DETAILED ACTION
1. This is a Non-Final Office Action Correspondence in response to RCE arguments/amendments for U.S. Application No. 18/572446 filed on March 10, 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant
3. The Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner in hopes of reaching a resolution in light of the compact prosecution.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
The request for reconsideration has been considered but does NOT place the application in condition for allowance because: Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
On Pg. 9 of remarks in regards to 35 U.S.C. 101, relating to claim 1, Applicant states "a claim can integrate a judicial exception, such as an abstract idea, into a practical application of that abstract idea in a number of ways. One such way is by providing an improvement to the functioning of a computer, or other technology, or technical field. Another such way is by applying, relying on, or using, the abstract idea in a meaningful way. Here, claim 1 is amended to clarify that graph state management device may receive the graph state data from the graph computing engine. Then, the graph state management device may encode the graph state data into kv data and sort the kv data. The graph state management device further send the sorted data to the file storage system and manage the logical address. Therefore, graph state management can be decoupled from graph computing engine, so as to reduce the computing burden of the graph computing engine. In this manner, Applicant asserts that "batch receiving graph state data from a graph computing engine" and "sending values of the kv list data to a file storage system" of claim 1 both provides a technological improvement and is also used in a meaningful way beyond generally linking generic computer components."
Examiner replies that the claim still maintains an abstract idea. The data can be received which is seen as an additional insignificant extra activity. Once data is received, a person can read data and encode the data as mentioned in the claim, which is an abstract idea.
On Pg. 11 of remarks in regards to 35 U.S.C. 103, relating to claim 1, Applicant state "Though the examiner replies that the vertex label is seen as the vertexID, the vertex label is not encoded as the key of the vertex, and the other data (an assigned identifier that uniquely identifies the vertex, a set of one or more incoming edges, a set of one or more outgoing edges, a set of one or more undirected edges, and a set of one or more properties) about the vertex is not encoded as the value corresponding to the key. In
addition, regarding each edge in Broecheler, the label of each edge is used to describe the relationship between the start vertex and the end vertex, rather than the label of the start vertex. For example, as shown in FIG. 1B, the edge 9 label is "created" rather than the label of the edge 9 out vertex 1. Therefore, Broecheler fails to disclose the limitation of "encoding each piece of graph state data in the graph state data into key value (kv) data, wherein a vertex ID in the vertex data and/or a start ID of a start vertex in the
edge data is encoded into a key, and non-vertex ID data in the vertex data and/or non-start ID data in the edge data is encoded into a value", as recited in claim 1."
Examiner replies that Broecheler does teach this limitation. Col. 2 Lines 43-58 Broecheler discloses creating an uniquely assigned identifier to match the vertex. This uniquely assigned identifier is seen as the encoding.
On Pg. 12 of remarks in regards to 35 U.S.C. 103, relating to claim 1, Applicant states "Col. 5 Lines 35-40 of Broecheler disclose that such indices are contrary to a graph index that is global to the entire graph (e.g indexing elements for fast global lookups). In some embodiments, the purpose of vertex-centric indices is to sort and index the incident edges (and thus, adjacent vertices) of a vertex according to the incident edges' labels and properties. In large graphs, vertices may have thousands of incident edges. One sorting process of Col. 5 Lines 35-40 only refers to sorting multiple edges of one vertex. In other words, the sorting process does not refers to sorting the vertex together with the corresponding edge. Therefore, Broecheler fails to disclose the limitation of "sorting the kv data based on a key of the kv data to form kv list data," as recited in claim 1."
