallocene of Claim 1, Claim 5 (single site ¶[0021]) and Claim 6 (Example 1 is a transition metal, MAO (Cocatalyst) and silica support combination).
Flash tank conditions are 50 oC and 1 bar which anticipates Claim 7, Claim 8, Claim 9, Claim 12, Claim 13 and Claim 14.
Hydrogen being removed in the flash tanks as above anticipates Claim 3 and Claim 4. Note the flash tanks are separators and the only compounds entering the tanks to be flashed off are ethylene, butene and hydrogen as these are the raw material inputs of the loop reactor. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art is additionally reasonably suggested that Claim 3 and Claim 4 are anticipated as ethylene, butene and hydrogen (without regard to amounts of any of these) are all claimed in Claim 3 and Claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helland (U.S. 20050131187) in view of Dooley (U.S. 20200247919).
Helland is applied as above under §102.
Helland teaches use of separators to remove, for instance, hydrogen, from the polyolefin polymerization and exemplifies a flash tank (flash separator) but does not teach or suggest the residence time of the material in the flash tank / flash separator.
Dooley, working in the field of polyolefin production using separators similar to Applicant and Helland, teaches purge columns and heated fluidized bed flash chambers used for similar purposes, i.e. removing volatile components from a polymer solids streaming, to the flash tanks of Helland, with residence times in these apparatus performing separator functions of 1 to 30 minutes or 15 to 60 minutes. (¶[0073], ¶[0084])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Helland, in particular that of Example 2, such that the residence time of the particles in the flash tank of Helland was 1 to 30 mins or, alternatively, 5 to 60 minutes because Dooley teaches these ranges of residence times in similar equipment used for the same separator purpose as Helland.
The above ranges overlap the residence times of Claim 2, Claim 10 and Claim 15.
Conclusion
/Christopher M Rodd/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766