DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bernhardt et al, WO 2009/094336.
Bernhardt et al, WO 2009/094336, discloses a laundry detergent comprising sulfonated estolides and other derivatives of fatty acids (i.e., anionic surfactants; see abstract). It is further taught by Bernhardt et al that the sulfonated estolides include sulfo-estolides (SE), partially hydrolyzed sulfo-estolides (PHSE) and hydrolyzed sulfo-estolides (HSE) (see paragraph 31). Specifically, note Example N in Table 21 on page 85 which discloses a composition comprising 46% by weight of SE, PHSE, HSE, 24% by weight of a nonionic surfactant, 10% by weight of C12EO3 (which results in 70% by weight of surfactants), 4.5% by weight of monoethanolamine (which meets the hydroxyl amine structure (I) of the instant claims when R1-3 are hydrogen and R4 is CH2OH), and adjunct ingredients. Therefore, instant claim 1 is anticipated by Bernhardt et al, WO 2009/094336.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oberlin, WO 2017/139184.
Oberlin, WO 2017/139184, discloses a detergent formulation in Example 1 comprising 17% by weight of sodium lauryl ether sulphate, 37.9% by weight of the nonionic surfactant ECOSURF SA7, 11,9% by weight of linear alkylbenzene sulfonate (which results in 66.8% by weight of surfactants), 3.3% by weight of monoethanolamine (which meets the hydroxyl amine structure (I) of the instant claims when R1-3 are hydrogen and R4 is CH2OH), and adjunct ingredients. Therefore, instant claim 1 is anticipated by Oberlin, WO 2017/139184.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernhardt et al, WO 2009/094336.
Bernhardt et al, WO 2009/094336, discloses a laundry detergent composition comprising sulfonated estolides and other derivatives of fatty acids (i.e., anionic surfactants; see abstract) in an amount of 5-90% by weight (see paragraph 20). It is further taught by Bernhardt et al that the sulfonated estolides include sulfo-estolides (SE), partially hydrolyzed sulfo-estolides (PHSE) and hydrolyzed sulfo-estolides (HSE) (see paragraph 31), that the detergent composition further contains diethanolamine salts of alkyl ester sulfonate surfactants (see paragraph 86), nonionic surfactants, such as C9-15 primary alcohols ethoxylated with 3-12 moles of ethylene oxide (see paragraphs 106-108), and 0.53-4.5% by weight of monoethanolamine (which meets the hydroxyl amine structure (I) of the instant claims when R1-3 are hydrogen and R4 is CH2OH; see Examples J-S in Table 21 on page 85), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples A-S in Table 21 on pages 83-85. Although Bernhardt et al generally discloses a detergent composition containing greater than 75% by weight of a surfactant, the reference does not require such detergent compositions containing greater than 75% by weight of a surfactant with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formulated a detergent composition, as taught by Bernhardt et al, which contained greater than 75% by weight of a surfactant, because such detergent compositions fall within the scope of those taught by Bernhardt et al. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because such a detergent composition containing greater than 75% by weight of a surfactant is expressly suggested by the Bernhardt et al disclosure and therefore is an obvious formulation.
Claims 2-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oberlin, WO 2017/139184.
Oberlin, WO 2017/139184, discloses a detergent formulation comprising 0-30% by weight of water, 60-90% by weight of surfactants, and 0.5-10% by weight of an acrylic polymer (see abstract). It is further taught by Oberlin that the detergent formulation contains nonionic surfactants, such as alkoxylated alcohols that contain at least 6 carbon atoms in the alkyl chain and at least 5 moles of ethylene oxide and/or propylene oxide (see page 3, lines 15-32), and diethanolamine in an amount to achieve a pH of 4.5-9 (see page 4, lines 7-15), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Example 1 on page 6 that contains 17% by weight of sodium lauryl ether sulphate, 37.9% by weight of the nonionic surfactant ECOSURF SA7, 11.9% by weight of linear alkylbenzene sulfonate (which results in 66.8% by weight of surfactants), 3.3% by weight of monoethanolamine (which meets the hydroxyl amine structure (I) of the instant claims when R1-3 are hydrogen and R4 is CH2OH), and adjunct ingredients and Example 2 on page 12 that contains the nonionic surfactant ECOSURF EH 6 (CAS # 64366-70-7) which corresponds to the surfactant of Formula (III) of the instant claims, as disclosed by applicant on page 6 of the instant specification. Although Oberlin generally discloses a detergent formulation containing greater than 75% by weight of a surfactant, the reference does not require such detergent formulations containing greater than 75% by weight of a surfactant with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formulated a detergent formulation, as taught by Oberlin, which contained greater than 75% by weight of a surfactant, because such detergent formulations fall within the scope of those taught by Oberlin. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because such a detergent formulation containing greater than 75% by weight of a surfactant is expressly suggested by the Oberlin disclosure and therefore is an obvious formulation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/576,448. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/576,448 claims a similar surfactant composition containing 60% by weight or greater of a surfactant, such as the surfactants of structures (II) and (III), 0.01-1% by weight of an antioxidant, such as sodium bisulfate, and 0.001-5% by weight of a hydroxyl amine, such as diethanolamine (see claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/576,448), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claims 1-10 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/576,448.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/BRIAN P MRUK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
Brian P Mruk
January 2, 2026