Examiner replies that Broecheler does teach this limitation. In addition to the cited sections Col. 5 Lines 35-40 Broecheler discloses sorting indices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a graph state data management method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one independent claim, 1, specifically claim 1 recites “encoding each piece of graph state data in the graph state data into [[kv]] key value (kv) data, wherein a vertex ID in the vertex data and/or a start ID of a start vertex in the edge data is encoded into a key, and non-vertex ID data in the vertex data and/or non-start ID data in the edge data is encoded into a value” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally replacing the graph data with another symbol or other type of representation; “sorting the kv data based on a key of the kv data to form kv list data, wherein in the kv list data, each key corresponds to one or more values”; in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally sorting the data in an order. These limitations could be reasonably and practically performed by the human mind, for instance based on a human can encode data to a mapping to be sorted and used for data identification. Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process, which can be done utilizing pen and paper.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The independent claim of 1 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example "batch receiving graph state data from a graph computing engine, wherein the graph state data is obtained by the graph computing engine during graph computation, wherein the graph state data comprises vertex data and/or edge data” is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) iv. Obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions, CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011);
For example “sending values of the kv list data to a file storage system in order to sequentially write the values of the kv list data into a data file in the file storage system, and recording a corresponding logical address of each key in the data file, wherein the logical address comprises a file ID of a data file into which the value corresponding to the key is written, and a first file offset address of the corresponding value in the written data file” is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93;
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites "batch receiving graph state data from a graph computing engine, wherein the graph state data is obtained by the graph computing engine during graph computation, wherein the graph state data comprises vertex data and/or edge data”, “sending values of the kv list data to a file storage system in order to sequentially write the values of the kv list data into a data file in the file storage system, and recording a corresponding logical address of each key in the data file, wherein the logical address comprises a file ID of a data file into which the value corresponding to the key is written, and a first file offset address of the corresponding value in the written data file”.
For example, "batch acquiring graph state data that is obtained by a graph computing engine during graph computation, wherein the graph state data comprises vertex data and/or edge data”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
For example, “sending values of the kv list data to a file storage system in order to sequentially write the values of the kv list data into a data file in the file storage system, and recording a corresponding logical address of each key in the data file, wherein the logical address comprises a file ID of a data file into which the value corresponding to the key is written, and a first file offset address of the corresponding value in the written data file” do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a graph state data management method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 2, specifically claim 2 recites “and determining whether a data size of the mutable data table into which the kv data is written reaches a threshold” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally identifying whether the data table reaches a threshold.
“sorting the kv data based on a key of the kv data comprises:in response to that the data size of the mutable data table into which the kv data is written reaches the threshold, sorting, based on the key of the kv data, the kv data written into the mutable data table” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally sorting the data in an order. These limitations could be reasonably and practically performed by the human mind, for instance based on a human can encode data to a mapping to be sorted and used for data identification. Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process, which can be done utilizing pen and paper.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 2 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example "wherein the memory of the graph state management device maintains a mutable data table and an immutable data table” is seen as storing data within a storge device such as MPEP 2106.05(g) iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93;
For example “before sorting the kv data based on a key of the kv data, the graph state data management method further comprises: writing the kv data into the mutable data table” is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93;
For example “and sequentially writing values of the kv list data into a data file in a file storage system comprises: converting the sorted mutable data table into an immutable data table” is seen as obtaining the information by writing the converted information into tables such as MPEP 2106.05(g) iv. Obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions, CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011);
For example “and sequentially writing values of the immutable data table into a data file in the file storage system, wherein each immutable data table corresponds to one data file” is seen as obtaining the information by writing the converted information into tables such as MPEP 2106.05(g) iv. Obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions, CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011);
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites "wherein the memory of the graph state management device maintains a mutable data table and an immutable data table”, “before sorting the kv data based on a key of the kv data, the graph state data management method further comprises: writing the kv data into the mutable data table”, “and sequentially writing values of the kv list data into a data file in a file storage system comprises: converting the sorted mutable data table into an immutable data table”, “and sequentially writing values of the immutable data table into a data file in the file storage system, wherein each immutable data table corresponds to one data file”.
For example, "wherein the memory of the graph state management device maintains a mutable data table and an immutable data table”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
For example, “before sorting the kv data based on a key of the kv data, the graph state data management method further comprises: writing the kv data into the mutable data table” do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
For example, “and sequentially writing values of the kv list data into a data file in a file storage system comprises: converting the sorted mutable data table into an immutable data table” do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
For example, “before sorting the kv data based on a key of the kv data, the graph state data management method further comprises: writing the kv data into the mutable data table” do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a graph state data management method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 4, specifically claim 4 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 4 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example, “further comprising: in response to receiving a graph state data reading request from the graph computing engine, encoding a data ID in the graph state data reading request into a target key, wherein the data ID comprises a vertex ID and/or an edge start ID” is seen as obtaining the data to encode the data is seen similar to obtaining the data and mapping the data to transactions which is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) iv. obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions, CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011);
For example, “querying a corresponding logical address in the memory index based on the target key” is seen as searching for information within a database which is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) v. Consulting and updating an activity log, Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 715, 112 USPQ2d at 1754; and
For example, “acquiring a value corresponding to the target key based on the logical address” is seen as searching and obtaining information within a database which is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) v. Consulting and updating an activity log, Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 715, 112 USPQ2d at 1754; and
For example, “decoding the acquired value to obtain target graph state data” is seen as obtaining the values analyzing the acquired data and storing the target graph data which is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) iii. Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016);
For example, “and providing the obtained target graph state data to the graph computing engine” is seen as displaying the data which is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) iii. Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016);
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “further comprising: in response to receiving a graph state data reading request from the graph computing engine, encoding a data ID in the graph state data reading request into a target key, wherein the data ID comprises a vertex ID and/or an edge start ID”, “querying a corresponding logical address in the memory index based on the target key”, “acquiring a value corresponding to the target key based on the logical address”, “decoding the acquired value to obtain target graph state data”, “and providing the obtained target graph state data to the graph computing engine”.
For example, “further comprising: in response to receiving a graph state data reading request from the graph computing engine, encoding a data ID in the graph state data reading request into a target key, wherein the data ID comprises a vertex ID and/or an edge start ID”, is seen as computer functions that are well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality). MPEP 2106.05(d); (II), (iv).
For example, “querying a corresponding logical address in the memory index based on the target key”, is seen as computer functions that are well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality). MPEP 2106.05(d); (II), (iv).
For example, “acquiring a value corresponding to the target key based on the logical address”, is seen as computer functions that are well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality). MPEP 2106.05(d); (II), (i).
For example, “decoding the acquired value to obtain target graph state data” is seen as computer functions that are well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality). MPEP 2106.05(d); (II), (iv).
For example, “and providing the obtained target graph state data to the graph computing engine”, is seen as computer functions that are well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality). MPEP 2106.05(d); (II), (iv).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a graph state data management method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 5, specifically claim 5 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 5 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example, “wherein acquiring a value corresponding to the target key based on the logical address comprises: in response to identifying the corresponding logical address, initiating a data acquisition request to the file storage system, wherein the data acquisition request comprises the corresponding logical address”, is seen as acquiring data by selecting addresses to retrieve information which is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) iii. Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
For example, “and receiving, from the file storage system, a value returned in response to the data acquisition request, wherein the returned value is acquired by the file storage system from a data file in the file storage system based on the corresponding logical address” is seen as receiving data by the returned value which is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) iii. Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “wherein acquiring a value corresponding to the target key based on the logical address comprises: in response to identifying the corresponding logical address, initiating a data acquisition request to the file storage system, wherein the data acquisition request comprises the corresponding logical address”, “and receiving, from the file storage system, a value returned in response to the data acquisition request, wherein the returned value is acquired by the file storage system from a data file in the file storage system based on the corresponding logical address”.
For example, “wherein acquiring a value corresponding to the target key based on the logical address comprises: in response to identifying the corresponding logical address, initiating a data acquisition request to the file storage system, wherein the data acquisition request comprises the corresponding logical address” is seen as computer functions that are well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality). MPEP 2106.05(d); (II), (i).
For example, “and receiving, from the file storage system, a value returned in response to the data acquisition request, wherein the returned value is acquired by the file storage system from a data file in the file storage system based on the corresponding logical address” is seen as computer functions that are well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality). MPEP 2106.05(d); (II), (i).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a graph state data management method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 9, specifically claim 9 recites “wherein before providing the obtained graph state data to the graph computing engine, the graph state data management method further comprises: performing data filtering on the obtained graph state data by using a given data filtering policy” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally sorting the data in an order. These limitations could be reasonably and practically performed by the human mind, for instance based on a human can encode data to a mapping to be sorted and used for data identification. Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process, which can be done utilizing pen and paper.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 9 recites no new additional elements.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a graph state data management method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 11, specifically claim 11 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 11 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example, “further comprising: in response to satisfying a data aggregation condition, performing data aggregation on the values stored in the data file in the file storage system by using a given data aggregation policy” is seen as acquiring data by selecting data to be aggregated is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) iii. Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “further comprising: in response to satisfying a data aggregation condition, performing data aggregation on the values stored in the data file in the file storage system by using a given data aggregation policy”.
For example, “further comprising: in response to satisfying a data aggregation condition, performing data aggregation on the values stored in the data file in the file storage system by using a given data aggregation policy” is seen as computer functions that are well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality). MPEP 2106.05(f); (2), (ii).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a graph state data management method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one independent claim, 23, specifically claim 23 recites “encoding each piece of graph state data in the graph state data into [[kv]] key value (kv) data, wherein a vertex ID in the vertex data and/or a start ID in the edge data is encoded into a key, and non-vertex ID data in the vertex data and/or non-start ID data in the edge data is encoded into a value” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally replacing the graph data with another symbol or other type of representation; “sorting the kv data based on a key of the kv data to form kv list data, wherein in the kv list data, each key corresponds to one or more values”; in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally sorting the data in an order. These limitations could be reasonably and practically performed by the human mind, for instance based on a human can encode data to a mapping to be sorted and used for data identification. Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process, which can be done utilizing pen and paper.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The independent claim of 23 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example "batch acquiring graph state data that is obtained by a graph computing engine during graph computation, wherein the graph state data comprises vertex data and/or edge data” is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) iv. Obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions, CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011);
For example “sequentially writing values of the kv list data into a data file in a file storage system, and recording a corresponding logical address of each key in the data file, wherein the logical address comprises a file ID of a data file into which the value corresponding to the key is written, and a first file offset address of the corresponding value in the written data file” is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93;
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites "batch acquiring graph state data that is obtained by a graph computing engine during graph computation, wherein the graph state data comprises vertex data and/or edge data”, “sequentially writing values of the kv list data into a data file in a file storage system, and recording a corresponding logical address of each key in the data file, wherein the logical address comprises a file ID of a data file into which the value corresponding to the key is written, and a first file offset address of the corresponding value in the written data file”.
For example, "batch acquiring graph state data that is obtained by a graph computing engine during graph computation, wherein the graph state data comprises vertex data and/or edge data”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
For example, “sequentially writing values of the kv list data into a data file in a file storage system, and recording a corresponding logical address of each key in the data file, wherein the logical address comprises a file ID of a data file into which the value corresponding to the key is written, and a first file offset address of the corresponding value in the written data file” do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a graph state data management method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one independent claim, 24, specifically claim 24 recites “encoding each piece of graph state data in the graph state data into [[kv]] key value (kv) data, wherein a vertex ID in the vertex data and/or a start ID in the edge data is encoded into a key, and non-vertex ID data in the vertex data and/or non-start ID data in the edge data is encoded into a value” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally replacing the graph data with another symbol or other type of representation; “sorting the kv data based on a key of the kv data to form kv list data, wherein in the kv list data, each key corresponds to one or more values”; in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally sorting the data in an order. These limitations could be reasonably and practically performed by the human mind, for instance based on a human can encode data to a mapping to be sorted and used for data identification. Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process, which can be done utilizing pen and paper.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The independent claim of 24 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example "batch acquiring graph state data that is obtained by a graph computing engine during graph computation, wherein the graph state data comprises vertex data and/or edge data” is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) iv. Obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions, CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011);
For example “sequentially writing values of the kv list data into a data file in a file storage system, and recording a corresponding logical address of each key in the data file, wherein the logical address comprises a file ID of a data file into which the value corresponding to the key is written, and a first file offset address of the corresponding value in the written data file” is seen as MPEP 2106.05(g) iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93;
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites "batch acquiring graph state data that is obtained by a graph computing engine during graph computation, wherein the graph state data comprises vertex data and/or edge data”, “sequentially writing values of the kv list data into a data file in a file storage system, and recording a corresponding logical address of each key in the data file, wherein the logical address comprises a file ID of a data file into which the value corresponding to the key is written, and a first file offset address of the corresponding value in the written data file”.
For example, "batch acquiring graph state data that is obtained by a graph computing engine during graph computation, wherein the graph state data comprises vertex data and/or edge data”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))
For example, “sequentially writing values of the kv list data into a data file in a file storage system, and recording a corresponding logical address of each key in the data file, wherein the logical address comprises a file ID of a data file into which the value corresponding to the key is written, and a first file offset address of the corresponding value in the written data file” do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9-11, 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broecheler U.S. Patent No. 10,698,955 (herein as ‘Broecheler’) and further in view of Haprian et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0114178 (herein as ‘Haprian’).
As to claim 1 Broecheler teaches a graph state data management method applied to a graph state management device, comprising:
Broecheler teaches encoding each piece of graph state data in the graph state data into kv data, wherein a vertex ID in the vertex data and/or a start ID of a start vertex in the edge data is encoded into a key (Col. 2 Lines 58-63 Broecheler discloses the vertex of the graph data contains a key associated with a vertex label. The vertex label is the vertex ID. Col. 5 Lines 10-15 Broecheler discloses generating indices for graphs);
and non-vertex ID data in the vertex data and/or non-start ID data in the edge data is encoded into a value (Col. 2 Lines 58-63 Broecheler discloses the edge of the graph data contains a property associated with an edge label. The edge label is seen as the non-vertex ID. Col. 5 Lines 10-15 Broecheler discloses generating indices for graphs);
sorting the kv data based on a key of the kv data to form kv list data, wherein in the kv list data, each key corresponds to one or more values (Col. 5 Lines 35-40 Broecheler discloses sorting the indices that contain key-property pairs);
Broecheler does not teach but Haprian does teach batch acquiring graph state data that is obtained by a graph computing engine during graph computation, wherein the graph state data comprises vertex data and/or edge data (Par. 0032-0036 Haprian discloses graph queries are performed during runtime. Par. 0033 & 0036 Haprian discloses the current state of the graph table. Par. 0138 Haprian discloses computing a graph query on components part of pattern. The graph query is seen as the graph computing engine);
Broecheler and Haprian are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, graph state processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the graph database of Broecheler to include the graph query engine of Haprian, to allow for accessing content in order to minimize the number of storage accesses (Par. 0008-0012 Haprian).
sending values of the kv list data to a file storage system in order to sequentially write the values of the kv list data into a data file in the file storage system, and recording a corresponding logical address of each key in the data file (Par. 0069 Haprian discloses path are stored as a sequence of identifiers. Par. 138 Haprian discloses a particular path of ordered sequence of particular graph components of the graph is store. Par. 0162 Haprian discloses data is stored in the database as records with organized fields);
wherein the logical address comprises a file ID of a data file into which the value corresponding to the key is written (Par. 0157 Haprian discloses the tablespace store the objects. The tablespace is seen as the logical address that comprises a file ID. Par. 0162 Haprian discloses the records are stored as objects);
and a first file offset address of the corresponding value in the written data file (Par. 0157 Haprian discloses the tablespace store the objects. The tablespace is seen as the offset address);
and maintaining a memory index of the graph state data in a memory of the graph state management device, wherein the memory index is used to reflect an index relationship between a key and a corresponding logical address (Par. 0068-0069 Haprian discloses the graph is indexed in order to access data properties).
As to claim 4 Broecheler in combination with Haprian teaches each and every limitation of claim 1.
In addition Haprian teaches further comprising: in response to receiving a graph state data reading request from the graph computing engine, encoding a data ID in the graph state data reading request into a target key, wherein the data ID comprises a vertex ID and/or an edge start ID (Par. 0058 Haprian discloses generating a mapping from the identifier to the data properties);
querying a corresponding logical address in the memory index based on the target key (Par. 0048-0053 Haprian discloses identifying the memory allocation (using tablespaces) to store information. Par. 0157 Haprian discloses tablespace is used to store files);
acquiring a value corresponding to the target key based on the logical address (Par. 0138 Haprian discloses the graph query runtime receiving the components);
decoding the acquired value to obtain target graph state data (Par. 0141 Haprian discloses checking the properties of the graph path to the particular graph components);
and providing the obtained target graph state data to the graph computing engine (Par. 0142 Haprian discloses the graph computing engine storing the properties that are mapped from a graph identifier to a stored component).
As to claim 5 Broecheler in combination with Haprian teaches each and every limitation of claim 4.
In addition Haprian teaches wherein acquiring a value corresponding to the target key based on the logical address comprises:
in response to identifying the corresponding logical address, initiating a data acquisition request to the file storage system, wherein the data acquisition request comprises the corresponding logical address (Par. 0048-0053 Haprian discloses identifying the memory allocation (using tablespaces) to store information. Par. 0157 Haprian discloses tablespace is used to store files);
and receiving, from the file storage system, a value returned in response to the data acquisition request (Par. 0138 Haprian discloses the graph query runtime receiving the components);
wherein the returned value is acquired by the file storage system from a data file in the file storage system based on the corresponding logical address (Par. 0142 Haprian discloses the graph computing engine storing the properties that are mapped from a graph identifier to a stored component).
As to claim 6 Broecheler in combination with Haprian teaches each and every limitation of claim 5.
In addition Haprian teaches wherein the memory of the graph state management device maintains a data LRU cache, and the data LRU cache is used to cache the previously acquired value in association with the corresponding logical address of the key (Par. 0139 Haprian discloses the data is retrieved is cached);
and before initiating a data acquisition request to the file storage system, acquiring a value corresponding to the target key based on the logical address (Par. 0138 Haprian discloses the graph query runtime receiving the components); further comprises:
determining, based on the logical address, whether the value corresponding to the target key is cached in the data LRU cache (Par. 0141-0143 Haprian discloses the data is retrieved is cached);
and when the value corresponding to the target key is cached in the data LRU cache, acquiring the corresponding value from the data LRU cache (Par. 0142 Haprian discloses the graph computing engine storing the properties that are mapped from a graph identifier to a stored component).
As to claim 9 Broecheler in combination with Haprian teaches each and every limitation of claim 4.
In addition Haprian teaches wherein before providing the obtained graph state data to the graph computing engine, the graph state data management method further comprises: performing data filtering on the obtained graph state data by using a given data filtering policy (Par. 0091 Haprian discloses filtering the data).
As to claim 10 Broecheler in combination with Haprian teaches each and every limitation of claim 1.
In addition Haprian teaches wherein after sequentially writing values of the kv list data into a data file in a file storage system (Par. 0069 Haprian discloses path are stored as a sequence of identifiers. Par. 138 Haprian discloses a particular path of ordered sequence of particular graph components of the graph is store. Par. 0162 Haprian discloses data is stored in the database as records with organized fields);
and recording a corresponding logical address of each key in the data file, the graph state data management method further comprises: determining whether the memory index needs to be updated; and in response to determining that the memory index needs to be updated, performing incremental logical address update on a corresponding logical address in the memory index by using the recorded logical address of each key (Par. 0123 and Par. 0126- 0130 Haprian discloses the memory is used for caching and prefetching data and is repurposed for a bigger size).
As to claim 11 Broecheler in combination with Haprian teaches each and every limitation of claim 1.
In addition Haprian teaches further comprising: in response to satisfying a data aggregation condition, performing data aggregation on the values stored in the data file in the file storage system by using a given data aggregation policy (Col. 15 Lines 56-65 Haprian discloses aggregating the results).
As to claim 23 Broecheler in combination with Haprian teaches a graph state data management apparatus, comprising:
a memory and a processor (Col. 2 Lines 1-5 Broecheler discloses the memory and processor);
wherein the memory stores executable instructions that, in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to:
Broecheler teaches encode each piece of graph state data in the graph state data into kv data, wherein a vertex ID in the vertex data and/or a start ID of a start vertex in the edge data is encoded into a key (Col. 2 Lines 58-63 Broecheler discloses the vertex of the graph data contains a key associated with a vertex label. The vertex label is the vertex ID. Col. 5 Lines 10-15 Broecheler discloses generating indices for graphs);
and non-vertex ID data in the vertex data and/or non-start ID data in the edge data is encoded into a value (Col. 2 Lines 58-63 Broecheler discloses the edge of the graph data contains a property associated with an edge label. The edge label is seen as the non-vertex ID. Col. 5 Lines 10-15 Broecheler discloses generating indices for graphs);
sort the kv data based on a key of the kv data to form kv list data, wherein in the kv list data, each key corresponds to one or more values (Col. 5 Lines 35-40 Broecheler discloses sorting the indices that contain key-property pairs);
Broecheler does not teach but Haprian teaches batch graph state data from a graph computing engine, wherein the graph state data is obtained by the graph computing engine during graph computation, and the graph state data comprises vertex data and/or edge data (Par. 0032-0036 Haprian discloses graph queries are performed during runtime. Par. 0033 & 0036 Haprian discloses the current state of the graph table. Par. 0138 Haprian discloses computing a graph query on components part of pattern. The graph query is seen as the graph computing engine);
Broecheler and Haprian are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, graph state processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the graph database of Broecheler to include the graph query engine of Haprian, to allow for accessing content in order to minimize the number of storage accesses (Par. 0008-0012 Haprian).
Sending values of the kv list data to a file storage system in order to sequentially write the values of the kv list data into a data file in the file storage system, and record a corresponding logical address of each key in the data file (Par. 0069 Haprian discloses path are stored as a sequence of identifiers. Par. 138 Haprian discloses a particular path of ordered sequence of particular graph components of the graph is store. Par. 0162 Haprian discloses data is stored in the database as records with organized fields);
wherein the logical address comprises a file ID of a data file into which the value corresponding to the key is written (Par. 0157 Haprian discloses the tablespace store the objects. The tablespace is seen as the logical address that comprises a file ID. Par. 0162 Haprian discloses the records are stored as objects);
and a first file offset address of the corresponding value in the written data file (Par. 0157 Haprian discloses the tablespace store the objects. The tablespace is seen as the offset address)
and maintain a memory index of the graph state data in a memory of the graph state management device, wherein the memory index is used to reflect an index relationship between a key and a corresponding logical address (Par. 0068-0069 Haprian discloses the graph is indexed in order to access data properties).
As to claim 24 Broecheler teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, method according to any one of comprising instructions stored therein that, when executed by a processor of a computing device, cause the processor to:
Broecheler does not teach but Haprian teaches batch receive graph state data from a graph computing engine, wherein the graph state data is obtained by the graph computing engine during graph computation, and the graph state data comprises vertex data and/or edge data (Par. 0032-0036 Haprian discloses graph queries are performed during runtime. Par. 0033 & 0036 Haprian discloses the current state of the graph table. Par. 0138 Haprian discloses computing a graph query on components part of pattern. The graph query is seen as the graph computing engine);
Broecheler and Haprian are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, graph state processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the graph database of Broecheler to include the graph query engine of Haprian, to allow for accessing content in order to minimize the number of storage accesses (Par. 0008-0012 Haprian).
Broecheler teaches encode each piece of graph state data in the graph state data into kv data, wherein a vertex ID in the vertex data and/or a start ID of a start vertex in the edge data is encoded into a key (Col. 2 Lines 58-63 Broecheler discloses the vertex of the graph data contains a key associated with a vertex label. The vertex label is the vertex ID. Col. 5 Lines 10-15 Broecheler discloses generating indices for graphs);
and non-vertex ID data in the vertex data and/or non-start ID data in the edge data is encoded into a value (Col. 2 Lines 58-63 Broecheler discloses the edge of the graph data contains a property associated with an edge label. The edge label is seen as the non-vertex ID. Col. 5 Lines 10-15 Broecheler discloses generating indices for graphs);
sort the kv data based on a key of the kv data to form kv list data, wherein in the kv list data, each key corresponds to one or more values (Col. 5 Lines 35-40 Broecheler discloses sorting the indices that contain key-property pairs);
sending values of the kv list data to file storage system in order sequentially write values of the kv list data into a data file in the file storage system, and record a corresponding logical address of each key in the data file (Par. 0069 Haprian discloses path are stored as a sequence of identifiers. Par. 138 Haprian discloses a particular path of ordered sequence of particular graph components of the graph is store. Par. 0162 Haprian discloses data is stored in the database as records with organized fields);
wherein the logical address comprises a file ID of a data file into which the value corresponding to the key is written (Par. 0157 Haprian discloses the tablespace store the objects. The tablespace is seen as the logical address that comprises a file ID. Par. 0162 Haprian discloses the records are stored as objects);
and a first file offset address of the corresponding value in the written data file (Par. 0157 Haprian discloses the tablespace store the objects. The tablespace is seen as the offset address);
and maintain a memory index of the graph state data in a memory of the graph state management device, wherein the memory index is used to reflect an index relationship between a key and a corresponding logical address (Par. 0068-0069 Haprian discloses the graph is indexed in order to access data properties).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 2, 3, 7 and 8 do not contain any prior art rejections.
10. Claims 3, 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
2. The graph state data management method according to claim 1, wherein the memory of the graph state management device maintains a mutable data table and an immutable data table; before sorting the kv data based on a key of the kv data, the graph state data management method further comprises: writing the kv data into the mutable data table; and determining whether a data size of the mutable data table into which the kv data is written reaches a threshold; sorting the kv data based on a key of the kv data comprises: in response to that the data size of the mutable data table into which the kv data is written reaches the threshold, sorting, based on the key of the kv data, the kv data written into the mutable data table; and sequentially writing values of the kv list data into a data file in a file storage system comprises:converting the sorted mutable data table into an immutable data table; and sequentially writing values of the immutable data table into a data file in the file storage system, wherein each immutable data table corresponds to one data file.
3. The graph state data management method according to claim 1, wherein sequentially writing values of the kv list data into a data file in a file storage system comprises: constructing the values of the kv list data into a plurality of ordered data blocks with a first data size; performing data compression on the constructed ordered data blocks; and sequentially writing the ordered data blocks obtained after the data compression into a data file in the file storage system, wherein the data file comprises each ordered data block obtained after the data compression and a metadata block, and metadata in the metadata block records a mapping relationship between the first file offset address corresponding to the key and a second file offset address of the compressed ordered data block in the data file.
7. The graph state data management method according to claim 4, wherein a value of the graph state data is constructed into a plurality of ordered data blocks with a first data size, the ordered data blocks are written into a data file in the file storage system after data compression, the data file comprises each ordered data block obtained after the data compression and a metadata block, and metadata in the metadata block records a mapping relationship between the first file offset address corresponding to the key and a second file offset address of the compressed ordered data block in the data file; acquiring a value corresponding to the target key based on the logical address comprises: in response to identifying the corresponding logical address, initiating a data block acquisition request to the file storage system, wherein the data block acquisition request comprises the corresponding logical address; receiving, from the file storage system, a compressed data block returned in response to the data block acquisition request, wherein the compressed data block is acquired by the file storage system from a data file in the file storage system based on the first file offset address; decompressing the obtained compressed data block; determining, based on the first file offset address in the logical address and the first data size, a third offset address of the value corresponding to the target key in the decompressed data block; and acquiring the value corresponding to the target key from the decompressed data block based on the third offset address.
8. The graph state data management method according to claim 7, wherein the memory of the graph state management device maintains a data block LRU cache, and the data block LRU cache is used to cache the previously acquired data block in association with the corresponding logical address of the key; and before initiating a data block acquisition request to the file storage system, acquiring a value corresponding to the target key based on the logical address further comprises: determining, based on the logical address, whether the compressed data block corresponding to the target key is cached in the data block LRU cache; and when the compressed data block corresponding to the target key is cached in the data block LRU cache, acquiring the corresponding compressed data block from the data block LRU cache.
Conclusion
/J.A.M/ March 18, 2026Examiner, Art Unit 2159
/ANN J LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2159